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Background

« In 2017, the Oregon Legislature directed
DEQ to implement a zero- emission
electric vehicle rebate program

« DEQ receives $12M annually, via a
“privilege tax” imposed on car dealers

— Unspent funding from previous years can be
rolled over




Background

» Legislative changes via House BiIll
2165 (2021) to the Oregon Clean
Vehicle Rebate Program (OCVRP)

— Increases allowable Charge Ahead
Rebate amount

— Allows low-income service providers to
apply for Charge Ahead Rebate




Types of rebates

Standard rebates Charge Ahead rebates

e $750-$2500 rebates « $2500 rebate

* Anyone can purchase or lease a  Low and moderate income
new electric vehicle or motorcycle households only

 Purchase or lease of new or used
electric vehicle

« Can be combined with Standard
rebate
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Charge Ahead rebates

* At least 20% of rebate funds must be dedicated to
Charge Ahead

* Increases the market for_used EVs
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Rebate amounts

Rebate amounts through Dec. 31, 2021

Rebate type Amount authorized under Oregon Statute Current rebate amount

Charge Ahead $1250 - $2500 $2500
Standard (EV with battery capacity 10kWh or more) $1500 - $2500 $2500
Standard (EV with battery capacity less than 10 kWh)  $750 - $1500 $1500
Standard (motorcycle) $375 - $750 $750

Rebate amounts allowed after Jan. 1, 2022

Rebate type Amount authorized under Oregon Statute Current rebate amount

Charge Ahead $2500 - $5000 $5000
Standard (EV with battery capacity 10kWh or more) $1500 - $2500 $2500
Standard (EV with battery capacity less than 10 kWh)  $750 - $1500 $1500
Standard (motorcycle) $375 - $750 $750
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Program status

* As of Nov. 15, 2021, DEQ has
awarded:
—16,094 rebates
—$38.75 million over the lifetime of the
program (beginning in 2018)
—12% of total rebates were Charge
Ahead



Rebate funding projections

« DEQ projects the program may be oversubscribed in 2022

Program funds available $20.1 M $14.2 M (estimated)
Estimated program funds expended $16.7 M $17.5M
Total $3.4 M ($3.3 M)

Assumptions based on:
« existing rebate participation
« increased Charge Ahead Rebate amount of $5000
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Rebate amounts — options for consideration

Goal: Maximize available funding and increase number of EV
purchases, particularly for Charge Ahead Rebates

1) Take no action

— Keep the rebate amounts at 2021 levels (Standard = $750-$2500; Charge Ahead rebate
= $2500)

2)Recommend adopting the temporary rule change

— Raising the rebate amount for only Charge Ahead Rebates (Charge Ahead rebate =
$5000)
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Rebate amounts — options for consideration

3)Adjusting both Standard and Charge Ahead Rebate amounts
— Decrease rebate amount for Standard rebates while
maintaining the maximum amount for Charge Ahead

rebates ($5000)

» Offer the lower range allowed under statute
— Battery capacity < 10 kWh = $750
— Battery capacity > 10 kWh = $1500

« Base the rate on driving range and battery capacity
— Battery capacity > 10 kWh + high driving range = $2500
— Battery capacity > 10kWh + low driving range = $1500

4)Limiting the number of rebates per household or entity
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Rebate amounts — options for consideration

5) Prioritize CA first, then pay out Standard rebates

- Set aside certain $ amount and when exhausted then pay out
Standard

or

- Apply prioritization when wait list is instituted

6) Revisit how we interpret MSRP caps for vehicles




Charge Ahead Rebate rule changes

Charge Ahead Rebate Program
* Modifies who is eligible for the Charge Ahead Rebate

— Allows low-income service providers to apply for the Charge Ahead rebate
— Simplifies income threshold determinations
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Draft rule language

« Definition of low-income service provider:

— “Low-income service provider”’” means an organization that provides health, dental, social,
financial, energy conservation or other assistive services to low- or moderate-income
households in Oregon. Providers must be registered as a 501(c)(3) organization based in Oregon
or have an Oregon-based affiliate at the time the eligible vehicle is purchased or leased.




Draft rule language

* Definition of qualifying household
(for Charge Ahead Rebates):

 “Qualifying household” means a household
with income that does not exceed 400 percent
of federal poverty guidelines.



Income eligibility amounts

* |Income amounts changing Jan. 1, 2022
— Relying on federal poverty guidelines set by U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services

Beginning Jan. 1, 2022 Current — up through Dec. 31, 2021

o ‘ 120% of Median Area Income for Metro Area (current)
400% of 2021 federal poverty guideline

Portland-
Persons in family/household 400% Poverty guideline Bend-Redmond Corvallis Eugene-Springfield Medford Vancouver- Salem
Hillsboro
1 $51,520 | $67,560 $71,400 $59,880 $57,480 $81,240 $59,400
2 $69,680 | $77,280 $81,600 $68,400 $65,640 $92,880 $67,920
3 $87,840 | $86,880 $91,800 $76,920 $73,800 $104,520 $76,440
4 $106,000 | $96,480 $102,000 $85,440 $81,960 $116,040 $84,840
5 $124,160 | $104,280 $110,160 $92,280 $88,560 $125,400 $91,680
6 $142,320 | $111,960 $118,320 $99,120 $95,160 $134,640 $98,520
7 $160,480 | $119,640 $126,480 $105,960 $101,640 $144,000 $105,240
8 $178,640 | $127,440 $134,640 $112,800 $108,240 $153,240 $112,080

New income calculator increases CA eligible households
New income calculator decreases CA eligible households

T -




Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program Rule

Adviosry Committee meeting

BREAK

(Grab your coffee/tea, stretch)




Implementation - Prequalification

« Offer prequalification to Charge Ahead Rebate recipients
— Allows Charge Ahead rebates to be applied at time of purchase/lease

* Process for prequalification

— Applicant submits prequalification request form to DEQ
» Allows DEQ to request Department of Revenue to review applicant’s filed tax form

— Applicant income verified — voucher issued to applicant

* Voucher valid for 2 months
* Voucher tied to specific applicant

— DEAQ tracks vouchers in a database. Dealers are able to lookup the voucher number online to verify

— Dealer provides rebate to applicant at time of sale and submits application (with voucher number) to
OCVRP and receives rebate

« Require participating dealerships to be trained in process and the program (so they
can educate their customers)
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Implementation

« Low income service provider verification

— Sign attestation they are a low-income service provider
— Provide a copy of 501c3

o Waitlist

— First-come, first-served vs. prioritizing Charge Ahead rebates
— Effect on prequalification and dealer point of sale rebates




Implementation

« Communications and outreach

— Reaching out to Charge Ahead communities
— Messaging




Fiscal and Economic Impact Analysis

* Impact on small businesses " \




Next steps

* Public comment period — December
2021 — January 2022

3 © Rule adoption consideration at March
| 2022 Environmental Quality
Commission meeting
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