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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Introduction

Employees who qualify for the US Department of Labor Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
or the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA) have the right to take a leave of absence to care for
the physical or mental health of a family member or themselves. (Read FMLA eligibility rules on
the FMLA website, and OFLA eligibility rules on the OFLA webpage.)

This guide explains how to report an employee’s family or medical leave to PERS and how to
report payments they receive, if applicable.

Paid leave vs leave without pay

Family or medical leave can be unpaid or paid. In Oregon, employees have four options for
receiving pay during a family or medical leave, described in this guide’s “Paid Family or
Medical Leave” section.

PERS is only concerned with unpaid leaves of absence. If your employee is taking time off
and being paid with employer-paid time-off hours (i.e., sick leave, vacation, compensatory
time, or other accrual), that is a paid leave. Do not report that time as a leave to PERS.
Continue to report the employee’s time, wages, and contributions as you would if they
were at work.

If your employee is taking time off and is receiving no pay from the employer or receiving
pay from another source, that is an unpaid leave. If the leave lasts at least 11 business days
in a calendar month (days do not have to be consecutive), report that time as a leave to
PERS.

Note: PERS members do not earn service/retirement credit for any calendar month in which
they take a reported leave without pay (LWOP) of at least 11 business days.

Note about unused sick leave

Tier One and Tier Two employees whose employer(s) participate in the PERS Unused Sick
Leave program have their retirement benefits increased based on the number of unused
sick leave hours they have when they retire. To take advantage of this benefit, some Tier
One and Tier Two employees may choose to preserve some of their sick leave; however,
an employer’s FMLA policy may impact a Tier One or Tier Two employee’s sick leave
balance.

For example, under the State of Oregon’s FMLA policies, state employees are required to
use all accrued time (e.q., sick, vacation, and personal days) while out on leave before using
leave without pay, unless they are taking a Paid Leave Oregon leave.

Other public employers may have policies that do not require that employees exhaust all
their sick leave before they take an FMLA leave of absence. In this case, some Tier One and
Tier Two employees may choose to preserve some of their sick leave.

Note: Oregon Public Service Retirement Plan (OPSRP) employees do not receive an
increased retirement benefit based upon their unused sick leave when they retire.

Learn more about calculating unused sick leave hours for Tier One and Tier Two employees
in employer reporting guide 17, Calculating Unused Sick Leave Hours at Termination or
Retirement.
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Reporting a family or medical leave to PERS

Report your employee as on a leave only when all of the following apply:

They are not receiving any employer pay, such as sick leave, vacation, or other

employer-paid leave.

They are away from work for 11 or more business days in a calendar month. Unpaid
leaves of 10 or fewer days do not need to be reported to PERS.

They are an active PERS member and not a working PERS retiree.

EDX does not allow you to report a leave status (On Family Leave or On Leave of
Absence) for a PERS retiree. If a retiree takes a leave during which they are receiving no
pay from their employer (e.g., Paid Leave Oregon state-run program), inform PERS by

submitting a DCR.

Note: PERS members do not receive service/retirement credit for any month in which they
are reported on a leave. (Remember: A leave must meet the three requirements listed
above to be reportable.)

Submit a leave record

To report an employee’s family or medical leave to PERS, create a new Demographics and
Adjustment report (or edit an existing unposted report). Add a Detail 1 Member
Demographics record, as shown below.

In the record, fill in the following:

SSN: auto filled from previous
screen.

Status Code: 03 - On Family
Leave.

Status Date: the first day of their
leave.

First Name, Last Name: required.

Name Change Indicator:
required. N for “no” is the
default.

Click Save.

Read employer reporting guide
1, Reporting a Leave for more
information about reporting a
leave.

ADD/EDIT A MEMBER RECORD

The status of this member record is: Added

DETAIL 1 - MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS:

SSN

Status Code

Status Date

Last Day Service

Old SSN

First Name

Last Name

Middle Name

Mame Change Indicator

03 - On Family Leave v

05/01/2023

(MM/DD/YY YY)

(MM/DD/YYYY)

Petunia

Bloom
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Submit a return-from-leave record

When the employee returns from leave, report it to PERS by creating a new Demographics
and Adjustment report (or edit an existing unposted report). Add a Detail 1 Member

Demographics record, as shown below.

