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OTLB News 
Occupational Therapy Licensing Board 

2021 Legislative Session—Bills to Watch 
Bills related to the OT Board (Bill numbers are hyperlinked to bill on OLIS): 
HB 2078 – changes pain management from one time 7 hrs on pain to 1 hr every 3 
years, or more frequently to align with the licensing boards renewal cycle.  Passed 
the House. 
HB 2315 – requires health boards to require licensees to complete 6 hours of CE 
related to suicide risk assessment, treatment and management every 6 years. Public 
Hearing Held. 
SB 682 – very similar to HB 2315, requires licensees to complete between 3-6 
hours every six years of CE related to suicide risk, assessment, treatment and man-
agement. Public Hearing Held 
SB 5521 – Budget bill for Health Related Licensing Boards.  Public Hearing held. 
SB 5526 – Fees adopted for the OT Board.  Public Hearing held. 
HB 3360—OTAO Bill – Establishes OT Day of Recognition annually on April 26th.  
No public hearing scheduled yet.   
 

Bills related to health insurance that reference OT: 
HB 2384 – An insurer shall reimburse in each plan year without prior authoriza-
tion, the cost of an initial eval, follow up and mgmt. of the treatment for any condi-
tion that is within the providers scope of practice for at least 12 visits or the max 
number of visits prescribed, whichever is less.  No public hearing scheduled yet.   
HB 2624 – Same bill as HB 2384. No public hearing scheduled yet. 
HB 2879 – Related to Vision Therapy – the OHA shall establish a code and payment 
rate for billing.  References optometry but OTs also do vision therapy.  No public 
hearing scheduled yet. 
 
Bills on data collection: 
HB 3057 – During COVID-19, would allow OHA to share individually identifiable 
information related to COVID -19 info to care coordination entities (CCO’s insurers, 
clinic based care coordinators) at health plans and  with for coordination purposes.  
Protect privacy   Public hearing and work session held.  Would take place under 
HIPAA umbrella.  No one else would have access to data.  Work Session scheduled 
for 3/16.  (OT mentioned as a health provider). 
HB 3159 – requires health care provider and health insurer to collect from patient, 
client or member, data on race, ethnicity, preferred spoken and written language, 
disability status, sexual orientation and gender identity.  Requires OHA to establish 
data system for receipt and storage of specified data.  No public hearing scheduled 
yet. 
Bills related to professional licensing on the eastern border: 
SB 17 – (-1 amendment). Allows out of state applicant seeking a license in Oregon 
more time to meet Oregon standards if applicant is already licensed in another state 

and is seeking to work in Eastern Oregon Board Economic Development Region.  
Public hearing scheduled held. 

If you have interest in viewing the public hearings, work sessions or tracking the bills, 
please visit oregon.legislature.gov. 
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Proposed Rule Change—Fee Increase 
 
To sustain its operations, the OT Licensing Board must raise its fees starting with the 21-23 biennium.   This is the first 
increase in 15 years (in fact the Board lowered its fees twice during this time).  It will take effect starting 7/1/21.  For 
more information, please see the Q and A section below.  Click here for the Proposed Notice.  Comments are due by 
April 23, 2021  at Noon.  
 
339-005-0000  Fees 
 
Fees are non refundable. Two year licenses shall be issued to all licensees in even-numbered years at the fee schedule 
listed below. On a case-by-case basis the Board may approve the issuance of a one-year license. 
 
(1) The fee for an initial Oregon or out of state occupational therapy license by endorsement is $100 $120. The Board 

may also assess the actual cost of conducting a background check, including fingerprinting. 
 
(2) The two-year renewal fee issued for the occupational therapy license is $ 150 $200. The Board may also assess the 

actual cost to the Board of conducting workforce demographics surveys. 
 
(3) The fee for an initial Oregon or out of state occupational therapy assistant license is $70 $90. The Board may also 

assess the actual cost of conducting a background check, including fingerprinting. 
 
