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License Renewals begin on March 1st!  

Beginning March 1, 2024, ALL Oregon 
Licensees are required to renew their 
OT/OTA license to continue working in 
Oregon.  Renewals are from March 1 to 
May 31st without a late fee.  After May 
31st your license lapses and you can no 
longer legally work in Oregon unless you 
renew.  Your renewed license is good 
through May 31, 2026. 
 
If your license lapses and you later decide 
to renew you will be required to pay a 
$50 late fee.  
 
Update your contact info:  All  renewals 
are done through the License Portal.  To 
make sure things go smoothly and you 
don’t miss out on any important remind-
ers, please make sure your contact infor-
mation is up-to-date with the OTLB. To 
update your information, you can log into 
the License Portal, complete the address 
change form on the home page of the 
OTLB website or email Board staff . 
 
What to know about CE requirements: 
If you are currently NBCOT certified 
when you renew, your CE is good in Ore-
gon. When you go to renew you just click 
that you ARE certified.  Board staff will 
verify your certification with the NBCOT.  
 
If you are not NBCOT certified when you 
renew, then you will need to have 30 
points of CE completed within the last 
two years from your renewal date. Make 
sure  that you have your CE completion 
certificates to upload into your renew-
al. 
 
All licensees (regardless of the status 
of their NBCOT certification) must 
complete the legislatively mandated  

CE requirements: 
 
Cultural Competency CE is required 
by all licensees:  The legislatively man-
dated 1 hour of CE on cultural compe-
tency must have been completed within 
the last 2 years from your last renewal 
date.    For more information and a list of 
CE available, click here. 
 
*New Requirement* Pain Manage-
ment Module:  The Pain Management 
rule changed as a result of the passage of 
HB 2078 (2021). Licensees must com-
plete the 1 hour OHA Pain Management 
Module starting 2022 and must demon-
strate completion starting with 2024 
renewals. Upload your completion certif-
icate into the License Portal. For step-
-step instructions, click here.  
 
Background checks: When you renew 
you will be required to report any ar-
rests, charges, convictions, abuse of alco-
hol or controlled substances, discipli-
nary investigations, or conditions which 
could impede your ability to practice 
safely. The board runs Law Enforcement 
Data System (LEDS) checks on all licen-
sees prior to renewals.  Licensees can be 
denied their license and assessed a civil 
penalty of up to $1,000 if they are caught 
lying to the board.  Remember, dis-
missed cases will show up on a back-
ground check. 
 
NOT renewing your Oregon License? 
If you know you do not want to renew, 
let us know by emailing Board staff. We 
will mark you as NON renewing and you 
will no longer receive email reminders.  
 

 
          For Renewal FAQ’s, see page 2. 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
mailto:otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Cultural-Competency-CE-Requirement.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/dsi-pmc/Pages/module.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/OTLB%20Tutorial%20for%20the%20License%20Portal%20-%20uploading%20the%20Pain%20Management%20course.pdf
mailto:otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov
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Renewals 2024—FAQ’s: 
 
How do I go about renewing my license?  It’s been two years since I logged into the License Portal, 
what if I can’t remember my login?  Starting in March, go to the License Portal, click on the renewal and 
enter either your Oregon license number or your email address.  The email address must be the same ad-
dress we have on file.  If you forgot your password to log into the Licensee Portal, you can use the Forgot 
Password link on the portal.  Remember to check your junk folder if you don’t receive the temporary pass-
word.  You can also log in using your license number. 
 
Will this CE course count?   If you are current on your NBCOT certification, you automatically meet the CE 
requirement.   To see if a course will count you may want to check with the NBCOT since you are reporting 
your CE to them.  Check your certification status at www.nbcot.org. 
 
If you are not current on your NBCOT certification,  the OT board does not pre-approve CE but the OT prac-
titioner can decide that it is relevant.  The therapist has to determine that the class is at practice level and 
related to their OT practice.   Those not currently certified will be required to upload 30 points of CE certifi-
cates and explain how each CE course relates to their practice.  AOTA/NBCOT approved courses automati-
cally count. 
 
Is there a particular cultural competency CE course I must take?   Licensees can choose a course that 
would be most beneficial to their practice.   For a list of available courses, check the OTLB website under the 
“Cultural Competency CE” tab and scroll downward to the lower portion of the page.  You will find a list of 
courses, costs and the links.  You are not required to choose a course from the list. 
 
How do I print a copy of my license for my employer ? 
The License Portal allows you to print off your new license. However, please note your renewed license, 
good through May 31, 2026, will not be available to print until you have completed all steps of your renewal 
and it has been approved by Board staff.   You will receive an email once the renewal is processed.  We are 
no longer mailing certificates. 

