# Child Maltreatment in Oregon

### PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION Injury and Violence Prevention Program

# **Basic Facts**

- Child maltreatment (CM) is any act or series of acts of commission or omission by a parent or other caregiver that results in harm, potential for harm, or threat of harm to a child from birth through 17 years of age. It includes:
  - Output Physical abuse
  - Sexual abuse
  - Neglect / negligence
  - **Omega Emotional ill-treatment**
- Consequences of child maltreatment include impaired lifelong physical and mental health, and impact social development and occupational outcomes.
- Preventing child maltreatment is possible and requires a multisectoral approach.
- Effective prevention programs support parents and teach positive parenting and child development (e.g. Triple P, Nurse Family Partnership, and Period of PUR-PLE Crying).
- Parents and caregivers are more likely to provide safe and healthy homes for their children when they have support of family, friends, neighbors and the community.

## **Reported Incidents**

In 2012, DHS's Child Protective Services received 69,096 reports of child abuse and neglect (CA/ N); nearly 30,850 reports were referred for investigation.

- 6,332 referrals were founded for abuse or neglect involving 10,054 victims.
- 12.1 percent of victims were infants; nearly half of the victims were under 6 years old (Table 1).
- Physical/sexual abuse accounted for 13.6 percent of incidents; nearly 45 percent of the incidents were for threat of harm; and about 40 percent of them were neglect. Some victims might have experienced more than one type of maltreatment (Figure 1).

#### Deaths

- From 2003 to 2012, 88 child fatalities were due to physical abuse. Among the 88 deaths, 15 children died from shaken baby syndrome.
- 28.4 percent of deaths occurred among infants; more than half of the victims were under 3 years old (Table 1).
- 61% of children were killed by their biological parents; 23% of children were killed by a boyfriend/girlfriend of the child's parent.

Threat of harm type by percent			
Domestic Violence	53%		
Neglect	23%		
Sexual Abuse	14%		
Physical Abuse	8%		
Mental Injury	1%		

To report child abuse/neglect or get help, contact the local DHS child welfare office, or local law enforcement agency.

Table 1. Number of victims by age, Oregon						
Year	Fiscal Year 2012		Calendar Years 2003-2012			
Age (years)	Reported Child Maltreat- ment	%	Deaths due to physical abuse	%		
<1	1,219	12.1	25	28.4		
1	781	7.8	13	14.8		
2	740	7.4	15	17.0		
3	752	7.5	3	3.4		
4	688	6.8	8	9.1		
5	703	7	7	8.0		
6	607	6	3	3.4		
7	539	5.4	3	3.4		
8	520	5.2	2	2.3		
9	460	4.6	3	3.4		
10	436	4.3	2	2.3		
11	431	4.3	2	2.3		
12	419	4.2	0	0.0		
13	435	4.3	1	1.1		
14	410	4.1	0	0.0		
15	369	3.7	1	1.1		
16	330	3.3	0	0.0		
17	215	2.1	0	0		
TOTAL	10,054	100.0	88	100.0		

Data sources: 2012 Child Welfare Data Book, prepared by Children, Adults, and Families Division, DHS; 2003-2012 deaths: Oregon Violent Death Reporting System

#### Figure 1. Types of Child Abuse/Neglect, Oregon, 2012