For a return from leave, use status code of 08 — Return From Leave.

In the record, fill in the following:

SSN: auto filled from previous
screen.

Status Code: 08 - Return
from Leave.

Status Date: the first day back
at work.

First Name, Last Name:
required

Name Change Indicator:
required. N for “no” is the
default.

Click Save.

Read employer reporting
guide 11, Reporting a Leave
for more information about
reporting a leave.

ADD/EDIT A MEMBER RECORD

The status of this member record is: Added

DETAIL 1 - MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS:

SSN

Status Code

Status Date

Last Day Service

Old SSN

First Name

Last Mame

Middle Name

Name Change Indicator

EEEEERTREE

08 - Return from Leave

(MM/DD/Y Y YY)

(MM/DD/YYYY)

Petunia

Bloom
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Reporting pay during family or medical leave

Oregon public employees have four options for receiving pay during a family or medical leave:
disability insurance, disability benefits, workers’ compensation, and Paid Leave Oregon
benefits.

The only payments you need to report to PERS are payments paid directly by the employer.

Disability insurance benefits

Payments are not reported.

The Oregon Health Authority’s Public Employees’ Benefits Board (PEBB) offers optional
short-term and long-term disability insurance for eligible state employees. This insurance
pays a portion of an employee’s salary for a limited period if the employee becomes too
sick or injured to work. The payments are paid by Standard Insurance Company and are not
reported to PERS.

Oregon'’s state employees must enroll for this optional insurance during the annual open-
enroliment period; coverage and monthly insurance fees begin the following January 1.

Note that an employee’s weekly PEBB disability benefit may be reduced if they are
receiving any pay from their employer (such as sick leave or pay to supplement disability
pay), PERS disability benefits, workers’ compensation, or Social Security.

Your employees can learn more about these programs on the PEBB Short-Term Disability
Insurance webpage and Long-Term Disability Insurance webpage.

PERS disability benefits

Payments are not reported.

PERS offers disability benefits to qualifying employees who become too sick or injured to
work. The program offers different benefits for Tier One/Tier Two members and Oregon
Public Service Retirement Plan (OPSRP) members.

Read employer reporting guide 14, Disability Benefits to learn about the different benefits,
how to apply, options for returning to work, receiving service credit, and more.
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Workers’ compensation
Workers’ comp payments are not reported.

M Employer payments are reported.

When your employee is injured on the job and eligible for workers’ compensation
insurance, the workers’ compensation carrier compensates them in an amount equal to 2/3
of their normal salary. Source: Oregon Revised Statute 656 — Workers' Compensation.

Reporting workers’ compensation payments

If your employee is receiving workers’ compensation while on leave of absence, you do
not need to report those payments to PERS.

You should, however, submit a DCR to inform PERS that the employee is receiving
workers’ comp. PERS needs to know the period during which the employee received
workers’ comp because the employee may be able to receive some service credit for
that period.

Reporting employer “gross-up” payments

When an employee is receiving workers’ compensation, an employer may “gross-up”
the member’s income by paying the remaining 1/3 salary so that the member receives
their normal income.

If an employer grosses up the employee’s salary, the 1/3 salary payments are reported
to PERS as subject salary. To report these payments, submit a Detail 2 record with a
wage code of 08 - Contributions/No Service. Include the employee’s 6% IAP
contribution if they are in a qualifying position. Also, you will be charged for employer-
rate contributions on that salary.

If at the end of the calendar year the employee does not qualify for benefits, PERS will
refund you the IAP and pension contributions you paid for that employee.

Example

John Employee earns $6,000 a month. He is injured on the job and calls in sick for two
weeks, being paid through sick leave accrual. After that point, employee remains off the
job and no longer on paid leave. His employer places him on a status code 07 leave of
absence beginning the first day he is no longer using sick leave.

