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2023 Oregon 
New Law Update

Hosted by Daron Prara

How to participate

2

Your camera and microphone will not be on.

Use Q&A to ask questions for 
presenter to answer.

Use chat function to communicate with 
other attendees.

Click the carat to adjust the sound.

Click thumb to upvote questions.
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Presenters
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Personal 
Income Tax 

Corporate 
Activity Tax 

Oregon Health 
Authority

Oregon Health Authority
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What tax preparers 
should know about 
health coverage in 
Oregon

Carolyn Black
Senior Outreach and Education Coordinator

6

• Part of state government
o Within Oregon Health Authority’s Health Policy and Analytics 

office

• State-based exchange that uses federal platform 
(HealthCare.gov)

• Our team consists of:
o Program team, overseeing Marketplace programs/functions

o Outreach team, educating and informing the public, often in 
person around the state

Who we are
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Types of health coverage in Oregon

Health Insurance

Private insurance

Individual

Direct through 
insurance company

HealthCare.gov

Cost-sharing 
reductions

Premium tax credits

Group

Employer-
sponsored

Association

Public programs

Medicare

Medicaid (Oregon 
Health Plan)

Veterans Affairs

Must be reconciled on 
federal tax return

8

Zero cost-sharing Limited cost-sharing

Members of federally recognized tribes

FPL 100% 200% 300%

Cost-sharing reductions
Usually eligible for OHP

190%OHP for pregnant adults*

305%OHP for children 0-18*

Premium tax credits (no income limit)

250%

300%

*regardless of immigration status for 
all people in Oregon as of July 1, 2023

138%OHP for adults 19-64*

Based largely on household size and income

Eligibility rules

7
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400% and 
up

300% -
400%

250% -
300%

200% -
250%

150% -
200%

0% -
150%

Annual household income
(% of FPL)

8.5%8.5%6%4%2%0%
Expected premium contribution

(% of income)

Cost of 
benchmark plan

(second lowest cost 
silver plan, SLCSP)

Expected 
premium 

contribution

Premium tax 
credit

How premium tax credits are calculated

10

How premium tax credits are calculated

Annual income
$23,970

Monthly income
$1,998

What’s considered 
“affordable?”

$13

Second-lowest cost 
silver plan (SLCSP)

$475

Premium tax credits
$462

Use tax credits on any plan on HealthCare.gov

Example: A single adult, 26, lives in eastern 
Oregon and earns $23,970 per year (162% FPL)

GoldSilverBronze

$548$475$369Monthly premium

$462$462$462Tax credit

$86$13$1*Cost after tax credit

*Costs on this slide are an example. There are no "zero dollar plans" available after tax credits in Oregon due to benefits included in all plans that are not federal essential health benefits.
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1095 forms for reconciliation
1095-A

Marketplace coverage
1095-B

Public medical coverage
(Medicaid/CHIP, Medicare, Veterans Affairs)

and some employer coverage

1095-C
Employer-offered coverage

12

• Seek a corrected 1095-A 
if enrollment-related 
information is incorrect:
o Policy issuer’s name 

(Part I) 
o Policy start or end date 

(Part I, Part II) 
o Premium cost (Part III, 

Column A) 
o APTC received (Part III, 

Column C)

Incorrect 1095-A form?
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• Column A: full premium, 
including amount paid with 
APTC
o If the premium is -0- but there is 

an APTC, the person likely 
didn’t pay their premium
 If they pay it by the last day of 

the tax filing season, they can 
claim PTC for the month.

 If they do not, they must repay 
the APTC received for that 
month. (Enter as written on Form 
1095-A.) 

o If there are multiple rows with -
0- and an APTC value, this is 
likely an error. Seek a corrected 
Form 1095-A

Piecing together the 1095-A information

14

• Column B: the benchmark 
plan (SLCSP) premium used 
to establish PTC amount
o It is incorrect, perhaps 

because a change in family 
size was not reported. 

o It is missing. This happens 
when someone paid the full 
premium. 

o There are multiple Forms 
1095-A with conflicting 
information, or the taxpayer 
otherwise thinks it’s incorrect.

