EXPERIENCE
OREGON
BOATING

Safety, Regulations and How-To’s for Fun Boating




Effective January 1, 2020

Waterway Access Permit

The Waterway Access Permit (WAP) replaces the Aquatic Invasive Species (AlS) permit for non-motorized boats.

e Oregon residents and out-of-state operators of non-motorized boats: canoes, kayaks, stand-up
paddleboards, rafts, drift boats and other manually powered boats, which are 10 feet in length or longer
and sailboats under 12 feet long, must purchase a one week (S5), one year ($17) or a two year ($30) permit
when operating on Oregon waters.

0 One permit is required per boat,
0 s transferable from boat to boat, and
0 is not required for youth 13 and younger.

e Permits are not required on certain stretches of federally designated wild and scenic rivers already
requiring permits.

e The permit funds two programs: AIS Prevention Program and non-motorized access. These programs will
improve facilities by adding single parking spaces, non-motorized boat launches, restrooms, low-freeboard
docks, etc. and will continue to inspect boats for aquatic invasive species at the roadside inspection
stations.

o There are four purchasing options:

0 In person at the OSMB office in Salem;

O In person at ODFW license agents;

0 OSMB Online System (downloadable PDF to save on mobile device or printed out); or
O ODFW Electronic Licensing System to print out permit or display using the ODFW App.

Agency Fee Increases

In order to maintain the current levels of service for marine law enforcement and boating facility grants, the agency
asked for and received approval to increase boat registration and title fees, and the Boating Safety Education and
replacement card fees.

e Registration: S5 plus $5.95 per foot. Go to the following link to view the fee schedule:

https://www.oregon.gov/osmb/title-registration/Publishinglmages/2019 2021BoatRegistrationFees.pdf.

e BoatTitle: $75

e Boating Safety Education Card: $20

e Boating Safety Education Card Replacement: $16

Boating Safety Education Card

e Requires out-of-state boaters to carry their states’ boater education card when operating a motorboat
over 10 hp. If your state doesn’t require boating safety education, you will need to take Oregon’s
mandatory boater education course and purchase the Oregon card before operating on Oregon waters.

e Requires new boat owners to acquire and carry a boater’s education card before taking the boat out on
Oregon waters.



https://apps3.oregon.gov/application/osmb/elicense/
https://www.dfw.state.or.us/
https://www.oregon.gov/osmb/title-registration/PublishingImages/2019_2021BoatRegistrationFees.pdf

Boating Safety Law Changes

e |[f you are convicted of a felony or misdemeanor for Reckless Operation of a boat or Boating Under the
Influence of Intoxicants (BUII), your Boater’s Safety Education Card will be suspended for one year for
Reckless Operation and 1-3 years for BUII.

e The fine is reduced from a Class B violation to a Class D violation for not carrying a U.S. Coast Guard
approved, properly fitting life jackets for each person onboard a boat from a Class B violation ($256) to a
Class D violation ($115).

“Pull the Plug” Law

e Boaters are required to “pull the plug” when leaving a waterbody and during transport to allow any water-
holding compartments to drain.

e This reduces the risk of aquatic invasive species being spread from one waterbody to another.

0 The fine for failure to pull the plug is $30 for non-motorized and $50 for motorized and is a Class D
violation.

e |f a person bypasses a mandatory boat inspection station, they can be ordered back by law enforcement if
the station is within 5 miles. If a person fails to go back to the station for an inspection/decontamination,
they can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor.

Boat Rental Business (Liveries) Registration Requirement

e Boat rental businesses with non-motorized boats will be required to register with OSMB, at no cost.
e Failure to register is a Class B violation (5265 fine).

Helmet Availability from Outfitters and Guides Requirement

e On waters in Oregon rated as Class lll or higher, outfitters and guides are required to offer passengers the
use of a helmet.

Towed Watersports Education Program

There are special rules that effect towed watersports on the Willamette River (a.k.a. Newberg Pool) between river
miles 30 and 50. Boat operators towing a wakeboarder or wakesurfer are required to complete the Towed
Watersport Education Course, in addition to the Mandatory Boater Education course.

e Every boat towing a wakeboarder or wakesurfer in this area must have a current Towed Watersports
Decal and Towed Watersports Education Card, in addition to the Boat Oregon Education Card.

e Failure to carry a Towed Watersports Education Card and boat decal is a Class B violation, which carries
a presumptive fine of $265.

e Additionally, if you are cited a second time within a three year period for wake-related violations, you
can be issued a Class A violation, presumptive fine of $440 and may receive a one-year suspension
from boating by a judge.

e The Oregon State Marine Board has developed an interactive map that is available for your
smartphone. This map can help you know which part of the river you are on as well as lets you know
what type of towing activity is allowed. Visit BoatOregon.com and click on “Newberg Pool App” on the
home page.

e For more information regarding how to comply with the Program, please visit the OSMB at
(503) 378-8587 or at www.boatoregon.com.



http://www.boatoregon.com/
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Your Oregon State Marine Board

Your Marine Board is unique from other state agencies
and even other states, because we are an agency devoted
entirely to recreational boating with dedicated funding
supported by motorboat user fees. Your registration dollars
help pay for marine law enforcement services with the
county sheriff's offices and the Oregon State Police, grants
for launch ramps and other boating facility improvements,
boating safety education and education outreach materials
for various programs within the agency. The aquatic
invasive species prevention permit program that non-
motorized boaters who operate boats 10’ long and longer
go into a dedicated account to help fund border inspection
stations, decontamination equipment and inspectors. The
Marine Board does not receive any general fund or lottery
funds, nor does it receive parking or launch fees from
facility owners. The Marine Board does not own or operate
any facilities; instead, relies on partnerships with local and
tribal governments, and state or federal agencies who
manage boating facilities.

The Marine Board represents all boaters and their
unique boating interests. By statute, the Marine Board is
responsible for creating rules and regulations to:
* Promote safety
* Reduce the impact of boating on water quality
* Protect traditional boating uses
* Prevent user conflict
(ORS 830.110, 830.175, 830.195)

Like most outdoor recreation, boating can be relaxing,
exhilarating and liberating, with a wealth of places to
explore and activities that provide countless hours of
enjoyment. It's our goal to share these waterways for the
maximum enjoyment of all boaters. Courtesy and respect
are essential ingredients for a great boating experience.

We are here to help you:

+ Discover Oregon’s plentiful and diverse waterways for
every type of boating activity;

» Enjoy your boating in a safe environment with the help
of on-the-water law enforcement;

* Become educated about boating safety, waterway
regulations, proper waste disposal, aquatic invasive
species and stewardship of the environment;

» Access Oregon’s waterways with modern boat
launches, boarding docks, floating restrooms and
pump-out and dump stations.

The Marine Board urges all boaters to boat safe, boat
sober and always wear a life jacket...regardless of the type
of watercraft you are recreating in. Our waterways are cold
90% of the year and cold water shock (sudden immersion
into water) is the leading cause of drowning.

Let us help you get started! Visit
www.boatoregon.com/map to find access points, local area
boating regulations and other information to help you plan
your waterway adventures.

2017-19 Marine Board revenues
by major source - total $32,915,093
Excludes $6,065,290 beginning balance

490% . 2.70% 1.10%

7.10%

Registration, Titles, Licenses AISP

@ Guides, Charters,
Education Cards

Fuel Tax
USCG Boater Safety
USFWS CVA & BIG

@ Other

2017-19 Marine Board expenditures
by major program

4.70%
10.70% =

Boating Facility Grants Education & Registration

Safety, Waterway Planning/Marking/ . Agquatic Invasive Species
Obstructions/Adopt-A-River . Administration

Law Enforcement Grants & Education . Engineering & Grant Assistance


https://www.boatoregon.com/map
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SPECIAL NOTICE

This publication is not a legal
reference. It is not a complete
statement of State of Oregon laws
nor of the Oregon State Marine
Board administrative rules. In
conflicts between this booklet and
Oregon laws or administrative
rules, the laws and rules will
prevail.

Content in this handbook

changes frequently. For the

most up to date information, visit
www.boatoregon.com, and find

a waterbody near you using the
Integrated Boat Oregon Map to learn
about current local and statewide
regulations. Follow us on social
media for the latest boating news.
For questions about regulations or to
request a current copy of the online
version, call the Marine Board at
(503) 378-8587.

Copyright 2018,
Oregon Secretary of State
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KEY DEFINITIONS

For the purpose of this publication, the
following boating terms and regulations
are defined as follows.

OAR — Oregon Administrative Rule
ORS — Oregon Revised Statute
RM — River Mile

Boat — All watercraft, including a
seaplane on the water and not in flight,
used or capable of being used as a
means of transportation on the water.
Exemptions include: boathouses,
floating homes, air mattresses, beach
and water toys or single inner tubes.

Boater — A person who uses or travels
in a boat for pleasure.

Slow-No Wake — Operating a boat
at the slowest speed necessary to

maintain steerage and that reduces or
eliminates waves that appear as white
water behind the boat.

Towed devices — including, but not
limited to: water skis, knee boards,
inner tubes, ski biscuits, wake boards
and other devices being pulled by a
motorboat.

“Safe” take-off, landing — only
applicable on certain waterways.
Must be accomplished without risk

to any swimmers or watercraft within
the distance of shoreline specified

for the applicable waterway. Boats
towing skiers may exceed 5 mph only
to maintain skier in a skiing position
on take-offs and landings under the
conditions in this “safe” definition.

% A portion of the funding for this guide is

provided by a grant from the Clean Boat

g Act, through the Sport Fish Restoration

Program, administered by the U.S. Fish

&Y and Wildiife Service
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MINIMUM REGULATORY REQUIREMENTS

er Education Carg
John Q. Boater
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Mandatory Boater Education

Boating safety education is a proven way of reducing accidents, injuries
and conflicts on Oregon’s waterways.

Cardl MUST be anrried o s
hen aperaning pemerboar

In 1999, the Oregon Legislature directed the Marine Board to implement a » The card is good for life (no renewal
Mandatory Boater Education Program. This program requires all Oregon necessary). One-time $10 application fee
residents operating motorboats greater than 10 horsepower (hp), and (not included in class, internet or test fees).
youths 12-15 years old who operate any type of motorboat, to take a « Ifthe card is lost or stolen there is an $8
course on basic boating safety and pass a test to demonstrate basic replacement fee. Please contact the Marine
boating knowledge. Upon passing a test, the boater needs to apply for Board at 503.378.8587 to apply for a

a permanent boater’s education card and must carry the card when replacement.

operating a motorboat. * If you have already taken a course approved
Many course options are available (classroom, approved internet courses by the National Association of State Boating
and equivalency exams). The cost ranges from free to $29.95. For a list of Law Administraters (NASBLA), you have
courses or exam options near you, or for links to approved internet courses, met the Oregon requirement and may

visit www.boatoregon.com. apply for your permanent Oregon boater

education card.

Below are detailed requirements:

You must be 12 years of age to operate a motorboat in Oregon

Youth 12 — 15 years of age need to carry a boater education card:

+ to operate a boat of 10 hp or less without a card-holding adult onboard.

+ to operate a boat greater than 10 hp AND need to be in direct supervision by a person 16 years old or older, who also
carries a boater education card.

+ to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) AND be accompanied by a card-holding adult 18 years old or older, who can take
control of the boat if neccessary.

EXEMPTIONS
LEVEL 1: A boater who:

* has an expired U.S. Coast Guard Boat Operators License, or;

* has attained the status of U.S. Coast Guard Crewman or Coxswain equivalent
-does not need to take a boating safety course or equivalency exam, but is required to carry a boaters education card
when operating a boat recreationally. To get a boater education card, the boater needs to provide a copy of his/her
credentials, along with a completed boater education card application and the one-time $16 fee to the Marine Board.

LEVEL 2: A Boater Education Card is not required if a person is:

* aboater with a current U.S. Coast Guard Boat Operators License.

* aboat renter. Renters are exempt from carrying the boater education card, but must complete a dockside safety
checklist from the livery and carry the signed portion while operating the rented motorboat.


http://www.boatoregon.com/OSMB/BoatEd/ClassDescription1.shtml

2. AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES PREVENTION
* * PERMIT PROGRAM & HIGHWAY INSPECTIONS
% Q'Q ALL BOATS —motorized and non-motorized being transported into Oregon are re-

‘v
#1 NE 8© quired by state law to stop at inspection stations when they are open. When stations
are open, signs will be setup along the highway. If you are entering Oregon when
w the stations are closed, you are not required to have your boat inspected.

\

Umatilla

1-84
Ontario

-5 Hwy 97 Hwy 395

Ashland Klamath Lakeview
Falls

OREGON AIS BOATING LAW

* Requires all motorboats
regardless of size and all non-
motorized boats 10 feet or longer
to purchase and carry an AlS
permit while on Oregon waters.

Prohibits the launching of any

boat into Oregon waters with
ANY aquatic species on the hull,

WHERE TO GET YOUR PERMIT

Illegal to transport aquatic Paddlers can purchase a two year Tyvek tag for $10 from OSMB or an OSMB

i_nvasive species and to possess AIS Dealer www.oregon.gov/osmb/boater-info/Pages/AlS-Dealers.aspx.
live or dead zebra and/or quagga

mussels. One year permits are available at www.myodfw.com or an ODFW licensing agent.

Permit fees pay for inspection stations, decontamination equipment, signage, inspectors, and education and outreach materials.


https://www.oregon.gov/osmb/boater-info/Pages/AIS-Dealers.aspx
http://www.myodfw.com

REGISTRATION

Tltllng and Reg|Strat|°n Proof of ownership documents include:
(ORS 830.705) Sailboats 12 feet or longer and all motorboats
must be titled and registered in Oregon. Motorized boats
include any type of boat (i.e. personal watercraft, canoe,
inflatable boat, rowboat, etc.) with any type of motor

1. Ifthe boat is currently titled in any of the following states,
submit the properly signed Certificate of Title:

(gasoline, diesel, electric). ORS 830.005 California Indiana Utah
Exemptions include (ORS 830.015): New Mexico Oregon Minnesota
1. Certain public boats Dist. of lowa Vermont
' P ' Columbia Rhode Island Montana
2. Boats registered in other states in Oregon for 60 days New York Kentucky Virginia
or less. Florida South Carolina Nevada
Ship’s lifeboats used solely for lifesaving purposes. North Carolina Maryland Washington
) lllinois South Dakota New Jersey
4. Commercial boats documented by the U.S. Coast Ohio Massachusetts West Virginia
Guard.” Idaho Texas Wisconsin
Boats falling under this requirement must be currently Oklahoma Michigan
registered when operated, moored or stored on state waters.
Failure to have a Certificate of Number and registration can
result in a fine. 2. From a non-title state, a bill of sale and Certificate of
*Documented recreational boats are required to pay a reg- Number from the previously registered owner is required.

istration fee if Oregon is the state of principal use. Two valida- 3
tion decals will be issued for display on the aftermost section

of the hull on both the port and starboard sides. This process o ) o
does not alter the display of name, home port or documenta- 4. The following situations need a hull identification number

For a new boat, submit the Manufacturer’s Statement of
Origin.

tion number required by federal documentation laws. (HIN) inspection (ORS 250-010-0055):
. . + Boats from non-titling states

How To Title And Rengter * Inadequate documentation

To title and register a boat the owner must fill out « Incorrect HIN

an application, provide proof of ownership and pay

any necessary fees. . Home bullt. boat | .
Applications are available at Depending on the circumstances, a pencil tracing and

www.boatoregon.com or from photographs of the HIN may be accepted. Contact a registration
an authorized boat registration specialist at 503-378-8587.

agent. The application can Homebuilt boats and boats without a titling or registration history

be completed online, at an must be inspected by marine law enforcement.
authorized boat registration

agent or sent by U.S. mail.
To apply online you will need
to upload supporting proof of Boat Oregon Title &

Boats required to have a Certificate of Number must have
a Certificate of Title. Exempted from this requirement are
certain amphibious vehicles and boats used by dealers or

ownership documents. Registration FAQs manufacturers for demonstration purposes.
% OREGON.GOV Renew Online Boat Oregon g
. A : : www.boatoregon.com/store Store =




Registration Fee Schedule
Registration is $5 plus $5.95 per foot (*rounded
up) for the following (ORS 830.790):

» Sailboats 12 feet and longer

* All motorized boats (including electric)
These fees apply to all boats in use (in the water).
Registration is paid on a two-year calendar basis, with all
decals expiring December 31 of the year indicated. Plus a
$5 aquatic invasive species prevention permit fee.
*Example: 17 feet 3 inches =
18 feet (times $5.95/foot)=$107.10 +$5=$112.10 TOTAL

GON 5,
C:ER‘I’IFICATE OF NUMBER c@ STATE MARINE BOARD A

FOR A VESSEL * * 435 COMMERCIAL ST. NE #400
% @ SALEM, OREGON 97301-0650
Q‘,"' ‘n“
Vessel ID EXPIRES Hull ID Number Length

OR 994ABD 12312020 XXX123451404 20ft 3in

Model ¥Yr Operation Type Matl Prop Engine Fuel
2004 1 1 4 1 1 1

Manufacturer
WAKECRAFT

Boater Jée K

Boater Jane L

1234 Rivertown Ave
\Salem OR 97309

/

Certificate of Number card must be carried onboard when boating.

Oregon Transfer of Title Process

Oregon boat title transfers must be submitted within 30
days of purchase either online or at the Marine Board office
in Salem or a registration agent. Postmarked dates are

not accepted. Titles transferred 30 days after the date of
purchase will be charged a $25 penalty fee (ORS 830.810).

Measuring Boat Length

The length is measured from bow (front) to stern (back).
This is a straight line measurement of the overall length
measured parallel to the centerline of the boat. Bowsprits,
bumpkins, rudders, outboard motor brackets, swim
platforms and similar fittings or attachments are not included
in the measurement. Length is stated in feet and inches.

“  Length — - Length —

544735 :

Waterline

Waterline

Display of OR Number and Decals

(ORS 830.780) An OR number is assigned to each boat by the
State Marine Board and is on the Certificate of Number. This
number must be applied or painted on each side of the forward
half of the boat as illustrated below. On a flared bow the number
should be placed on some part of the forward half of the boat
where it can be easily read by approaching boats and law
enforcement.

=

E OR 334 AA ? ;

The numbers and letters must be a minimum of 3 inches

in height, vertical (not slanted), plain (not script or varying

in thickness) and any border outline or shadowing must be
disregarded in determining the height or color contrast. The
number colors should be in contrast with the boat hull’s color,
making it easier to read at a distance.

No other number or letters can be displayed nearby if they will
interfere with the identification of the boat and its state number.

STARBOARD

O -0R“234AA:

DECAL
NOT OVER 3/4

PORT

O R‘2‘2 34-AA 0

DECAL
NOT OVER 3/4

OREGON

Validation decals are renewed STATE MARINE BOARD

every two years and must be
placed on each side of the
boat, 3 inches aft (towards

the back) and in line with the
registration numbers as shown
above.

20

OR 123 ABC

Example »

Decal Application

It's best to remove all of the decals prior to applying the new
ones. Clean the surface with soapy water, rinse thoroughly
with a water-dampened cloth, followed by a dry cloth.

2. WARNING: Acetone or other chemical solvents used to
remove additional adhesive on the boat surface may interact
with the adhesive on the decals. Follow the use of any
solvent with the cleaning method described above in item
one.



3. Decals must be applied to a dry surface at temperatures
above 40 degrees Fahrenheit. Remove decals from the
sheet by bending the sheet at the centerline between the

decals and peel back. Apply one decal to each side of the
bow as shown above, smoothing the decal with a dry cloth

to remove any air bubbles. Allow a MINIMUM 24 HOUR
CURE TIME before use in the water to avoid loss.

Hull Identification Number (HIN)

All boats manufactured after November 1, 1972 must have
the Hull Identification Number (HIN) permanently applied and

displayed according to U.S. Coast Guard regulations before the

boat can be sold in Oregon (ORS 830.825).

Altered, improper or missing HINs may be cause for seizure by

marine enforcement officers. Contact the Marine Board if you
suspect a problem with your HIN.

The Marine Board will assign a hull identification number for
older boats that do not have one after an inpection by the
County Marine Patrol.

Hull Identification Number (HIN)

AI?C 4567|8 A4 % —

é ® e \o
Manufacturers | Hull Serial Month/Year of || Model
1.D. Code || Number Manufacture

\
W

N/ 'e\\\

W

Place Hull Identification
Number in this location

Notification Requirements

The boat owner is required to notify the State Marine Board in

writing within 30 days:

1. If the boat is destroyed, stolen or documented. If stolen,
the owner should report the theft to the local sheriff’s
office. Then contact the Marine Board and provide us
with the same information and case
number.

Any change of address.

If a Certificate of Number, Certificate
of Title or the decals to a boat are lost
or destroyed.

The owner is responsible for any damage
caused by an abandoned or sunken boat
in navigable waters (ORS 830.909). If the
boat is blocking a waterway and poses

a navigation hazard, the owner will be
required to remove it at his or her own
expense. Anyone finding an abandoned
boat must contact the local county
sheriff’s office. Oregon does not currently
have laws regarding boat salvage.

Theft Prevention

In Oregon and nationally, boat theft has become a big
business. To help protect yourself from thieves, the Marine
Board suggests the following tips:

1. Stow loose gear and take valuables with you when you
leave the boat.

Secure your outboard motor to the boat with a padlock
through the two holes in thumbscrews.

3. Padlock all hatches and storage compartments. Use
locks that have concealed screws (called hasps).
Deadbolts provide better security.

4. Secure your trailer to your vehicle with a chain and
lock. Immobilize the trailer by removing a wheel and or
blocking up the frame.

5. Mark and record the serial numbers of your property.
6. Be alert to strangers in the area.
7. Install an audible alarm.

Report all boat thefts to the county sheriff's office or the
Oregon State Police and the Marine Board.

Avoid Being a Boat Fraud Victim

Stolen boats are frequently sold to unsuspecting customers.
Do not purchase any boat if the seller is unable to produce
a title or proof of ownership. You can avoid being victimized
by recognizing common fraud indicators:

+ Before purchasing a boat, make sure its HIN exactly
matches the HIN listed on the registration and/or title.
* Be sure to review ownership paperwork and look for
these fraud indicators:
* The boat has been rebuilt, previously reported
stolen, sunk or recovered.
* The title or proof of ownership is a duplicate issue
or from out-of-state.
* Registration numbers appear altered and their
shape/size is not uniform.

* The asking price is well below the market value. Be
suspicious if someone offers to sell you a boat or
equipment at a price that’s too good to be true.




Ignition Safety Switches
Prevent Propeller Strikes

Many boating accidents involve an operator or passenger
falling overboard. Wearing the lanyard when properly
attached to the ignition cut-off switch will kill the boat’s
motor, eliminating the potential of a runaway boat. An
unmanned boat may run hard and circle back, resulting in
injury or death from a propeller strike. By killing the engine,
the boater can swim to the boat and climb back aboard.

Ignition safety (engine cut-off) switches
Modern motorboats and personal watercraft are equipped
with an emergency shut-off switch. This safety feature can
shut the engine off if the operator falls out/off the boat.

+ Alanyard connects from the operator’s wrist or life
jacket to the ignition cut-off switch. When the lanyard
is pulled, the engine shuts off.

* In Oregon, a PWC operator is required to attach the
lanyard.