John begins receiving workers’ comp of $4,000 a month (2/3 of his normal salary). His
employer makes up the remaining 1/3 of his salary with monthly gross-up payments of
$2,000. The employer reports the payments to PERS on their monthly reporting cycle
as shown on the next page. The employer includes IAP contributions of 6% of the
$2,000, which equal $120.00 a month.
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DETAIL 2 - WAGE AND SERVICE

SSN errrraane
First Name John
Last Name Employee
Pay Date 02/28/2023
(MM/DDYYYYY)
Work Period Begin Date
(MM/DDYYYYY)

Work Perlod End Date

(MM/DD/YYYY)
Hours Worked (Regular)
Hours Worked (Overtime)
Reported Wage Code 08 - Contributions/No Service
Subject Salary (Regular) 2000.00

Subject Salary (Overtime)

Non-Subject Salary

Lump Sum Payoff

Lump Sum Vacation Payoff

Gross Salary

Member Pald After-Tax
Contribution (MPAT)

Member Paild Pre-Tax
Contribution (MPPT)

Unit Contribution

Employer Pald Pre-Tax
Contribution (EPPT)

Optional Employer IAP
Percentage

Optional Employer AP
Contribution

PERS Job Class Code

Average Overtime Hours

Employer Site Distribution

Code

Non PERS Data Memo

2000.00

120.00

0% W
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Reporting other types of pay

Holiday pay

If a paid holiday occurs while an employee is using sick leave or vacation, they receive
holiday pay for that day.

If the employee is on a leave of absence, whether they receive holiday pay and how
many hours of holiday pay they receive depend on your organization’s rules or
bargaining agreement.

If your employee on leave qualifies for holiday pay, you would need to end their leave
for the holiday (or days) and report their wages by submitting the following:

1. A Detail 1 Member Demographics record with a 08 - Return From Leave status
code. Status Date would be the date (or date of the first day of a two-day holiday)
for which they will receive holiday pay.

2. A Detail 2 Wage and Service record with hours, subject salary wages, and |IAP
contribution (if they are in a qualifying position) for that holiday day or days.

3. A Detail 1 Member Demographics record with the appropriate leave status code to
put the employee back on leave. Status Date would be the day on which they
resume their leave.

Uniform, equipment, or travel allowance

If a reimbursement for uniform, equipment, or travel is paid during a leave of absence,
report the payment by submitting a Detail 2 Wage and Service record with a wage
code of 08 - Contributions/No Service. To find out if an allowance is subject salary or
non-subject salary, refer to the Payment Categories Chart.

Other pay

If an employee on leave needs to receive any other type of payment, refer to the
Payment Categories Chart and contact your ESC representative for help reporting
the pay.
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Paid Leave Oregon

About the program

The Oregon Employment Department’s Paid Leave Oregon program (passed in 2019 under
House Bill 2005) allows Oregon employees to take a paid leave of absence to care for
themselves or their families. Paid Leave Oregon recipients are paid weekly. The amount an
employee receives depends on how much they earned the year before.

Learn about the program on the Paid Leave Oregon website.

This section explains whether and how contributions to the program and payments from
the program are reported as wages to PERS. It also explains how to report your employee’s
leave (if applicable).

Remember that you only report a leave consisting of at least 11 business
days in a calendar month. A leave shorter than that is not reported.

Small employers (i.e., fewer than 25 employees) do not have to pay for
the program, but their employees do. Small employers need to collect
and submit to the program their employees’ Paid Leave contributions.

For the sake of simplicity, this section pertains mainly to employees in
qualifying positions. For information on reporting Paid Leave Oregon
leave for a non-qualifying position, go to the last section “Considerations
for Non-Qualifying Positions.”

How Paid Leave Oregon is funded

The Paid Leave Oregon program is funded by payments into the program by employers
and employees. (Note that the program refers to these payments as “contributions”;
remember that these are separate and distinct from PERS contributions.)

Beginning with January 1, 2023, paychecks, employers and employees together are
contributing up to 1% of an employee’s salary to the program.

As explained in the Paid Leave Oregon FAQ, the 1% contribution to the program is
portioned as follows.