Piecing together the 1095-A information

13
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• Column C: advanced 
payments of PTC
o Some taxpayers will have 

multiple Forms 1095-A. 
This will happen if the 
taxpayer:
 Changed marketplace plans 

during the year.
 Had family members 

enrolled in different 
marketplace plans.

 Had more than 5 family 
members in the same plan. 

Piecing together the 1095-A information
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• Make sure everyone on the Forms 1095-A is also on the tax 
return. 

• Column A: Add the premiums together. 
• Column B: If everyone is in the same state, the SLCSP 

should be the same on all Forms 1095-A for a given month. 
Enter that amount. 
o If the enrollees are in different states, add the SLCSPs. When in 

doubt, look it up in the Tax Tool for your marketplace. 

• Column C (entered in Column F of Form 8962): Add the 
amounts together. 

Multiple 1095-A forms?

15
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Reconciling APTC

Source: IRS, https://bit.ly/418njKS

May get 
more 

credits on 
taxes

May have 
to repay 

some 
credits on 

taxes

Repayment limits on APTC (tax year 2023)

OTHER taxpayersSINGLE taxpayersIncome (% FPL)

$700$350Under 200%

$1,800$900200% - 300%

$3,000$1,500300% - 400%

NoneNone400% and above

Income estimate 
on application

18

Where to see excess/repayment of APTC

Get more: If no tax credits 
are taken in advance or only 
a portion of the tax credits 

are claimed

Pay back: If taxpayer 
receives excess tax 
credits in advance

17
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• What you’ll see: A filing status of Married Filing Separately 
on the 1040 and a Form 1095-A. 

• What to do: In general, the taxpayer is ineligible for the PTC 
and must repay the APTC, up to the cap. 

• However: Does an exception apply? Check the box at the 
top of Form 8962 if the taxpayer is either a survivor of 
domestic abuse or has been abandoned by their spouse. 

Taxpayer is Married filing Separately

20

• There is no upper income tax limit to qualify for PTC for tax 
years 2021-2025.

• Taxpayers are only liable to repay amounts received above 
the monthly premium tax credit allowed.

• Form 8962 has been updated accordingly for 2021- 2025. 

• There is still no cap on APTC repayment for taxpayers 
earning above 400% FPL.

Taxpayer is at or above 401% FPL

19
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• What you’ll see: Numbers in Columns B and C but no premium in 
Column A (-0-) for a month on Form 1095-A, Part III. 

• What to do:
o The taxpayer can only collect APTC if the premium is paid by the tax return 

due date (without extensions). If the APTC is high and covers most of the 
premium, can the taxpayer make the (late) premium payment? It may be 
more cost-effective to pay the premium than to repay the APTC! When the 
premium is paid, ask for a corrected Form 1095-A. 

o If the premium payment has not and will not be made, enter the SLCSP and 
APTC and leave Column A blank. Note: There should never be consecutive 
months like this. If so, there is an error on Form 1095-A. 

o Even if the taxpayer isn’t eligible for PTC, he or she is still considered to have 
coverage for the month, despite nonpayment of premium.

The taxpayer stopped paying premiums

22

• What you’ll see: A premium in Column A but nothing in Columns 
B or C on Form 1095-A, Part III. 

• What to do: 
o The taxpayer might have paid the full premium because he or she was 

disputing an eligibility determination or reported a change in 
circumstances that adjusted the APTC to zero. 

o The taxpayer may still be eligible for a premium tax credit for that 
month! 

o First, ensure the person is otherwise eligible for the premium tax credit 
for the month (see Form 8962 Instructions, p.2). Then, enter the 
SLCSP in Column B, using the Tax Tool for your marketplace. Tax 
software will calculate the PTC amount. 

The taxpayer paid the full premium for one or 
more months

21
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• What you’ll see: Multiple forms 1095-A with an overlapping 
month for at least one person in the tax household. 