Avoiding propeller strikes

Propeller strikes are always serious, frequently gruesome
and often deadly. Anyone in the water around a boat —scuba
diver, downed water skier or tuber, swimmer, or someone
who’s fallen overboard, is a potential victim. Many propeller
accidents are due to operator inexperience, negligence,

and impairment. These types of accidents are completely
preventable by following these safety practices:

+ Turn off the engine when passengers board or exit
the boat.
+ Always start the boat in neutral, and not in gear.

* Never ride on the gunwales, transom or bow, unless the
motorboat is provided with adequate guards or railing.

* Make sure all passengers are seated
properly before getting underway.

« Always have a spotter, especially if
swimming from a boat and always
when there are children in the boat.

+ Maintain a proper lookout for people in
the water: slow down when approaching
a congested area, particularly if other
boats are stopped or at anchor. Always
be on the lookout for swimmers and
divers. Look for a “diver-down” flag.

+ Stay away from designated swimming
areas and follow waterway marker rules.

Weather

Before you head out, check the local weather and sea
conditions. Weather information is available by listening to
local radio stations, U.S. Coast Guard radio, or the National
Weather Service VHF/FM broadcasts on frequencies: 162.400
and 162.550 MHz in areas where available. Along the Oregon
coast, tune in to 1610 AM for local weather and coastal bar
crossing information.

Storm warning flags are displayed at selected coastal
locations such as U.S. Coast Guard stations, marinas, public
piers and yacht clubs. These signals are a prediction of
potentially dangerous wind, or in the case of small craft
warnings, winds and seas dangerous to small boats. Boaters
should know the signals and heed their warnings, especially
at coastal bar locations.

WEATHER DISPLAYS

Daytime
Signals

Night
Signals

SMALL CRAFT
Winds 21 to
33 knots

GALE
Winds 34 to
47 knots

STORM
Winds 48 knots
or greater




Fueling

Most fires and explosions happen shortly after fueling. To prevent
this type of accident, follow these rules:

1. Fuel before dark.

Don’t smoke or strike matches.

Shut off motors. Turn off electrical equipment.

Close all windows, doors and openings.

Take portable tanks out of the boat and fill them on the dock.
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Keep the fill nozzle in contact with the tank rim to prevent a
buildup of static electricity, which could produce a spark.

7. Fuel tanks expand as they warm. Do not fill tanks
completely, because overfilling can lead to spills.

8. Wipe up any spilled gasoline from around the boat. Discard
the cloth in a safe manner. The bilge pad will soak up any
overflow or spills while protecting the water.

9. |If your boat is equipped with a power ventilation system
(blower), turn it on for at least four minutes after fueling,
prior to starting your engine. This will help eliminate gas
vapors in the bilge.

10. Before restarting the engine, sniff the bilge and engine
compartments for fumes. Periodically check the entire fuel
system for leaks.

Some fuels contain alcohol (ethanol-blended fuel), which can
cause rubber gaskets and hoses to deteriorate, resulting in fuel
leaks and clogged fuel filters. Be sure to winterize your boat each
season, so it runs well.

Float Plan

Boaters who plan a trip, no matter how long, should complete

a Float Plan and leave it with a friend or neighbor. Then, if you
don’t return as planned, the proper agency can be notified. The
float plan will provide the necessary information including where
you are going and when you're expecting to be back. Be sure to
tell people when you return.

Boat Capacity

Do not exceed either the stated maximum weight capacity
or the maximum number of people indicated by your boat
capacity plate.

* The maximum weight is the combined weight of passengers,
gear and motors (including ballast tanks or other devices).

+ It's a violation to exceed the boat capacity.

+ If your boat does not have a capacity plate, use the following
formula to determine the number of people the boat will
safely carry, and do not exceed that limit.

Number of people = Length of boat (in feet) X Width of boat (in feet)
15

The results give the number of persons (150 Ib. average) that
can be put aboard without crowding, in good weather conditions.

Overloading a boat is not only dangerous,
it’s illegal.

Boat Ramp Etiquette for Boaters

The following tips are offered to assist you in launching
and retrieving your boat to avoid unnecessary delay and
blocking the ramp. Prep your boat in the “staging area,” as
much as possible.

Staging area

1. Be sure all required safety equipment and certificate
of number are onboard. You must also carry a boater
education card if the boat motor is over 10 hp.

Load your boat with your gear and supplies.

Check condition of battery, motor and angle of drive
unit (tilted up). Also, make sure your bilge pump
works.

4. Make sure the boat plug is firmly in place before
launching. Remove the plug after retrieving and allow
any water to drain out of the boat.

Launching (retrieving is in reverse order)

1. Slowly reverse the boat trailer down the ramp, and
stop just before the stern hangs over the water.

2. Disconnect the winch strap and remove any pins or
other devices used to prevent an outboard motor from
tipping down.

3. Back the boat trailer down the ramp until the trailer
wheels are submerged. Have a helper take a bow line,
or tie it to your vehicle or winch handle.

Gently, power or float off the trailer. Once the boat is
away from the trailer, tie your boat to the dock with
the bow line. Experienced boaters will have someone
move the boat away from the dock until the driver has
parked and is ready to board.

5. Always run the blower for four minutes before you
start the engine. You can begin this process at the
staging area to reduce your wait time.

6. Power loading your boat directly onto the boat trailer
undercuts the toe of the ramp and mounds sediment
behind it. It can cause trailers to get stuck and boats to
ground, especially at low water. Kill the engine and
use the boarding dock to walk your boat onto its trailer.

Boat ramps and ‘power loading’

The practice causes a scouring of the lake bottom at the ramp's base.
i g i «..a sand bar forms

from the scoured sand
settling behind the hole.

% é;

Be courteous! The less time you spend
on the ramp or at the dock, the more other
boaters will appreciate you.

A haole forms at the |
base of the ramp
churned up by the
boat’s motor and...


https://www.oregon.gov/osmb/forms-library/Documents/Education/FloatPlanOSMB2015.pdf

Loading, Operation and Stability

“Stability” is the resistance of a boat to forces that tend to induce
a boat to “tip” from one side to the other. Smaller boats tend to
have less stability based on the center of gravity of the boat,
AND the individuals in the boat. People, gear, and environmental
conditions have a greater stability impact on smaller, lighter
boats. Small boat operators need to pay close attention to
weather conditions, water conditions, how their boat is operating,
gear weight and most importantly, their own impact on overall
stability. Never stand up quickly, even when landing a big fish!
Keep your center of gravity along the center line of the boat as
much as possible. Falls overboard and capsizing are the primary
contributing factors of accidents and fatalities in Oregon.

Operators are responsible for carefully loading supplies and
seating passengers properly. Remember:

1. Spread weight evenly.
2. Fasten gear to prevent shifting.

3. Keep passengers seated in designated areas. Sitting on
the gunwales, bow, or transom of a boat that's underway is
unsafe and illegal.

4. Don’t overload the boat. Follow the boat manufacturer’s
capacity plate.

Outboard boats are often operated at relatively high speeds and
their stability becomes a matter of safety. Some also run straight
ahead quite steadily, but have a tendency to heel excessively, or
even “flip over,” when turned sharply.

The presence of an external keel and its relative size has a major

effect on the directional stability of a small boat. Smaller, faster
boats have little need for much keel; larger, cruiser-type hulls
which are slower, will have a more pronounced keel. Greater
directional stability naturally resists turning; attempting to make a

sharp turn at too high a speed for the amount of keel carried may

result in its broaching, flipping over sideways. Conversely, a boat
with a little or no keel or stag has little directional stability and
may skate out sideways when a turn is attempted at excessive
speed -initially the boat will point off in the new direction, but
actually continues to travel along its old course.

The faster a boat goes, the more important it is to reduce speed
to a save level before starting a turn. Never turn more sharply
than necessary; normal operation seldom requires a sudden,
sharp, or high-speed turn.

Example of overloading.

Motor trim

Overloading is a major cause of boating accidents, and therefore
it's important to stay within the carriage requirements for your

boat. Factors affecting the motor’s trim become ever more
critical if the load approaches the capacity, especially with
smaller boats.

Have all weight evenly distributed so that the boat will trim
properly -level from side to side and slightly down at the stern,
and never down at the bow. Passengers should be seated to-
ward the centerline of the boat and not hanging over the sides;
not too many forward or aft. If the load is concentrated near
the bow or stern, the boat will plow or drag needlessly, reduc-
ing your safety margin and increasing your fuel consumption.
Proper trim is essential to proper performance and safety.

Trim your boat as well as possible before getting underway.

In smaller boat, it is dangerous for passengers to attempt to
change places or move about while the boat is underway. If
such movement becomes essential, slow or stop the boat first,
remembering in rough weather to keep enough momentum

to retain steerage control and to keep the boat headed into
the wind and waves. Have the person who must move stay
low and near the boat's centerline. Standing up suddenly can
easily lead to falling overboard.

Trailer Requirements

Oregon law requires a two-year trailer registration, when the
loaded weight of the trailer and boat exceed 1800 pounds. The
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) registers trailers.

Trailers, including boat trailers, must have stop, tail and turn
signal lights with two red reflectors mounted on the rear of the
trailer. They must also have side reflectors and marker lights:
amber on the side at the front, and red on the sides at the rear.
These lights and reflectors may be separate units or installed
in combinations. If the trailer is over 80 inches wide, it must
have clearance and identification lights. If the trailer has a
license plate, it must have a license plate light.

Booster brakes are best with heavy boats. The driver of the tow-
ing vehicle must be able to safely stop in a reasonable distance.

Adequate tie-downs are needed at the bow and stern.
Temporary bumper hitches are not recommended.

Hitches should be welded or bolted to the frame of the towing
vehicle.

One or two safety chains or cables are required, criss-crossed
and connected to prevent the tow bar from dropping to the ground
in the event the coupling device fails. The chains or cables must
have a tensile strength equal to the weight of the trailer, and long
enough to permit proper turning of the vehicle. Practice maneu-
vering and backing in an open area before launching at the ramp
to develop proficiency. Keep in mind, backing down arampin a
straight line is more difficult than on level ground.

Dockside Safety Checklist
for Boat Rentals

All persons operating a rented watercraft greater than 10 hp
must carry the signed portion of the Watercraft Rental Safety
Checklist if they do not already possess a boater education
card. All other provisions of the Mandatory Boater Education
Program apply, including minimum operator ages and supervi-
sion. The livery, or rental facility, will have each boat operator
complete this form and walk through basic boating safety items
on this checklist with a qualified staff member. Your signed
copy of this checklist acts as a temporary boater education
card only during the operation of the rented watercraft.



Requirements by Boat Length

Equipment requirements vary with the size of the boat and its
source of power. Type of construction and motor will cause
equipment requirements to vary. Motorboats when used in
racing and similar activities are generally exempt from carrying
a whistle, fire extinguisher and muffler. Sailboats with motors,
whether inboard or outboard, are considered motorboats.
Personal watercraft (PWC) are also considered motorboats.

Boats that are not properly equipped can be fined.

NOTE: It is a federal requirement that boats operating on
coastal waters be equipped with visual distress signals. The
rules governing visual distress
signals vary according to the size
of boat and its type of propulsion.

~Children 12

For further information, ask for a and under
copy of visual distress signals for must WEAR
recreational boaters at your local life jackets.

U.S. Coast Guard station.

Sailboats and manually
propelled boats (paddlecraft)

Must carry the following equipment:
1. Personal flotation devices (PFDs) or life jackets:

a. Sailboats less than 16 feet in length and all
paddlecraft shall carry one Type |, Il or lll life jacket of
an appropriate size for each person onboard that is
readily accessible. A throwable device Type IV will not
meet the carriage requirements for these boats.

a. Sailboats 16 feet and over must have one Type |, Il or
1l life jacket of an appropriate size onboard for each
person, as well as one type IV throwable device.
2. Navigation lights (required only when underway or at
anchor between sunset and sunrise, and during periods of
restricted visibility).

a. For manually propelled boats, a lantern showing a
white light, to be temporarily exhibited in sufficient
time to prevent collision.

b. For sailboats, (p15).

3. Sound devices: A boat less than 39 feet 4 inches (or 12
meters) long, must carry a sound signaling device such as
a whistle or a compressed air horn.

Recommended equipment

Along with the required equipment, the Marine
Board recommends carrying the following:

1. Compass 9. Paddle

2. Anchor fenders 10. Tool kit

3. Flashlight, extra batteries 11. Two-way radio

4. Extraline 12. Cell phone

5. Bucket 13. Visual distress signals
6. Port-a-potty 14. Marine VHF radio, if

7. Bilge pump and pads operating in coastal waters
8. First aid kit

Motorboats less than 26 feet
Must carry the following equipment:

1. AU.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket, Type |, Il or
1, for each person onboard, of an appropriate size for the
intended wearer that is readily accessible and a Type IV
throwable cushion.

a. Motorboats less than 16 feet in length and all
paddlecraft shall carry one, Type I, Il or Il life jacket
of suitable size for each person onboard that is
readily accessible but are exempt from carrying a
Type IV throwable cushion.

2. Sound devices. A boat less than 39 feet 4 inches (12
meters) must carry a sound producing device such as a
whistle or compressed air horn.

3. One B-I type approved fire extinguisher when no fixed
fire extinguishing system is installed in machinery. (Fire
extinguishers are not required on outboard motorboats
of open construction less than 26 feet in length.) A B-I
type extinguisher is not required if an approved fixed fire
extinguishing system is installed in machinery spaces.

Navigation lights (p15).

An approved carburetor backfire flame arrestor for inboard
motors not exposed to the atmosphere above the gunwale.

6. An effective muffling system for the exhaust of each
internal combustion engine.

7. Aventilation system, the particular type dependent upon
when the boat was built. See “Ventilation (Fuel Vapors)” on
page 15.

NOTE: Lighting is required only when the boat is underway or
at anchor between sunset and sunrise and during restricted
visibility.




Motorboats 26 feet and less than 40 feet

Must carry the following equipment:

1. A U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket, Type |, Il or
lll, for each person onboard, of an appropriate size for the
intended wearer that is readily accessible.

A Type IV throwable cushion is also required and needs to
be immediately available.

2. Sound devices. A boat less than 39 feet 4 inches (12
meters) must carry a sound producing device such as a
whistle or compressed air horn.

3. Two B-1 type approved fire extinguishers or one
B-Il type approved portable fired extinguisher. When an
approved fixed fire extinguishing system is installed, one
less B-I type is required.

4. Navigation lights (p15).

An approved carburetor backfire flame arrestor for inboard
motors not exposed to the atmosphere above the gunwale.

6. An effective muffling system for the exhaust of each
internal combustion engine.

7. Aventilation system, the particular type dependent upon
when the boat was built. See “Ventilation (Fuel Vapors)” on
page 15.

NOTE: Lighting is required only when the boat is underway or
at anchor between sunset and sunrise and during restricted
visibility.

Motorboats 40 feet and less than 65 feet

Must carry the following equipment:

1. A U.S. Coast Guard-approved life jacket, Type |, Il or
Ill, for each person onboard, of an appropriate size for the
intended wearer that is readily accessible and a Type IV
throwable cushion.

2. Sound devices. A boat of more than 39 feet 4 inches
(12 meters), but less than 65 feet 6 inches (20 meters)
must carry onboard a bell and a whistle, or a horn. The
whistle and the bell must comply with existing federal
specifications.

3. Three B-1 type approved fire extinguishers or one
B-1 type plus one B-Il type approved portable fire
extinguishers. When an approved fixed fire extinguishing
system is installed, one less B-I type is required.

Navigation lights (p15).
An approved carburetor backfire flame arrestor for

inboard motors not exposed to the atmosphere above the
gunwale.

6. An effective muffling system for the exhaust of each
internal combustion engine.

7. Aventilation system, the particular type dependent upon
when the boat was built. See “Ventilation (Fuel Vapors)” on
page 15.

NOTE: Lighting is required only when the boat is underway or
at anchor between sunset and sunrise and during restricted
visibility.

Sound Producing Devices

In periods of reduced visibility or whenever a boat operator
needs to signal his or her intentions or position, a sound

producing device is essential. Know the rules for meeting head-
on, crossing, and overtaking situations.

The sound producing device may be a whistle, horn, or bell that is
audible for 1/2 mile. All boats on state and
federally controlled waters must have a

sound producing device to communicate.

Common sound signals
Some common sound signals that you
should be familiar with as a recreational
boater are:

* A short blast, lasting one second.

* A prolonged blast lasting 4-6 seconds.

Changing direction

* One short blast tells other boaters, “l intend to pass you on
my port (left side).”

« Two short blasts tell other boaters, ‘I intend to pass you on
my starboard (right) side.”

* Three short blasts tell other boaters, “I am backing up.”

Restricted visibility

* One prolonged blast at intervals of not more than two
minutes is a signal used by power driven boats when
underway.

* One prolonged blast, plus 2 short blasts at intervals of
not more than two minutes apart, is the signal used by sailing
boats.

Warning

* One prolonged blast is a warning signal (for example, used
when coming around a blind bend or exiting a slip).

* Five or more short rapid blasts signal danger, or signal that
you do not understand or that you disagree with the other
boater’s intentions.

Life Jackets

All boats must carry at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved
personal flotation devicel/life jacket for every person aboard.
Persons being towed are considered onboard. PFDs must be

in serviceable condition. They must not have any rips, tears, or
broken straps. All life jackets must also be kept “readily accessible”
for use in an emergency situation. Life jackets in a plastic bag or in
a storage compartment are not readily accessible.

Each person onboard a personal watercraft must wear a Type |,
I or Ill personal flotation device.

+  Children age 12 and under must wear a U.S. Coast Guard
approved life jacket at all times while on an open deck or
cockpit of boats that are underway or when being towed.
Inflatable PFD’s are not approved for children under 16.

* Non-swimmers should always wear life jackets.

* All devices must be a suitable size for the intended wearer
and approved for the appropriate activity.

* All boats 16 feet in length or longer must have one U.S.
Coast Guard approved Type IV (throwable cushion) onboard
and it must be readily accesible for use.

» Life jackets are required to be worn in
Class llI or higher whitewater rapids.

Inflatable PFDs

Inflatable PFDs are becoming
increasingly popular because they are




comfortable, lightweight, and nonrestrictive. Inflatable PFDs
are not approved for high impact sports such as riding a
personal watercraft.

A boater considering an inflatable life jacket should make
sure that it has a U.S. Coast Guard approval number on the
label and that the jacket is used in accordance with the label
for it to be considered in compliance. U.S. Coast Guard-
approved inflatables are authorized for wear by persons 16
years of age and older.

Inflatable life jackets require annual maintenance and
inspection.

Wearable type | - offshore

Intended for use offshore or potentially %
rough seas where quick rescue may not
be likely. It has a greater flotation value
than other types and is designed to turn an
unconscious person face up. It is reversible -
and is available in two sizes, adult (90 Ibs.
or more) and child (less than 90 Ibs).

Wearable type Il - inland

Designed for general boating activities
and is suitable for protected areas, where
rough water is not likely to be found or for
activities were quick rescue is available.
Not suitable for extended survival in
rougher cold water.

This type of jacket is less buoyant than Type |, and is
designed to turn an unconscious person to a vertical or
slightly face-up position. These life jackets are available in
several sizes.

Wearable type lll - general

Intended for general boating activities or
specialized activities such as canoeing,
skiing or fishing due to the freedom of
movement it allows. Type Ill PFDs are
suitable for protected areas where rough
water is not likely or where quick rescue
is available.

This type of life jacket is less buoyant than a Type Il PFD.
It is designed to provide a stable face-up position in calm
water for a conscious person floating with their head tilted
back. It is not intended to turn or maintain an unconscious
wearer, face-up. These life jackets are available in many
sizes, styles, and colors that appeal to all ages and work
well with varying boating activities.

Type IV - throwable device
(float cushion)

Intended to be thrown to a person who
has fallen overboard. This device is
designed to be grasped and held by
the user until they can be rescued. Not suitable for

rough or cold water survival. This type of a float cussion is
useless to an unconscious or exhausted person and is not
recommended for non-swimmers or children.

Float Cushions should never be worn on the back. This will
force the person’s face underwater. A person overboard
should put their arms through the straps and hold the cussion
to their chest, which will keep their head out of the water.

Wearable type V - special use devices

This type of life jacket is designed and approved for restricted
uses or activities such as sailboarding or commercial whitewater
rafting. If it is approved and identified for commercial use only, it
does not satisfy requirements for recreational watercraft.

The label on the life jacket indicates the
restrictions or limitations that apply and its
performance type. This type of life jacket is
only acceptable when used for the activity for
which it is designed and labelled.

A hybrid inflatable life jacket is also a

Type V. This type of inflatable has 7.5 pounds
of inherent buoyancy when deflated and inflates up to 22
pounds. To count for life jacket carriage requirements, the hybrid
inflatable must be worn except when the boat is not underway or
when the boater is in an enclosed space, such as the cabin.

Fire Extinguishers

Each fire extinguisher is classified by letter and
Roman numeral, according to its size and the type
of fire it is meant to extinguish. The following is a
listing of the fire types and their corresponding letter:

A. Fires of ordinary combustible materials.

B. Gasoline, oil and grease fires.
C. Electrical fires.

Extinguishers approved for motorboats are hand-portable, of
either B-1 or B-2 classification.

An approved extinguisher bears the label of a testing laboratory
and will include either U.S. Coast Guard approval number or
specify “Marine type USCG.”

Boaters should be familiar with how to use their extinguisher.
Check the charge, and be sure the powder is loose and not
packed. Check fire extinguishers regularly.

Use this chart to determine the type and quantity of fire extinguishers required for your vessel.
Length of Vessel With Fixed System*
Less than 26 feer one B-I None

26 feet to less than 40 feet

40 feet to less than 63 feet

* refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system
Copyright © 2006 by Boat Ed. Used by permission.

Without Fixed System

two B-1 or one B-11 one B-1

three B-1 or one B-1I and one B-I two B-1 or one B-11

Some ad(ditional points:

1.  Keep a shipboard fire downwind. Turn the boat so that the
flames and smoke blow away from the boat rather than over
it.

2. Do not test a fire extinguisher. This breaks the seals and
causes leakage. ALL extinguishers should be serviced at least
every two years. See label for additional servicing information.

3. Store extinguishers where fire is NOT likely to break out. An
extinguisher mounted over the galley stove or inside the engine
compartment may be impossible to reach when needed.

4. An extinguisher stored horizontally is less susceptible to
packing or caking that is caused by vibration and settling.

5. Point the extinguisher nozzle at the source of the fire (beneath
the flames) and sweep back and forth. Keep in mind that a
type B-l extinguisher empties in less than 10 seconds!

6. Save some of the charge for a re-flash or, better yet, carry a
spare extinguisher.



Lighting

All boats must show running lights between sunset and
sunrise and during periods of restricted visibility. A sailboat
operating under power or under power and sail, must display
the proper lights for a motorboat. Check lights regularly to
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ensure that they
are working
properly.

This section
describes the
inland and

international requirements for boats less than 20 meters
(65 feet 7 inches). In many cases, the lights prescribed

for a particular boat are the same under both rules. Any
exceptions are noted.

Power-driven boats

On inland and international waters, a power driven boat shall
exhibit navigation lights, as shown in graphic number one (1).
Boats less than 12 meters (39 feet 4 inches) may show the
lights shone in figure 1 or 2. In international waters, a power
driven boat of less than 7 meters (23 feet) in length, whose
maximum speed cannot exceed 7 knots shall exhibit an
all-round white light, or have ready at-hand an electric torch
(flashlight) or lighted lantern showing a white light which shall
be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent a collision.