Employee The employer’s
contributions are portlc_m o_f the_
paid as a contributions is

deduction from
an employee’s
gross wages.
Because gross

treated like a
payroll tax and
reported through
the combined
payroll report

wages are
already regported 40% form. This amount
as subject salary, is paid solely by
this contribution Employer the employer and
is not reported portion is not reported as
as subject salary subject salary for
for PERS PERS purposes.
purposes.
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Three types of Paid Leave Oregon plans

Per the Oregon Employment Department, employers have three options for how they
participate in the program.

State-run plan

This is the Paid Leave Oregon plan. Payments are made by the Oregon Employment
Department.

The payments are not reported to PERS.

Third party-run equivalent plan

This is your organization’s contracted plan, approved by the Oregon Employment
Department. It is contracted through a third party and payments are made by the third
party (e.g., an insurance company).

The payments are not reported to PERS.

Employer-run equivalent plan

This is your organization’s plan, approved by the Oregon Employment Department. It
provides benefits that are equal to or greater than the benefits Paid Leave Oregon
provides. Payments are made to the employee directly from your organization.

M The payments are reported to PERS.

1"
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Reporting contributions paid to the Paid Leave Oregon program

Employee contributions to Paid Leave Oregon are not reported.

M Employer payments for OPSRP members to cover the employee’s contribution
(called “employer pick-up’’) are reported to PERS.

Employer “pick-up” option

Employers have the option to “pick up” their employee’s portion of the Paid Leave
Oregon contribution (i.e., the employee’s 60% of the 1% contribution).

= For OPSRP members, the amount the employer is picking up and paying on behalf
of the employee is subject salary because it results in a type of compensation to
the employee. This amount is reported to PERS on the employee’s wage record as
an addition to the employee’s regular subject salary. The employer includes IAP
contributions on the gross salary if the employee is in a qualifying position.

= For Tier One/Tier Two members, the amount the employer is picking up and paying
on behalf of the employee is non-subject salary because it is specifically excluded
by Oregon law. The amount is not reported to PERS.

See table 1 for a quick visual reference of reporting contributions to the Paid Leave
Oregon program.

Type of
contribution

Employer
contribution

Table 1: Reporting contributions to Paid Leave Oregon program

Paid by

Employer

Report as

subject salary?

No

Notes

This payment to the Employment Department is
similar to general employer contribution
obligations paid to PERS to fund retirement
benefits that are not tied to any particular
employee. Paid through combined payroll
report form.

Employee
contribution

Employee

No

This is paid as a deduction from the employee’s
gross wages. Gross wages were already
reported as subject salary, so the contribution is
not reported to PERS.

Employee
contribution

Employer
(pick-up)

Tier One/
Tier Two: No

V] OPSRP: Yes

Employer is paying the insurance premium on
behalf of the employee.

= Tier One/Tier Two: Non-subject salary
because Oregon Revised Statute (ORS)
258.005(26)(c)(B) specifically excludes.

= OPSRP: Subject salary because it is a type of
compensation that ORS 238A.005(17)(c)
does not specifically exclude.

12
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Reporting employer “pick-up” payments made to OPSRP employees

Example: OPSRP member Lilly is employed in a qualifying position. She works 160 hours
from 1/1/2023 to 1/31/2023 and earns $6,000.00 in gross wages. Her PERS-participating
employer has agreed to pick up the employee portion of the Paid Leave Oregon
contribution. Because Lilly is an OPSRP member, that employer payment of the
employee’s Paid Leave Oregon contribution is reported as subject salary.

Lilly’s regular wages — $6,000.00.

1% of Lilly’s salary owed to Paid Leave Oregon — $6,000.00 x 1% = $60.00.
Lilly’s 60% portion of the 1% — $60.00 x 60% = $36.00.

The amount Lilly’s employer adds to her paycheck to cover her Paid Leave Oregon
contribution — $36.00.

Employer reports the $36.00 as — subject salary.

IAP calculated on — gross salary, which includes the employer-paid Paid Leave Oregon

pick-up.