• What to do: This happens when the taxpayer’s eligibility or plan 
changed or when family members enrolled in different plans. 
See Form 8962 Instructions for Lines 12-23. 
o In Columns A and C, add the monthly premiums and APTC from the 

Forms 1095-A. 
o In Column B, if individuals in your coverage family enrolled in separate 

policies in the same state, you will receive a Form 1095-A for each 
policy. The marketplace should have entered the same SLCSP 
premium. If the enrollees are in different states, add the SLCSPs. 
When in doubt, look it up in the Tax Tool for your marketplace. 

Taxpayer has multiple 1095-A forms

24

• What you’ll see: A Form 1095-B or -C with coverage or 
eligibility months that overlap with Marketplace coverage on 
Form 1095- A.

• What to do: In general, PTC is allowed if the Marketplace 
previously approved APTC.
o See Form 1095-B or -C instructions, Form 8962 instructions, or 

Publication 974 for more information. 

The taxpayer is enrolled in other (non-
Marketplace) coverage in the same month

23
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• Make sure Form 1095-A is correct and complete. 
o Ask the taxpayer to contact the marketplace if the form doesn’t reflect 

premiums that were paid or if there are other errors. 
o See tips and tricks for complex cases when a taxpayer may be eligible for 

PTC for a particular month. 
• Consider income adjustments to reduce household income.

o If the taxpayer is eligible to claim an IRA deduction, remember that taxpayers 
can contribute to an IRA until the tax filing deadline. 

o If someone on the taxpayer’s return has tuition expenses, consider the 
Tuition and Fees deduction instead of an education credit. 

• Consider Married Filing Separately.
o The taxpayer will technically be ineligible for the PTC, but filing separately 

may cap repayment at a lower level based on income. 

Strategies to minimize repayment

26

• Income or household may have changed since the 
application for subsidies was submitted.

• There was an error in calculating the APTC amount because 
of an inaccurate income or family size calculation, not 
keeping the application current when circumstances 
changed, or a technical error by the marketplace.

• The taxpayer allowed coverage to auto-renew without 
updating income or household information. 

Why do PTC overpayments happen?

25

26



11/27/2023

14

27

• If the taxpayer is currently enrolled in Marketplace coverage 
and has a repayment, they should contact the Marketplace 
to adjust their current APTC now to avoid similar repayment 
in the next tax year.

• Report income and other household changes to the 
Marketplace throughout the year.

How to prevent PTC overpayment going 
forward

28

• Error on 1095-A form?
o Contact HealthCare.gov with the taxpayer and ask for a corrected 

form
 Phone: 800-318-2596 (toll-free)

• Still not resolved? 
o Email customerservice.marketplace@odhsoha.Oregon.gov

How to help someone with 1095-A issues

27
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• Refer them to the Marketplace to 
determine what coverage they may 
qualify for:
o Window-shopping tool
 OregonHealthCare.gov/WindowShop

 orhim.info/ObtengaCobertura

o Phone: 855-268-3767 (toll-free)

o Email: 
info.marketplace@odhsoha.Oregon.gov

What if someone is uninsured?

30

OregonHealthCare.gov/GetHelp

Refer to a local health coverage expert

29
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Questions?

Thank you!

Carolyn Black
carolyn.black@oha.Oregon.gov

31
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Oregon tax program updates

What’s New for Oregon 
Tax Programs 2023

• Federal reconnect date: Dec 31, 2022 
(unless related to definition of taxable income)

• Personal income tax updates

• Corporate Activity Tax updates

• Roundup

34
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Personal income tax

HB 3235
Oregon Kids Credit

• Refundable

• Claimed on return – no schedule

• Up to $1,000 per dependent child up 
to age five, 5 child limit

• Modified AGI under $30,000 

• Not available if married filing 
separately.

36
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HB 3235: Oregon Kids Credit

Income

2023 phaseout threshold: $25,000 
Same for every filing status

No minimum income required

Modified AGI = income after Oregon additions & subtractions, 
with losses in excess of $20,000 added back 

• N/P filers: Greater of modified AGI or AGI

38

HB 3235: Oregon Kids Credit

Losses 
• Federal return
– Capital, business, NOL, farming, rental, etc. 