Range and Degree of Visibility of Lights

Locations Visible Range Degree
Vessel less than | Vessel 12 meters of more
12 meters but less than 20 meters

Masthead . . o
Light 2 Miles 3 Miles 225
All-
Hene Q 2 Miles 2 Miles 360°
ot o\ 1mie 1 Mile 1125°
e <> 2 Miles 2 Miles 135°

Sailboats and manually

propelled boats (Paddlecraft)

NOTE: a sailboat under motor-power and sail is considered
a power-driven boat.

Sailboats under sail alone must exhibit navigation lights

shown in graphics three, four or five below.

Sailboats of less than 7 meters (23 feet) in length, may carry
a flashlight or lighted lantern showing a white light that shall
exhibit an all-round white light, or have ready at-hand an
electric torch (flashlight) or lighted lantern showing a white
light which shall be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent a

collision.

A manually propelled boat less than 23 feet may: a) display
those lights prescribed for sailboats or, b) have ready at
hand and flashlight or lighted lantern showing a white light to
display in sufficient time to prevent a collision (see above).

Anchor lights

Power-driven boats and sailboats at anchor must display
anchor lights. An anchor light is an all-round white light visible
for 2 miles and exhibited forward where it can be seen the best.

However, boats less than 7 meters (23 feet) are not required to
display anchor lights unless anchored in or near a narrow
channel, fairway, anchorage or where other boats normally
navigate.

Also, anchor lights are not required on boats less than 20
meters (65 feet-7 inches), anchored by a special anchorage

area designated by the Secretary of

Transportation. 7 i
LLL_L\\§

Automotive equipment

Equipment such as starter motors, alternators/generators and

air cleaners should not be used in gasoline powered boats.

These electrical devices are not “ignition protected” and may

generate sparks that can cause fires and explosions on inboard
engines.

Carbon Monoxide Poisoning

Carbon monoxide (CO), a byproduct of internal combustion
engines, is an invisible, odorless, tasteless gas. CO can make
you sick in seconds. In high enough concentrations, even a few
breaths can be fatal. Sources of CO on your boat may include
engines, gas generators, cooking ranges and space and water
heaters. A good precaution is to keep air moving through the
boat.

Day shape

Boats under sail and being propelled by
motor must display a conical day shape,
apex down, for the best visibility (see
graphic 7). Boats less than 12 meters
(39.4 feet) are not required to exhibit the
day shape in inland waters.

« Early symptoms of CO poisoning include irritated eyes,
headache, nausea, weakness and dizziness. Symptoms
are often confused with seasickness or intoxication. Get
anyone with these symptoms into fresh air immediately.
Seek medical attention unless you're sure it's not CO
poisoning.

* Protect yourself and others by keeping fresh air flowing
through and around the boat, know where your engine
exhaust outlets are, and keep everyone away from them.
This is especially important on houseboats, where people
often gather to rest after swimming.

* Boaters are encouraged to install a CO detector, especially
if the boat has an enclosed cabin.

If your boat is equipped with a swim platform, turn off all
engines with transom exhaust ports, while it is in use or if
people are swimming behind the boat, and advise swimmers
never to go under the platform. Carbon monoxide can collect in
enclosed spaces such as under swim platforms and in cabins.
Never pull people who are holding onto swim platforms. This is
called teak surfing and is against the law in Oregon.

Ventilation (Fuel Vapors)

Any boat using a fuel with a flashpoint of 110° or less (gasoline

but not diesel) that has any enclosed engine or fuel tanks

spaces (not open to the atmosphere) , must have an efficient 15
ventilation system to disperse explosive gases.



that is alongside can emir
carbon monoxide into the
cabin and cackpit of your
vessel. Your vessel showld
be at least 20 feet from

a vessel that is running a
generator or engine.
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Natural ventilation consists of at least two ventilation ducts
fitted with cowls or their equivalent. At least one exhaust
duct extending to the lower portion of the bilge and at least
one intake (supply) duct extending to a point midway to the
bilge or at least below the level of the carburetor air intake is
required.

Boats built after July 31, 1980 are required to have
powered ventilation (exhaust blower) for engine
compartments that are not open to the atmosphere. Such
boats are required to display a warning label such as this:

“Warning -gasoline vapors can explode. Before starting
engine operate blower for four minutes and check engine
compartment bilge for gasoline vapors. Gas vapors
contained in an enclosed space make a boat a potential
bomb waiting to go off!”

NOTE: Check the galley! Butane and propane are even
more dangerous than gasoline. Heavier than air, they flow
rapidly into the lower part of the boat and are extremely
difficult to remove. If you cook with a liquid petroleum gas
such as propane or butane, be sure the fuel tank enclosure
is properly ventilated.

Carrying a radio

The FCC does not require operators of recreational boats

to carry a radio or to have an individual license to operate
VHF marine radios (with or without digital selective calling
capability), EPIRBs, or any type of radar. Operators must
however follow the procedures and courtesies that are re-
quired of licensed operators specified in FCC rules. You may
use the name or registration number to identify your boat.

Boats required to be licensed:

1. Boats that use MF/HF single-sided band radio, satellite
communications or telegraphy.

Power driven boats over 65.6 feet (20 meters) in length.
Boats used for commercial purposes including:

a. Boats documented for commercial use, including
commercial fishing boats.

b. U.S. Coast Guard inspected boats carrying more
than six passengers.

(arbon Monoxide Poisoning Situations

Teak Surfing
Blocked Exhaust Qutlets Rriother Yossels Extist lllegal in Oregon

can cause carbon monoxide
to accumulate in the cabin
and cockpit area.

It is illegal to

allow any person(s)
to ride on any portion
of the boat aft of the
transom (including a
step, ladder,
platform, or deck)
while underway.

Station Wagon Effect

causes carbon menoxide

to accumulate inside the
cabin and cockpit if you are
operating the vessel at a
b.t;gé bow angle, {f there is
an opening that draws in
exhaust, or if protective

_ coverings are used when the
= = vessel is underivay.

Slow Speed or Idling

causes carbon monoxide to
accumulate in the cabin,
cockpit, and rear deck.

c. Towboats more than 25 feet (7.8 meters) in length.
d. Boats more than 100 tons certified to carry at least
one passenger.
e. Cargo ships over 300 tons.
4. Any boat, including a recreational boat, on an international
voyage.

Radio listening watch

If you’re not required to carry a marine radio (e.g. recreational
boats less than 20 meters in length), but choose to voluntarily,
maintain a watch on channel 16 (156.800 MHz) whenever the
radio is operating and not being used to communicate. Such
boats may alternatively maintain a watch on VHF channel 9
(156.450 MHz), the “boater-calling” channel.

Emergency Assistance

Protocol-Channel 16

+ Speak clearly and transmit “Mayday, Mayday, Mayday...
this is (boat name/OR number), (boat name/OR number),
(boat name/OR number).”

» Report your location, latitude and longitude if known: or
“We are 3 miles west of Tongue Point”; or “Last seen
reference point (buoy, landmark, etc)”.

* Report the nature of your emergency (swamping, onboard
fire, collision, etc.).

* Report the number of people onboard including yourself.

+ Wait for a response for 10 seconds, and if there is
none, repeat the message protocol.

Be prepared to give the following information:

» Describe the boat and its seaworthiness (“Boat is a 30 foot

white cabin cruiser with a blue canopy. Engine has stopped
due to flooding and boat is in danger of sinking.”)

+ Condition of any injured persons.

+ What assistance is needed (“Need to have people

removed from the boat, and we need a pump and tow.”)
Cell phones, although great for communication on land, may
not work in an emergency situation out on the water. Several
disadvantages include:

« Geography may limit or block cell phone signal;



+ Caller’s location cannot be determined using the radio
direction finders;

* 911 calls from maritime locations are frequently
misdirected to police or fire departments, which can delay
a water rescue response;

« Cell phones cannot be monitored by other boaters;

+ It may not be possible for the caller to be contacted by
the rescue boat or aircraft.

If a cell phone is your only means of making a distress call,
take the following precautions before leaving the dock:

+ Make sure the cell phone battery is fully charged;

* Keep the cell phone in a waterproof bag that floats;

+ Have the U.S. Coast Guard and other appropriate water
rescue phone numbers programmed into your cell phone;

+  When you first place the distress call, immediately give
your:

+  Cell phone number, boat name and/or description
position and/or location, nature of the emergency
number of people onboard. Repeat cell phone
number before ending the phone call.

» Speak slowly so that you can be clearly understood.

Boat Sewage Discharge
Regulations
(Code of Federal Regulations -40 CFR 140.1-3)

In all freshwater lakes, impoundments and reservoirs (Sole
State Waters) that are not accessible by boat from the ocean,
it is prohibited to discharge any sewage -treated or untreated.
All Y-valves on boats in Sole State Waters must be secured

>

THANK YOU

for Helping to
Keep Waste out of

in the closed position while moored or in operation. Use of a
padlock, a non-releasable wire tie, or the removal of the valve
handle is considered adequate for securing the device. The
method chosen must be one that creates a physical barrier to
the use of the valve.

On waters designated as federally navigable (Columbia,
Willamette, Snake and on navigable portions of all coastal
rivers), the use of an approved marine sanitation device
(Type | or 1) is permitted to discharge treated sewage. The
discharge of untreated sewage (Type Il holding tank system)
is only permitted beyond the 3 mile ocean limit.

Many boats carry portable toilets and stationary toilets for
convenience. Large boats may have a Type | or Il marine
sanitation device (MSD) that pre-treats sewage before
discharging. Most boats in Oregon, however, have marine
heads with Type Ill MSDs (holding tanks with no treatment),
or carry portable toilets onboard.

Proper disposal of boat sewage is crucial to keeping our
waters clean for swimming, waterskiing, boating and fishing.
Please empty holding tanks and portable toilets at public
pump-outs or dump stations. Small boats can also use
floating restrooms.

A complete list of free, pumpout and dump stations is
available at http://www.oregon.gov/osmb/boating-facilities/
Pages/Pumpout-and-Dump-Stations.aspx or by calling
503-378-8587.

Please report illegal sewage discharges to the U.S.
Coast Guard or the Water Quality Division of the Oregon
Department of Environmental Quality immediately when
witnessed. Violators will be prosecuted.

Oregon’s Waterways

Boat waste pumpouts, porta-potty
dump stations, and floating
restroom sites can be found at

www.boatoregon.com

“T??«
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BOATING REGULATIONS

Numbering

Certificate of Number required.

(ORS 830.770) To operate a sailboat 12’ or
more in length or any motorboat, an operator
must carry a valid Certificate of Number on
the boat.

Identifying number must be visible.
(ORS 830.780) A boat must have the
identifying number; e.g., “OR 123 AB”;
displayed on each side of the boat’s forward
half, plus current registration decal.

Mooring requirement. (OAR 830-700, OAR
250-010-0050) Sailboats 12’ or more in length,
or any motorboat, when moored in waters of
the state, must be currently registered.

Accidents/Incidents

Responsibilities of a boat operator at an
accident scene: (ORS 830.475, 830.480, OAR
250-010-0110)

* Anyone involved in a boat accident must
give name, address, other required
information and aid to injured person(s),
including transportation to a hospital
if treatment appears necessary or is
requested by injured person(s).

+ Leaving a boat accident scene before
performing operator’s duties is a Class C
felony punishable by five years in jail and/
or a $100,000 fine.

+ Boat operators involved in an accident/
incident resulting in death, injury or
property damage exceeding $2000 must
report the accident to the State Marine
Board on a Marine Board accident form:

+ within 48 hours of accident resulting
in death or injury;
+ within 10 days of accident causing
property/equipment damage only.
Occupants are responsible for making
accident report when operator is physically
incapable of doing so. Download the form at
www.boatoregon.com.

Marine Patrols

A boat approaching or being approached by a
law enforcement boat with a flashing blue light
or siren must immediately slow and alter its
course so as not to interfere with the operation
of the law enforcement boat. (OAR 250-011-
0050)

A peace officer may ask to stop any boat and
direct it to a suitable pier or anchorage for
boarding. No person shall knowingly flee or
attempt to elude any law enforcement officer
after having received a signal from a law

enforcement officer to bring the boat to a stop.

(ORS 830.035)

Operation

Operators must know the following rules
governing boat operation:

Unsafe operation. (ORS 830.305)
Operation that endangers or would likely
endanger a person or property. Example of
violation: Your boat wake causes a canoe to
nearly capsize.

Reckless operation. (ORS 830.315(1)

It is a crime to operate a boat carelessly

in willful disregard of others. Example of
violation: Pulling a skier through an area
where swimmers are present in spite of the
boat exclusion buoys.

Reckless operation-speed. (ORS
830.315(2)) A violation occurs if, due to

a boat’s speed, it cannot be stopped by
reasonable means in the clear distance
ahead. Example of violation: Your boat runs
over, or into, an object because you are
traveling too fast to stop in time.

Maintaining a proper lookout. (ORS
830.335) The operator of a boat shall keep
a proper lookout at all times while underway.
Example of violation: Pulling and watching
the skier, not the water ahead.

Overloading a boat beyond safe carrying
capacity is prohibited. (ORS 830.355,
OAR 250-010-0085) If your boat has a
capacity plate, follow that recommendation
for capacity; otherwise, use the formula on
page 10. State law conforms to federal law
requiring capacity plates on boats.

Basic proximity rule for slow-no wake.
(OAR 250-010-0025) Operators of boats
must observe slow-no wake, within 200’

of a boat ramp, marina or moorage with a
capacity for six or more boats; a floating
home moorage with six or more structures; or
people working at water level. The operator
may be liable for damage caused by a wake.
This rule does not apply to commercial boats
or river navigation when more speed is
needed to ensure safe passage.

Dockside Safety Checklist for Renters.
(OAR 250-018-0060) All persons operating
a rented watercraft greater than 10 hp must
carry a signed copy of the “Watercraft Rental
Safety Checklist” unless they are carrying a
boater education card. All other provisions
of the Mandatory Boater Education Program
apply, including minimum operator ages and
supervision of youth.

Riding on bows, decks, gunwales or
transoms of a motorboat. (ORS 830.360,
OAR 830.362)
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* Riding on bow, transom or gunwale
railings while underway is prohibited.
No person operating a motorboat
shall allow any person to ride or sit
on the deck over the bow, the port or
starboard gunwales, or the transom
of the boat while underway unless the
motorboat is provided with adequate
guards or railing.

« Standing on decking over bow is allowed
for mooring or casting off.

Prohibited actions when water skiing or
using other towed devices. (ORS 830.365)

* Reckless, negligent riding of towed
devices endangering persons or
property.

»  Water skiing or towing devices from
sunset to sunrise.

*  Operation of towing boat or other devices
that may lead to potential collision of
water skier with a person or object.

+  Water skiing while under the influence of
intoxicants.

+ Towing skier (including on a PWC)
without continuous observation of skier
by an observer.

» Operating without a “skier down” flag.

Operation of a boat, including non-
powered boats, while under the influence
of intoxicants is prohibited on all
waterways. (ORS 830.325) Boaters should
be aware that:

* by operating a boat, you have consented
to submit to field sobriety tests;

* ablood alcohol level of .08 or more is
considered “under the influence”;

» bail schedules for the alleged offense
range from $3,500 to $6,000;

« operating under the influence is a Class
A misdemeanor. If convicted, a boater
faces a maximum penalty of $6,250 and/
or 1 yearin jail;

* aconviction for Boating Under the
Influence is equivalent and counts
toward any of first three arrests
for Driving Under the Influence of
Intoxicants.

* upon conviction, offending operators
have all boat registrations in their name
suspended for up to 3 years, are not
allowed to operate a boat for 1 year,
and are required to complete a boating
safety course;

* a person who knowingly operates a boat
in violation of a court order for conviction
of ORS 830.325 commits a Class A
misdemeanor.



BOATING REGULATIONS

Especially Hazardous Condition.

(ORS 830.380, 830.383) Peace officers
observing a boat being operated on
Oregon waters in an especially hazardous
condition may order the operator to move
to the nearest safe moorage and remain
there until the condition is remedied. An
especially hazardous condition is:

Improper or insufficient personal flotation
devices, fire extinguishers, backfire
arresting devices on carburetors, or
navigation lights between sunset and
sunrise.

Overloading.
Overpowering.

Leakage of fuel from the boat engine,
fuel system or fuel in the bilge.

Personal watercraft

Owners/operators of personal watercraft
must: (OAR 250-021-0030)

wear, and have passengers wear, U.S.
Coast Guard-approved, inherently
buoyant Type |, Il or lll personal flotation
device (PFD).

attach lanyard-type cutoff switch, if
equipped by manufacturer, to person,
clothing or PFD.

effectively muffle craft.

equip craft with required lights to operate
between sunset and sunrise.

operate craft in reasonable, prudent
manner. Unsafe or reckless maneuvers
endangering people/property include
weaving through congested boat traffic,
jumping wake unreasonably close to
another boat or when its operator’s vision
is obstructed, swerving to avoid collision
at the last moment. Allowances made for
participants in professional exhibitions
and officially sanctioned events.

operate craft no closer than 200’ behind
water skier or other towed devices.

not tow a water skier or any floating
device with PWC unless another person
on the PWC continuously observes
person being towed, and PWC is large
enough to carry operator, observer, and
person being towed.

observe Slow-no wake, speed limit:

+ within 200’ of a swimmer, surfer,
diving flag, bank or wading angler;
dock, swim float, ramp, pier, marina,
floating home, or boathouse;

+ within 100’ of any anchored or non-
motorized boat;

« within 200’ of shoreline on all
lakes, reservoirs, and bays, “safe
take-off excepted.

* not operate in excess of 10 MPH when
approaching within 100’ of a motorized
or sail boat underway.

* not chase, harass, or disturb wildlife
with PWC. This is strictly prohibited.

Operation of craft by persons under age

of 16 unless accompanied by a boater

education card-holding person 18 or over
onboard, or rental to persons under 18 is
prohibited.

Inflatable PFD’s are not approved for PWC
operator use.

Personal watercraft liveries must: not
rent to persons under 18; provide only
either Type | or Il inherently buoyant U.S.
Coast Guard-approved life jackets; provide

safe operation information, giving each
renter a written copy of state PWC rules
and placing a safe operation decal on each
craft; sign and have renter sign the copy of
the rules, with renter carrying copy onboard
as required equipment.

Personal watercraft
(PWC) access

Lakes and reservoir impoundments on
Oregon rivers are open to PWC subject
to local operating rules in OAR Ch. 250,
Div. 20. For closures and other restrictions
on PWC use, see specific rivers in the
waterway directory of this book.

The following table lists which rivers

and river sections are open to personal
watercraft use. All other rivers not listed are
closed to PWC. (OAR 250-021-0040)

N Fork Nehalem Below Aldervale.

Rivers Section of River Open — Subject to Local Operating Rules

Alsea Downstream from Hatchery Creek (approx. RM 12).

Chetco Below the head of tide.

Clackamas From the river mouth to Clackamette Lake (RM 0.7).

Columbia Entire river.

Coos Below its confluence with the Millicoma River.

Coquille Downstream from the Hwy 42 S bridge at the City of Coquille.

Deschutes Between Heritage Landing boat ramp (RM 0.5) and the Columbia
River.

John Day (Sherman/Gilliam County) below Tumwater Falls (RM 10).

Kilchis Downstream from the Parks boat ramp at Hwy 101 bridge. Speed
limit.

Miami Downstream from the Hwy 101 bridge. Speed limit.

Millicoma Below Allegany.

Necanicum Entire river, subject to slow-no wake. Speed limit.

Rogue Between Gold Ray Dam (former site) and the Applegate River; below
the mouth of Snout Creek (near Agness)

S Fork Nehalem  From the mouth of Peterson Creek (RM 10.3) to Nehalem River
Falls (RM 15.7), closed September 1 through March 30.

Salmon Downstream of RM 3

Siletz Downstream from the Morgan’s Park boat ramp.

Siuslaw Downstream from the Hwy 126 bridge at Mapleton.

Snake Above Hells Canyon Dam.

Trask Downstream from the Hwy 101 bridge. Speed limit.

Umpqua Downstream from Scottsburg Park.

Wilson Downstream from Sollie Smith boat ramp. Speed limit.

Willamette Downstream from the Beltline Road overpass at RM 178 in

(main stem) Eugene. (Note: The McKenzie, Molalla, Santiam, Tualatin, Yamhill

and all other Willamette tributaries are closed to PWC.)
Yaquina Downstream from the Toledo Airport boat ramp (RM 9).
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Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

A Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Agate Reservoir, Jackson, 250-020-
0151
@ Electric motor only.

Alameda Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Alsea River, Lincoln, 250-020-0231,
250-021-0040

X Jet pump drive prohibited above
|Hatchery Creek.

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats within

200’ of marinas, ramps, private docks.

@ Personal watercraft allowed below
Hatchery Creek. (p19)

Amos Lake, Douglas,
250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Andy Lake, Douglas,
250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Anthony Lake, Baker, 250-020-0013
@ Electric motor only.

Applegate Reservoir, Jackson,
250-020-0151
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

B Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Badger Lake, Hood River, 250-020-0141
X Motor use prohibited.

Balm Creek Reservoir, Baker,
250-020-0013
@ Electric motor only.

Ben Irving Reservoir, Douglas,
250-020-0102

B 35 mph speed limit, from “A” markers
downstream 1.2 miles to dam.

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats,
from “A” markers upstream 1 mi. to
“B” markers, and within 100’ of boat
ramp.

@ Electric motor only upstream from “B”
markers.

X Boating prohibited within log boomed
area near dam spillway.

Big Swamp Reservoir, Lake,
250-020-0211

@ Electric motor only.

Blair Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Blue River Reservoir, Lane,
250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats within

300’ of boat ramp or moorage.

Benson Lake, Multhomah, 250-020-
0280
X Motor use prohibited.

Bradley Lake, Coos, 250-020-0063

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Betty Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Big Cliff Reservoir, Marion/Linn,
250-020-0243

X Boating prohibited between log boom
and dam.

Big Lake, Linn, 250-020-0239

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
200’ of shore, designated swimming
area, and posted area around boat
landing and ramp.

Big Nestucca River, Tillamook,
250-020-0312

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
within 200’ of boat moorage above
and 100’ of boat moorage or ramp
below Woods Bridge.

X Motor use prohibited above Clover-
dale (between Nov. 1 and March 31).

Breitenbush Lake, Marion, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Breitenbush River, Linn/Marion,
250-020-0043, 250-020-0260

W Slow-no wake speed limit for motor-
boats north of Breitenbush River Hwy
22 Bridge.

Brownlee Reservoir, Baker, 250-020-
0013

W Slow-no wake at Farewell Bend State
Park within 100’ of designated swim
area or 200’ of boat ramp.

W Slow-no wake at Hewitt County Park
within 200’ of shore, from 200’ above
west ramp to 200’ below east ramp.

Buckeye Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Bull Prairie Lake, Grant, 250-020-0125
X Motor use prohibited.
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Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

Bully Creek Reservoir, Malheur,
250-020-0250

W Slow-no wake within 200’ of boat
ramp or marked swimming area.

Burns Gravel Pond, Harney,
250-020-0132
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Bybee Lake, Multnomah, 250-020-0281
@ Electric motor only.

C Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Cache Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161
X Motor use prohibited.

Calamut Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Campbell Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211
@ Electric motor only.

Cape Meares Lake, Tillamook,
250-020-0310
B 5 mph speed limit.

Carmen Reservoir, Linn, 250-020-0240
X Motor use prohibited.

Carter Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Charlton Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Cheadle Lake, Linn, 250-020-0240
X Electric Motor only.

