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e I Instruction Packet

MEASURE 49

Measure 49 provides that if a public entity enacts one or more land use regulations that restrict the
residential use of private real property, or a farming or forest practice, and that reduce the fair market
value of the property, then the owner of the property shall be entitled to just compensation from the
public entity that enacted the land use regulation or regulations.

A person may file a Measure 49 claim for just compensation if: (1) the person is an owner of the
property, and all other owners consent to the filing of the claim; (2) the person’s desired use of the
property is a residential use or a farming or forest practice; (3) the person’s desired use is restricted
by one or more land use regulations enacted after January 1, 2007; and (4) the land use regulation
(other than an exempt regulation under ORS 195.305(3)) has reduced the fair market value of the
property. Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 195.310.

The claim must be filed within five years of the date of enactment of the land use regulation that is the
basis for the claim. The claim must be filed with the public entity (Metro, city, county or the
Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD)) that enacted the land use regulation.

The claim must be filed with DLCD in the manner set forth in this Measure 49 Claim Packet.

CLAIM PROCEDURE

Completing and Submitting a DLCD Measure 49 Claim Form

Follow the directions for each section of the Claim Form as outlined below. If you need additional
space, you may attach additional sheets. On each attached sheet, please identify the section of the
claim form to which it relates.

Mail or deliver your completed claim, with all required attachments
and processing fee of $12,500 in the form of check, cashier’s check,
or money order payable to “DLCD” to:

New Measure 49 Claims

Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development
635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150

Salem, Oregon 97301-2450

Claims may not be submitted by facsimile or electronically.

Claim Review Process

Claims are deemed filed on the date received by DLCD. Once a claim is received, DLCD will review
the claim to ensure that it is complete. All portions of the Claim Form must be completed, and all
documents and information identified in this Measure 49 Claim Packet must be submitted with the
claim.

If the claim is incomplete, the claimant will be notified in writing. The claimant will have 60 days from
the date of notice that the claim is incomplete to provide the missing information.
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The claim is deemed complete on the date DLCD receives the missing information, part of the
missing information and a written statement from claimant that the remainder of the missing
information will be not be provided, or a written statement from the claimant that none of the missing
information will be provided. Once the claim is deemed complete, DLCD will provide written notice of
the claim to all owners of the property, all persons described in ORS 197.763(2) (neighboring
property owners), and the local government in which the property is located. DLCD will accept public
comment on the claim prior to issuing a final determination. The state is required to issue a final
determination within 180 days of the date the claim is deemed complete.

SECTION I. NAME AND CONTACT INFORMATION OF THE CLAIMANT(S)

Who is an Owner?

A claimant must be an “owner” of the real property that is the subject of the claim. ORS
195.310(18) defines an owner as:

B The owner of fee title to the property as shown in the deed records of the county where the
property is located;

B  The purchaser under a land sale contract, if there is a recorded land sale contract in force for
the property; or

B If the property is owned by the trustee of a revocable trust, the settler of a revocable trust,
except that when the trust becomes irrevocable only the trustee is the owner.

Each person or entity (such as a corporation or partnership) must be identified separately, even if
ownership is jointly held (e.g., married couples must be identified individually). If an owner is an
entity, the claim form must be executed by an individual who has the authority to act on behalf of the
entity. If the property has been placed in trust, the claimant should be the trustee(s) of the trust.

Each owner must decide whether he, she or it wants to be a claimant. In deciding whether or not to
be a claimant, owners should be aware that only one claim may be filed for the same property
regarding the same regulation. Therefore, if an owner chooses not to be a claimant, that owner will
not be able to file another claim for the same property regarding the same regulation.

SECTION Il: NAME AND CONTACT INFORMATION OF ALL NON-CLAIMANT OWNERS

All owners of the property must be identified on the claim form. Use this section to identify all
additional owners of the property that choose not to be a claimant.

In addition to providing the name and contact information of all non-claimant owners of the property,
all non-claimant owners must execute a Non-Claimant Owner Consent Form. A Non-Claimant Owner
Consent Form for each non-claimant owner must be submitted with the claim. Under Measure 49 all
non-claimant owners of the property are required to consent to the filing of a claim, even if the owner
does not wish to be a claimant or otherwise participate in the claim.

SECTION Ill: NAME AND CONTACT INFORMATION OF PRIMARY CONTACT OR AGENT

If the claim is submitted by two or more claimants that are not represented by an agent, designate
one of the claimants as the primary contact. If the claim is submitted by an agent on behalf of the
claimant(s), please identify the name and contact information of the agent. If the claim is submitted by
an agent on behalf of the claimant(s), a written notarized statement or a Power of Attorney signed by
all claimants authorizing the agent to act on behalf of each claimant must be attached.
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SECTION IV: IDENTIFICATION OF PROPERTY AND ACQUISITION

ORS 195.300(20) defines “property” as “the private real property described in a claim and
contiguous private real property that is owned by the same owner, whether or not the contiguous
property is described in another claim, and that is not property owned by the federal government, an
Indian tribe or a public body, as defined in ORS 192.311.”

In this Section of the claim form, identify the private real property that is the subject of the claim and
all contiguous real property owned by the same owner(s). Contiguous real property is any real
property that shares a common boundary (including across a road and common corner) with the real
property that is the subject of the claim.