• Oregon loss subtractions
– NOL for Oregon [code 321]
– Loss due to depreciation difference [code 355]
– Passive activity loss [code 356]
– Suspended loss [code 357]

• Marijuana or psilocybin business expense 
subtraction (if creates loss) [code 359 or 385]

37

38



11/27/2023

20

39

HB 3235: Oregon Kids Credit

Taxpayer 1 [$48,000+]

Part A (Main worksheet) 

$26,000
Income after 
subtractions

+  2,000Loss add back

$28,000Modified AGI

Part B (Loss worksheet)

$  3,000Capital loss

19,000Business loss

$22,000Total losses

‐ 20,000Minus $20,000

$  2,000Loss to add back

Taxpayer 2 [$53,000+]

Part A

$  6,000
Income after 
subtractions

+ 27,000Loss add back

$33,000Modified AGI

Part B

$  3,000Capital loss

44,000Business loss

$47,000Total losses

‐ 20,000Minus $20,000

$27,000Loss to add back

Taxpayer 3 [$0+]

Part A

($180,000)
Income after 
subtractions

+ 160,000Loss add back 

($20,000)Modified AGI

Part B

$180,000Business loss

$180,000Total losses

‐ 20,000Minus $20,000

$160,000Loss to add back

40

HB 3235: Oregon Kids Credit

Credit reduced for modified AGI 
above $25,000 threshold

– Reduced by 100% if $5,000+ above 

• Worksheet Part A has instructions 
for finding reduced credit amount 

• Prorated for nonresident and part‐
year filers

Modified AGI: $ 28,000
Threshold: ‐ 25,000
Excess amount: $   3,000

$3,000 ÷ $5,000:           60%
Multiply by $2,000:    $1,200

Maximum credit: $  2,000
Minus reduction: ‐ 1,200
Credit amount: $     800

39

40



11/27/2023

21

HB 3235: Oregon Kids Credit

• Must file return to claim credit

• Advance payments:

– Quarterly 

– Total 50% of credit

– Need federal waiver to not affect 
benefits

– If waiver successful, advance 
payments begin in 2026

41

Questions about the Oregon Kids Credit?

42

41
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Kicker credit for PIT (and Fiduciary)

• 44.28 percent of 2022 tax 
before credits 

(other than credit for taxes paid to   
another state)

• Worksheets in instructions for 
change in marital status

• Same State School Fund 
donation process 
(irrevocable!)

43

Kicker credit for PIT (and Fiduciary)

• AGI $140,000

• Wilma’s share of AGI: $105,000

• Fred’s share of AGI: $35,000 

• Kicker: $4,428 ($10,000 x 0.4428)

44

Fred’s kicker share

35,000 ÷ 140,000 = 25%

Fred’s kicker: $1,107  
($4,428 x 0.25).

OAR 150‐291‐0300

Wilma’s kicker share 

105,000 ÷ 140,000 = 75%

Wilma’s kicker: $3,321 
($4,428 x 0.75).

Wilma and Fred were married and filed a joint 2022 return. Their tax before credits was $10,000.

43
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Kicker credit for PIT (and Fiduciary)

Deceased taxpayer

• Joint return filed in 2022, one 
spouse died in 2022 or 2023: 
Surviving spouse may claim 
entire kicker amount.

• Taxpayer died in 2022: PR may 
file 2023 return to claim kicker.

45

Taxpayer owes

Kicker is subject to offset for 
unpaid tax or other debt.

2022 return amended later

Kicker automatically adjusted.

Form 1099‐G

Issued for 2024 if taxpayer 
itemized deductions on 2023 
federal return and received 
kicker (even if offset, donated, 
or no refund issued).

Form 1099‐G

Electronic only beginning with tax year 2023

Postcards will notify taxpayers that they can 
download the form using Revenue Online.