Chetco River, Curry, 250-021-0040

@ Personal watercraft allowed on waters
below head of tide.
(p19)

B No motors upstream of Rogue
Siskiyou NF boundary 250-030-0100

Clackamas River, Clackamas,
250-020-0033

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats from
Hwy 99 bridge to Willamette River.
(May 1 through Oct. 15).

@ Personal watercraft allowed on
Clackamette Lake and downstream
from lake to Willamette River. (page
19) 250-021-0040

Clatskanie River, Columbia,
250-020-0051

W Slow-no wake, upstream of a point
approximately 100 yards north of
Beaver Boat Ramp, as marked.

Clear Lake, Linn, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Clear Lake, Wasco, 830.185
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Cliff Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102

X

Motor use prohibited.

Coffenbury Lake, Clatsop, 250-020-

0041
10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Collard Lakes, Lane, 250-020-0221

7]

Slow-no wake, for motorboats.

Columbia River
Lower Columbia, Clatsop, 250-020-

7]

0041

Slow-no wake, for motorboats at
Hammond Boat Basin on Skipanon
Waterway south of signage at Hamp-
ton Mill and in the Warrenton Small
Boat Basin.

W Slow-no wake, in Astoria at East End,

Lo

w0

West End mooring basins.

5 mph speed limit for motorboats:
within 200’ of Knappa Dock;

on Svenson Slough as marked;
on Warren Slough.

wer Columbia, Columbia, 250-020-

0051

Slow-no wake, for motorboats
between Sand Island and the City
of Saint Helens from a point 200’
upstream of the Courthouse docks
to a point 200’ downstream of the
transient floats on Sand Island.

Scappoose Bay, Columbia, 250-020-

w0

0051

Slow-no wake, within 200’ of Scap-
poose Bay Marina and public ramp.
(Also see Sauvie Island Wildlife Area,
p30.)

Portland Area, Multnomah, 250-020-

0280

5 mph speed limit in all of North
Portland Harbor to a point 800 yards
west of Burlington Northern Railroad
Bridge.

Pass-through zone for boats and no
water skiing, South Channel, Gover-
ment Island as marked.

No anchoring on sediment cap
located, as marked at river mile 7 at
Willamette River near Swan Island.
Marked area in Oregon Slough
closed to all boats and anchoring.
Slow-no wake, for motorboats:
within Hayden Bay as marked by
buoys;

within 200’ of houseboat moorages at
Government Island, South Channel;
within Commodore’s Cove as marked
by buoys;

between the Big Eddy wing dike and
east Chinook Landing wing dike;
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within Chinook Landing Boat Basin as
marked.

Motorboat racing restricted to desig-
nated testing area between M. James
Gleason boat ramp and Buoy No.

18, 8 a.m. to noon, Tuesday through
Friday.

Columbia Gorge, Multnomah,

250-020-0280

5 mph speed limit for boats within 300’
of the entrance to and within Rooster
Rock channel.

3 mph speed limit for boats within
Rooster Rock boat basin.

X Boating at Bonneville Dam prohibited

within posted waters, Bradford Slough
and the area upstream of a line be-
tween Robins Island and the Hamilton
Island boat ramp (WA) as signed.

Columbia River Gorge -250-020-0141

%]

Slow-no wake in the artificial lagoon,
as marked, immediately west of the
mouth and Nichols boat basin.

Upper Columbia, Wasco, 250-020-0350

w0

U. S. Army Corps of Engineers per-
mission required to operate in restrict-
ed area at The Dalles Dam.

Slow-no wake in Salisbury Slough, as
marked, at West Mayer State Park.

Mayer Park, Wasco, 250-020-0350

%]

Slow-no wake, west of buoyed line on
bay before accessing Columbia River,
May 1 through Sept. 30.

Upper Columbia, Sherman/Umatilla,

w0

250-020-0295, 250-020-0323
Slow-no wake, for motorboats within
200’ of public boat ramp or marked
swimming area.

5 mph speed limit for motorboats on
Hat Rock Creek Inlet 100 yds. south
of Columbia River.

Motorboats restricted to counter-
clockwise pattern including those tow-
ing water skiers operating from Cold
Springs and Sand Station recreation
areas including launching and landing.
U. S. Army Corps of Engineers per-
mission required to operate in restrict-
ed areas, John Day Dam, McNary
Dam.

Cooper Creek Reservoir, Douglas,

250-020-0102, 250-020-0105

40 mph speed limit for motorboats on
main body.

5 mph speed limit for motorboats
within 200’ of boat ramp, designated
swimming area, and buoyed areas of
Rachelle, Pierce, Canyon, Sutherlin
and Douglas inlets.



Boating Waterway Regul

. A - Discharge restriction
ations

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

@ The 5 mph shoreline rule for personal
watercraft does not apply in the area
between Douglas Inlet and Sutherlin
Inlet.

public boat ramp or marked swimming
area.

Cottonwood Meadows Lake, Lake,
250-020-0211

Coos River, Coos, 250-021-0040

@ Personal watercraft allowed down-
stream of confluence with Millicoma
River. (p19)

@ Electric motor only.

Cougar Reservoir, Lane, 250-020-0221
W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
300’ of boat ramp or moorage.

Coquille River, Coos, 250-021-0040

@ Personal watercraft allowed on waters
below Hwy 42 S bridge in Coquille.
(p19)

Cottage Grove Reservoir, Lane,
250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats south of
line between east shore marker near
Wilson Creek and west shore marker
near Cedar Creek; and within 200’ of

Crane Prairie Reservoir, Deschutes,
830.185/250-020-0091

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Crystal Creek, see Upper Klamath Lake,
(p32).

Lower Deschutes Rive
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Deschutes River: no motors -

Buckhollow Creek to Macks Canyon  Park

250-030-0110(1)(c)

Reference

Waterway Deschutes River

Rule Type motors prohibited

No motor use between the
mouth of Buckhollow Creek
and Macks Canyon
Campground from June 15
to September 30
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Cullaby Lake, Clatsop, 250-020-0041
W Slow-no wake, for motorboats within

200’ of ramp or designated swimming
area.

10 mph speed limit for motorboats
north end within buoyed area.
Towing of water skiers and other
towed devices restricted to counter-
clockwise pattern.

Cultus Lake (Big), Deschutes, 250-020-
0091

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Cunningham Slough, Columbia, 250-
020-0053

X Use of motor prohibited October 10
to January 20, except for persons
possessing a valid Sauvie Island Hunt
Permit.

D Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Dairy Creek, Columbia/ Multhomah,
250-020-0053, 250-020-0285

W Slow-no wake for motorboats (in-
cludes Dairy Creek canal).

Dark Lake, Jefferson, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Davis Lake, Deschutes/Klamath,
830.185

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
during legal fishing days and hours.

Deadhorse Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211
@ Electric motor only.

Delintment Lake, Harney, 250-020-0132
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Depoe Bay, Lincoln, 250-020-0231

B 3 mph speed limit for motorboats on
Bay and on the entrance channel east
of Hwy 101 bridge.

Deschutes River, Wasco/Sherman
Lower segment, Columbia River to
Pelton Dam, 830.180/250-21-040,
250-030-0110

Motor use prohibited:

on segment bordering Warm Springs
Indian Reservation;

between north boundary of Warm
Springs Reservation and Buckhollow
Creek, except to allow landowners
ingress and egress, by permit;
between Buckhollow Creek and
Macks Canyon from June 15 to Sept.
30 except to allow landowners ingress
and egress, by permit;

alternating Thursday through Sunday
periods beginning first weekend on or
after June 15, continuing until Sept. 30,

X
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Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

between Macks Canyon Campground
and Heritage Landing boat ramp.

X Pass through only, no dropping off
or picking up passengers between
upstream end of Rattlesnake Rapids
and below Moody Rapids, except in
emergency.

@ No more than two round trips per day
from Heritage Landing boat ramp or
Macks Canyon boat ramp.

@ Motorboat limit of seven persons
onboard, including operator, between
Columbia River and Sherar Falls,
except by permit.

@ Personal watercraft allowed down-
stream from Heritage Landing boat
ramp (p19).

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats from
Columbia River upstream 500 yards.

Upper segment, Deschutes, 250-020-
0091

X Towing of water skiers and other

towed devices prohibited.

Personal watercraft prohibited.

Motor use prohibited:

between Deschutes National Forest

boundary and Jefferson County line

including Mirror Pond in Bend;

— between LaPine State Park and Prin-
gle Falls;

— between Aspen Camp boat ramp and
north end of Lava Island.

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats be-
tween Wickiup Dam and Deschutes

| %%

National Forest Boundary.

Detroit Reservoir, Linn/Marion,
250-020-0243, 250-020-0260

@ Towing of water skiers and other
towed devices restricted:

— to 200’ or more from shore, except on
“safe” (page 3) take-offs and land-
ings;

— to take-offs, landings perpendicular to
shore.

Distances of boats from water skiers

must be at least:

300’ behind skier;

100’ alongside skier.

Towing boat’s bow must not be

crossed within 200’.

Slow-no wake, limit for motorboats:

within 200’ of shore or marked swim-

ming area,;

north of Breitenbush River Hwy 22

Bridge;

— in North Santiam River 1100’ north-
west of Hoover Rock;

— within 200 yards of northwest shore
of Piety Knob.

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats on
Breitenbush Arm from Hwy 22 bridge
to a marked area west of Kane’s
Marina.

X Boating prohibited between log boom
and dam.

Devils Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

|'S @]

Devils Lake, Lincoln, 250-020-0231

B 3 mph speed limit for motorboats with-
in 200’ of Sand Point Park swimming
area or in area of “D” River outlet.

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats on
“D” River west of south bank marker.

Dexter Dam Reservoir, Lane,
250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— within 200’ of boat ramp or designated
swimming area;

— within 50’ of the causeway crossing
the reservoir.

Diamond Lake, Douglas, 830.185,
250-020-0102
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Dog Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Dorena Reservoir, Lane, 250-020-0221
W Slow-no wake, for motorboats south-
east of a line between markers at
Humphrey Point and northeast shore,
and within 200’ of public boat ramp or

marked swimming area.

Duncan Reservoir, Lake, 250-020-0211
W Slow-no wake for motorboats.

Detroit Reservoir Motorboat Regulations

(See live map @ www.boatoregon.com/map)

PRI (1 of 2) >

Hoowver Campground

Managed By U.S. Forest Service
503-854-3366
None

Telephone

Use Fee

Comments
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Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

E Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Earl Snell Memorial Park Lagoon,
Gilliam, 250-020-0121

X Motor use prohibited south of railroad
bridge.

East Freeway Lake, Linn, 250-020-0240
B 10 MPH speed limit for motorboats.

East Lake, Deschutes,
830.185/250-020-0091

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
during legal fishing days and hours.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Eel Lake, Coos/Douglas, 250-020-0061,
250-020-0101
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Elk Lake, Deschutes,
830.185/250-020-0091

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
during legal fishing days and hours.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Elk River, Curry, 250-020-0082

B Iron Head Ramp downstream, only
outboard motors 25 horsepower or
less are allowed.

@ et pumps prohibited on the entire
river.

B Iron Head Ramp upstream, only per-
sons owning land fronting both sides of
the river may, by Marine Board permit,
use a motorboat. Motor limited to a
propeller driven outboard 25 horse-
power or less.

@ Electric motors are allowed on entire
river.

Elk Lake, Marion
@ Electric motors only.

Emigrant Lake, Jackson, 250-020-0151

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— in Spillway Cove designated moorage
area;

— in the Hill Creek arm, as marked;

— in the Emigrant Creek arm, as
marked.

@ Moorage permit required after 48 hours
outside designated moorage area

Empire Lakes, Coos, 250-020-0063
@ Electric motor only.

F Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Fahy Lake, Coos, 250-020-0063
@ Electric motor only.

Fall Creek Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— on Fall Creek above buoys approx.
200’ downstream from Big Fall Creek
Rd;

— on Winberry Creek upstream of
buoys approx. 1,800’ downstream
from Winberry Creek Rd. bridge;

— within 200’ of public ramp or marked
swim area.

Faller Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Fern Ridge Reservoir, Lane,
250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— within 200’ of public boat ramp or
designated swimming area;

— in Coyote Creek Channel;

— between shore and buoy line from
north shore south 200’ from docks
except for buoyed corridor south of
Eugene Y.C. southernmost dock;

— south of buoy line extending easterly
from point 100 yds. north of Perkins
boat ramp to adjacent shore.

X Propeller driven airboat or non-
displacement hull type hovercraft are
prohibited from areas where there is
emergent vegetation present. This
includes Coyote Creek, Amazon Bay,
South Marsh and Long Tom areas.

B Electric motor only south of Hwy 126.

Fish Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Fish Lake, Harney, 250-020-0132
X Motor use prohibited.

Fish Lake, Jackson, 250-020-0151
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Floras Creek, Curry, 250-020-0082
@ Electric motor only.

Foster Reservoir, Linn, 250-020-0241

@ Towing of water skiers and other
towed devices restricted:

— 1o 200’ or more from shore, except on
“safe” (page 3) take-offs and land-
ings;

— to counter-clockwise pattern;

— to take-offs, landings at 45-degree
angles to shore.

@ Distances of boats from water skiers

must be at least:

300’ behind skier;

100’ alongside skier.

Towing boat’s bow must not be

crossed within 200’

5 mph speed limit for motorboats:

within 200’ of shore or designated

swimming area;
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— upstream of highway bridges over
Middle and South Santiam arms;

— within posted areas around Gedney
and Lewis Creek boat landings.

X Boating prohibited between trash
boom and dam.

W Slow-no wake, within 100’ of the
Edgewater RV Resort & Marina.

Ford’s Pond, Douglas, 250-020-0102
@ 5 mph speed limit for elecric motors.

Fourmile Lake, Klamath 250-020-0204
@ 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Freeway Lakes, see East (p24), West
(p32), and Middle Freeway Lake

(p28).

Frog Lake, Wasco, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

G Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Galesville Reservoir, Douglas,
250-020-0102

B 40 mph speed limit for motorboats on

main body.

Movement at more than 5 mph limited

to counter-clockwise direction.

5 mph speed limit for motorboats:

between boat ramp and log boom in

north shore buoyed areas;

— between marked areas at upper end.

@ Electric motor only above marked 5
mph zone.

Gilbert River, Columbia/Multnomah, 250-
020-0051, 250-020-0053,
250-020-0285

X Boating prohibited except for holders
of Sauvie Island Hunt Permit. (Oct. 10
through Jan. 20)

(See Sauvie Island Wildlife Area,
p30.)

Gold Lake, Lane, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Goose Lake, Marion, 250-020-0259
@ Electric motor only.

Grande Ronde Lake, Union,
250-020-0330
X Motor use prohibited.

Grande Ronde River, Wallowa,
250-020-0340

X Motor use prohibited between Uma-
tilla National Forest Boundary down-
stream to the Oregon/Washington
state line, except for landowner ac-
cess for land management activities.




Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

W - Slow—No Wake

Green Peter Reservoir, Linn,

250-020-0242

Towing of water skiers and other
towed devices restricted:

to 200’ or more from shore, except on
“safe” take-offs and landings (p3);

to counter-clockwise pattern;

to take-offs, landings at 45-degree
angles to shore.

@ Distances of boats from water skiers

must be at least:

300’ behind skier;

100’ alongside skier.

Towing boat’s bow must not be
crossed within 200’.

10 mph speed limit for motorboats:
within 200’ of shore (excluding
Quartzville Arm below Rocky Top
Bridge) or designated swimming area;
within posted Green Peter Creek Arm
area;

within posted Thistle Creek Arm boat
ramp area;

within Whitcomb Creek Arm upstream
of highway bridge or posted ramp area;

X

within Quartzville Creek Arm above
Rocky Top bridge;

within Middle Fork Santiam Arm
upstream from approximately 1 mi.
below Weyerhaeuser bridge;

within Tally Creek Arm above Weyer-
haeuser bridge;

within posted Rumbaugh Creek Arm
area.

Boating prohibited between trash
boom and dam.

Green Point Reservoir,

(see Kingsley, p26)

H Waterway, County,

ORS/OAR

Hand Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161

X

Motor use prohibited.

Harriman Creek,

(See Upper Klamath
Lake, p32)

Haystack Reservoir, Jefferson,

250-020-0161

Henry Hagg Lake Motorboat Regulations

(See live map @ www.boatoregon.com/map)

Simeison RS

(1 of 2) >
|

Pump/Dump

|
Waterbody Henry Hagg Lake
River Mile 0

Managed  Washington County
| by

503-359-5733

Henry Hagg Lake "C"
Launch Ramp

Phone

Facility
Location Parking Lot near the
restroom

Fee 0.00

Hours 24 hours
COperates  seasonal

County Washington

Zoom to

ST
Ry

W 5 mph limit for motorboats within
signed western and southern cove
buoy lines.

@ The owner or operator of a boat must

move the boat if it has been anchored

or moored outside of a marina or
away from a dock for 30 or more

consecutive days in the same location
without permission of the owner of the

submerged or submersible land. The
owner or operator of a boat must not
leave the boat unattended for more
than seven consecutive days, while
it is anchored or moored outside of a
marina or away from a dock without
permission of the owner of the sub-
merged or submersible land.

B - Boat speed restriction

Heart Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211
@ Electric motor only.

Hemlock Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
@ Electric motor only.

Henry Hagg Lake, Washington,
250-020-0360

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
200’ of shore or marked swimming
area, and waters west of buoyed line
northwest of dam.

X Boating prohibited within buoyed or
marked swimming area.
35 mph speed limit for motorboats
east of buoyed line and more than
200’ offshore.

@ Movement restricted to counter-clock-
wise pattern.

Hidden Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Higgins Reservior, Baker, 250-020-0013

@ Electric motors only.

Hills Creek Reservoir, Lane,
250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— on Hills Creek south of bridge;

— on Packard Creek arm west of Rigdon

Road;
— within 200’ of public boat ramp or
marked swimming area.

X Motor use prohibited on Larison Creek

arm, west of Rigdon Road.

Holbrook Reservoir, Lake, 250-020-
0211
@ Electric motor only.

Hoquarton Slough, Tillamook,
250-020-0308(2)(d)
W Slow-no wake (entire length)

Horseshoe Lake, Jefferson, 830.180
R Motor use prohibited.
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Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

Hosmer Lake, Deschutes,
830.185/250-020-0091
@ Electric motor only, 10 mph speed limit.

Howard Prairie Lake, Jackson,
250-020-0151

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats in
designated moorage area at resort
marina and Klum Landing.

o Moorage permit required after 48
hours outside designated moorage
area.

Hult Reservoir, Lane, 250-020-0221
@ Electric motor only.

Hyatt Lake, Jackson, 250-020-0151
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

I Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Jubilee Lake, Union, 250-020-0330
@ Electric motor only.

June Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

K Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Kilchis River, Tillamook, 250-020-0308,
250-021-0040

@ Electric motor only upstream from
Parks boat ramp at Hwy 101 bridge.

@ Personal watercraft allowed down-
stream from Hwy 101 bridge. (p19)

W Slow-no wake, from RM 0 to Parks
boat ramp.

Kingsley/Green Point Reservoir, Hood
River, 250-020-0141
Bl 5 mph speed limit for motorboats

lllinois River, Curry, Josephine,
250-030-0120

X Motor use prohibited from Deer Creek
downstream to Nancy Creek.

Indigo Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Irish Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Island Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161
X Motor use prohibited.

J Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Jack Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161
X Motor use prohibited.

John Day River, Clatsop, 250-020-0041

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
200’ of boat ramp, houseboats or
designated swimming area.

John Day River, Gilliam/Sherman/
Wheeler, 250-021-0040, 250-030-0130

X Motor use prohibited between Service
Creek and Clarno Bridge on State
HWY 218/ from May 1 to Sept. 30 ex-
cept electric motors only with 40Ibs. of
thrust or less may be used year round.

X Motor use prohibited between Clarno
Bridge on State HWY 2018 to Cotton-
wood Bridge on State HWY 206 year
round.

X Motor use prohibited between
Cottonwood Bridge on State HWY
206 and Tumwater Falls from May 1
to Sept. 30.

X Motor use prohibited on South Fork
John Day River year round.

@ Personal watercraft allowed down-
stream from Tumwater Falls (RM 10).

(p19)

Kinney Lake, Wallowa, 250-020-0340
X Motor use prohibited.

Kiwa Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Klamath Lake, (See Upper Klamath
Lake, p32)

Krumbo Reservoir, Harney,
250-020-0132

@ Manual powered or electric motor
only during Oregon trout season.

L Waterway, County,
ORS/OAR

Lake Ann, Linn,
250-020-0240
X Motor use prohibited.

Lake Billy Chinook, Jefferson,
250-020-0161

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats:

— Crooked River Arm above Crooked
River Bridge;

— Deschutes River Arm above
Deschutes River Bridge;

— Metolius River Arm 1,000’ upstream
of Street Creek.

W Slow-no wake, within buoyed areas:

— Lower Deschutes River Day Use
Area;

— Upper Deschutes Day Use Area,;

— Cove Palisades State Park marina;

— Crooked River boat ramp;

— Chinook Island Cove (Metolius Arm);

— Camp Perry South cove (Metolius
Arm);

— Within 300’ of designated swimming

area;

Fly Creek Inlet.

Beaching, anchoring, mooring re-

stricted:
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— on Crooked River Arm within 200’
of east shore between marked area
1,000’ north of Cove Marina and
Crooked River Bridge, and west shore
from state park boundary north, ap-
proximately;

— on Deschutes River Arm within 200’
of east shore between marked area
approx. 2,000’ north of northernmost
ramp and Deschutes River Bridge.

X Boating prohibited between log boom
and dam.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

@ The owner or operator of a boat must
move the boat if it has been anchored
or moored outside of a marina or
away from a dock for 30 or more
consecutive days in the same location
without permission of the owner of the
submerged or submersible land. The
owner or operator of a boat must not
leave the boat unattended for more
than seven consecutive days, while
it is anchored or moored outside of a
marina or away from a dock without
permission of the owner of the sub-
merged or submersible land.

Lake in the Woods, Douglas, 250-020-
0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Lake Lytle, Tillamook, 250-020-0310

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
between one hour after sunset and 8
a.m.

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
within 300’ of south end; or 100’ of
east shore and swimming area.

{ ] Towing water skiers, other towed de-
vices restricted to counter-clockwise
pattern.

@ Distances of motorboats following
water skiers must be at least:

— 200’ behind skier;

— 100’ alongside skier.

Lake of the Woods, Klamath,
250-020-0201

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats or
boats towing waterskiers:

— within marked swimming areas;

— adjacent to camp areas;

— within 200’ of dock or shore; except
for “safe” (page 3) waterskiing take-
off, landing;

B No operation of motorboats at speeds
faster than 20 MPH between one
hour after sunset and one hour before
sunrise;

— boats must show proper lighting be-
tween these hours.




Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

Lake Oswego, Clackamas, 250-020-
0031

B 6 mph speed limit for boats:

— within 100’ of swimmer, canoe or
shore;

— within buoy-marked areas;

through channels, canals and bridges.

8 mph speed limit for boats after dark

in unrestricted areas.

40 mph speed limit for boats during

daylight hours in unrestricted areas.

Unlicensed devices (paddle board,

inner tube, rubber raft, etc.) prohib-

ited 100’ or more from shore or under
bridge.

Mooring boat or raft to buoy or marker

prohibited.

@ Towing of water skiers and other
towed devices restricted:

— 1o 100’ or more from shore, except on
“safe” take-offs and landings (p3);

— to counter-clockwise pattern;

— to as far from docks, floats, shore as
possible on take-offs, landings.

@ Water ski landing restricted to area
within extended property lines of loca-
tion serving as take-off point.