DETAIL 2 - WAGE AND SERVICE

SSN [reS—

First Name Lilky

Last Name MName

Pay Date 01/31/2023
(MM/DD/YYY'Y)

Work Perlod Begin Date

Lilly’s Detail 2 wage record

Gross Salary

Member Pald After-Tax
Contribution (MPAT)

Member Pald Pre-Tax
Contribution (MPPT)

Unit Contribution

Employer Pald Pre-Tax

(MM/DD/YYY'Y) Contribution (EPPT)
Work Perlod End Date Optional Employer AP
(MM/DD/Y YY) Percentage
Hours Worked ula 160
(Regular) Optional Employer |IAP
Contribution
Hours Worked (Overtime)
PERS Job Class Code
Reported Wage Code 01 - Reqgular wages -
Subject Salary (Regular) 6036.00 Average Overtime Hours

Subject Salary (Overtime)

Non-5ubject Salary

Lump Sum Payoff

Lump Sum Vacation Payoff

Employer Site Distribution
Code

Non PERS Data Memo

ﬂ ‘ o ‘

6036.00

36216
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Reporting a Paid Leave Oregon leave

Determining if the leave needs to be reported

Whether you report your employee as on a family leave during their Paid Leave Oregon
leave depends on a few factors. To be reported to PERS, a leave must last at least 11
business days per calendar month and be unpaid by the employer.

Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

14

Confirm the following:

What type of plan your organization has: state plan, third party-plan, or
employer plan.

The length of the employee’s leave.

If they will be receiving any employer pay in addition to Paid Leave Oregon
payments.

Ask yourself the following questions. If you answer YES to any of these questions,
do not report your employee’s leave to PERS.

1.

Are they away from work for 10 or fewer business days in a calendar month?
YES NO

Are they receiving any paid time off, such as sick leave, vacation,
compensatory time, or personal business?

YES NO

Are they receiving payments from an employer-run Paid Leave Oregon plan?
YES NO

If you answered NO to all the previous questions and you answer YES to both
these questions, do report your employee’s leave to PERS.

1.

Are they away from work 11 or more business days in a calendar month?
YES NO

During their leave, are they only receiving payments from a state-run or third
party-run Paid Leave Oregon plan?

YES NO
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Reporting the leave

If you determine that the employee’s leave should be reported to PERS, complete a
Detail 1 record with a 03 - On Family Leave status code. The status date is the first day
of their leave.

When they return, submit another Detail 1 record with a 08 - Return From Leave status
code. The status date is their first day back at work.

Effect of LWOP on PERS benefits

PERS members do not receive service/retirement credit for any month during which
they are reported as on a leave. Even if they receive employer pay during that month, if
they are on a reported leave of 11 or more business days in a month, they will not
receive service credit for that month. The only types of leaves that can earn service
credit are legislator leave and a military leave that qualifies for the Uniformed Services
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA).

Reporting Paid Leave Oregon payments employees receive

Paid Leave Oregon payments received from an employer-run plan are the only Paid Leave
Oregon payments you need to report to PERS.

Table 2: Payments employees receive from the program

Paid Leave Oregon program Payments treated by PERS as

State-run plan Non-subject salary.*
Do not report payments to PERS.

Third party-run equivalent plan | Non-subject salary.*
Do not report payments to PERS.

Employer-run equivalent plan Subject salary.
4| Report payments to PERS.

*PERS reporting requirements may change depending on how the benefit payments are reported on the
federal level. If the payments from the state-run plan or third party-run equivalent plan will be included as
income on the employee's W-2 tax form from the employer, the employer will need to report the
payments as non-subject salary on a Detail 2 record with a 08 - Contributions/No Service wage code in
EDX. This accounts for the discrepancy between the “gross wages” and what counts as “subject salary”
for PERS purposes. If the payment is not included as income on their W-2 (i.e,, if the benefit is reported on
a Form 1099-MISC or other IRS form), there is no need to report the payments to PERS.

15

Employer Service Center | Return to table of contents


https://www.oregon.gov/pers/EMP/Pages/ESC-Representatives.aspx

FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

16

Reporting Paid Leave Oregon payments from an employer-run plan

Report the payments the same way you report other employer-paid time off such as sick
leave and vacation:

1 Complete a Detail 2 wage record.
2 Fillin the Hours Worked (Regular) field with the equivalent number of hours.

3 Choose wage code 01 - Regular Wages (for a qualifying position) or 02 -
Regular/Non-Qualifying Wages (for a nonqualifying position).

