

Health Facility Licensing and Certification

800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 465 Portland, Oregon 97232 971-673-0540 971-673-0556 (Fax)

To: Oregon In-home care agencies

From: Health Facility Licensing and Certification (HFLC)

In-home care agency (IHC) program

RE: In-Home Care Mandatory Abuse Reporting Guidelines

Purpose:

The purpose of this memo is to address the mandatory abuse reporting guidelines for in-home care agencies.

Applicable Rules:

The Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 333-536-0005(1) & 333-536-0052(6)(i).

IHC Mandatory Abuse Reporting Guidelines

OAR 333-536-0005(1) defines "abuse" as including but not limited to:

- (a) "Abuse" as it applies to an "adult" as those terms are defined in ORS 430.735;
- (b) "Abuse" as it applies to a "child" as those terms are defined in ORS 419B.005;
- (c) "Abuse" as it applies to an "elderly person" or a "person with a disability" as those terms are defined in ORS 124.005.

How to Report Abuse

OAR 333-536-0052(6)(i), requires in-home care agencies to immediately report any abuse of a child or elder person to the appropriate authorities. If you have cause to believe your client is being, or has been abused, you are required to report this information to the appropriate Department of Human Services (DHS) office immediately. See contact information listed below:

Elder or Peoples with Physical Disabilities Abuse Reporting

You must immediately make an oral report, to your county DHS office of Aging and Peoples with Physical Disabilities (APD), local law enforcement agency or call 1-855-503-SAFE (7233).

Last updated: October 2023

Child Abuse Reporting

You must immediately make an oral report, to your county DHS office of Children, Adults and Family Services (CAF), local law enforcement agency or call 1-855-503-SAFE (7233).

Mentally or Developmentally Disabled Persons Abuse Reporting

You must immediately make an oral report, to your county DHS office of Addictions and Mental Health Division (AMH), local law enforcement agency, or call 1-855-503-SAFE (7233).

IHC Complaint Reporting

In Home Care Program 800 NE Oregon St. #465 Portland, OR 97232

Phone: (971) 673-0540 Fax: (971) 673-0556

Email: mailbox.inhomecare@odhsoha.oregon.gov

Website: www.healthoregon.org/hcrqi

More information is available online at the following websites:

- https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/abuse/pages/mandatory_report.aspx
- http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/abuse/Pages/index.aspx
- https://apps.state.or.us/Forms/Served/de9373.pdf

If you have any questions please email the IHC survey team at mailbox.inhomecare@odhsoha.oregon.gov

Last updated: October 2023

^{**}An Elder is defined as any person 65 years of age or older.

^{**}A Child is defined as an unmarried person who is under 18 years of age.