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OTLB News 
Occupational Therapy Licensing Board 

Renewals 2022 begin on March 1st!  

Starting March 1, 2022, ALL Oregon Li-
censees are required to renew their OT/
OTA license to continue working in Ore-
gon. Renewals are from March 1 to May 
31st without a late fee.  After May 31st, 
your license lapses and you can no longer 
legally work in Oregon.  Your new license 
will be good through May 31, 2024. 
 
If your license lapses on June 1st, and if 
you renew after May 31, 2022, you will be 
required to pay a $50 late fine and com-
plete the FBI fingerprint background 
check.  For fingerprinting, you are 
charged $40 that OTLB passes through to 
the Oregon State Police who runs the 
background check.  Fieldprint, the state 
vendor who runs the scan of your finger-
prints charges $12.50. 
 
Update your contact info:  All  renewals 
are done through the License Portal.  To 
make sure things go smoothly, please 
make sure your contact information is up
-to-date with the OTLB. You can log into 
the License Portal and make any changes 
to your information, complete the ad-
dress change form on the home page of 
the board website or email Board staff. 
 
What to know about CE requirements: 
If you are currently NBCOT certified 
when you renew, your CE is good in Ore-
gon. When you go to renew you just click 
that you ARE certified.  Board staff will 
verify your certification with NBCOT.  
 
If you are not NBCOT certified when you 
renew, then you will need to have 30 
points of CE within the last two years 
from your renewal date. Make sure  that 
you have your completion certificates 
to upload to your renewal. 

New Cultural Competency require-
ment of all licensees:  There is now a 
legislatively mandated 1 hour of CE on 
cultural competency.  All licensees must 
have completed it whether your NBCOT 
certification is current or not.  For more 
information click here. 
 
Background checks: When you renew 
you will also need to report any arrests, 
charges, convictions, abuse of alcohol or 
controlled substances, disciplinary in-
vestigations, or conditions which could 
impede your ability to practice safely. 
The board runs Law Enforcement Data 
System (LEDS) checks on all licensees 
prior to renewals.  Be truthful.  Licen-
sees can be denied their license and as-
sessed a civil penalty of up to $1,000 if 
they are caught lying to the board. 
 
NOT renewing your Oregon License? 
If you know you do not want to renew, 
let us know by emailing Board staff. We 
will mark you as NON renewing and you 
will no longer receive reminders.  
 
What has changed since 2020 renew-
als?  
1) Licensee’s not NBCOT certified will 
required to upload 30 points of CE certif-
icates and explain how CE course relates 
to their practice. AOTA/NBCOT ap-
proved courses automatically count. 
 
2) Licensees will no longer be sent a new 
certificate since they can print off their 
own copy from the License Portal.   
 
3) Cultural Competency CE requirement.   
 
4) The board accepts CE on Self-Care. 
 

For more  Renewal FAQ’s, see page 2. 
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*New* Legislatively mandated Cultural Competency CE Requirement 

Effective July 1, 2020, ALL licensed Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants are re-
quired to complete at least one hour on Cultural Competency per renewal period.  This requirement is in 
compliance with HB 2011 (2019).    

This new requirement does apply to 2022 renewals.    
 
Link to rule:  339-020-0025  CE in Cultural Competency 
 
The Board leaves it up to the discretion of the practitioner to choose a course that would be most beneficial to their 
practice.  The OHA list of courses below are available but  it is not required that you choose a course from the list.  

OHA List of Approved CCCE Training:  Click here 

OHA CCCE website:  Click here   

AOTA course:  Diversity in Health Care for OT:  Click here 

Have you taken an excellent  Cultural Competency CE course that you would like to share with your peers?  Email 

Board staff with the link and we will add it to the OTLB website. 

The OTLB will now accept CE on Self Care: 
 

339-020-0020  CE Categories and Points 

(18)  Personal Development/Self-Care:   Up to four points.  
 

Licensee’s must be able to describe how the CE relates to their practice.  All CE must be at the professional 
level. 
 
For more information on CE requirements, rules and tips:  Click here. 