In addition to the information required in Section IV of the claim form, you must also submit with your
claim a title report, a deed card, and an assessor’s map of the property, consistent with the following
requirements:

Title Report:
The claim must include a title report prepared by a title insurer holding a certificate of authority issued
by the Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Affairs. The title report must:

1. Identify all owners of fee title and all purchasers under a land sale contract, if any, as of the date
of the report as shown in the deed records of the county where the property is located; and
2. Identify the date that each claimant acquired fee title or the date each claimant became a

purchaserunder aland sale contract, ifany, as shown in the deed records of the county where
the property is located; and

3. Include a chain of title from the date of the enactment of each land use regulation identified in
the claim to the date of the title report, as shown in the deed records of the county where the
property is located.

The title report must be accompanied by copies of all deeds, land sale contracts, and other recorded
documents that establish the fee title of all owners or the owner as a purchaser under a land sale
contract, that establish the date that each claimant acquired fee title or the date each claimant
became a purchaser under a land sale contract, and that are referred to in the chain of title. If the
claim involves more than one tax lot, the title report must identify and include the information required
above as to each tax lot.

Deed Card or Plat Card:

The claim must include a copy of the deed card or plat card maintained by the county in which the
property is located for each tax lot that is the subject of the claim. A deed card or plat card is a written
or electronic record maintained by the county for each tax lot containing references to recorded
transactions affecting ownership of the tax lot. You may obtain a copy of the deed card or plat card
from the assessor of the county in which the property is located.

SECTION V: DESIRED USE

Describe succinctly the desired use for the property that has been restricted by the land use
regulation or regulations on which the claim is based. The desired use must be a residential use, or a
“farming practice” or “forest practice”. A “farming practice” is defined in ORS 30.930. A “forest
practice” is defined in ORS 527.620.
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SECTION VI: STATE LAND USE REGULATIONS RESTRICTING DESIRED USE

The Measure 49 Claim must be based on one or more new land use regulations enacted after
January 1, 2007, that restrict the desired use of the property. Claims must be filed within 5-years of
the date of enactment of the land use regulation.

Identify each state land use regulation that restricts the use of the property and the date each
regulation was enacted. Describe how each regulation restricts the desired use of the property.

Attach additional sheets if you need more space.

ORS 195.300(14) defines “land use regulation” to mean:

(a) A statute that establishes a minimum lot or parcel size;
(b) A provision in ORS 227.030 to 227.300, 227.350, 227.400, 227.450 or 227.500 or in ORS
Chapter 215 that restricts the residential use of private real property;
(c) A provision of a city comprehensive plan, zoning ordinance or land division ordinance that
restricts the residential use of private real property zoned for residential use;
(d) A provision of a county comprehensive plan, zoning ordinance or land division ordinance
that restricts the residential use of private real property;
(e) A provision, enacted or adopted on or after January 1, 2010, of:

(A) The Oregon Forest Practices Act;

(B) An administrative rule of the State Board of Forestry; or

(C) Any other law enacted, or rule adopted, solely for the purpose of regulating a forest
practice;
(f) ORS 561.191, a provision of ORS 568.900 to 568.933 or an administrative rule of the State
Department of Agriculture that implements ORS 561.191 or 568.900 to 568.933;
(g) An administrative rule or goal of the Land Conservation and Development Commission;or
(h) A provision of a Metro functional plan that restricts the residential use of private real
property.

SECTION Vil. REDUCTION IN FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE PROPERTY

In this Section, state the amount of reduction in fair market values of the property caused by the state
land use regulations that restrict the desired use of the subject property.

ORS 195.310 provides, in part:

“[tIhe reduction in the fair market value of the property caused by the enactment of one or more land
use regulations that are the basis for the claim is equal to the decrease, if any, in the fair market value
of the property from the date that is one year before the enactment of the land use regulation to the
date that is one year after the enactment, plus interest.”

ORS 195.332 provides, in part:

"[t]he fair market value is the actual value of property, with all of the property’s adaptations to general
and special purposes. The fair market value of property does not include any prospective value,
speculative value or possible value based upon future expenditures and improvements."

The reduction in fair market value must be established by a written appraisal consistent with
requirements of ORS 195.310, 195.326, and 195.332. The written appraisal must be submitted with
the claim.

SECTION Viil. SIGNATURE

All claimants or the agent of the claimant(s) must execute the claim form.
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APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (CHECKLIST)

Before submitting your claim, please use this section to ensure that the claim includes the following:

_ A completed Measure 49 Claim Form. The form must be completed in ink or completed and
printed electronically.

A processing fee of $12,500. Check, cashier’s check, or money order payable to “DLCD.”
Owner Consent Forms completed by each non-claimant owner of the property.

A report from a title company consistent with the requirements discussed in Section |V, above.
County Deed Card as described in Section |V, above.

An appraisal meeting the requirements of ORS 195.310, 195.326, AND 195.332.

Copy of cited land use regulation corresponding to Section VI of the claim form.

-0 O O O O O M

If an agent is submitting the claim, a notarized statement or Power of Attorney signed by all
claimants authorizing the agent to act.
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