Report the wages as subject salary.

For a qualifying position, include the employee’s 6% IAP contribution. Also, you will
be charged employer-rate contributions on that salary.

If at the end of the calendar year the employee does not qualify for benefits, PERS will
refund you the IAP and pension contributions you paid for that employee.
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Examples

Example of reporting for a state-run program

Jane works in a qualifying employment. She takes five weeks of family leave to care for
her newly adopted child from October 2, 2023, through November 3, 2023. She uses
sick leave for the first two weeks and then takes Paid Leave Oregon for the next three
weeks. This is how you would report for Jane during her leave.

Pay during the leave

First two weeks: Sick leave. Report wages as regular, subject salary, and include
hours and her IAP contributions.

Remaining three weeks: Benefits paid under the state-run Paid Leave Oregon
program. Do not report Jane’s Paid Leave Oregon benefits to PERS because they are
paid by the state, not the employer.

Status during the leave

First two weeks: For Jane’s two weeks of sick leave, her status does not change. Do
not submit a Detail 1 demographics record placing Jane on leave.

Remaining three weeks: Because Jane is no longer receiving accrued leave pay, she
is officially on leave. Submit two Detail 1 records. One to report Jane as 03 - On
Family Leave. Upon her return, submit another Detail 1 record with a 08 - Return From
Leave status code.

Example of the Detail 1 records submitted for Jane’s leave

DETAIL 1 - MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS: DETAIL 1- MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS:

SSN

Status Code

Status Date

03 - On Family Leave

10/16/2023

SSN

Status Code

Status Date

.........

08 - Return from Leave

1/06/2023

(MM/DD/YYYY) (MM/DD/YYYY)
Last Day Service Last Day Service

(MM/DD/YYYY) (MM/DD/YYYY)
Old SSN Old SSN
First Name JANE First Name JANE
Last Name EMPLOYEE Last Name EMPLOYEE
Middle Name Middle Name

Name Change Indicator

Name Change Indicator

Employer Service Center | Return to table of contents
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Example of reporting for a third party-run program

Jahnu is employed in a qualifying position for 2023. He takes six weeks of family leave
to receive medical treatment from October 3, 2023, through November 14, 2023. He
received sick leave pay during the first week and Paid Leave Oregon benefits for the
remaining five weeks. This is how you would report for Jahnu during his leave.

Pay during the leave

First week: Sick leave. Report wages as regular, subject salary, and include hours and
IAP contribution.

Remaining five weeks: Benefits paid under the Paid Leave Oregon program run by an
insurance company. Do not report Jahnu’s Paid Leave Oregon benefits to PERS
because they are paid by a third party, not the employer.

Status during the leave

First week: For Jahnu’s week of sick leave, his status does not change. Do not submit
a demographics record.

Remaining five weeks: For Jahnu’s five weeks of Paid Leave Oregon leave, submit
two Detail 1 records: one to report Jahnu as 03 - On Family Leave. Upon his return on
November 15, submit another record with a 08 - Return From Leave status code.

Examples of records for Jahnu’s week of sick leave and start of Paid Leave Oregon leave

DETAIL 2 - WAGE AND SERVICE DETAIL 1 - MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS:
ssN | e ssN T
First Name JAHNU

Status Code 03 - On Family Leave v
Last Name EMPLOYEE

Status Date 10M10/2023
Pay Date 10/15/2023

(MM/DD/YYY'Y)

(MM/DD/YYYY)

Last Day Service
Work Period Begin Date

(MM/DD/YYYY) (MM/DD/YYY'Y)
Work Peried End Date Old SSN

(MM/DD/YYYY)

First Name JAHNU

Hours Worked (Regular) 40
Hours Worked (Overtime) | 0.00 Last Name EMPLOYEE
Reparted Wage Code 01 - Regular wages v Middle Name
Subject Salary (Regular) 1550.50 Name Change Indicator N
Subject Salary (Overtime) Q.00
Mon-Subject Salary Q.00
Lump Sum Payoff Q.00

Lump Sum Vacation Payoff | 0.00

Gross Salary 155050
Member Pald After-Tax Q.00
Contribution (MPAT)

Member Paid Pre-Tax Q0
Contribution (MPPT)
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Example of reporting for an employer-run program

Joe is in a full-time qualifying position. He applies for and takes four weeks of paid
family leave to care for his sick mother from October 3, 2023, to November 4, 2023. His
employer-paid program is paying him 80% of his normal salary. This is how you would
report for Joe during his leave.