@ Restrictions for tow boats:

— Motors must be “killed,” when picking
up or standing by skiers;

— No skier pick-ups within 100’ of shore;

— Must immediately return to fallen skier
more than 50’ from shore;

— Must carry competent ski-tender in
addition to operator.

@ Distances of boats from water skiers
must be at least:

— 300’ behind skier;

— 100’ along side skier.

X Towing of water skiers and users of
other towed equipment prohibited:

— under bridges;

— south of entrance and within Blue
Heron Bay;

— west of entrance and within West Bay;

— on inlet canal;

— on canal between main lake and
Lakewood Bay;

— east end between buoy, swim resort;

— at mouth of Kelok Bay (southwest of
buoy);

— west end, Lakewood Bay (west of
buoy).

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

X H H|

X

Lake Owyhee, Malheur, 250-020-0250
W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
Cherry Creek inlet, or within 200’ of
marked boat ramp or swimming area.
Bl 15 mph speed limit for motorboats

between RM 65 and approx. RM 70
as marked.

Lake Penland, Morrow, 250-020-0270
@ Electric motor only.

Lake Selmac, Josephine, 250-020-0271
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Lake Simtustus, Jefferson, 830.185/250-
020-0161

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
300’ of moorage and extending to op-
posite shore.

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats up-
stream of a point 0.85 miles upstream
of dam.

X Boating prohibited within tailrace area
enclosed by log boom downstream
from Round Butte Dam.

X Mooring and boating prohibited to log
boom and between boom and Pelton
Dam.

@ The owner or operator of a boat must
move the boat if it has been anchored
or moored outside of a marina or
away from a dock for 30 or more
consecutive days in the same location
without permission of the owner of the
submerged or submersible land. The
owner or operator of a boat must not
leave the boat unattended for more
than seven consecutive days, while
it is anchored or moored outside of a
marina or away from a dock without
permission of the owner of the sub-
merged or submersible land.

Laurance Lake, Hood River, 250-020-
0141
@ Electric motor only.

Lava Lake (Big), Deschutes,
830.185/250-020-0091

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Leaburg Reservoir, Lane, 250-020-0221
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Lemolo Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— within 150’ of shore or pier line from
resort boat ramp to Pool Creek Inlet;

— 200’ south of Pool Creek Inlet to un-
named island; from south tip of island
across to nearest peninsula;

— from U.S. Forest Service. Rd. 2614
crossing North Umpqua River to
2,000’ westward.

B 40 mph speed limit for boats on unre-
stricted areas.
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Lewis and Clark River, Clatsop,
250-020-0041

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats from
mouth at Youngs Bay to Green Slough
(1.8 statute miles).

Link Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161
X Motor use prohibited.

Little Cultus Lake, Deschutes,
830.185, 250-020-0091

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Little Lava Lake, Deschutes, 830.185
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Little Morgan Lake, Union, 250-020-
0330
X Motor use prohibited.

Lofton Reservoir, Lake, 250-020-0211
@ Electric motor only.

Long Tom River, Lane, 250-020-0221
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Lookout Point Reservoir, Lane,
250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— within 200’ of public boat ramp or
designated swimming area.

X Motorboat operation prohibited in
Bannister Cove.

Loon Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— within 200’ of boat ramp, mooring
area or designated swimming area
except on “safe” take-offs and land-
ings (p3);

— within the buoyed area near Fish
Haven Resort.

B Boats traveling in excess of 10 mph
must travel in a counter-clockwise pat-
tern on otherwise unrestricted areas
of the lake.

Lost Creek Lake, Jackson, 250-020-
0151 (see map above)

X Motor use prohibited between break-
waters designating Stewart State Park
swimming area.

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— above Lost Creek Arm “narrows” as
marked,;

— within marked Takelma Park boat
ramp cove area;

— above Peyton Bridge.

Lost Lake, Hood River, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Lost Lake, Linn, 250-020-0240
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.




Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

Lower Erma Bell Lake, Lane,
250-020-021
X Motor use prohibited.

Lower Rigdon Lake, Lane, 250-020-
0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Lower Twin Lake, Douglas,
250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Lucile Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Lucky Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

M Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Millicoma River, Coos, 250-020-0064
X Jet pump drive prohibited on east and
west forks above Allegany.

Minam River, Wallowa/Union,
250-030-0140

X Motor use prohibited from Minam
Lake downstream to Wallowa River.

Mission Lake, Marion, 250-020-0259
@ Electric motor only.

Molalla River, Clackamas, 250-020-
0033

X Jet pump drive prohibited upstream
of Hwy 99 bridge.

Morgan Lake, Union, 250-020-0330
X Motor use prohibited.

Magone Lake, Grant, 830.185
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
during legal fishing days and hours.

Maidu Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

McKenzie River, Lane, 250-020-0221

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats from
Leaburg Reservoir Dam upstream to
Good Pasture Bridge.

X Motor use prohibited above Good
Pasture Bridge.

X Personal watercraft prohibited except
on reservoir impoundments.

Meadow Lake, Deschutes, 250-020-
0091
@ Electric motor only.

Melakwa Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Miami River, Tillamook,
250-020-0308, 250-021-0040

@ Electric motor only above Hwy 101
bridge.

@ Personal watercraft allowed down-
stream from Hwy 101 bridge.

(p19)

Middle Erma Bell Lake, Lane,
250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Mud Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211
@ Electric motor only.

Mud Lake, Union, 250-020-0330
X Motor use prohibited.

Multnomah Channel, Columbia/Mult-
nomah, 250-020-0051, 250-020-0282

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats:

— within 200’ of moorages between
Hadley’s Landing and
Willamette River;

— within 200’ of the public transient
moorage at Coon Island;

— within 200’ of the Gilbert River boat
ramp (see Gilbert River, p24);

— on Scappoose Bay within 200’ of
Bayport Marina and
public ramp.
(Also see Sauvie Island Wildlife Area,
p30.)

Munsel Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats west of
marker buoys.

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
east of marker buoys, except be-
tween 10 a.m. and 5 p.m., June 1
through Sept. 30.

— Oct. 1 - May 30, speed limit lifted
between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m.

N Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Middle Freeway Lake, Linn,
250-020-0240
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Neacoxie (Sunset) Lake, Clatsop,
250-020-0041
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Miller Lake, Klamath, 250-020-0202

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats
within 100’ of boat ramp or designated
swimming area.

Bl 10 mph speed limit within 100’ of
shore, except designated water ski
area at northwest end of lake.

Necanicum River, Clatsop, 250-020-
0043

Bl Slow-no wake, for motorboats up-
stream of the First Avenue bridge in
Seaside.

28

Nehalem River, Clatsop/Tillamook,
250-020-0042, 250-020-0311

South Fork

@ Motor limited to 15 horsepower (Sept.
1 through March 30) from Peterson
Creek mouth to Nehalem River Falls.

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
within 200’ of boat ramp, moorage,
except when towing water skiers or
users of other towed devices on “safe”
take-offs and landings (p3).

North Fork

X Motor use prohibited above Aldervale.

Nestucca River, (see Big Nestucca
River, p20)

Netarts Bay, Tillamook, 250-020-0310

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
within jetties near county boat launch-
es.

New River, Coos, 250-020-0063 — Curry,
250-020-0082

@ Electric motors only from March 1 to
Sept. 30. From October 1 to the end
of February motors are not restricted.

North Fork Owyhee River, Malheur,
250-030-0150
X No motors (entire length)

North Fork Reservoir, Clackamas,
250-020-0033

W Slow-no wake, within 200 feet of en-
trance and within North Arm.

X Jet pump drives prohibited above a
point 2.3 miles upstream of North Fork
Dam.

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats 2.3
miles upstream of North Fork Dam.

North Ten Mile Lake, Coos, 250-020-
0062

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
within 200’ of boat ramp or marked
swimming area.

W Slow-no wake for motorboats on
North Lake Canal or within 200’ of
entrances.

North Twin Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

North Umpqua River, Douglas,
250-020-0102

X Motor use prohibited between Lone
Rock Camp ramp and Lemolo Lake.

O Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Ochoco Reservoir, Crook 250-02-0073
@ Towing of water skiers and other
towed devices restricted:




Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

— to 200’ or more from shore, except on
“safe” take-offs and landings (p3);

— to counter-clockwise pattern on take-
offs and landings;

— to take-offs, landings no closer than

45 degrees from shore.

No skier pick-ups within 200’ of shore.

Distances of boats following water

skiers must be at least:

— 300’ behind skier;

100’ alongside skier.

Towing boat’s bow must not be

crossed within 200’.

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
including “safe” take-offs and landings
(p3) by water skiers:

— within 200’ of shoreline, boat ramp,
marked swimming area;

— within state park boat ramp area;

— east of orange boundary markers;

— within the boat rental area cove
marked by buoys.

Olallie Lake, Jefferson, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Old Long Tom River Channel, Lane,
250-020-0221
@ Electric motor only.

Olalla Lake, Lincoln, 250-020-0231
@ Electric motor only.

Opal Lake, Douglas, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Owyhee River, Malheur, 250-020-0250,
250-030-0150

B 15 mph speed limit for motorboats
from RM 65 to approx. RM 70.

X Motor use prohibited on the main
stem above approx. RM 70 at Pin-
nacle Rock as marked.

P Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Pacific Ocean

Three Arch Rocks National Wildlife Ref-
uge, Tillamook, 250-020-0309

X No boats within 500’ of Three Arch
Rocks between May 1 and Sept. 15.

Paulina Lake, Deschutes, 830. 185,
250-020-0091

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
during legal fishing days and hours.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Phillips Lake, Baker, 250-020-0013,
250-020-0014
W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
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200’ of boat ramp or designated swim-
ming area; and in Union Creek Inlet
area, as marked.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Pilcher Creek Reservoir, Union,
250-020-0330
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Pine Hollow Reservoir, \Wasco,
250-020-0350

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats;
speed limit is suspended in area west
of buoy line from July 1 through day
after Labor Day.

Pistol River, Curry, 250-020-0082
X Jet pump drive prohibited.

Plat | Reservoir, Douglas, 250-020-0102
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Pocket Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221,
250-020-0014
W Slow-no wake, for motorboats.

Prineville Reservoir, Crook,
250-020-0073

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
including “safe” (page 3) take-offs and
landings by water skiers:

— within 200’ of shoreline, boat ramp,
marked swimming area;

— east of orange-marked boundary half-
mile west of Owl Creek entrance.

— within 500’ of Prineville Reservoir
Resort Marina, as marked (May 15 -
Sept. 15).

@ Towing of water skiers and other de-
vices restricted:

— to 200’ or more from shore, except on
“safe” take-offs and landings (p3);

— to counter-clockwise patterns on take-
offs and landings.

@ Take-off, landing area restricted to no
closer than 45 degrees from shore.

@ No skier pick-ups within 200’ of shore.

B 5 mph limit on Roberts Bay.

R Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Rigdon Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Rock Creek Reservoir, Wasco,
250-020-0350
@ Electric motor only.

Rouge River

Rogue River, Curry, 250-021-0040,
250-030-0160

X Motor use prohibited from May 15 to
Nov. 15 between Grave Creek and
lowermost Blossom Bar Rapids as
marked.
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@ Personal watercraft allowed except
prohibited between mouth of Snout
Creek and Applegate River. (p19)

Rogue River, Jackson, 250-021-0040

@ Personal watercraft allowed except
prohibited upstream of the old Gold
Ray Dam.

Rogue River, Josephine, 250-020-0171,
250-021-0040, 250-030-0160

@ Motorboat racing restricted to des-
ignated primary testing area near
Grants Pass, between points 0.5 mi.
above Findley Bend and 1 mi. above
Applegate River, except during haz-
ardous low water conditions.

@ Alternate motorboat racing test area
between Flannegan’s Slough and
Findley Bend, limited to 6 p.m. to 8
p.m. Wednesday and 9 a.m. to 11
a.m. Saturday during primary test
area closures.

@ Anchoring prohibited (Aug. 1 through
Sept. 30) except within ten feet of
shore in the following river segments:

— 100 yds. above and 450 yds. below
Applegate River;

— from RM 93.5 to 94.5, as marked,;

— 200’ “Highway Hole” segment above
Robertson Bridge.

@ Anchoring or other positioning that
impedes navigation prohibited (Aug.
1 through Sept. 30), at Brushy Chutes
within marked area above and below
island.

@ Personal watercraft allowed (p19)
except prohibited between mouth of
Snout Creek and Applegate River
(near Agness).

Round Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161
X Motor use prohibited.

Round Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

S Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Salmon River, Clackamas, 250-030-
0170
X Motor use prohibited.

Salmon River, Lincoln, 250-020-0231

X Motors greater than 15 hp prohibited
upstream from river mile 3, approxi-
mately 3/4 mile west of Highway 101
Bridge.

Sandy River, Multnomah/Clackamas,
250-030-0030

X A person must not use a motor for pro-
pelling a boat for any purpose from
Dodge Park downstream to Dabney
State Park.

X Personal watercraft prohibited.

Sauvie Island Wildlife Area, Columbia/
Multnomah,

250-020-0051, 250-020-0053

X Boats prohibited from Oct. 10 through
Jan. 20, except:

— people carrying Sauvie Island Hunt
Permit within wildlife area;

— Gilbert River mouth to 100’ upstream

of Gilbert River dock;

on Cummingham Slough.

Slow-no wake for motorboats on

Dairy Creek and Dairy Creek canal.

(See Gilbert River, p24.)

S |

Scappoose Bay, (see Multnomah Chan-
nel, page 28.)

Scott Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Scout Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161
X Motor use prohibited.

Siletz River, Lincoln, 250-020-0231
X Jet pump drive prohibited upstream
of Morgan’s Park boat ramp.

Siltcoos Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, within 200’ of public
launch or marked swim area.

W Slow-no wake in Miller Arm area as
marked, from May 1 thru September
30 each year.

B Kiechle Arm as marked.

Silverton Reservoir, Marion,
250-020-0259
@ Electric motor only.

Siuslaw River, Lane, 250-020-0221,
250-021-0040

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats within
300’ of boat ramp or moorage from
river mouth to highway bridge at
Mapleton.

@ Personal watercraft allowed (p19)
on waters below Hwy 126 Bridge
in Mapleton.

Sixes River, Curry, 250-020-0082
@ Electric motors only.

Skipanon River, Clatsop, 250-020-0041
See Lower Columbia River, page 21

Skookum Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102
X Motor use prohibited.

Smith Lake, Multnomah, 250-020-0281
@ Electric motor only.

Smith Lake, Tillamook, 250-020-0310
B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Smith Reservoir, Linn, 830.185
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.
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Snake River, Baker/Wallowa, 259-020-
0013, 250-020-0340, 250-021-0040

@ Personal watercraft allowed (p19)
on Oxbow and Brownlee reservoirs,
and on waters above Hells Canyon
Dam and on waters above Brownlee
Reservoir.

X Personal watercraft prohibited from
Washington border to Hells Canyon
Dam.

X Motors use prohibited between Wild
Sheep Rapid and Kirkwood Historic
Ranch without a valid permit.

South Santiam River, Linn/Marion,
250-020-0245

X Jet pump drive prohibited upstream of
Lebanon Dam.

South Slough Estuarine Sanctuary,
Coos, 250-020-0065
W Slow-no wake, for motorboats.

South Twin Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Sparks Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Spring Creek, Klamath, 250-020-0204

B Slow-no wake, for motorboats.

X Motor use prohibited within Collier
State Park boundaries.

Squaw Lakes, Jackson, 830.110
X Motor use prohibited.

Sturgeon Lake, Columbia, 250-020-0053
X Motor use prohibited (Oct. 10 through
Jan. 20).

Sunset Lake, see Neacoxie Lake, p28.

Suttle Lake, Jefferson, 250-020-0161

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
from 8 p.m. to 9 a.m. PST on entire
lake, and from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. PST
outside areas where marked as al-
lowed at west end.

X Boat operation above 10 mph, includ-
ing water skiing, allowed 9 a.m. to 8
p.m. in designated zone at west end
only.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

@ The owner or operator of a boat must
move the boat if it has been anchored
or moored outside of a marina or
away from a dock for 30 or more
consecutive days in the same location
without permission of the owner of the
submerged or submersible land. The
owner or operator of a boat must not
leave the boat unattended for more
than seven consecutive days, while
it is anchored or moored outside of a
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marina or away from a dock without
permission of the owner of the sub-
merged or submersible land.

T Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Taylor Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Ten Mile Creek, Coos, 250-020-0062
M Idling speed only.

Ten Mile Lake, Coos, 250-020-0062

Bl 5 mph speed limit within 200’ of boat
ramp or marked swimming area.

B Idling speed only for motorboats with-
in 300’ of Ten Mile Creek entrance.

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
200’ of entrances to North Lake Canal
and on North Lake Canal.

Ten Mile Lakes Canal, Coos,
250-020-0062
W Slow-no wake, entire canal.

Thief Valley Reservoir, Union,
250-020-0330

B No boat operation within 700’ of dam
as marked.

Thompson Reservoir, Lake,
250-020-0211
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Three Creek Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Tillamook Bay, Tillamook, 250-020-0308

Bl 3 mph speed limit for motorboats
within Bay City and Garibaldi boat
basins.

B 5 mph speed limit for motorboats
on Hoquarton Slough and within the
diked areas of the county boat land-
ings on Bay Ocean Road.

Tillamook River, Tillamook,
250-020-0308

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats above
3rd Street bridge (Hwy 131).

Timothy Lake, Clackamas, 830.185
Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
during legal fishing days and hours.

Timpanagos Lake, Douglas, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Todd Lake, Deschutes, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Torrey Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Torso Lake, Deschutes, 250-020-0091
X Motor use prohibited.

Trail Bridge Reservoir, Linn,
830.185, 250-020-0240

B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Trask River, Tillamook, 250-020-0308

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats above
RM 0 to Hwy 101 bridge.

@ Electric motor only above Hwy 101
bridge.

Triangle Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats within
200’ of public boat ramp or marked
swimming area.

Trillium Lake, Clackamas, 830.180
X Motor use prohibited.

Tualatin River, Clackamas/Washington,
250-020-0033, 250-020-0370

@ Towing of waterskiers and other
towed devices prohibited.

U Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Umatilla River, Umatilla, 250-020-0323

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats be-
tween Columbia River and Three Mile
Irrigation Dam.

Umpqua River, Douglas, 250-020-0102,
250-021-0040

B 5 mph speed limit:

— from 30 yds. downstream of River
Forks Park ramp to 100 yds. upstream
on the North and South Umpqua
forks;

— within 300’ of the ramp and designat-
ed swimming area at Scottsburg Park.

@ Personal watercraft allowed (page 19)
below Scottsburg Park.

Unity Reservoir, Baker, 250-020-0013

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
200’ of boat ramp.

X Boating prohibited below buoy line
near dam spillway.

Upper Klamath Lake Motorboat Regulations

(See live map @ www.boatoregon.com/map)

Aspen Point Campground
Rainbow Bay Boat Launch

Sunset Campground

Chilocuin
hiloquin Access

e Resort

5

& Waterwheel Campground

Hagelstein Park

Managed By Klamath County
ephone  541-883-4608

Nene
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Upper Eddeeleo Lake, Lane, 250-020-
0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Upper Erma Bell Lake, Lane, 250-020-
0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Upper Klamath Lake, Klamath, 830.185,
250-020-0203, 250-020-0204,
250-020-0205

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats:

— on portion of lake west of line ex-
tending from 0.25 mi. east of Crystal
Creek on north shore of Pelican Bay
south to opposite shore;

— on Crystal Creek, Recreation Creek
and Harriman Creek;

— on portion of lake and Link River east
of line from west side of Moore Park
pumphouse north to west boundary
of Pelican Marina (regulations lifted
during authorized boat races).

W Slow-no wake, within Moore Park
Marina, or 100’ of its entrance.

@ Motorboat racing restricted to desig-
nated test area between east-west
line extending from southeast cor-
ner of Wocus Bay and 0.5 mi. north
of McCormack Point, west of Buck
Island.

@ Boats harvesting plankton on Klam-
ath Lake must carry required safety
equipment.

Upper Twin Lake, Douglas, 250-020-
0102
X Motor use prohibited.

V Waterway, County, ORS/OAR
Vee Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211
@ Electric motor only.

Vernonia Lake, Columbia, 250-020-0051
@ Electric motor only.

W Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Wahanna Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Waldo Lake, Lane, 250-030-0030

@ Electric motor only.

— Official use of internal combustion
motors in watercraft operated on
Waldo Lake by local, state or federal
governmental officials or agents is
allowed for the following activities:
search and rescue, law enforcement
and fire suppression.

Wallowa Lake, Wallowa, 250-020-0340
B 5 mph speed limit for boats within
200’ of west shore in area between

Wickiup Reservoir Motorboat Regulations

(See live map @ www.boatoregon.com/map)

North Twin Lake Campground

South Twin Lake: no motors

ORS 830.180

South Twin Lake
motors prohibited

No mator use (entire
lake)

ﬂm

& Wickiup Butts

& Reservolr Campground
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county boat ramp on north and mouth
of Wallowa River on south except
when towing water skiers on “safe”
take-offs and landings (p3).

Walter Wirth Lake, Marion, 250-020-
0259
@ Electric motor only.

Walton Lake, Crook, 250-020-0074
@ Electric motor only.

West Freeway Lake, Linn, 250-020-0240
B 10 mph speed limit for motorboats.

Whig Lake, Lane, 250-020-0221
X Motor use prohibited.

Wickiup Reservoir, Deschutes,
250-020-0091

Bl 10 mph speed limit for motorboats
on Deschutes River and Davis Creek
arms.

A Marine sanitation device discharge
must be inoperable (p17).

Willamette River

Portland area, Multnomah,
250-020-0280, 250-020-0282

B 5 mph speed limit:

— within 200’ of west shore between
Willamette Park boat ramp and Wil-
lamette Sailing Club;

— within 100’ of Landing Boat Club as
marked (RM 15).

@ Motorboat racing restricted to desig-

nated testing area 3 p.m. to 6 p.m.,

Thursday-Saturday, in Swan Island

lagoon.

Slow-no wake, in Ross Island Lagoon.

Slow-no wake, for motorboats within

200’ of the Oregon Yacht Club floating

home moorage.

@ No anchoring on McCormick & Baxter
sediment cap.

— In the area of the Sellwood Bridge
Construction Project, from approxi-
mately 375 feet from the west river
bank and 200 feet upstream and
downstream of the bridge measured
at the bridge centerline; and about
420 feet from the east river bank and
about 200 feet upstream and down-
stream of the bridge measured at the
bridge centerline.

— Slow-no wake as marked 500 feet
upriver and 500 feet downriver from
the centerline of the Sellwood Bridge
construction project. The Sellwood
Bridge Construction rule provisions
will expire at the completion of con-
struction in December 2015.

AND No person shall operate a water-
craft in excess of slow-no wake in:

SS



Boating Waterway Regulations

A - Discharge restriction

X - Motors prohibited
@ - Other restrictions

B - Boat speed restriction
W - Slow—No Wake

the Ross Island Lagoon; and

the Holgate Channel from a line ex-
tending northeast from the north side
of the Ross Island Lagoon mouth to
the east side of the channel, and to a
line extending from the southern (up-
stream) tip of Ross Island due south
to the Oregon Yacht Club.

This restriction does not apply to:
(A) Federally documented commercial

boats required to be inspected under
Federal law, including those operated
for sand and gravel operations, with
the exception of passenger boats of
less than 100 gross tons, which are
subject to the restriction;

(B) Safety launches while accompany-

ing an organized rowing or paddling
program, club or school.

