

# Physical Education Requirements Corrective Action Timeline

Suzanne Hidde Payne Health & Physical Education Specialist Systems Specialist

**Education Standards and** 

Oregon Department of Educat More information: http://bit.ly/Division22

Susan

#### Supporting Compliance with OAR 581-022-2263

- Resources on ODE Website
  - PE Laws and Regulations
  - <u>PE Toolkit</u>
- Health/PE Specialist proactively conducted outreach, and provided technical assistance/professional development for districts
- Division 22 Assurances Process
  - Conducting outreach since 2021 with districts that have reported "out of compliance"
  - Providing technical assistance for the creation and implementation of corrective action plans



## What: Adjusted Timelines for Compliance



- Standard Timeline: Upon a finding of deficiency, the district has until the beginning of the next school year following the date of deficiency to come back into compliance. (ORS 327.103)
- Extension (up to 12 months): The department may allow an extension of up to 12 months if it determines that the deficiencies cannot be corrected before the beginning of the next school year.
- **Consequences of Non-Compliance:** If the deficiency is not corrected after that time period, the [deputy] superintendent of public instruction may withhold portions of the state school fund.

## Why Adjust the Timeline?

#### Inequities in the Amount of Time Districts Have to Implement

- For 2020-21: minutes requirements waived, districts still required to offer PE all year
  - Result: a shorter implementation timeline for districts that reported out of compliance with both parts of the rule (all year + minutes), rather than just the second part (minutes).

#### **Complexity of Corrective Action Plans**

 Significant changes to school schedules, improvements to facilities, and/or adjustments to staffing assignments and FTE can take several years to
Oregon Dimplement effectively.

## **Corrective Action Deadline**

All districts will have **up to three years** to come back into compliance, beginning with the current school year, as long as they meet certain conditions. By creating this path, ODE encourages transparency and offers districts a reasonable timeline to reach compliance with the PE minutes standard. All districts will be required to be in compliance with this standard by the beginning of the 2025-26 school year.

Year	2022-23 SY	2023-24 SY	2024-25 SY	Fall 2025
Context	<b>Standard Implementation Timeline:</b> Districts must complete corrective action by the beginning of the 2023-24 school year.	Approved Extension: Districts may request up to an additional 12 months to complete corrective action.	SSF Moneys Not Withheld: ODE Director waives the withholding of portions of the state school fund for the third year of implementation under certain conditions.	Deadline for Compliance If still non- compliant, withholding of SSF would begin here
Status	Implementing Corrective Action	Conditionally Standard	Non-Standard	N/A

Districts Reporting Out of Compliance for the 2021-22 SY

Oregon Department of Education

## How It Works:

- District's proposed corrective action plan must be approved by ODE;
- Extension requests must include a detailed progress report documenting action taken to date and an updated corrective action timeline with specific action steps;

Oregon Department of Education • ODE will continue to provide



#### Resources



#### **PE Requirements One-Pager**



Oregon Department of Education

## Support & Technical Assistance

#### • Drop-in Office Hours

- O <u>Tuesday, January 24, 3:30 4:30 pm</u>
- O Tuesday, January 31, 9-10 am
- O Thursday, February 2, 3:30-4:30 pm
- O Wednesday, February 9, 9 10 am
- Division 22 Assurances Outreach Meetings
- Contact a Specialist

Susan Payne Division 22 Standards Specialist susan.payne@ode.oregon.gov suzanne.hidde@ode.oregon.gov



Suzanne Hidde PE & Health Education Specialist

(503) 580-6814

(971) 208-0395



Oregon Department of Education