(4) The two-year renewal fee for the occupational therapy assistant license is $ 100 $140. The board may also assess 

the actual cost to the Board of conducting workforce demographics surveys. 
 
(5) The fee for a limited permit is $25 and may not be renewed. 
 
(6) The fee for a temporary Oregon occupational therapist license for military spouses and domestic partners is $99. 
 
(7) The fee for a temporary Oregon occupational therapy assistant license for military spouses and domestic partners 

is $99. 
 
(8) The fee for an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant verification of Oregon licensure is $25. 
 

(9) The fee for an occupational therapist and/or occupational therapy assistant electronic mailing list is $100. 

  Q and A 
 
      Why is the OT Licensing Board increasing its fees?    
 

During the last 15 years, thanks to the steady growth in licensure, the Board has been able absorb into their budget:    
(1) Inflationary costs for Government services (such like payroll services, financial services, rent, service charges 
etc.);   (2) The increase in the Board Admin Asst. time from quarter time to half time that occurred in 2015,  (3) Costs 
associated with the Work Force Data survey charged by the OHA every renewal since 2012.  And (4) The increase in 
legal costs due to the rising number discipline cases.  
 
For revenues, the Board had 11%, 17% and 16% increases for biennia between 2013 and 2019.   However during 
2020 renewal, which had just begun when COVID happened,  the Board lost 22% of licensees and numbers overall 
for the biennium have been flat.  Prior to 2022, the Board  would generally lose between 12-18%.  The increase in 
fees can be attributed to lower than expected renewal revenue along with increasingly higher expenditures (that 
include a new licensing database to replace the 20 year old outdated system that is no longer supported.).  The reve-
nue generated from the increased fees will be used to replenish OTLB reserves that have been depleted over the last 
15 years. 
 
How long has it been since the last fee increase?  It has been 15 years since the Board increased their fees.  
In 2006, renewal fees were $200 for an OT and $140 for OTA, (2 year license).  In 2008, the fees were reduced and 
in 2010 they were reduced again to $150 for OTs and $100 for OTAs and have held there since.   Continued on page 4 
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Proposed Rule Change—Executive Order Compliance during a Declared Emergency 
 

Licensees may recognize this rule... The Board established the temporary rule in August, 2020.  Temporary rules are 
only in effect for six months.  As the rule expired on Feb. 5, 2021, the Board voted to make this a permanent rule.  Click 
here for the Proposed Rule Notice. Comments are due by April 23, 2021  at Noon.    

 
339-010-0020  Unprofessional Conduct  
 
6) Unprofessional Conduct in a Declared Emergency: 
 
(a) Unprofessional conduct during a declared emergency includes failing to comply with any applicable requirement 

of a Governor’s Executive Orders, including but not limited to:  
 
(A) Providing occupational therapy services when permitted, but without wearing Personal Protective Equipment 

(PPE) when PPE is required; 
 
(B) Providing occupational therapy services at a business required to be closed; 
 
(b) Unprofessional conduct during a declared emergency includes failing to comply with applicable Oregon Health Au-
thority (OHA) guidance implementing a Governor’s Executive Orders, including but not limited to failing to follow guid-
ance on providing occupational therapy services in person. 
 
(c) No disciplinary action or penalty action shall be taken under this section if the Executive Order provision or OHA 

guidance alleged to have been violated is not in effect at the time of the alleged violation. 

OHA Medicaid Program Updates 
 

Post-payment review for outpatient speech-language pathology, physical therapy and occu-
pational therapy claims: 
 
Starting July 1, 2019, OHA replaced prior authorization of fee-for-service outpatient therapy services with pre-
payment review (PPR) of submitted claims. This change has been a success, allowing providers to start clinically 
appropriate therapy on time, without waiting for OHA approval.  
 