 Renewals 2022—FAQ’s: 
 

What about Pain Management CE?  Don’t I have to complete the one-time 7 hours on Pain?  Per HB 2078 
(2021), the CE rules citing the one-time requirement of 7 hrs on pain no longer exist.  Pain Management CE is not 
required for 2022 renewals.  Starting with 2024 renewal, you will need to have completed the 1 hour free online 
pain management module.  Click here to review the new CE rules on pain management. 
 
How do I go about renewing my license?  It’s been two years since I logged into the License Portal, what if I 
can’t remember my login?  Starting in March, go to the License Portal, click on the renewal and enter either your 
Oregon license number or your email address.  (The email address must be the same address we have on file.  It con-
nects you to your record in the Portal).    Click on “forgot my password”, enter your email for a temporary password to 
be sent you.  If you get locked out or have any problems you can always email Board staff or call 971-673-0198. 
 
How much does it cost to renew?   OT’s are charged $200.  OTA’s are charged $140 for a 2 year license that expires 
on May 31, 2024. 
 
What if I’m not sure if I’m going to work in Oregon?  Is there an inactive status?  In Oregon, you are either li-
censed or not licensed.  If you let your license lapsed and want to get licensed later on, you would have to pay the $50 
late fee and get fingerprinted.  The cost to Fieldprint, the state vendor is $12.50, and $40 added on to the fee that gets 
passed through the Oregon State Police.  Cost to reinstate a lapsed license is as follows: 
 
If you reinstate your lapsed licensed June 1, 2022-Feb. 28,2023 you would pay the two-year fee:   
OT:  $200+$50 (late fee)+$40 (fingerprinting) = $290.  OTA:  $140+$50 (late fee)+$40 (fingerprinting) =$230. 
If you reinstate your lapsed license from March 1, 2023-Feb. 29, 2024 you would pay the one-year fee: 
OT:  $100+$50 (late fee)+$40 (fingerprinting) = $190.  OTA:  $70+$50 (late fee)+$40 (fingerprinting) =$160. 
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Continuing Education Requirements for Renewal 
 
All licensees current on their NBCOT certification automatically meets the CE requirement in Oregon.  If you 
are not current on your NBCOT certification, you must have 30 points of CE within 2 years of your date of 
renewal.   Click here to view the rule.   
 
REMINDER:  ALL licensees will be required to have 1 hour on cultural competency when they renew.   This 
is a legislatively mandated requirement of all OTs and OTAs.  Click here to view the rule. 
 

Information about the 30 points of CE : 
 
• NEW:  All Licensees who are not current on their NBCOT certification will now be required to upload 

your 30 points of completion certificates into the renewal.   
 
• Do not leave it for the last minute.  Most practitioners get more than the required 30 points. 
 
• If you have over the required 30 points in the last licensing period and obtained it in March, April or 

May, you can use these points for the next renewal period.  You cannot use CE from March, April, 
May twice, so if you used these CE points for the previous renewal, you cannot use them again. 

 
• CE must be specifically related to your OT practice and be at practice level.   
 
• NEW:  Licenses are required to explain how the CE course relates to your practice on the renewal.  

NBCOT and AOTA Approved courses automatically count.  No justification required.  
 
• Any annual training for your job, universal precautions common health care safety training (CPR) is not 

accepted as CE for your OT/OTA license. 
 
• CE on emerging practice: must have evidence-based support in addition to the completion certificates 

to count. 
 
• Management:  The Board recognizes that enhancing professional skills, although not clinically based in 

terms of patient care, demands more in terms of management so educational management courses will 
be approved. 

 
• Medicare training may be approved depending on documentation and how it is related to OT. 
 
• In services:  Keep track of the information required, the date, who provided it and how it specifically 

related to OT at the practice level.  If your facility does not do this then you must obtain the documenta-
tion.   

 
• CE for an in-service given by an OT Assistant at a facility on testing is not approved for an 

OT.  Why?  The OT Assistant's scope of practice in gather testing information and the in-service on this 
may be appropriate CE for an OT Assistant.  However, an OT cannot get CE for the Assistant's in-service 
since it is not at practice level for the OT.  The OT Assistant cannot interpret data since this would be be-
yond the OT Assistant’s scope of practice. 

 
• CE on self-care is now accepted. 339-020-0020 (18) 

• You are required by rule to keep your CE information for four years.  339-020-0080 (2) 

• You will notified by the Board if you are selected for a random CE audit. 