Clackamas County, 250-020-0032

10 mph speed limit for motorboats:
between southern shore of Rocky
Island and mainland;

within 100’ of west shore (between
RM 30.0 and 30.5).

Boating prohibited from base of
Oregon City Falls downstream to line,
as marked, across river and in the
area known as the “cul-de-sac” or the
Simpson Paper Co. tailrace. Except
for permit holders or authorized boats
on offical business.

Slow-no wake, maximum for motor-
boats:

Cedar Island lagoon;

from north point of Cedar Island’s
eastern spit, 100 yds. due north, then
west to shoreline;

within 200’ of boat ramp or marked
swimming area;

within 200’ of shore adjacent to
George Rogers Park, as marked;
between I-5 Boones Ferry bridge at
Wilsonville and railroad bridge imme-
diately upstream.

Personal watercraft restricted from
continuous operation except to transit
between Hog Island and Union Pacific
Railroad bridge, May 1 through Sept.
30.

Clackamas/Yamhill/Marion, 250-020-

wn

0032

In the area between the Hwy. 219
Bridge near Newberg and Willow
Island near Canby;

Slow-no wake, for motorboats within
100’ of private docks or moorages;
Wake enhancing devices (ballast
tanks, fat sacks, wedges, etc.) may
not be used.

Marion/Yamhill, 250-020-0263

5 mph speed limit during July and

August during Champoeg Pageant
between RM 44.5 and 45.0, Thursday
through Sunday from 7 p.m. to 10
p.m.

Lake Oswego, 250-020-0032

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
200’ of boat dock or ramp at Foothills
Transient Moorage.

Marion/Polk, 250-020-0261

B 5 mph speed limit:

— within 200’ of public boat ramp, desig-
nated swimming area;

— between points 50’ south of Center
Street bridge and 50’ north of Marion
Street railroad bridge in Salem.

— within 100’ of the moorage dock at
Salem Waterfront Park.

Linn, 250-020-0240

W Slow-no wake for motorboats within
50’ of boat dock or ramp at Bowman
Park.

@ Racing motorboat testing restricted
to designated testing area. Wednes-
days, 8 a.m. to noon, between South-
ern Pacific Railroad Bridge and east
boundary of Bowman Park, Albany.

Benton, 250-020-0026

@ Racing motorboat testing restricted to
designated testing area Tuesday and
Thursday, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m., and Sat-
urday, 10 a.m. to noon, from Harrison
Street bridge downstream for 0.5 mile.

Main stem, Lane, 250-020-0040

@ Personal watercraft allowed (page
19) downstream of Beltline Road
overpass (RM 178).

Middle Fork, Lane, 250-020-0221

W Slow-no wake, for motorboats south
of Rigdon Road (upper crossing)
bridge.

Williamson River, Klamath,
250-020-0204

W Slow-no wake, within 200’ of docks
on the river between the mouth and
the Hwy 97 bridge.

Willow Creek Lake, Morrow,
250-020-0270

@ Electric motor only on Balm Fork arm
upstream of marked point approx.
1,000’ downstream from Balm Fork
bridge.

W Slow-no wake, maximum 5 mph for
motorboats:

— within Willow Creek arm upstream
from a marked point on the south
shore;

— within 200’ of boat ramp.

@ Movement at more than 5 mph lim-
ited to counter-clockwise pattern on
unrestricted portions of lake.
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X

Boating prohibited within buoy line
100’ from dam.

Willow Lake, Jackson, 250-020-0151

7))

10 mph speed limit for motorboats on
south portion of lake, as marked.
Slow-no wake, for motorboats within
Southwest Cove designated moorage
area.

Moorage permit required after 48
hours outside of designated moorage
area.

Wilson River, Tillamook, 250-020-0308

%]

Electric motor only upstream of Sollie
Smith Bridge boat ramp.

Slow-no wake, for motorboats down-
stream of Hall Slough to Sollie Smith
Bridge boat ramp.

Winchester Bay, Douglas, 250-020-0102

5 mph speed limit within Salmon Har-
bor limits.

Withers Lake, Lake, 250-020-0211

Electric motor only.

Wolf Lake, Douglas, 250-020-0102

X

Y

Motor use prohibited.

Waterway, County, ORS/OAR

Yaquina River, Lincoln, 250-021-0040

Personal watercraft allowed
(page 19) downstream of Toledo Air-
port boat ramp.

boatoregon.com/map
What you’ll find:

Type of ramp
Number of lanes
Parking spaces
Restroom facilities
Contact phone #'s
Driving directions
Lat/long location
Local regulations
Water levels
Pumpout/Dump Stations
Clear gas locations




Boating Waterway Regulations

Non-motorized Waterbodies

Use of motors are prohibited on the following waterways:

Alameda Lake
Amos Lake

Andy Lake
Badger Lake
Benson Lake
Betty Lake

Big Nestucca River*
Blair Lake
Breitenbush Lake
Buckeye Lake
Bull Prairie Lake
Cache Lake
Calamut Lake
Carmen Reservoir

Devils Lake (Deschutes)

Earl Snell Memorial
Lagoon*

Faller Lake

Fish Lake (Douglas)
Fish Lake (Harney)
Frog Lake (Wasco)
Gold Lake

Grande Ronde Lake
Grande Ronde River*
Hand Lake

Hidden Lake

Hills Creek Reservoir*
Horseshoe Lake

John Day River*
(Gilliam, Sherman,
Wheeler)

June Lake

Kinney Lake

Kiwa Lake

Lake Ann

Lake in the Woods

Link Lake

Little Morgan Lake

Lookout Point Reservoir

Lost Creek Lake*

Lost Lake (Hood River)

Lower Erma Bell Lake

*

Melakwa Lake
Middle Erma Bell Lake
Minam River*
Morgan Lake

Mud Lake (Union)
Nehalem River*
North Twin Lake
North Umpqua River*
Olallie Lake

Opal Lake

Owyhee River*
Rigdon Lake

Rogue River*

Roslyn Lake

Skookum Lake
Snake River*
South Twin Lake
Spring Creek*
Squaw Lakes
Sturgeon Lake*
Taylor Lake
Three Creek Lake
Timpanagos Lake
Todd Lake

Torrey Lake

Torso Lake
Trillium Lake
Upper Eddeeleo Lake

Charlton Lake llinois River* Lower Rigdon Lake Round Lake (Jefferson) Upper Erma Bell Lake
Cheadle Lake Indigo Lake Lower Twin Lake Round Lake (Lane) Upper Twin Lake
Clear Lake (Linn) Irish Lake Lucile Lake Sandy River* Wahanna Lake

Cliff Lake Island Lake Lucky Lake Scott Lake Whig Lake

Dark Lake Jack Lake Maidu Lake Scout Lake Willamette River*
Deschutes River* McKenzie River* Wolf Lake
Electric Motors Only

Agate Reservoir Elk River* Holbrook Reservoir Lofton Reservoir Sixes River

Anthony Lake Elk Lake Hosmer Lake Meadow Lake Smith Lake (Multhomah)
Balm Creek Reseroir Empire Lakes Hult Reservoir Miami River* Trask River*

Ben Irving Reservoir* Fahey Lake John Day River* Mission Lake Vee Lake

Big Swamp Reservoir Floras Creek (Gilliam, Sherman, Mud Lake (Lake) Vernonia Lake

Bybee Lake Ford's Pond Wheeler) New River (Coos) Waldo Lake

Campbell Lake Galesville Reservoir* Jubilee Lake Old Long Tom River Walter Wirth Lake
Cheadle Lake Goose Lake Kilchis River* Channel Walton Lake
Cottonwood Meadows Heart Lake Krumbo Reservoir* Olalla Lake Willow Creek Lake*
Lake Hemlock Lake Rock Creek Reservoir Wilson River*

Deadhorse Lake

Higgins Reservoir

Lake Penland
Laurance Lake

Silverton Reservoir

Withers Lake*

* Applies to specific waterway segment identified in Waterway Directory.

County Directory Oregon Waterways with Local Restrictions, by County

Baker

Anthony Lake...................

Balm Creek Reservoir

Brownlee Reservoir.........
Higgins Reservoir ............
Phillips Lake ....................
Snake River.........ccceeue.e
Unity Reservoir................

Benton

Willamette River ..............

Clackamas

Clackamas River .............
Lake Oswego...................
Molalla River....................
North Fork Reservoir .......
Sandy River.........ccceeue..
Salmon River...................
Timothy Lake...................
Trillium Lake ....................
Tualatin River ..................
Willamette River ..............
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Clatsop Coos lllinois River ............ccc..... 26
Coffenbury Lake............... 21 Bradley Lake.................... 20 New River.........coenne. 28
Columbia River................ 21 Coos River..........cccceee... 22 Pistol River ...................... 29
20 Cullaby Lake.................... 22 Coquille River................. 22 Rogue River.................... 29
John Day River................ 26 EelLake......ooooveverenrnane. 24 Sixes River ...................... 30

Lewis and Clark River......27 Empire Lakes................... 24 Deschutes
30 Neacoxie Lake................. 28 Fahey Lake..........ccc...... 24 Big Cultus Lake ............... 22
Necanicum River-............. 28 Millicoma River ................ 28 Charlton Lake................... 21
Nehalem River................. 28 New River.......ccccveveene 28 Crane Prairie Reservoir...22
Skipanon River ................ 30 North Ten Mile Lake......... 28 Davis Lake..........ccceeueeeee. 23
Sunset Lake...........cccu..... 30 South Slough Estuarine... 30 Deschutes River.............. 22
Columbia Ten Mile Lakes Canal...... 31 Devils Lake.......ccccceeuennee. 23
Columbia River................ 21 Ten Mile Creek................. 31 EastLake........cccccceevunnnnn 24
Clatskanie River.............. 21 Ten Mile Lake .................. 31 Elk Lake.....ccooveoiiieene, 24
Cunningham Slough........ 22 Crook Hosmer Lake.................... 26
30 Dairy Creek......c.cccovevevee.. 22 Ochoco Reservoir............ 28 Irish Lake........ccccoevrennnee. 26
30 Gilbert River........couu.... 24 Prineville Reservoir.......... 29 Lava Lake.........c.ccceunnnene. 27
Multnomah Channel ........ 28 Walton Lake..................... 32 Little Cultus Lake.............. 27
Sauvie Is. Wildlife Area....30 Curry Little Lava Lake ............... 27
Sturgeon Lake.................. 30 Chetco River.................... 21 Lucky Lake ............c....... 28
32 Vernonia Lake.................. 32 ElK RIVET ....ooovveerreenn 24 Meadow Lake.................. 28
Floras Creek........c..c...... 24 North Twin Lake............... 28
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Paulina Lake.................... 29 Willow Lake ...........cc...... 33 Melakwa Lake.................. 28
South Twin Lake............... 30 Jefferson Middle Erma Bell Lake.....28
Sparks Lake..........cccc...... 30 Cache Lake ..ooevvooei 21 Munsel Lake..................... 28
Taylor Lake ..........cccceenee. 31 Dark Lake ...ooovvveoi, 22 Old Long Tom R. Channel 29
Three Creek Lake............ 31 Deschutes River .............. 22 Pocket Lake..................... 29
Todd Lake.......cccccuveeeeee. 31 Hand Lake ....oooovvvveviiii, 25 Rigdon Lake .................... 29
Torso Lake.......ccccceeuneee.. 31 Haystack Reservoir ......... 25 Round Lake........cc.......... 30
Wickiup Reservaorr............ 32 Horseshoe Lake .............. 25 Scott Lake........cccecevveenneen 30
Douglas Island Lake .........c...cccee... 26 Siltcoos Lake ................... 30
AMOS ..., 20 Jack Lake .......cccooovuennn. 26 Siuslaw River.................. 30
Andy Lake...........ccoo...c.... 20 Lake Billy Chinook........... 26 Torrey Lake..........cocceuenee 31
Ben Irving Reservoir........ 20 Lake Simtustus................ 27 Triangle Lake................... 31
Buckeye Lake.................. 20 Link LaKe .....cevveceererenee. 27 Upper Eddeeleo Lake......32
Calamut Lake................... 21 Olallie Lake......c.cocovee.... 29 Upper Erma Bell Lake ..... 32
Carter Lake..................... 21 Round Lake...................... 30 Wahanna Lake ................ 32
Cliff Lake......covoveeererrenen. 21 Scout Lake..........ccoeu...... 30 Waldo Lake............c..c.c... 32
Cooper Creek Reservoir.. 21 Suttle Lake........cc.ervenne. 30 Whig Lake.........ccccoo..... 32
Diamond Lake .........ovviiin. 23 Josephine Willamette River .............. 32
Eel Lake.......ccocoveueevennnne. 24 inois RIVET .ooeooeoeo, 26 Lincoln

Faller Lake........c...c.cc..... 24 Lake Selmac......ooovvvii.. 27 Alsea River...........cccocuuu. 20
Ford’'s Pond..................... 24 Rogue River.................... 29 Depoe Bay.........cccvvennneen. 22
Fish Lake........cccoeevernennne. 24 Klamath Devils Lake.........ccceeuennne 23
Galesville Reservoir......... 24 Davis Lake ... 23 Olalla Lake...........cccueeuue... 29
Hemlock Lake.................. 25 Fourmile lake .................. 24 Salmon River................... 30
Indigo Lake..........cccc........ 26 Klamath LaKe.......oooovoon.. 32 Siletz River ........cccoceeeee. 30
June Lake.........c.c.co.o.... 26 Lake of the Woods........... 2 Yaquina River .................. 33
Lake in the Woods........... 26 Miller Lake .............cocooeeo. 28 Linn

Lemolo Lake.................... 27 Spring CreeK...ovvviiiii, 30 Blg LaKe....cooviireeieeeiinns 20
Loon Lake........cccvvennenn. 27 Upper Klamath Lake........ 32 Breitenbush River............ 20
Lower Twin Lake............. 28 Williamson River.............. 33 Carmen ReServoir ........... 21
Lucile Lake .................... 28 Lake Cheadle Lake. .................. 21
Maidu Lake........ R 28 Big Swamp Reservoir ..... 20 Clear Lake ...........oo...c...... 21
North Umpqua River........ 31 Campbell Lake 21 Detroit Reservoir.............. 23
Opal Lake ........ccceecveerinnne 29 Cottonwood MdWSL """" 22 East Freeway Lake.......... 24
Plat | Reservoir................ 29 Deadhorse Lake ............ 292 Foster Reservoir.............. 24
Skookum Lake................. 30 Dog Lake ...~ 23 Green Peter Reservaoir..... 25
Timpanagos Lake............. 31 Duncan Reseroir............. 23 Lake AnN......cccocvevivennennen. 26
Umpqua River................. 31 Heart Lake ........... .. .. 25 Lost Lake......cuvvvveveeeeennns 27
Upper Twin Lake.............. 32 Holbrook Reservoir........... 25 Middle Freeway Lake ......28
Winchester Bay ............... 33 Lofton Reservoir ............. 27 Smith Reservoir............... 30
Wolf Lake...........cccveeeenn. 33 Mud Lake.......... 28 South Santiam River........ 30
Gilliam ThompsonReservow 31 Trail Bridge Reservoir...... 31
Earl Snell Mem. Lagoon .. 24 Vee LaKe. oo 32 West Freeway Lake......... 32
John Day River................ 26 Withers LaKe....ovooeevnn 33 Willamette River .............. 32
Grant Lane Malheur

Bull Prairie Lake .............. 20 Alameda LaKe.................. 20 Bully Creek Reservoir...... 21
Magone Lake................... 28 Betty Lake........oooervvennen. 20 Lake Owyhee................... 27
Harney Blair Lake.................c...... 20 Owyhee River................ 29
Burns Gravel Pond........... 21 Blue River Reservoir........ 20 Marion

Delintment Lake............... 22 Collard Lakes.......ooovvviiii.. 21 Big Cliff Reservoir............ 20
Fish Lake.........ccccveevnnneen. 24 Cottage Grove Reservoir.22 Breitenbush Lake............. 20
Krumbo Reservoir............ 26 Cougar Reservoir ............ 22 Breitenbush River-............ 20
Hood River Dexter Dam Reservoir.....23 Detroit Reservoir.............. 23
Badger Lake.................... 20 Dorena Reservoir ............ 23 Elk Lake.....cooornnnn 24
Green Point Reservoir..... 25 Fall Creek Lake ............... 24 Goose Lake..................... 24
Laurance Lake................. 27 Fern Ridge Lake.............. 24 Mission Lake.................... 28
Lost Lake......cccceeueeunnen. 27 Gold Lake ........ccccuveueneen. 24 Silverton Reservoir......... 30
Jackson Hidden Lake .................... 25 South Santiam River........ 30
Agate Reservorr.............. 20 Hills Creek Reservoir.......25 Walter Wirth Lake............. 32
Applegate Reservoir........ 20 Hult Reservair.................. 26 Willamette River .............. 32
Emigrant Lake ................. 24 Kiwa Lake........cccevvvvvvennnes 26 Morrow

Fish LaKe ......ovomii, 24 Leaburg Reservoir........... 27 Lake Penland................... 27
Howard Prairie Lake......... 26 Long Tom River ............... 27 Willow Creek Lake........... 33
Hyatt Lake ........c..cc.c........ 26 Lookout Point Reservoir..27 Multnomah

Lost Creek Lake .............. 27 Lower Erma Bell Lake .....28 Benson Lake.................... 20
Rogue River.........c.......... 29 Lower Rigdon Lake.......... 28 Bybee Lake.......c.cocoe....... 21
Squaw Lakes................... 30 McKenzie River ............... 28 Columbia River................ 21
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Dairy CreekK.........cceeuuenee. 22
Gilbert River.........cc......... 24
Multnomah Channel ........ 28
Sandy River........cccccoeeenns 30
Sauvie Is. Wildlife Area.... 30
Smith Lake.........ccccouee...... 30
Willamette River .............. 32
Polk

Willamette River .............. 32
Sherman

Columbia River................ 21
Deschutes River.............. 22
John Day River................ 26
Tillamook

Big Nestucca River.......... 20
Cape Meares Lake........... 21
Hoquarton...........cccceeeee 25
Kilchis River..................... 26
Lake Lytle .......ccooveeenennnn 26
Miami River.......c............. 28
Nehalem River................. 28
Netarts Bay.........cccceueeee. 28
Pacific Ocean .................. 29
Smith Lake.........cccuuee..... 30
Tillamook Bay .................. 31
Tillamook River................ 31
Trask River .........cccoeeunn.. 31
Wilson River .................... 33
Umatilla

Columbia River............... 21
Umatilla River .................. 31
Union

Grande Ronde Lake......... 24
Jubilee Lake..................... 26
Little Morgan Lake........... 27
Minam River .................... 28
Morgan Lake.................... 28
Mud Lake........cccovveveeennns 28
Pilcher Creek Reservoir...29
Thief Valley Reservaoir...... 31
Wallowa

Grande Ronde River........ 24
Kinney Lake..........ccc....... 26
Minam River .........cccuuee... 28
Snake River........cccovveeee. 30
Wallowa Lake................... 32
Wasco

Clear Lake .........cccuvveene.... 21
Columbia River............... 21
Deschutes River.............. 22
Frog Lake .......c..ccueeunnnee. 24
Mayer Park...........cccoueeeee. 21
Pine Hollow Reservaoir.....29
Rock Creek Reservoir .....29
Washington

Henry Hagg Lake............. 25
Tualatin River .................. 31
Wheeler

John Day River................ 26
Yamhill

Willamette River .............. 32
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Aids to Navigation

Navigational aids are similar to traffic signs. They’re placed
at various points along our waterways to help boaters locate
their position and to steer clear of danger.

The expression “red-right-returning” simply means that the
red buoys or day boards are passed on your starboard (right)
side when returning to port from the open sea (or when going
upstream). The opposite is true when leaving port towards
sea. Red buoys or day boards are port (left side) and green
buoys are starboard (right).

All navigation aids are protected by law. It is a criminal offense
to damage or interfere with them. Never tie your boat to a
marker buoy or other aid to navigation. If you should collide
with or damage an aid to navigation, report it immediately to
the U.S. Coast Guard or local sheriff's office.

DANGER INFORMATION
The nature of danger may be For displaying official
) indicated by words inside the information such as
diamond shape such as shoal, directions, distances,
reef, wreck, dam location
CONTROLLED AREA EXCLUSIONS
Type of control is indicated Explanations may be placed
| within the circle such as 5 outside the crossed diamond
4/ mph, no anchoring shape such as dam, rapids,
4 swim area

Marker on Marker on special A mooring
piling purpose buoy buoy

Dual Purpose
marker on land

o |
i)

COAST GUARD CHANNEL MARKERS
ADOPTED FOR USE ON ALL STATE WATERS

Marks left side of Channel Marks right side of Channel

When returning from main water body or
proceeding upstream

RED AND GREEN
(Preferred Channel) BUOY

Topmost band red;
preferred channel is to
left of buoy; no number.

SECONDARY
CHANNEL - ’

/‘\ :
L4
> ’

- ’

NUN BUOY 2

Coloring red, with even
number (leave to
starboard). Secondary
channel starts new
numbering system.

-
i

LIGHTED BUOY 6

Red in color, with even
number; red light, quick
flashing (60 flashes per
minute). Leave to starboard
when proceeding toward head
of navigation (upstream).

CAN BUOYS 3, 5,7
Coloring green, odd
numbers increasing
toward head of navigation
(leave to port).

NUN BUOY 4

Coloring red, with even
number. Numbers increasing
toward head of navigation
(leave to starboard).

Ll

S

)

JZ

LIGHTED WHISTLE BUOY 1

Green in color; odd number;
green light, regular or quick
flashing (leave to port
proceeding upstream).

-

Proceeding toward
navigation from
seaward.

LIGHTED BELL BUOY 2
Red in color, with even
number; red light, regular
flashing (not more than 30
flashes per minute) or quick
flashing (60 flashes per
minute). Leave to starboard
when proceeding toward head
of navigation (upstream).

i

T~

MID CHANNEL BUOY

No number; red and white
vertical stripes (should be
passed close to, on either
side). Light: white with
Morse A flashes.

Federal Channel Marker System

Rules of the Road

The rules of the road are designed to help boaters avoid
collisions. All boats have responsibility under the rules of the
road. The “stand-on” boat has a responsibility to maintain
course and speed and the “give-way” boat must stay clear of
the stand-on boat’s path.



Crossing situations:

When two motorboats are crossing, the boat to starboard (right)
is the stand-on boat. It must hold course and speed. The
give-way boat yields and passes behind the stand-on boat.

%

1 short blast “ 1 short blast

(1sec.) » (1sec.)

Give-Wa ‘ \'\‘A Stand-On
y Danger Zone (

Vessel ‘10 points, 112.5°

Overtaking:

A boat being overtaken is the stand-on boat. It must hold
course and speed. The passing boat must keep a sufficient
distance to avoid collision or endangering the other boat with
its wake.

%

S

&
N
A
-

Vessel

o~

III’

[ ]
]
2 short blasts L] 1 short blast

(1sec.) (1 sec.)
Stand-On
Vessel
A Overtaken ! P
- ]
| L]
., «®

L
]

2 short blasts Give-Way 1 short blast
(1 sec.) Vessel (1 sec.)
i Overtaking R

Meeting head-on or nearly so:

When two or more motorboats approach each other “head-on,”
each must alter course to the right, to avoid collision. If the two
boats are far to the left of each other, no change in course is
necessary. Five or more rapid blasts indicate DANGER.

ey

1 short blast (1 sec.) 1 short blast
4 N, (1sec)
EmEmEnm -
¢ (= JPMES )
= senun) 1 short blast ‘..}
1 short blast (1 sec.) (1 sec.)