OHA is making this a permanent process, with the following changes: 

 Claims submitted will no longer suspend for payment. Instead, all claims will pay, making this a post-
payment review process. 

 OHA will review a random sample of claims to ensure they meet all documentation requirements. 

Claims will continue to deny appropriately if services are not covered in the member's OHP benefit package, 
codes are not paired on the Prioritized List of Health Services, or for incorrect billing or provider type. To learn 
more, read OHA's PPR fact sheet. 
 
Questions? Please email OHA.PPR@dhsoha.state.or.us  

OTA Supervision Audit  
 

The OT Licensing Board has started its audit of OTA supervision.  The Board recommends that all OT Assis-
tants and their OT Supervisors review the instructions on how to file supervision via the license portal and 
log in and check their respective accounts to make sure the supervisor information is current.    For a link to 
the License Portal:  Click Here.   
 
For step-by-step instructions on how to file OTA supervision in the License Portal, Click Here. 
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*New* Cultural Competency CE Requirement 
Effective July 1, 2020, ALL licensed Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants are re-
quired to complete at least one hour on Cultural Competency per renewal period.  This requirement is in 
compliance with HB 2011 (2019).    

Link to rule:  339-020-0025  CE in Cultural Competency 

The Board leaves it up to the discretion of the practitioner to choose a course that would be most beneficial 
to his/her practice.  The OHA list of courses below are available but  it is not required that you choose a 
course from this list.  

OHA List of Approved CCCE Training:  Click here 

OHA CCCE website:  Click here 

AOTA Diversity in Health Care for OT:  Click here 

Q and A—Fee increase 
 

Continued from page 2.   What do licensure fees pay for?   The OT Licensing Board is financed solely from 
licensure and related fees.  (The board is not part of the general state fund).  The licensing fees pay for all the 
costs associated with the operations of a health licensing board.  This includes governmental services 
(financial, payroll, rent, service charges), personnel costs, contract investigator, legal fees, IT services, a new 
licensing database, etc.  Renewal fees make up 75% of revenue. 
 
 

OTLB to move under OHA’s Health Licensing Office 
 
The Governor’s biennial budget for 2021-2023 came out in early December and it is proposing that six 
agencies that currently report directly to the Governor, including the Occupational Therapy Licensing 
Board, be moved under the Oregon Health Authority’s Health Licensing Office (HLO).  
 
Link to HLO’s website:  Click here 
Link to 21-23 Governor’s budget, OTLB page:  Click here 
 
HLO is one agency that oversees several Boards and Programs, including the Art Therapy Program, Board 
of Cosmetology, Licensed Dietitians, Athletic trainers, etc.  The other agencies being included in the trans-
fer are the Speech Language and Audiology Board, Naturopathic Board, Mortuary and Cemetery Board, 
Medical Imaging Board and the Veterinary Board.   
 
Since 2006, these six boards have been grouped together for budgetary purposes as the Health Related Li-
censing Boards.  The boards share resources and a budget code but otherwise operate as independent 
agencies.  
 
Very few details are known at this time.  According to the Governor’s budget the Board will retain its cur-
rent authority, oversight and structure, however, administratively it will operate in the HLO.  The Board 
has been granted a one year budget to operate as it does currently and to work out the details and make 
the transition.    
 
Link to HLO statutes:  676.560 Purpose of Health Licensing Office  
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COVID –19 Latest Updates 

The Oregon Health Authority has issued specific guidelines 
for practice posted on their website at: 

OHA COVID-19 Healthcare Partner Resources 
 
COVID Vaccine Provider Communications Toolkit 
 
Oregon COVID-19 Vaccine Information for Providers  
 
Oregon Medicaid COVID-19 Provider Guide 

 
We strongly encourage you to follow the link frequently for 
new and updated information as content is changing rapidly.   
 
You can also check the OTLB website for COVID-19 updates 
and information by clicking here.   