• For the full list of CE Category and points:  click here. 



 Filing OTA Supervision  
 
Any person who is licensed as an occupational therapy assistant may assist in the practice of occupational 
therapy only under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist.   Before an OTA can start working 
they must file their OT Supervisor with the board.  
 
OTA's can update their OT Supervisor electronically through the OTLB License Portal.   No longer do you 
have to send in a form.   Log in and Click on Supervisor/Supervision Tab, add the name of the OT Supervisor, 
the Site of Supervision, the Start date and click SAVE.    The  OT Supervisor must then log in and change 
the approval status to “approve”.  Once this is done, the OT Supervisor is on file with the board.   
 
 

Step-by-step instructions on how to file supervision in the License Portal 

OAR 339-010-0035  Supervision of an Occupational Therapy Assistant 
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Is the OTLB going to transfer to OHA’s Health Licensing Office? 
 
The Governor’s biennial budget for 2021-2023 came out in early December in 2020 and proposed that six 
agencies that currently report directly to the Governor, including the Occupational Therapy Licensing 
Board, move under the Oregon Health Authority’s Health Licensing Office (HLO). The other agencies in-
cluded are the Speech Language and Audiology Board, Naturopathic Board, Mortuary and Cemetery Board, 
Medical Imaging Board and the Veterinary Board.  Since 2006, these six boards have been grouped togeth-
er for budgetary purposes as the Health Related Licensing Boards.  The boards share resources and a 
budget code but otherwise operate as independent agencies.  
 
HLO is one large agency that currently oversees 17 Boards and Programs, including the Art Therapy Pro-
gram, Board of Cosmetology, Licensed Dietitians, tattoo artists, athletic trainers, etc.  There is one execu-
tive director that oversees all the boards, and agency is divided into 3 divisions, Licensing, Investigations 
and Policy.   
 
Link to HLO’s website:  Click here.  Link to HLO statutes:  676.560 Purpose of Health Licensing Office. 
 
In June of 2021, the Joint Ways and Means Education Subcommittee recommended granting the six boards 
a two-year budget and has directed the six boards to work with the Dept. of Administrative Services (DAS) 
to present a plan to remain independent or to become a part of OHA’s Health Licensing Office starting in 
the 2023-25 biennium.  The boards and DAS must jointly report their proposal to the Joint Ways and 
Means Committee during the 2022 legislative session.  For a link to the  recommendation:  Click here.   The 
bill went on to pass  the house and  senate has been signed into law by the Governor.   
 

1/26/2022 update:  The Executive Directors of the six Health Related Licensing boards submitted 
their report to the Legislative Fiscal Office on January 14, 2022.  A work session is being scheduled with the 
Joint Ways and Means Education Sub-committee in February.  At the session, the committee will discuss 
and vote whether to acknowledge receipt of the report.  The subcommittee will not be advancing a recom-
mendation related to whether or not the six agencies should remain independent, they will just be discuss-
ing the report and the contents.  The report will be used to inform further discussion with legislators as 
they consider budgetary decisions for the 23-25 biennium.    
 
Additional information will be shared with licensees as it becomes available. 
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Finding “Normal” During the Pandemic 
 

Courtesy of IBH Monitoring 

Normal” is the buzz word of the day.  Our country is eager for a “return to normal,” but that won’t be so 
easy after all that we have experienced. 

The pandemic represents a chronic, long-term and on-going tragedy.  When any tragedy strikes, normal 
human reactions follow a pattern called “crisis response.”  This happens naturally in all of us and encom-
passes a range of both physical and emotional responses.  Initially, our instincts take over and we experi-
ence “Fight, Flight or Freeze” reactions to threats or danger.  In these moments, physical reactions include 
increased adrenaline, heightened senses, increased heart rate, hyperventilation, sweating, etc.  We experi-
ence a variety of emotional reactions as well.  These may include shock, disbelief, denial, anger, fear, sor-
row, confusion, frustration, and guilt.   

Looking at the pandemic through this lens, as a nation we have found ourselves in and out of crisis re-
sponse for more than a year and a half.  For health care providers on the front line, this is even more true.  
To put it mildly, this has been exhausting, both physically and emotionally.  It is helpful to discuss what is 
happening in a supportive and safe environment.  Validation of your experiences and acknowledgement of 
your emotional and physical reactions is helpful.   