No login required

Only taxpayer name and 
mailing address on postcard.

46
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Questions about kicker or Form 1099‐G?

47

HB 2812: New subtraction

Casualty loss from state‐declared emergency

 Loss would have qualified for federal 
deduction except emergency wasn’t 
declared by president.

 Retroactive to tax year 2020
– Calculate amount using federal rules for 
itemized deduction.

– Amend returns within three years of due date or 
filing date, whichever is later.

 Subtraction code 388 on OR‐ASC, 
modification code 654 on OR‐ASC‐NP

48
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Another new subtraction

Itemized deduction on Schedule A (state taxes paid)

Can’t be deducted on Schedule OR‐A

Claim subtraction

Paid Leave Oregon benefits deducted on federal Schedule A

 Family leave or safe leave benefits are taxable except for return of contributions.

Code 386        

49

paidleave.oregon.gov

Reduce income on 1040

Flows through to Oregon return

Nothing more to do

Two 
options 
on 

federal 
return

Another new subtraction

PTE‐E tax refund 
included on 
entity‐level 
federal return

50

Electing PTE 
deducts PTE‐E 
tax on 1065 or 

1120‐S

PTE receives 
refund of 
PTE‐E tax

PTE reports 
refund as 
income on 
1065 or 
1120‐S

Distributive share 
of refund “other 
income” on K‐1 

(code I)

Owner figures 
amount to 

include on 1040 
Schedule 1

Owner subtracts 
amount included 
on Schedule 1

Code 387

49
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Military changes

Residency for state tax purposes
Veterans Auto and Education 
Improvement Act of 2022, Public Law 
117‐333

Servicemember or spouse may elect:

• Domicile of member or spouse.

• State where member is stationed.

Oregon National  
Guard pay exemption

HB 2071: National Guard
called to duty by Oregon 
governor

No longer limited to duty away 
from home for at least 21 days

 Retroactive to tax year 2021

 Code 319

51

Another new credit

SB 1502 (2022): Forest conservation                       Code 873 
 Certified by ODF  (www.oregon.gov/odf)
 Amount based on stumpage value of unharvested timber

– Amended by HB 2161 (2023) for some individual owners

Nontransferable (by sale), cannot be passed to new landowner
 Indefinite carryforward of unused credit

– May pass to deceased owner’s heirs or estate – use Form OR‐TFR

52
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HB 2071: Credit sunset extensions

January 1, 2028:
 Oregon Cultural Trust contributions
 Political contributions

 Rural emergency medical service 
providers

53

January 1, 2030:
 Fish screening devices
 Employer scholarship
 Higher ed (529)/ABLE accounts 
 Short line railroad rehabilitation

 Reservation enterprise zone
 University venture development fund 
contributions
 Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donations

January 1, 2032:
 Agriculture workforce housing

Other credit changes

Oregon Film auction sunset 
date alignment

Opportunity Grant Fund 
final auction Feb 2023

Short line RR rehab costs, 
credit amount (24‐25)

54

HB 2093 SB 129 HB 2093

53
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Exemption credit: $236

Federal tax liability subtraction: $7,800

Standard deduction:

• MFJ/QSS: $5,210

• Single/MFS: $2,605

• HH: $4,195

529 or ABLE deposit credit:

• $360 MFJ

• $180 all others

55

Indexed figures for 2023

Final year for 529/ABLE subtraction 
carryforward! $5,580 MFJ/$2,790 all others

Form OR‐40, OR‐40‐N, OR‐40‐P

Tax section

• Relocated line for forfeited credits 
(tax recaptures)

• New line: Total additions to tax

Payments and refundable 
credits section

• New line: Oregon Kids Credit after 
EIC 

• Kicker line after Oregon Kids Credit 

56

Form changes

55
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Schedule OR‐ASC, OR‐ASC‐NP
– Tax recapture section relocated before Standard credit section.

Schedule OR‐DONATE
– Charities reordered every odd‐numbered year.

– Susan G. Komen removed in 2021 – no longer qualified.