Pay during the leave

All four weeks: Benefits paid under his employer-paid Paid Leave Oregon program.
Report Joe’s payments on Detail 2 wage records with a wage code of 01 - Regular
Wages. Include equivalent hours and enter the dollar amount of the payments in the
Subject Salary (Regular) field. Because Joe is in a qualifying position, his employer

includes 6%-of-salary IAP contributions.

Status during the leave

All four weeks: Because Joe is receiving employer pay during his Paid Leave Oregon
leave, do not place him on a leave.

Example of Detail 2 record for Joe’s Paid Leave Oregon payments

DETAIL 2 - WAGE AND SERVICE

SSN

First Name

Last Name

Pay Date

Work Period Begin Date

Work Perlod End Date

rerresere

JOE

EMPLOYEE

10/16/2023

(MM/DD/YYYY)

(MM/DD/YYYY)

(MM/DD/YYYY)

Hours Worked (Regular)

Hours Worked (Overtime)

Reported Wage Code

Subject Salary (Regular)

64

01 - Reqular wages

3360.00

Subject Salary (Overtime)

MNon-Subject Salary

Lump Sum Payoff

PLO payments = 80%
of regular salary.

Hours = 80% of
regular hours.

Lump Sum Vacation Payoff

Gross Salary

Member Pald After-Tax
Contribution (MPAT)

Member Pald Pre-Tax
Contribution (MPPT)

Unit Contribution

Employer Pald Pre-Tax
Contribution (EPPT)

Optional Employer AP
Percentage

Optional Employer IAP
Contribution

PERS Job Class Code
Average Overtime Hours

Employer Site Distribution
Code

MNon PERS Data Memo

lIiE::II:III ‘ -

3360.00

20160

0% w
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Example of reporting a state-run or third party-run program with paid time off

Soo Yun is a qualifying employee. She takes four weeks of family leave to recover from
surgery October 3, 2023, to November 4, 2023. She chooses to use her accrued sick
leave in conjunction with Paid Leave Oregon benefits for the first two weeks. Her
employer has the state-run program, so Soo Yun’s payments are not reported to PERS.

Pay during the leave

First two weeks:

= Benefits paid under the Paid Leave Oregon program. The payments come from the
state, so they are not reported to PERS.

= Sick leave hours. These payments come from the employer, so they are reported
to PERS. Submit a Detail 2 record with a wage code of O1 - Regular Wages. Include
hours and the 6%-of-salary IAP contribution.

Second two weeks:

= Benefits paid under the Paid Leave Oregon program. The payments come from the
state, so they are not reported to PERS.

Status during the leave
First two weeks: Do not change Soo Yun’s status while she is receiving sick leave pay.

Second two weeks: Once her two weeks of accrual pay are complete, report Soo Yun
as on a leave. Submit a Detail 1 record to report Soo Yun as on a family leave. Upon
her return, submit another Detail 1 record with a 08 - Return From Leave status code.

Example of Soo Yun’s wage record to report her sick leave

DETAIL 2 - WAGE AND SERVICE Lump Sum Vacatlon Payoff
SSN e Gross Salary 4000.00
First Name SO0 YUN Member Pald After-Tax
Contribution (MPAT)
Last Name EMPLOYEE
Member Pald Pre-Tax
Pay Date 10/31/2023 Contribution (MPPT)
(MM/DD/YYYY) Unit Contribution
Work Period Begin Date
Employer Pald Pre-Tax 240.00
(MM/DD/YYYY) Contribution (EPPT)
Work Perlod End Date Optional Employer AP 0% v
(MM/DD/YYYY) Percentage
Hours Worked (Regular) 80 Optional Employer |1AP
Contribution
Hours Worked (Overtime)
PERS Job Class Code v
Reported Wage Code 01- Regular wages ~
Average Overtime Hours v
Subject Salary (Regular) 4000.00