Most people show signs of stress to crisis.  These symptoms are typically a normal reaction to an abnor-
mal situation.  Some of the predictable reactions that may persist as we continue to face the pandemic, 
and even after it abates, are listed at left.   

In addition, there are some pandemic-specific crisis response reactions people may experience: It can feel 
like there is an expectation to return quickly to pre-pandemic activities and responsibilities. This may be a 
welcome change, but there may also be difficulties and challenges during this process. After more than 18 
months of being encouraged to stay home and avoid contact with those outside of your family or “pod,” 
you may feel uneasy about resuming activities like eating in a restaurant, attending a movie or perfor-
mance, going to an outdoor festival or parade, traveling, or many other activities that have not been a part 
of “normal” life since early 2020. You may be ready to jump back into pre-pandemic life with both feet, but 
you may also feel anxious about doing so (or likely, somewhere in the middle). 

Being familiar with these signs of stress in yourself and your loved ones can be helpful. These signs are 
normal and should decrease over time. That said, it is important to know how to relieve stress in a healthy 
way and know when to get help. The first step is to prioritize self-care. 

 

Keep yourself healthy 
 

• Eat healthy foods and drink water. 

• Avoid excessive amounts of caffeine and alcohol. 

• Do not use tobacco or other drugs that have not been 
prescribed by your physician. 

• Get enough sleep and rest. 

• Get physical exercise. 
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800 NE Oregon St.    

Suite 407 

Portland, OR  97213 

 

(971) 673-0198 
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Website:   
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Email: 
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ov 

-or- 
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WHAT’S 

COMING UP 

Keep your Contact Info Current—It’s the Law! 
 

Change your contact information within 30 days:  Go to www.oregon.gov/otlb 
and complete the address change form, send an email to board staff or to log into 
the License Portal—click here.   OAR 339-010-0018 

 

To order a verification to be sent to another state:  click here.  (We do not need 
their form).  We will email you back when it is done.   Fee is $25. 
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2022 

Feb. 11  Board Meeting 

Feb. 24 Student Legis. Day 

March 1 Renewals Begin 

April      OT Month 

May 6 Board Meeting 
May 31 Last day of renewals 

 (without a late fee) 
June 1    Licenses not renewed        

 lapse 

Aug. 5 Board Meeting 
Sept. 23 Strategic Planning  

 (tentative) 

Nov. 4 Board Meeting 

 

 

 

 

 

State Holiday  

Closure Schedule 

 

Feb. 21 Presidents Day 

May 30 Memorial Day 

June 20  Juneteenth 

July 4 Independence Day 

Sept. 5 Labor Day 

Nov. 11 Veterans Day 

Nov. 24 Thanksgiving Day 

Nov. 25 Day after TG 

Dec. 26 Christmas 

 

 

To change your name:  Go to www.oregon.gov/
otlb for the name change form or send an email to 
board staff.   Email or fax us the legal document 
showing the name change.  OAR 339-010-0018 

Did your Legal Name Change? 

 

Self-reporting Requirements 
If you are arrested you must notify the Board within 10 working days of a 
conviction of a misdemeanor, or an arrest for or conviction of a felony.    OAR 
339-010-0020 (5)(d). 

 

 

Visit the License Portal 
• Update your Contact Information 

• Submit a name change request 

• OTA 's can file their OT Supervisor with 

the board.  (The OT Supervisor must log 

in to confirm) 

• Request a verification to be sent to an-

other state. Click on Document Request. 

• Update your work location. 

• View and print any invoices or receipts. 

• Print a copy of your License. 

• Renew your license—starting  

 March 2022. 

 

Licensee Count: 
 

OT’s:   2471 
 

OTA’s:  566 
 

Total:  3,037 

 

Lend your skills  
in an emergency... 

 
State Emergency Registry of  

Volunteers in Oregon  
(Serv-OR) 

 
SERV-OR is a statewide registry sys-
tem to help health care professionals 
volunteer their services during 
emergencies with significant health 
impacts. 
 
The registry is sponsored by the Ore-
gon Public Health Division in part-
nership with the Medical Reserve 
Corps.   
 
For more info, visit:   
https://www.serv-or.org/ 