– Girl Scouts of Oregon & SW Washington added.

– Charity name changes – ALS Northwest, Planned Parenthood Columbia 
Willamette/Southwestern Oregon.

Farm Income Averaging (FIA) schedules
– Consolidated instructions for all FIA schedules

– Most line instructions moved from forms to new Publication OR‐FIA.

57

Form changes

Oregon

• File through Revenue Online 

• No account needed

• Full‐year filers only, for 2023

IRS 

• Oregon not participating for tax 
year 2023

• Possible participation for tax 
year 2024

58

Direct file

57
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Questions about other PIT topics?

59

Agricultural Employer Overtime Tax Credit

59
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HB 4002 (2022): 
Mandatory overtime for ag 
employees

• Phased in over six years – hours worked 
over 55 per week in 2023

• Tax credit to offset costs

• Farm NOL 3‐year carryback (SB 1524 ‐ 2022)

• HB 2058: repayable award for qualifying ag 
employer (must qualify/apply for credit) –

www.oregon4biz.com 

61

Agricultural employer overtime tax credit

•NAICS code 111 or 112

•Percentage of OT wages paid to qualifying employees 

•Decreases over six‐year phase‐in period

•$55 million total credit per year

•Apply through Revenue Online in January only
• Set up account early (if don’t already have one)

62
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Agricultural employer overtime tax credit

63

DOR’s YouTube channel @ORRevenue 
• Video tutorials for Revenue Online, other topics
• 2023 County Fair Tour video – Ag OT

Agricultural employer overtime tax credit

• Automatic filing extension for all applicants
• Allows time to process applications.
• If more than $55 million claimed, all credits must be reduced.
• Letter of Acknowledgment will be mailed out by June 1. 

64

Credit percentage
based on industry 

sector and number of 
full‐time equivalent 
(FTE) employees

Credit amount based on 
OT portion of wages paid 
for hours worked beyond 
threshold by qualified 

employees 
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Agricultural employer overtime tax credit

Workers who don’t qualify:
• Employer’s parent, spouse, child, other immediate family
• Office, retail, other administrative employees 
• Individuals described in ORS 653.020(1) (workers who aren’t 
subject to state minimum wage standards)

Employers who don’t qualify:
• Farm labor contractors (FLC) who don’t have their own 
farming operation

• No OT wages paid in NAICS codes 111 or 112
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Tax credit application

Revenue Online – link available January 1 under View More

67

Look for 
“More Options” or 

“View More”

What to have on hand

• Tax information

• Information about farming business
—FEIN, NAICS code, license number

• Employee information
—Number of employees 
—Regular and overtime hours worked 
—Wages paid for overtime worked

• Between 40 and 55 hours per week
• Over 55 hours per week
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For more 
information

• Webpage

• Email updates

• Social media

• Conferences, 
county fairs, 
Oregon State 
Fair

69

Communicating with Ag OT Team

70

Tax credit questions can be sent to: Ag.Overtime@dor.oregon.gov
Project managers:
Daron Prara, PTAC Operations and Policy Unit
Favi Morales, PTAC Operations and Policy Unit

External Webpage: www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/ag‐overtime
(From our main page, click the Businesses section and follow the link under Resources)

Subscribe to Agricultural Overtime Update emails: www.oregon.gov/dor
(Under Contact and Follow Us at the bottom of the page)

Wage and hour questions can be sent to: Ag.Overtime@boli.oregon.gov
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Questions about the Ag OT tax credit?