How much does it cost to renew?   OT’s are charged $240 and OTA’s are charged $160 for a 2 year license 
that expires on May 31, 2026. 
 
What if I’m not sure if I’m going to work in Oregon?  Is there an inactive status?  In Oregon, you are 
either licensed or not licensed.  If you let your license lapsed and want to get licensed later on, you would 
have to pay the $50 late fee.  Cost to reinstate a lapsed license is as follows: 
 
If you reinstate your lapsed licensed June 1, 2024 Feb. 28, 2025 you would pay the two-year fee:   
OT:  $240+$50 (late fee)= $290.  OTA:  $160+$50 (late fee)=$210. 
 
If you reinstate your lapsed license from March 1, 2025-Feb. 29, 2026 you would pay the one-year fee: 
OT:  $120+$50 (late fee)= $170.  OTA:  $80+$50 (late fee)=$130. 
 
I’m planning to stop working for a few years, should I renew?   You should keep in mind that if you are 
unlicensed in any state for over 3 years you must go through a board approved re-entry program or retake 
the NBCOT exam to become re-licensed in Oregon.  ORS 675.240(5) / OAR 339-010-0016(2). 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx
https://www.nbcot.org/
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Cultural-Competency%20CE%20Requirement.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/ORS%20675.210%20to%20675.340.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=vzHrYnvFD1TFMk_C-oXr8spBnxiC1vi7SlvO8Hj4JqZ60h8sxfiH!943400972?ruleVrsnRsn=285667
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Update on HB 2618 
 

 
The passage of HB 2618 (2023) required the Oregon  De-
partment of Education (ODE) to conduct a study to identi-
fy the best methodology for determining the appropriate 
number of students on a workload for Occupational Ther-
apists, Physical Therapists, and Speech Language 
Pathologists. It also directed the ODE to submit findings of 
the study to the interim committees of the Legislative As-
sembly related to education by January 5, 2024.  
 
For the submitted report, visit the ODE website by clicking 
here.   

“It all boils down to  
Clinical Competence” 

 

 

Last October, the OT Licensing Board Director  was 
invited to participate in a panel discussion at the 
Seminar on Feeding given by RSOI.    Joined by repre-
sentatives from the Board of Speech Language, Pa-
thology and Audiology and the AOTA, presenters 
were asked to review their respective board’s OARs 
pertaining to feeding and eating.   
 
This is what is in the OTLB OARs: 
 
OAR 339 - 010 - 0005  
(L) Management of feeding and eating to enable swal-
lowing performance;  
 

For occupational therapy, the rule is pretty standard 
in state practice acts and in the OTLB rules it falls 
under the definition of OT.  It is included so it is un-
derstood that OTs have it within their scope to do 
management of feeding and eating. 
 
As the rule is not specific, the board has received 
particular questions, can we do this?  Or this?  And 
always the board response is…only if you have the 
clinical expertise, education and experience.  This is 
an advance practice, as with all practice you need to 
know what you’re doing.  If there is a complaint, the 
board is going to investigate and you will be asked to 
prove to the board that you were qualified to do the 
intervention. 
 
At the August 18th board meeting, the board dis-
cussed the OT practitioner role in feeding and eating.  
Kristen Neville, AOTA State Affairs Manager, partici-
pated and a school administrator joined in the dis-
cussion.  He was being told by therapists, “my license 
is on the line”, “I can’t do this, I don’t having the 
training” and he wanted to gain a better understand-
ing of where it  was coming from. 
 
The OTLB made it clear. If there is a complaint and 
someone got hurt, and if  it was found out in the in-
vestigation that the licensee who did the interven-
tion was not qualified or didn’t have the experience, 
they could be publicly disciplined.  The board has 
authority to put a license on probation, suspend or 
even revoke a license.      
 

Clinical Competence, continued... 
 
This self-assessment falls on the therapist.  And as 
one board member stated, “one course on dysphagia 
is probably not going to be enough to qualify you.”   
 
But does that mean that you cannot get qualified?   Of 
course not.   From a managerial perspective, if that is 
part the job description and that is something you 
need to be doing as part of your job, you can work 
with your employer or administrator, come up with 
an action plan and gain the skills.  The board suggest-
ed that competency can be established in many ways, 
through additional training, shadowing, research, 
coursework and observation. 
 
In his presentation at the October OTAO conference, 
OT Board Member Max Perkins said it best:      
 
“It all boils down to clinical competence in regards to 
doing anything and just because the rules and regula-
tions says you can do it, does not mean that you are 
competent to do it.  And the fact that you are an OT 
doesn’t necessarily qualify you either.  As an OT you 
have your hands in a multitude of things and are 
trained in a wide variety of subjects but it doesn’t 
necessarily qualify you to do what is being asked of 
you to do.”   
 