 

Latest OHA Guidance 
 

COVID-19 Health Talking Points (3/12/2021) 
 
Links to the next phases for vaccines recipients: 

OHA 3527C Vaccine Sequencing secondary.02.25.2021.UPDATE.v13.pdf 

OHA 3527A Vaccine Sequencing Infographic.02.25.2021.UPDATE.v12.pdf 

Helping Adults Get COVID-19 Vaccinations:  OHA_Partner_Toolkit_2.4.21.pdf 

COVID-19 Vaccine Availability for Phase 1a 

OHA Website on COVID-19 Vaccine in Oregon: 
 
COVID-19 Vaccine in Oregon  

Executive Orders 
 

The Governor has issued several Executive Orders 
relating to the Pandemic.  Licensees are expected to 
comply with all applicable requirements of the or-
ders, relevant to the specific care setting and type of 
procedure. 

 
All Executive Orders  
 
 

Telehealth Resources 
 

Board rules and FAQ's on telehealth 

 

Oregon Health Plan coverage of Telephone/
Telemedicine/Telehealth Services 

 

AOTA Telehealth Resources—available to mem-
bers and non-members 



Occupational Therapy 

Licensing Board 

800 NE Oregon St.    

Suite 407 

Portland, OR  97213 

 

(971) 673-0198 

(971) 673-0226 FAX 

 

Website:   

www.oregon.gov/otlb 

Email: 

nancy.schuberg@oregon.gov 

-or- 

rachel.cillo@oregon.gov 

 

 

WHAT’S 

COMING UP 

Keep your Contact Info Current—It’s the Law! 
 

Change your contact information within 30 days:  Go to www.oregon.gov/
otlb and complete the address change form, send an email to board staff or to Log 
in to the License Portal—click here.    OAR 339-010-0018 

 

To order a verification to be sent to another state:  click here.  We do not 
need their form.  We will email you back when it is done.   
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2021 

April:  Happy OT Month! 

April 6-8 AOTA  Conf. 

Apr. 26-28    TIES 

May 7   Board Meeting 

Aug. 6  Board Meeting 

Sept. 24 Strategic Planning Mtg 

Nov. 5  Board Meeting 

 

 

 

 

 

State Holiday  

Closure Schedule 

 

May 31    Memorial Day 

July 5       Independence Day 

Sept. 6     Labor Day 

Nov. 11   Veterans Day 

Nov. 25   Thanksgiving 

Nov. 26   Day after TG 

Dec. 24    Christmas 

 

 

 

To change your name:  Go to www.oregon.gov/
otlb for the name change form or send an email to 
board staff.   Email or fax us the legal document 
showing the name change.  OAR 339-010-0018 

Did your legal name change? 

 

Lend your skills  
in an emergency... 

 
State Emergency Registry of  

Volunteers in Oregon (Serv-OR) 
 
SERV-OR is a statewide registry sys-
tem to help health care professionals 
volunteer their services during 
emergencies with significant health 
impacts. 
 
The registry is sponsored by the Ore-
gon Public Health Division in part-
nership with the Medical Reserve 
Corps.   
 
For more info, visit:   
https://www.serv-or.org/ 

 

 

Self-reporting Requirements 
If you are arrested you must notify the Board within 10 working days 
of a conviction of a misdemeanor, or an arrest for or conviction of a 
felony.    OAR 339-010-0020 (5)(d). 

 

Visit the License Portal 

 Update your Contact Information 

 Submit a name change request 

 OTA 's can file their OT Supervisor with 

the board.  (The OT Supervisor must log 

in to confirm) 

 Enter your Pain Management CE 

 Request a verification to be sent to an-

other state 

 Update your work location 

 View and print any invoices or receipts 

 Print a copy of your License 

 Renew your license in 2022 

2020 Workforce Data 
 
 

The charts are created by the OHA from 
the data compiled from  the survey that 
all licensees completed when they  
renewed in 2020. 
 

Click here 


