
ACCEPTABLE ID
FOR MARIJUANA

A recreational marijuana retailer must verify the age of a person purchasing or acquiring 
marijuana items. A person must be 21 years of age to purchase marijuana for recreational 
purposes, or 18 years of age if acquiring marijuana as a registry identifi cation cardholder.

Under Oregon Law only the following non-digital, unexpired, and unaltered forms 
of identifi cation are acceptable alone as proof of age when purchasing or acquiring* 
marijuana items: 

1. Driver license from a U.S. state, District of Columbia, or a province or territory 
 of Canada.

2. ID card with photo, name, date of birth, and physical description issued by   
 a U.S. state, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, Northern Mariana    
 Islands, United States Virgin Islands, or American Samoa, or a province or   
 territory of Canada. 

3. ID card issued by a federally recognized Indigenous American tribe with   
 photo, name, physical description, and date of birth.

4. Passport or passport card.

5. U.S. military ID card.

6. NEXUS or SENTRI card.

* A marijuana retailer may require ID from a person in addition to what is listed above 
only if the ID is the person’s registry identifi cation card as defi ned in ORS 475B.791.

ORS 475B.216, 475B.220, and OAR 845-025-2820(1)

Only the identifi cation listed above are acceptable alone as proof of age. Following are examples 
of identifi cation that ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE ALONE as proof of age:

• Green card
• FAST card
• Prison ID card
• Gun or Firearms permit, including a permit which allows the carrier to carry a weapon in 

public in a concealed manner
• IDNYC card (New York City Identifi cation card)
• Social Security card
• Pilot’s license
• Veteran Health Identifi cation card
• Student ID cards Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission
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