IEERRRRRY] 2

2 short blasts (1 sec.)

2 short blasts (1 sec.) {- EEEEEEER

Commercial ships:

Boaters must remain well clear of large commercial boats that
can only navigate within a channel. On rivers such as the
Columbia, where large commercial traffic is constant and
steady, it is illegal to anchor in the navigation channel. Doing
so could cost you $5,000 and serious danger to your boat,
passengers or the environment.

More rules of the road for boat operators:
» For personal watercraft operation roles, page 46.
* Motorboats and PWC'’s must keep out of the way of less

maneuverable boats such as sailboats, row boats and
other paddle craft, except in an overtaking situation.

+ Boats must not impede deep draft boat traffic in narrow
channels. Deep draft boats are limited in maneuverability
and navigating within the channel.

« Paddle craft must not impede the travel of motorboats
operating in the main channel.

Proper lookout

Boat operators should be experienced enough to recognize
lights, waterway markers and boats as well as other hazards,
and maintain a proper lookout for danger at all times. A com-
mon cause of accidents (collisions) is the lack of a proper look-
out. Operators can be fined if they are involved in an accident.

Safe speed

Boat operators must maintain a safe speed at all times to avoid
collision. Safe speed takes into consideration such factors as
visibility, traffic, weather conditions and boat maneuverability.

Anchoring

Each year improper anchoring results in lost boats and
fatalities, especially on Oregon’s swift rivers. Carefully follow
these procedures to ensure your safety:

* Use anchor line 7 to 10 times the depth of the water. Allow
a 360 degree area for movement.

+ Always secure anchor line to the bow -never the stern or
sides, which may cause the boat to capsize or submerge.

» Bring the bow into the wind or current; put the engine in
neutral.

* Make sure arms, legs, hands and feet are clear of the line
before lowering the anchor.

* Lower the anchor over the bow (do not toss or throw it).

Anchoring in a position that obstructs the passage ordinarily
used by other boats is against the law.

Emergency Procedures

(Caution: these procedures may not apply in all situations.)

Capsizing
If your boat swamps, DON'T PANIC.

1. You should already be wearing a
life jacket. If not, grab any object
that floats to keep your head above
the water.

S\

LIFE JACKETS
SAVE

2. Stay with the boat (on narrow, swift LES

moving rivers, remain up river of the

boat). You will be more easily located by a search plane
or boat. Do not swim for shore unless there is absolutely
no chance of rescue and you are certain you can make it.

3. In cold water, follow these procedures to prevent
hypothermia:

a. Keep your head out of the water and don’t remove
your clothes or shoes.

b. If possible, get in or on top of the boat to get as far
out of the water as possible. This will help retain
body heat.
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c. Wear a life jacket, and if alone, assume the fetal
posture by curling your knees into your chest. This
position will help retain heat to the core of your body.

Always wear your life jacket to reduce panic and improve your
chance of surviving in an accident.

Recognized Distress Signals

The signals illustrated below indicate a boat is in distress and
requires assistance. However, other methods may be used.

WAVE ARMS SLOWLY WAVE
UP AND DOWN ORANGE FLAG

SOUND HORN, BELL OR SET OFF ORANGE
WHISTLE REPEATEDLY COLORED SMOKE SIGNAL

USE RED ROCKET
OR FLARE

DISPLAY ORANGE AND
BLACK CLOTH AS SHOWN

SEND "MAY DAY"
ON RADIO

BLINK FLASHLIGHT OR
WHITE LIGHT - S.0.S.

Visual Distress Signals

Visual distress signals (VDS) allow boat operators to signal
for help in the event of an emergency. VDSs are classified as
day signals (visible in bright sunlight), night signals (visible at
night), or both day and night signals. VDSs are either
pyrotechnic (smoke and flames) or non-pyrotechnic (non-
combustible).

1.5, Coast Guard-Approved Visual Distress Signals

Pyrotechnic Visual Distress Signals

Red Meteor
Day and Night Signal

Red Flare
Day and Night Signal

Orange Smoke
Day Signal

Non-Pyrotechnic Visual Distress Signals
Electric Light

Night Signal
Used by permission. Copyright @ 2008 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com

Orange Flag
Day Signal

Boats on federally controlled waters must be equipped with
the U.S. Coast Guard approved visual distress signals. In
Oregon, federally controlled waters include the mouth of the
Columbia River and all coastal waters. All boats, regardless
of length or type, are required to carry night signals when
operating between sunset and sunrise. Most boats must
carry day signals also; exceptions to the requirement for day
signals are:

Recreational boats that are less than 16 feet in length;

* Non-motorized open sailboats that are less than 26 feet in
length, and;
* Manually propelled boats.

VDSs, must be U.S. Coast Guard —approved, in serviceable
condition and readily accessible.

* A minimum of three must be carried and not past their
expiration dates.

Cold Water Immersion
and Hypothermia

Cold water immersion kills in several ways. The colder the
water, the greater the chance of death. By understanding
how your body reacts in cold water, you can prepare for and
be better able to respond appropriately, and increasing your
chance of survival.

There are four stages of cold water immersion:

« Stage I: Initial “cold shock” occurs in the first 3 to 5
minutes of immersion in cold water. Sudden immersion
into cold water can cause immediate, involuntary gasping;
hyperventilation and vertigo -all of which can result in
water inhalation and drowning. Immersion in cold water
can also cause sudden changes in blood pressure, heart
rate, and heart rhythm, which also can result in death.
[See hypothermia survival times chart below]

« Stage lI: Short-term “swim failure” occurs 10 to 30
minutes following immersion in cold water. The muscles
and nerves in the arms and legs cool quickly. Manual
dexterity, hand grip strength, and speed of movement can
all drop by 60% to 80%. Even normally strong persons
can lose strength necessary to pull themselves out of
water or even keep their head above water. Death occurs
by drowning.

« Stage lll: Long-term immersion hypothermia sets in
after 30 minutes, at a rate depending on water
temperature, clothing, body type and your behavior in the
water. Cold water robs the body of heat 25 times faster
than cold air. Hypothermia occurs when your body loses
heat faster than it produces it, cooling the organs in the
core of your body. Hypothermia eventually leads to loss of
consciousness and death, with or without drowning.

Hypothermia Survival Times

High Probability
of Death

Low Probability
of Death

30 40 50 §0 70
Water Temperature ("F)—

= N W s o

Duration of Immersion (hours)—




« Stage IV: post-immersion collapse occurs during or
after rescue. Once rescued, after you've been immersed
in cold water, you are still in danger from collapse of
arterial blood pressure leading to cardiac arrest. Also,
inhaled water can damage your lungs, and heart problems
can develop as cold blood from your arms and legs is
released into the core of your body.

NOTE: “Cold water” is defined as water below 70°F, so all
water in Oregon is considered cold water.

Falls Overboard

If someone falls overboard:

1. Swing the stern of the boat away from the person to
reduce propeller danger.

2. Throw a floating object or a Type IV throw cushion
immediately, even if the person can swim. Throw the
device in a manner that will not hit the person in the
water. Don’t wait to throw a float cushion if another item
is closer at hand. Speed is critical.

3. Keep the person in view. Have a passenger act as a
lookout. At night, direct the best possible light on the
victim.

Wind

4. Approach the person from downwind or into the sea
(waves). The maneuver to use to approach a person
depends upon the existing conditions (water temperature,
see conditions, victim’s physical capabilities, whether
you are alone, availability of other ready assistance,
maneuvering room, etc.).

5. If necessary have another person put on a life jacket with
a line attached to the boat and get into the water to help
the person who fell overboard.

6. Assist the person boarding the boat. It is often difficult to
climb into a boat from the water, and an individual who
is hurt or cold may not be capable of getting onboard
without help.

7. In small boats, the weight of a person suspended from
the side can be enough to tip the boat and cause it to
take on water. The best procedure for getting back into
a small boat is over the stern or bow, depending upon
the boat’s construction. Common sense dictates that the
propeller must be stopped when pulling a victim in over
the stern.

8. Make the victim as warm and dry as possible. A person
who was in the water for over 15 minutes is probably
suffering from some degree of hypothermia. Do not give
the victim alcohol or anything hot to drink. Wrap them in
a blanket and seek medical help at once.

Wearing a life jacket is the most important behavior a boater
can incorporate, because falling overboard is never expected.
Life jackets, when worn, will save your life.

Courtesy

The best way to avoid additional waterway regulations where
you boat is to eliminate conflicts by using common courtesy.

The following courtesy code is recommended for all boaters.
Remember:

1. When launching and loading boats, avoid blocking ramps
and docks when others are waiting to use the facility.

2. Watch your wake, particularly when operating near
docks, floating homes, moorages and ramps. Boaters are
responsible for the damage they cause by their wake.

3. Be alert for swimmers, downed water skiers and wake
boarders, scuba diver “Diver Down” flags, slow-moving
boats and boats at anchor.

4.  When launching or mooring a boat on private property,
ask the owner’s permission first.

5. Avoid operating continuously near residential areas
if your boat creates considerable noise (e.g. personal
watercraft).

Avoid spraying people when being towed
Give fishermen a wide berth. They have fishing lines out.

Stay clear of commercial traffic, especially large barges
that have a narrow channel to operate within.

9. Be considerate of paddlers, bank anglers and other
waterway users.

Bottom line; treat other waterway users as you would prefer
them to treat you.




Littering

It is unlawful to litter in state waters. Litter can come in many
forms, including polystyrene (Styrofoam), plastic bags, bait
packages, and more. Monofilament line can kill birds, fish and
marine mammals.
Properly dispose of your
litter onshore. The penalty
for littering from a boat
includes a fine and
suspension of the boater’s
Certificate of Number
(registration). If you're
interested in helping keep
Oregon’s waters clean
contact SOLV’s Adopt-A-
River program at
503-844-9571 or email at
info@solveoregon.org.

Riding on Open Decks or Gunwales

The following rules apply to riding on the bow, gunwale, or
transom of a motorboat:

1. ltis illegal to ride on the starboard or port side gunwales,
or on the transom of a motorboat moving at a speed in
excess of 5 mph unless the boat has adequate guards or
railing.

2. While underway, it is illegal to ride on the deck of the bow
unless the motorboat has adequate guards or railing.

3. ltisillegal to ride or sit on the bow, gunwale, or transom
railing while the motorboat is underway.

Riding on the transom of a boat that;s underway is dangerous—
for falling overboard and possible CO poisoning and is illegal.

Reckless Boat Operation

Did you know that dropping water skiers off too close to
swimmers or rocking another boat with your boat’s wake can
be considered either reckless or unsafe boat operation?

A person commits the crime of reckless operation of a boat,
if operating carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton
disregard of the rights, safety or property of others (ORS.
830.315).

Included in state law is a similar but lesser violation called
“unsafe operation.” Unsafe operation is when a person
operates a boat in a manner that endangers, or would be
likely to endanger, another or another’s property.

Other provisions in law require the operator to “maintain a
proper lookout;” to be able to stop within the assured clear
distance ahead; to obey all speed limitations.

Violation of any of these laws yields heavy fines and possible
jail time. A boat operator is responsible for the safety of
everyone onboard. Knowing how to operate your boat properly
will provide you and your passengers with many hours of
pleasure and enjoyment on Oregon’s beautiful waterways.

Boating Under the Influence

A boater who shows signs of impairment from alcohol or
drugs —even some prescription drugs, can be arrested for
Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants (BUII). Using
recreational marijuana (smoking or using any marijuana
products) is illegal in boats on public waterways. Law
enforcement officers are trained to recognize non-alcohol
impairment and if detected or observe impairment, they will
conduct field sobriety tests and a breath test for alcohol.

A boater with blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or
more is considered to be under the influence. However, if a
boater shows signs of impairment, they may be required to
perform and pass standardized field sobriety testing (SFSTs)
and/or provide a blood or urine sample. Failing such tests
may result in the boater’s arrest regardless of his/her BAC
level. BUIIl is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one
year in jail and a fine of up to $6,250 or more.

If the boater is found guilty of BUII, they will be required to
complete a safe boating class, will not be allowed to operate
a boat for one year and may have their boat registration
suspended for up to three years. Oregon law provides that
any person operating a boat on any Oregon waters has
given consent to submit to breath and field sobriety tests if
the officer has probable cause to believe that he or she is
impaired.

Why boating under the influence
of intoxicants is unsafe

1. Intoxicants affect your judgment. Operators under the
influence are more likely to take risks they normally
wouldn’t and are less likely to make the right choices in a
life-threatening situation.

2. Intoxicants affect sense of balance, which is critical in
boating.

3. Boating requires good vision and intoxicants can
seriously impair your vision. Peripheral vision, night
vision, depth perception, and your ability to focus are all
negatively impacted.

4. Intoxicants slow your reaction time and in the case of a
hazardous situations, seconds may be all you have to
take the correct action.

5. Even without impairing substances in your body, reaction
time is slowed in normal boating by environmental
stressors. Stressors include motion, sun, wind and noise.
Add alcohol or intoxicating substances and the effects
are amplified.

6. Alcohol is a central nervous system depressant and also
dehydrates a person’s body. A person consuming alcohol
that falls overboard is more likely to succumb to the
effects of cold water immersion faster than someone who
has not consumed any intoxicating substances.

Boat Safe, Boat Sober!



Wakes

A wake refers to the path of moving waves a
boat leaves behind it, and is a product of the
boat size, weight, hull shape, boat speed, boat
trim and water depth. All boats create wake
and all boaters are responsible for their wake.
You can be proactive and reduce the wake
simply by changing how you operate your
boat.

Watch your Speed:

As the boat operator, it can be easy to control
your wake. Understanding the speeds under
which your boat operates is the first step.

Often the boat operator can cause a large
wake unintentionally. The operator may drop
to the transition (plowing) speed instead

of down to displacement (idle) speed and
actually increase wake size. It’'s easy to avoid this pitfall by
making a habit of checking your wake as it hits the shore.
Slow down far enough in advance of sensitive areas to give
yourself time to drop to displacement (idle) speed. This will
minimize your wake’s impact. Wake boat operators should
pick up surfers/wake boarders by powering down from
transition speed before entering a turn. The time it takes to
complete each type of turn is almost the same, but the power
turn creates roller wakes that can stack with other waves and
potentially impact other boaters. A slow turn helps disperse
wakes evenly.

Limiting your wake

+ Be aware of your wake and the water depth. Shallow
water yields larger wakes.

* Use the motor trim or trim tabs to help keep your boat
level and limit your time in transition (plowing) speed.

+ Boat in deeper waters. Avoid getting close to other boats,
docks and the shore.

» Position passengers throughout the boat. A heavy stern
will increase wake size.

+ Avoid areas with a lot of docks or heavily populated areas.

» Be sure to know the local area regulations which may be
more restrictive than the statewide proximity rules in some
areas.

What to do
if you get
“waked”

Chances are you
will face a large
wake created by
someone else at
some point. As the
operator, you have
a responsibility

to take early and
substantial action to
prevent swamping,
capsizing

or collisions
(navigation rules
and responsibilities
apply to all boaters).

Used by permission.
Copyright © 2010 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com

DRINKING AND BOATING?

THAT’S MORE THAN A LITTLE DINGHY.
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Here are some tips to safely navigating through a wake:

» Warn your passengers. Passengers below deck are
especially at risk of hitting their heads or falling, so be
sure they can hear you.

« Slow down before the wake arrives to lessen the impact,
but don’t cut the engine. You need headway to be able to
maneuver through the wake.

» Have older passengers and others who are susceptible to
injuries -stay aft.

« Instead of crossing a wake at a perpendicular angle, cross
at a slight angle (quarter of the wake). This will keep the
bow from being thrown high in the air.

« While overtaking another boat, cross its wakes quickly
instead of riding them. Signal the operator, keep both
hands on the wheel, and stay away from the other boat’s
stern.

« Try not to take a wake on your beam. Instead, turn into
the wake and come back on course when the wake has
passed.

+ If you are at anchor, allow for slack in the line so wakes
don’t cause the bow to lift and unseat the anchor.

» Inexperienced paddlers are encouraged to stay closer
to the banks of lakes, reservoirs and rivers. How far to
venture out into an open waterway should be determined
by the environmental conditions, other boating activity
(congestion) and skill level of the operator.

Definition of slow-no wake

Operating a boat at the slowest speed necessary to
maintain steerage and that reduces or eliminates waves
that appear as whitewater behind the boat.

Violation of the snow-no wake rule is a Class B violation and
can result in fines.

In Oregon, there are “statewide proximity rules” for slow-no
wake operation that apply on all waterways (OAR 250-010-
0025): Operators of boats must observe slow-no wake within
200’ of a boat ramp, marina or moorage with a capacity for
six or more boats; a floating home moorage with six or more
structures; or people working at water level. The operator
may be liable for damage caused by wake. This rule does not
apply to commercial vessels or river navigation when more
speed is needed to ensure safe passage.
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Mufflers and Maximum
Sound Level

The exhaust of every internal combustion engine used on
any motorboat needs to be effectively muffled at all times in
accordance with Oregon Revised Statute 830.260. The term
“effectively muffled” means the exhaust system contains a
mechanical device or appliance, designed, constructed and
used to reduce the exhaust noise emissions of a motorboat
below the maximum noise levels. Such a device or appliance
must be integral to the motorboats’ exhaust system. Water
muffling systems which meet this standard are those which
incorporate a marine exhaust manifold.

A person shall operate a motorboat on the waters of this state
in such a manner that does not exceed the following noise
level:

(a) For engines manufactured before January 1, 1993,
a maximum noise level of 90 dBA when subjected to a
stationary test as prescribed by SAE J-2005_199112;

(b) For engines manufactured after January 1, 1993,
a maximum noise level of 88 dBA when subjected to a
stationary test as prescribed by SAE J-2005_199112;

(c) A maximum noise level of 84 dBA measured as specified
in the shoreline sound level measurement procedure for
recreational motorboats SAW J-1970_201102.

(3) This regulation shall not apply to motorboats competing,

under a permit issued by the Marine Board pursuant to ORS
830.375 or a United States Coast Guard permit, in a regatta,
a boat race, or while on official trials for speed records during

the time and in a designated area authorized by the permit;
and those boats testing in areas designated by the State
Marine Board pursuant to ORS 830.350.

A weighted decibel, abbreviated dBA, is an expression of the
relative loudness of sound in air as perceived by the human
ear. In the A-weighted system, the decibel values of sound
at low frequencies are reduced compared with unweighted
decibels, in which no correction is made for audio frequency.

The Marine Board does not have authority to regulate for
noise outside of internal combustion engines. Loud noise
from stereo systems is a major source of complaints the
Marine Board receives, so keep stereos turned down to avoid
potential legislation.

Clean Operation

To operate in a “clean and green” manner means to efficiently
tune your engine regularly and inspect fuel lines for leaks, cracks
and loose connections. When changing oil and transmission
fluid, use a spill-proof or vacuum pump, slip a bag over the oil
filter before removal, and wipe up oil drips with an absorption
pad. Keep fluid separate for recycling purposes according to lo-
cal regulations. Here are some additional pointers:

» Carry a waste container in your boat -never throw trash
overboard.

+ Use on shore bathroom facilities or get an approved
Marine Sanitation Device (MSD) for your boat. Never
discharge sewage into Oregon waters. Look for this
symbol sign to identify where pump-out and dump stations
are available in your area.

* Upgrade your carbureted outboard, sport jet or personal
watercraft motor to a new, clean burning,
fuel-efficient model.

* Never use soaps to clean oil and fuel spills.

* Pump oily or dirty bilge water at a bilge pump-out facility...
not into the water. Use a bilge pad to clean up small spills.

»  Carefully clean your trailer and boat inside and out when
moving from lake to lake to avoid spreading aquatic
invasive species. Flush live wells in bilges away from the
water. Remove all vegetation before launching. If you've
recently boated outside of Oregon, consider pressure
washing your boat hull and trailer to remove any aquatic
invasive species that may be present.

Citizen Complaint Procedures

Oregon law (ORS 153.058) has a method for citizens to
initiate a complaint for any unlawful boating activity:

1. Private citizens should first contact the law enforcement
officer, preferably a sheriff’s office marine deputy or an
Oregon State Police Fish and Wildlife trooper, because
they are more familiar with boating laws.

2. The deputy or trooper will fill out a citation complaint form
that the citizen will sign.

3. The citizen must then appear in the court having
jurisdiction where the boating offense took place on the
date given by the officer.

4. The district attorney or city attorney will examine the
complaint and determine if there is enough evidence to
issue a summons to the person named in the complaint.
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It is important that the citizen wishing to file the complaint
make a reasonable effort to do so at the date, time and place
that the violation is alleged to have occurred. The officer will
ask you to provide the following information:

1. The offense;
2. Description of the offending boat (and OR number);

3. Description, name and/or address of the operator. The
officer may be able to assist you with obtaining this
information;

Time and place of the incident. Body of water, location;
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5. Injuries and property damage;
6. Names of withesses; and,

7

Description of the incident.

Citizens can also report online at www.oregon.gov/osmb/
forms-library/Pages/Report-a-Boater.aspx about serious
boating violations. Copies of these complaints will be
forwarded to the marine patrol office having jurisdiction where
the offense occurred.

Marine Patrols

The Oregon State Marine Board contracts with county sheriff's
offices and the Oregon State Police to provide on-the-water
marine patrol services. In waters where the federal government
shares jurisdiction, the U.S. Coast Guard will also have a
presence.

Marine patrols are available to check your certificate

of number and required safety equipment. Boats that

check out properly will be issued a Marine Board “Law
Enforcement Decal.” Displaying this decal on your boat, lets
law enforcement know that the boat has been checked for
equipment and carriage requirements within the same year.
Boats displaying this decal or decals issued by the U.S. Coast
Guard auxiliary or US power squadron are also honored. On
occasion you may be stopped or warned of an anticipated
storm or cautioned of potential dangers arising from your
operation. Law violators can expect to be cited.

Applicability exemption
County sheriff’s, Oregon State Police and local, state and

federal agencies are exempt from operational restrictions
when conducting official business (OAR 250-020-0005).
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Enforcement

* When you are being approached by a law enforcement
boat using its blue flashing light and/or siren, you must
slow to the slowest speed at which you can safely steer
your boat. You may proceed unless otherwise directed by
the law enforcement officer.

* When approaching the stationary law enforcement boat
displaying its blue lights, consider it to be the same as a
boat ramp with a 200 foot, “no wake” speed zone around
it. You should slow immediately to the slowest speed at
which it is possible to maintain steering. You should alter
your course so that you do not interfere or inhibit the
operation of the law enforcement boat. You may increase
your speed only when you’re out of the vicinity of the law
enforcement boat (OAR 250-011-0050).

Boating Incidents

Operators involved in a boating accident are required by law to
stop their boat immediately at the scene of the accident and:

1. Give assistance to any person injured in the accident;

2. Give their name, address and identifying number of their
boat (OR number), as well as the name and address
of any occupants to the other boats operator and/or
occupants.

Witnesses must give their names and addresses to the
operator, occupants or injured person. Failure to fulfill duties of
operators/witnesses is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by
a fine of up to $6,250 and/or a penalty of jail up to one year. In
accidents causing injury or death, failure is a Class C Felony,
punishable by five years in prison and/or $100,000 fine.
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Contributing factors in accidents: Accident/incident reporting

«  Failure to maintain a proper lookout; Boat operators or owners must submit a written report of a
. Operator error/misjudgment: boating accident to the Oregon State Marine Board when:
«  Operator inattention, and operator inexperience 1. aperson dies, disappears or is injured and receives

medical treatment.

