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Withholding Updates 

• The federal Form W-4 was completely revamped and will not work for Oregon 
withholding purposes. 

• If your client previously submitted a 2019 or prior version of the federal form or an 
“Oregon only” 2019 or prior version of the federal W4, this can remain on file until a 
change to withholding is made.  

• Beginning January 1, 2020, all Oregon withholding changes need to made using Form 
OR-W-4. 

• If an employee has a 2019 or prior version of the federal form on file (specifying 
withholding for both state and federal), and the employee submits a new federal Form 
W-4. The employer will withhold at the default amount if Form OR-W-4 has not been 
submitted. 

• The new default amount is a flat rate of 8%. 
• Employees should check their Oregon and federal withholdings and update as needed.  
• Employers are encouraged to limit use of the withholding tables to situations where the 

employee has a 2019 or prior federal Form W-4 on file and the marital status and 
allowances match for federal and state withholding. Use of the tables in other situations 
is discouraged.  

• When more than one person in the household is working, it is encouraged that they use 
the worksheet included with Form OR-W-4 for greater accuracy in calculating 
withholding. 

• Form OR-WR electronic filing is coming soon. To be filed through revenue online. 
• Statewide transit tax is a quarterly return. In some cases the department may grant 

permission for businesses with less than $50 annual tax to request a waiver to file 
annually instead of quarterly. 

Corporate Activity Tax 

• CAT is a calendar year tax beginning January 1, 2020 
• Applies to all business entity types – C corporations, S corporations, partnerships, sole 

proprietorships, and other business entity types. 
• The CAT is calculated on commercial activity realized in Oregon 

o Over 40 items are excluded from commercial activity 
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o A 35% subtraction is allowed for certain expenses 
• Thresholds: 

o Excluded: $750,000 or less of Oregon commercial activity 
o Registration: Over $750,000 of Oregon commercial activity 
o Filing: Over $1 million of Oregon commercial activity 
o Tax payment: Over $1 million of Oregon taxable commercial activity after 

expense subtractions 
• Taxpayers must register annually within 30 days of exceeding the $750,000 registration 

threshold 
o Registration will be available online in early 202 

• Returns are due annually on April 15, and estimated payments are required quarterly 
• The tax rate is 0.57% on taxable commercial activity in excess of $1 million, plus a $250 

fee. 
• Visit www.oregon.gov/dor for the most current information, or to sign up for the 

mailing list. Click on the Corporate Activity Tax link, or type “CAT” in the search bar. 
• Send questions to cat.help.dor@oregon.gov 

Revenue Online 

• The pdf can be accessed on the tax professionals webpage: 
https://www.oregon.gov/DOR/programs/taxpro/Pages/default.aspx 

• Having access to your client’s revenue online account does not grant Oregon power of attorney.  
• In order to access a client’s account you must first have your own.  
• Call 503-378-4988 for general help with revenue online. 

Penalty Waivers 

• An overview of the penalty waiver process was presented as well as the various 
penalties administered by the department 

• The following penalties are eligible for waiver under 150-305-0068 
o Five percent penalty for failure to file or pay by the due date 
o 20 percent penalty for failure to file within three months of the due date 
o 25 percent penalty for failure to file 30 days after Demand to File notice 
o 100 percent penalty for failure to file for three consecutive years (12 consecutive 

quarters for statewide transit tax) 
o The $100 penalty for failure to file an annual report (Form WR or statewide 

transit tax annual report) 
• In order to qualify for a waiver, must be in compliance 
• May mail waiver request to the department, request via revenue online, or power of 

attorney may request 
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• Waiver must include name, account type, billing periods, account number or federal ID 
number (FEIN), an explanation as to why they are requesting a waiver, signature 

• OAR 150-305-0068(5) lists circumstances beyond control 

Miscellaneous 

• Reminder to schedule new law updates 
• Fall rules process is ongoing, feedback Nov 1-26 
• 529/ABLE subtraction 

o Ends December 31, 2019 
o Becomes refundable credit Jan 1, 2020 
o Contributions above the maximum made by December 31, 2019 may be carried 

forward 
• First Time Homebuyer subtraction 

o FAQ can be found here: 
https://www.oregon.gov/dor/programs/individuals/pages/first-homebuyers.aspx 

Next meeting scheduled December 6, 2019. Agenda: New law updates. 
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