71

Pass‐through Entity Elective Tax

71
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• Allows state income tax to be paid at 
entity level

• Owners avoid $10,000 cap on state 
and local tax deduction 

• Available for tax years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2022, and  
ending before January 1, 2026 
(extended by HB 2083)

73

Owners must be 
individuals 
or other PTEs

whose owners are 
individuals

PTE‐E tax – overview

S corporations and 
partnerships only 
(and LLCs taxed as 

either one)

74

PTE‐E tax – overview

• Election made on timely‐filed Form OR‐21
• Calendar‐year basis

– File electronically or through Revenue Online only

– Election made each year

• Estimated payments required
–Calendar‐year due dates
–One‐time registration on Revenue Online required
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75

PTE‐E tax
PTE makes 
election to 

pay PTE‐E tax 
by filing OR‐21

PTE deducts
PTE‐E tax on 
Form 1065 or 

1120‐S

PTE issues federal 
K‐1 to owner 

showing income 
after deducted 

PTE‐E tax

PTE also issues OR‐
21‐K‐1 to owner 
showing elective 
income, deducted 
PTE‐E tax, and 

credit

Owner 
reports 

income from 
K‐1 on federal 
return as 
usual

Owner reports 
addition on OR‐ASC 
for deducted PTE‐E 
tax from OR‐21‐K‐1

Owner is 
taxed* on 
income and 
addition

Owner claims 
refundable credit on 

OR‐ASC for tax 
already paid by PTE 

from
OR‐21‐K‐1

76

PTE‐E 
tax  
issues 

Estimated payments seem to be missing

Owners file returns before election is made

PTE with loss or no tax‐to‐pay

Returns filed on paper

Member credit – no estimated payments by PTE

Member denied credit on individual return

Action item alert appears while logged into Revenue Online
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Communicating with PTE‐E Team

77

Questions can be sent to: BusinessAlternative.IncomeTax@dor.oregon.gov 

External Webpage:
www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/businesses/Pages/Pass‐Through‐Entity‐Elective‐Tax.aspx

(From our main page, click the Businesses section and follow the link under Resources)

Subscribe to Pass‐Through Entity Elective Tax Updates emails: www.oregon.gov/dor
(Under Contact and Follow Us at the bottom of the page)

Revenue Online: revenueonline.dor.oregon.gov

Questions about the PTE‐E tax?
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Corporate Activity Tax

House Bill 2073

• Passed by the Oregon legislature 
during the 2023 session.

• Repealed requirement to have 
good cause for an extension to 
file the CAT return.

• Created new exclusion for costs a 
dealer pays for items of precious 
metal.

HB 2073 (2023) 80
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No requirement to have good cause to obtain a filing extension.

Automatic extension to file CAT return if the taxpayer has extension 
for federal income tax. 

For tax years through 2023, the extension will remain six months.

Beginning with tax year 2024, the extension will be seven months.

81HB 2073 (2023) and OAR 150‐317‐1330: Extension of time to file

CAT Filing Extension – Tax Years 2023+

• New exclusion for costs paid by a dealer for items 
of precious metal.

• Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 2024.

• Intended to provide consistent tax treatment of 
investments.

82HB 2073 (2023)

Precious Metal Exclusion 

An item of precious metal is… “an item of gold, silver, platinum, 
rhodium, or palladium that has been put through a process of 
smelting or refining and that is in a state or condition that its 
value depends on its contents and not its form.”
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82



11/27/2023

42

Rule Advisory Committee (RAC) created to inform development of rules 
related to the precious metal exclusion.

• First RAC meeting held November 08, 2023.

• Potential new administrative rule defining a “precious metal dealer.”

• Potential amendments to current rules to incorporate the new exclusion:

• OAR 150‐317‐1200: Cost Input or Labor Costs; and

• OAR 150‐317‐1020: Unitary Business Factors, Common Ownership and Filing 
Requirements for Unitary Groups.

83

Sign up for the Revenue Rules mailing list to stay up to date on all DOR  rulemaking activities.

Precious Metal Exclusion – Rulemaking

Looking ahead

• 2024 short legislative session
February – March

• Implementation of SB 1: Voluntary Self‐
Identification (VSI) program 
– Race and ethnicity data collection

– Research tax program inequities

– Schedule filed with 2024 personal income 
tax return

• Chatbot on website
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Do you have questions or need help? 

www.oregon.gov/dor 

503‐378‐4988 or 800‐356‐4222 

questions.dor@oregon.gov 

Contact us for ADA accommodations or 
assistance in other languages. 
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