Top five primary accident types 2. damage to the property is in excess of $2,000.

(U.S. Coast Guard statistics):

1. Collision with another boat The report must be made within

48 hours of the accident in cases

Incident Form

2. Collision with a fixed object involving death, disappearance or

3. Flooding/swamping injury. Reports must be s_ubmitted
. within 10 days of an accident

4. Grounding involving only property damage.

5. Skier mishap (Failure to complete an accident

report, could result in a large
fine). Violations of equipment and
operational laws may cause doubling

Top five boats types involved in accidents
(U.S. Coast Guard statistics):

1. Open motorboat of the fine amount.
2. Personal watercraft (PWC) Scan the QR code to download an incident report form.
: A police report does not substitute for completing an
3. Cab torboat
apin motorboa incident report form by the boat operator and submitting
4. Canoe/kayak it in the required timeline to the Marine Board.
5. Pontoon boat

What’'s the
downside?

Life jackets buy you time and peace of mind.

www.BoatOregon.com



WATER SPORTS AND OTHER BOATING USES

Waterskiing N
To make waterskiing safer and more enjoyable for all, operators Water Sk"ng Slgnals
must observe the following laws: Slower Slower Faster Faster

1. Skiing between sunset and sunrise is prohibited.
2. There must be another person onboard as a lookout.

3. Boaters must carry and use a red or orange “skier down”
flag when the skier is in the water.

4. Towed persons are considered onboard the tow boat.
Therefore, children ages 12 and under on any towed device
or “biscuits” must wear U.S. Coast Guard-approved life
jackets.

5.  APWC must have a three-person capacity to carry the
operator, observer and person being towed.

The operator and/or skier must not operate:

1. Ina manner endangering the safety of persons or property. Tumn Left Speed OK Stop Tum Right

2. Under the influence of intoxicating alchohol or drugs (BUII).
Here are some good tips for skiers: Wake Sports

+ Always keep an eye on the water ahead of you.

+ If you fall, hold up a ski or arm to signal to the boat operator
you're “o0.k.”

*  When landing, come in parallel to the shore at low speed.

* Falls are inevitable—and it's a practical way to stop! Simply
let go of the tow line and sit down in the water. If you know
you are going to fall sideways, curl up into a ball before you
hit the water. Always be sure to throw the tow bar well clear
to avoid becoming tangled in the rope.

Things skiers shouldn’t do: Wake boats are specially designed boats that make a larger,

steeper wake for wake boarders. Most wakeboard boats have

’ Don,t ski in shallow water or near swimmers; several design features that help to create large wakes including
+ Don’t wrap the rope around any part of the body; ballast, wedge, and hull technology.

+ Don't ski at night; and,

. ) ) Wake boat operators are urged to show respect and courtesy
*  Don'tyell the command, *hit it” until the rope is taught and to other boaters and be conscientious of how they operate,

you're ready to be pulled. with or without wake enhancing devices, when operating in
narrow water bodies where there are numerous docks, smaller
watercraft, moorages, or other floating structures.

Personal Watercraft (PWC)

PWCs are small, highly maneuverable, very fast, and a lot of
fun to ride and operate. But with all that power, comes more
responsibility. To operate a personal watercraft alone, a person
must be 16 years of age and older. Youth 12 to 15 need to carry
their boater education card and can only operate a PWC if they
are accompanied onboard by a card-holding adult 18 or older.
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PWCs are high horsepower motorboats and operators of Personal watercraft and motorboat rentals

personal watercraft have the same responsibilities as any If you are renting a personal watercraft, all of the above rules
boat operator. It's very important that operators show courtesy apply. In addition, you must:

by not operating in a reckless manner and frequenting the

same area for long periods of time due to high sound levels * Beage 18 or older to rent a PWC;

some motors produce. « Carry onboard a signed “watercraft rental safety checklist’

The following rules are designed to help prevent collisions, form from the rental facility (livery).

the most common type of personal watercraft accident: If the renter or operator of the rented motorboat does not
) o possess a boater education card, the rental agent must
*  Slow to 10 mph when you are approaching within 100 feet provide the renter or operator of the boat with a watercraft

of another motorboat or sailboat underway. You are not
required to slow if they are approaching you.

+ Slow to slow-no wake speed when operating within 100
feet of an anchored boat or non-motorized boat.

+ Operate at slow-no wake within 200 feet of the shoreline
on a lake, bay or reservoir. Safe takeoffs and landings are
accepted.

* Operate at slow-no wake within 200 feet of a swimmer,
towed device, shoreline angler, diving flag, dock, launch
ramp, marina, moorage, floating home, boathouse, pier, or
swim float.

The following is a brief list of additional rules personal
watercraft operators must be familiar with before launching:

rental safety checklist provided by the Marine Board.

The renter or operator of a rental motorboat must review and
mark the watercraft rental safety checklist in the presence of
the rental agent before they may operate the boat and carry
signed portion of the watercraft rental safety checklist onboard
when operating the watercraft.

It is not required that every person who operates the rented
motorboat complete the checklist. A person under the age
of 16 may operate the rented boat if they are accompanied
and directly supervised by a person over the age of 16 (18
for PWC) who is carrying a boater education card or signed
portion of the watercraft rental safety checklist.

1. Personal watercraft riders must wear a Type |, Il or Il SCUBA Diving
U.S. Coast Guard -approved life jacket. Inflatable life SCUBA (Self-Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus) diving
jackets are not approved for this activity. is a popular sport, and divers can be found in the same areas
2. An engine shut off lanyard must be attached to the as boaters. As diving’s popularity increases, it becomes more
person operating the PWC. important for both boaters and divers to take special precautions.
3. Do not consume alcohol before and/or during operation Federal law requires that scuba divers or snorkelers on
(BUI). federally controlled waters display the alpha diver-down flag

to mark their diving area. Two types of flags are used to

4. Avoid wake jumping and operating near other boats and indicate diving activity:

commercial ships.

5. Do not operate a personal watercraft within 200 feet
behind a water skier or other towed device.

Observe speed limits and no wake zones.
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Avoid operating close to residential and congested areas.

Harassing wildlife, birds, and marine mammals is strictly

ihi THE
prohibited. ALPHA FLAG DIVERS FLAG
Personal watercraft operation is prohibited on many waterways.
See the regulations section of this handbook for approved * Ablue and white International Code Flag A (or Alpha
locations. flag), at least 3.3 feet (1 meter) high and visible from all

directions must be displayed on boats whenever these
boats are restricted in their ability to maneuver by the
diving operation. This flag indicates that the boat is
involved in a diving activity.

» Arectangular red flag, at least 15 x 15 inches, with a
white diagonal stripe is used to indicate the presence
of a submerged diver in the area. Display of this flag is
recommended and does not in itself restrict the use of the
water; however, boaters should always use caution and
slow to a slow-no wake speed when operating within 200
feet of a displayed flag.

Riding on the transom of a boat that’s underway is dangerous —  As a boat operator, you should:
for falling overboard and possible CO poisoning and it is illegal. .

Be able to recognize a diver-down flag.

« Stay 200 feet away from a diver-down flag. Do not drive
your boat between a diver-down flag and a nearby shore.

«  Watch out for divers surfacing when you see a diver-down

flag. Bubbles may indicate that a diver is below.




Whitewater Boating

Drifting and jet boating are highly popular boating activities on
many of Oregon’s whitewater rivers. Unique dangers are found
in these waters, and fatal boating accidents are usually due to
inexperience, unfamiliarity with the waterway and complacency
by boaters. Oregon’s rivers are cold year round and hypothermia
and cold water immersion is always possible if you find yourself
in the water unexpectedly. Be prepared to get wet!

Whitewater operations in a kayak, canoe, SUP, a rubber raft
or drift boat takes special skill and good physical conditioning.
The following are important whitewater safety tips:

1.  Wear a life jacket! Law now requires all boaters to wear
a life jacket in Class Il rapids or higher (we recommend
you wear it on all whitewater), and in areas where there
are known hazards.

2. Carry emergency equipment and have spare oars or
paddles onboard.

3. Know the river, especially where rapids, falls or other
hazards such as rocks and strainers are located. Always
scout rapids from the shore beforehand.

4. Never boat alone.

Be prepared for cold water by dressing properly and
wearing a life jacket.

6. Have a plan for what to do if you fall in, know how to float
(feet facing downstream) and how to get yourself safely
to shore.

Whitewater publications are available in most public libraries.
Use these books and guides when planning to boat these
beautiful, but often dangerous waterways.

River obstructions:

* Low-head dams: These structures are
difficult to see and can trap paddlers.
Consult a map of the river before
your trip and know where dams are
located. Always portage (carry) your
boat around them.

+ Rapids: When approaching rapids,
go ashore well upstream and check
them out before continuing (scouting).

If you see dangerous conditions, portage around them.

+ Strainers: These river obstructions allow water to flow
through but block boats and could throw you overboard
and damage or trap you and your boat. Strainers may
include overhanging branches, logjams, or flooded
islands.

+ Learn what obstructions have been peported at: oregon.
gov/OSMB/Pages/Reported-Obstructions-Alerts.aspx.

Jet boating

Jet boats (both inboard and outboard types) are now

being used in many whitewater rivers. These boats handle
very differently from propeller-driven boats and require
considerable experience for safe river operation. Motorboats
must “give-way” to non-motorized (paddle) boats.

Reported
Obstructions

If you are a jet boat operator, please become familiar with the
traditional fishing courtesies; scout each river before running
your boat and know the local bank/river fishing spots. Be
mindful of other boating uses on the stretch of river you plan
on running.

Furthermore, jet boats usually generate higher sound levels
than propeller boat. This is due in part, to the type of exhaust
system, drive train, etc. Operators must keep this in mind and
make sure their engine noise is within acceptable limits set by
law. See “Mufflers and Maximum Sound Level” on page 42.

Paddlesports —Canoes,
SUPs, Kayaks, and Rafts

Paddling a river, lake or bay is an enjoyable, environmentally
friendly and healthy way to enjoy Oregon’s waterways. It's
also increasingly popular. But with the increasing popularity
are an increasing number of accidents that are often easily
preventable.

Did you know that paddlers are more than twice as likely to
drown in a boating accident than operators of other types of
boats? This is due in part for two reasons:

1. Many people who step into a canoe, small raft or other
paddle boat are inexperienced and don’t consider
themselves boaters. They often don’t know basic safe
boating practices.

2. Many paddlers are not familiar with the waterway they’re
on. Many rivers host complex hazards such as rapids,
fallen trees or low-head dams. Calm, enticing lakes
can quickly become rough and windy. Indeed, simple
mistakes can leave an unprepared paddler in danger.

When paddling, prepare by
doing the following:

1. Always wear a properly fitting life jacket and know how to
swim in a river current.

2. Never paddle alone. Bring along at least one other
boater. When canoeing, two canoes with two canoeists
each are recommended. If unfamiliar with the waterway,
paddle with someone knowledgeable.

3. Never overload the boat. Tie down gear and distribute
weight evenly.

4. Maintain a low center of gravity and maintain three points
of contact whenever moving about, entering or exiting the
boat. Keep your weight balanced over the center.

+ Standing up or moving around in a small boat can
cause it to capsize —a leading cause of fatalities
among paddlers.

* Leaning a shoulder over the edge of the boat can also
destabilize it enough to capsize or to a fall overboard.

5. Stay alert at all times and be aware of your surroundings,
including nearby motorboats. Be prepared to react when
dangerous situations arise.
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6. Practice re-boarding your boat in the water with the help of
a companion.

Dress properly for the weather and type of boating activity.
Check your boat for leaks.

Map a general route and timetable when embarking on a
long trip. Arrange for your transportation from the put in to
the take out points.

10. Know the weather conditions before you head out. While
paddling, watch the weather and stay close to shore. Head
for shore if the waves increase.

Boarding (Kite, Sail, Wind)
Boarding is a hugely popular activity in Hood River and the

Columbia River Gorge for decades and boasts some of the
best conditions in the nation for competition.

These are activities best learned through a certified instructor
first, due to inherent risk and skill necessary to enjoy these
sports safely. Boarding activities are exempt from the life
jacket requirement (although many training centers require they
be worn) and carrying an Aquatic Invasive Species Permit.
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As with any physically demanding activity, boarders need to
take certain precautions to avoid injury:

» Beginners should learn how to board from a qualified
instructor on a small, relatively calm body of water.

* Never board alone.

* Life jackets should be worn when boarding. Hypothermia is
a serious threat. The Marine Board strongly recommends
wearing a wetsuit in water less than 70°F.

» For all sailboarding, use a mast leash, connecting the sail
and the board. Should the sail board separate, the fallen
sail will keep the board from drifting away.

* Boards are considered boats and must follow the
navigation rules of the road. Usually non-motorized
boats have the right-of-way over motorboats. However, a
board does not have the right-of-way when overtaking a
motorboat.

» Boards must also yield to large commercial boats confined
to the navigation channel.

Stand Up Paddleboarding (SUPs)

Paddleboarding is an activity that started in the 1940’s in
Hawaii, but recently has exploded in popularity in the Pacific
Northwest as an outdoor recreation activity. It's a great way to
connect with nature, an excellent form of exercise and many
clubs, regattas, and races are being formally organized in

Oregon. However, due to the popularity of paddleboarding

and the unfamiliarity of the waterways for many of the users,
education is becoming a necessity in order to enjoy this activity
safely.

If paddleboarding on a river, lake or bay for transportation
(similar to a kayak or canoe) and being used beyond the limits
of a swimming or surfing zone, a paddle board is considered a
boat. As such, paddle boarders need to carry a properly fitting
life jacket and sound producing device. The U.S. Coast
Guard made the determination that paddleboards were boats
in 2009. The Marine Board is enforcing this determination to be
consistent with federal law. Paddle boarders are encouraged to
wear a leash or lanyard. An aquatic invasive species permit is
also required for boards 10 feet or longer.

Surfing (Coastal Surfing)

Surfing is a popular activity in the Pacific Ocean. In some
areas, surfers need to keep a sharp lookout for incoming boat
traffic when swimming out into the surf zone. Boaters need to
keep a sharp lookout for surfers when heading into shore. If
a surf board is being paddled into a surf zone in conjunction
with a surfing activity, life jackets are not required to be worn.
Hypothermia is a serious threat to surfers and the Marine
Board strongly recommends wearing a wetsuit at all times
when engaged in activities in the Pacific Ocean. Surfers are
exempt from the AIS permit.

Rowing

Oregon’s waterways are also home to rowing shells, from
single skulls to eight-oared sweep boats. Although these boats
are long (a single rowing shell runs 25 to 30 feet long, and
some can be up to 65 feet long). They are extremely narrow,
light weight and fragile.

Team and club rowing practice regularly occur on the
Willamette and Columbia Rivers near downtown Portland.



Motor boat operators are urged to stay well clear of any
rowing boats. A wake from a motorboat can swamp a rowing
shell and also cause serious damage -even breaking the boat
in half. Stop or operate at a slow-no-wake speed until the
rowers have passed. Rowers launch from special docks at
water level so it is critically important to follow slow-no wake
rules when near a pier, boat ramp or dock.

Inner Tubes, Float Tubes
and Pool Toys

People using single inner tubes, beach toys and single float
tubes are not required to carry life jackets according to state
regulation. However, the Marine Board strongly encourages
people using these types of float toys to wear life jackets,
because inner tubes, float tubes and other air-filled devices
tend to be thin and can easily puncture. Children and non-
swimmers should always wear life jackets.

Inflatable Boats (single inner tubes latched together into rafts)
must carry life jackets for each person onboard and a whistle.

Floating a river

on float toys is
dangerous. They
are not designed
for floating in rivers. &
Scout ahead, look for
snags and downed
trees and know how
to self-rescue.

Marine Events Permit

Marine events (regattas, boat races, marine parades, floats,
fishing tournaments or exhibitions) must be permitted in
Oregon if they introduce extra or unusual water safety
hazards on an Oregon water body. A Marine Board application
for a permit must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the
event. Forms can be submitted via mail, fax, or email.

Any marine event on Federally Navigable waters (as defined
by the U.S. Coast Guard, excluding the Rogue River and the
Willamette River above the Oregon City Falls) including all
tidally influenced waters, must be permitted through the U.S.
Coast Guard. The Marine Board will continue to permit those
events on waters outside U.S. Coast Guard jurisdiction. The
U.S. Coast Guard application must be received at least 135
days prior to the event.

Waterski Courses, Ski Jumps

A permit is required from the Marine Board to install devices
not associated with an authorized Marine event (OAR
250-010-0097). Other devices also include race buoys and
kayak race gates. Applications are available by contacting the
Marine Board.

Outfitter Guides

Outfitters/Guides provide a valuable service by introducing
people to Oregon’s exciting waterways. Oultfitters/Guides
must register with the Marine Board. The Marine Board has
authority to reprimand ouffitters/guides or suspend, revoke
or deny registration up to 24 months for serious or repeated
violations. (OAR 250-016-0008).

To find out whether an Oultfitters/Guide is registered with the
Marine Board, visit www.boatoregon.com/store and click
“Online Services” from the topnavigation and select “Guide
and Charter Lists”.

Luygin Reyisler
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Racing Motorboat Tests

High-speed boat testing is authorized in Benton, Josephine,
Klamath, Linn and Multnomah counties, in designated zones.
Permits for areas outside designated zones are issued by the
marine patrol at the local county sheriff’s office.

Seaplanes

Seaplanes are considered boats when on the water, subject
to Oregon boating regulations. They are considered planes
when “in flight,” from start of take-off to end of normal power-
off landing run, and subject to FAA regulations (ORS 830.005,
830.600, 830.605).

For local regulations, consult the Oregon Department of
Aviation.




Dumping Your Boat’s

Porta-Potty Sewage

Note: Each dump station varies. Please read
instructions to gain an overview of the dump process.

.

1. Detach 2. Lift lid and turn on station.
storage tank.

3. Pour in sewage. 4. Rinse and turn off station.

XK ¢ X

A This is for boat sewage
only. Rags, paper

A If not draining products, fish waste, or
stop use and trash of any kind will
contact marina clog this machine.
manager.




GLOSSARY o

AMIDSHIPS Center of boat with reference to its PORT Side of boat to the left when facing -

length and/or sometimes its width. forward. " —
AFT Toward the stern of a boat. PERSONAL Commonly known by brand names ——
BEAM The boat's maximum width. WATERCRAFT such as Jet Ski, a (PWC) is a —
) ¢ , motorboat using a water jet pump as ]
BILGE Lower internal part of a boat’s hull. its primary power source. Designed for —
BOAT All watercraft, including a seaplane operation by a person sitting, standing e
on the water but not in flight, used or or kneeling. —
C?fab'e O‘th‘:,'”g “3‘:3 76 2 moans SAILBOAT Any boat which is under sail alone, —
Exé?nn;?oonsaié?;ugg b?);:r?oirées including any sailboat equipped with a S—
) ’ motor. —
floating homes, air mattresses, beach ) ] ] e
and water toys or single innertubes. STARBOARD Side of boat to right when facing —
forward. ———
BOW Forward part of a boat. STERN Aft t end of a boat —_

ermost end of a boat. —
DRAFT The depth of the boat below the water ) ——
line measured vertically to the lowest TRANSOM Flat planking across the stern of a - _5
part of the hull. boat. :___"_.'f
. . . . —
FORE Toorat he front T ndenuay whon not moored. atanohor
FREEBOARD Height of boat’s side measured from or aground ——
waterline to deck or gunwale. ' —_—
BEAM —

GUNWALE Top, outer edge of boat’s hull. BOW

HULL Body of a boat.

MOTORBOAT Any boat propelled in whole or in
part by machinery, including boats PORT STARBOARD
temporarily equipped with detachable I ;
motors.
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PHONE NUMBERS

State Marine Board .............. 503-378-8587
U.S. Coast Guard

Sector Columbia River............. 503-861-6211
Station Cape Disappointment,

llwaco, WA..........ccoeeeeie e 360-642-2382
Station Portland..............c........... 503-240-9365
Station Tillamook Bay.................. 503-322-3531
Sector North Bend.................... 541-756-9220
Station Chetco River, Harbor......541-469-3885
Station Coos Bay, Charleston.....541-888-3267
Station Depoe Bay,

Depoe Bay......cccccovvvviveeiiiinennn. 541-765-2124
Station Siuslaw River,
Florence.......cccoooeeeeeeeeeiiiiicinns 541-997-3631
Station Umpqua River,

Winchester Bay .........ccccceveeneee 541-271-2138

Station Yaquina Bay, Newport....541-265-5381

Oregon State Police

Headquarters, Salem................ 503-378-3720
After Hours:

Salem Dispatch .........cccceeeeen. 503-375-3555
Central Point Dispatch............... 541-776-6111
NW Region HQ..........ccccviurennns 503-378-3387

(Albany, Astoria, Capitol Mall, Government
Camp, McMinnville, Newport, North Plains,
Portland, St. Helens, Salem and Tillamook)

SW Region HQ...........ccceverrnnenn. 541-726-2536
(Central Point, Coos Bay, Florence, Gold
Beach, Grants Pass, Klamath Falls,
Lakeview, Oakridge, OSU, Roseburg and
Springfield)

East Region HQ .........ccccuee 541-388-6213
(Baker, Bend, Burns, Enterprise, Hermiston,
John Day, LaGrande, La Pine, Madras,
Ontario, Pendleton, Prineville and The
Dalles)

County Sheriff Offices

Baker........ccooooeeeeieeeeeee, 541-523-6415
Benton.......cooovvveiiiiiiiicceeeeee, 541-766-6858
Clackamas.......cccceeeeeeeeeenieneannnn. 503-655-8218
(0711 -To] o R 503-325-8635
Columbia .........ccooeeeeviviieeeeeee 503-366-4611
(07T 1 541-396-7800
CrooK ..uueeeeeeeeee e, 541-447-6398
CUIMY e 541-247-3250
Deschutes..........ooevvvvvviviiicieeennnn. 541-388-6501
Douglas .......ccocccvviiiiiiiieeee e, 541-440-4447
Hood RiVEr......cccvvveeeeeeieeeeeeee, 541-386-2098
Jackson .....cceeeeeieiiiiii 541-864-8844
Jefferson......cccceeeeeeeiin 541-475-6520
Josephine ..........cooevcivviiiieneenn. 541-474-5120
Klamath ........cccoovvvveieeeei, *541-883-5130
=T o 1Y 541-682-6446
(I TgTelo] | o I 541-265-4231
o1 o D 541-967-3950
Malheur...........cccoveveveeeieeeeeeeee, 541-473-5125
Marion..........ooveeevviieiiccceeeeeeen, 503-588-5094
MOFTOW.......coeeieeeeeeee e, 541-676-5317
Multnomah.........cccoeeeeeveeeeeiiennn, 501-988-6788
o] 503-623-9251
Sherman.......coceceeeeeeeeiiienienen, 541-565-3622
TilamoOoK ......ooeveeeiieeeiiieeeeee 503-815-3326
Umatilla..........ccooevieiieeeeeeeeee, 541-966-3601
(6o 1] o 541-963-1017
Wallowa .......cccvveeeeeeeeeeeeieeene 541-426-3131
WasCO.......ooooeeeeeiiiiiiiiieee, 541-506-2580
Washington.......ccccccceeeiiieininnne. 503-846-2700
Yamhill ......ccovvviiieieeeeeie 503-434-7506

*After hours, call 911

For all emergencies .........cceccvvrrvercnnnne. 911
* Indicate if water related

* Know where you're calling from

* Know your location

A qua t1¢
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