“It doesn’t matter the pressure that’s being put on 
you either. Ask yourself...do you have the training to 
do it?  Do you feel comfortable doing it?  And do you 
have the clinical competency? And if not, then you 
shouldn’t do it. And that is to protect yourself and 
ultimately your client.” 
 
 

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2618/Enrolled
https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Pages/OT-PT-SLP-Workload-Methodology.aspx
https://douglasesd.k12.or.us/regional-and-statewide-services-for-students-with-orthopedic-impairments-rsoi/


 
Occupational Therapy 
Licensing Board 
 

800 NE Oregon St.    

Suite 407 

Portland, OR  97213 

 

(971) 673-0198 

(971) 673-0226 FAX 

 

Website:   
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/
Pages/default.aspx 
 
Email: 
Nancy.Schuberg@otlb.oreon.gov 
-or- 
Rachel.Cillo@otlb.oregon.gov 

WHAT’S  
COMING UP 

               
    January 2024  

 
 

2024 
 
Jan. 26  Board Meeting-Virtual 
 
March 21-23  AOTA Inspire 
 
April—OT Month 
 
May  3  Board Meeting-In person 
 
Aug. 2  Board Meeting-Virtual 
 
Nov. 1  Board Meeting Virtual 

 
 
 
 
State Holiday  
Closure Schedule 
 

2024 

Jan. 15 MLK Jr. Day 

Feb. 19 Presidents’ Day 

May 27 Memorial Day 

June 19 Juneteenth 

July 4 Independence Day 

Sept 2 Labor Day 

Nov. 11 Veterans Day 

Nov. 28 Thanksgiving 

Nov. 29 Day after TG 

Dec. 25 Christmas 

 

 

 

 

 

Licensee Self-reporting Requirement  
OAR 339-010-0020 (5)(d) 

If you are arrested you must notify the Board within 10 working days of a convic-
tion of a misdemeanor, or an arrest for or conviction of a felony.    Email the Direc-
tor. 

Name Change 
OAR 339-010-0018 

To change your name:  Log into the License Portal and submit a name change re-
quest.   You can also complete the name change form on the website.  Email us or 
fax us a copy of the legal document showing the name change. 

Keep your Contact Info. Current—It’s the Law 
OAR 339-010-0018 

Log into the License Portal and update your address, or complete and submit an 
address change form.  

Order a verification to be sent to another state 
 

To order a verification to be sent to another state:  click here.  (We do not need 
their form).  We will email you when it is done.   The fee is $25. 

New on the OTLB website 
 

 
The OTLB staff is continuously updating the OTLB website to ensure it is current 
and a good resource for licensees, as well as the public.  Here are a few of the recent 
additions: 
 
• Under the Cultural Competency tab,  available courses, links and costs. 
 
• Under the “OT in Schools “ tab, a list of contacts within the ODE per school dis-

trict.  This is a good list of who to contact  if you have questions about IEPs  and 
IFSPs. 

 
• Under the License Portal tab, tutorials on how to print off your license certifi-

cate, how to file OTA supervision, and uploading CE in the License Portal. 
 
• Under Applications, a new Student Guide, that includes information about the 

Board, Limited Permits, Licensing , Renewals, Continuing Education, Supervision 
of OTA’s, Discipline, etc. 

https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
mailto:nancy.schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
mailto:rachel.cillo@state.or.us
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=F7c2WaLQIEpap0yYHfWPhoRSrlx7UM83cd-yfw5eB1SyLN1AMjKF!437984856?ruleVrsnRsn=295977
mailto:nancy.schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
mailto:nancy.schuberg@otlb.oregon.gov
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=F7c2WaLQIEpap0yYHfWPhoRSrlx7UM83cd-yfw5eB1SyLN1AMjKF!437984856?ruleVrsnRsn=295976
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/service/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Name-Change.aspx
mailto:otlb.info@otlb.oregon.gov
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action;JSESSIONID_OARD=F7c2WaLQIEpap0yYHfWPhoRSrlx7UM83cd-yfw5eB1SyLN1AMjKF!437984856?ruleVrsnRsn=295976
https://otlb.us.thentiacloud.net/webs/otlb/service/#/login
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Address-Change.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/License-Verification.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Cultural-Competency%20CE%20Requirement.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/Occupational-Therapy-in-Schools.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Pages/OTLB-License-Portal.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/otlb/Documents/Student%20Handbook%202023.pdf