Employer Site Distribution
Code
Subject Salary (Overtime)

Non PERS Data Memo
Non-Subject Salary

Lump Sum Payoff E ‘ Cancel ‘
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Example of Soo Yun’s demographic records to report her leave

DETAIL 1 - MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS: DETAIL 1 - MEMBER DEMOGRAPHICS:
SSN a2ttt ] SSN TR R
Status Code 03 - On Family Leave Status Code 08 - Return from Leave
Status Date 10/17/2023 Status Date N/05/2023
(MM/DD/YYYY) (MM/DDYY Y YY)
Last Day Service Last Day Service
(MM/DD/SY YY) (MM/DDYY YY)
Old SSN Old SSN
First Name SO0 YUN First Name SO0 YUN
Last Name EMFLOYEE Last Name EMFLOYEE
Middle Name Middle Name
Name Change Indicator N Name Change Indicator M
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Considerations for new employees

22

A new employee can take a Paid Leave Oregon family or medical leave if they:

Work for an employer that is in Oregon.
Earned at least $1,000 in the last four quarters before benefits start.

Contributed to Paid Leave through payroll deductions in the last four quarters before
benefits start.

Have a qualifying life event.

Reporting a family, medical, or Paid Leave Oregon leave during wait time

If your new employee needs to take a family or medical leave (including leave under
Paid Leave Oregon) of at least 11 business days in a calendar month during wait time,
report them as on 03 — On Family Leave. PERS will stop the six-month timer on their
wait time. An employer-approved leave of absence will not count as a break in service
(meaning they don’t have to restart their wait time), but the wait time may be extended
by the length of the leave period. (A leave of 10 or fewer days does not need to be
reported to PERS and will not extend their six-month wait time.)

1 Report the start of employee’s leave with a Detail 1 03 - On Family Leave record.

2 When they return from leave, report it with a Detail 1 08 - Return From Leave
record.

3 Submit a DCR to PERS to request to have the contribution start date reviewed.
PERS will restart the timer, and their wait time will be extended by the amount of
time they were on leave. (See example DCR on next page.)

Employer Service Center | Return to table of contents
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

DEMOGRAPHIC CORRECTION REQUEST

Start Date From To

Term/End Date From To Remove Term/End Date

Last Day Service From To

Job Class From SChool Employee To ' Start Date End Date
MNew Position Type %  Start Date End Date

Average OT Hours R

Contract No. of Months b

Hire Intent W

Unused Sick Leave
Review Contribution Start
Date

Employes hired on May 1 with expected CSD of Mow. 1.
Employes tock tamilly leave for 15 business days. Please extend
walt time to Nov. 22,

e

E ==

Considerations for non-qualifying position employees

Reporting Paid Leave Oregon benefits

If an employee in a non-qualifying position takes a Paid Leave Oregon leave, follow the
same guidelines as reporting for a qualifying employee (i.e., only report a leave of at
least 11 business days in a calendar month, do not report a leave as long as the
employee is receiving any employer pay). The only differences are:

= Report any pay received from the employer as 02 - Regular Non-Qualifying.

= Do not include contributions.

23
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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE

Quick-reference table

Source of payments Subject | Non- Report payments to PERS? | Report leave

received while on salary subject of 11+

family leave salary business days
to PERS?

State-run Paid Leave v No. Yes. 03 - On

Oregon program Family Leave.

only

Third party-run Paid v No. Yes. 03 - On

Leave Oregon Family Leave.

program only

Employer-run v Yes. O1 - Regular Wages No.

program (qualifying position) or 02 -
Regular Non-Qualifying.

Sick leave, vacation, v Yes. 01 - Regular Wages No.

or other paid time (qualifying position) or 02 -

off, either alone or in Regular Non-Qualifying.

addition to Paid
Leave Oregon pay

Employer gross-up in Ve Yes. Contact ESC for the Contact ESC.
addition to Paid correct wage code to use.
Leave Oregon pay

Learn more

Learn about other types of leave in employer reporting guide 11, Reporting a Leave and in
the PERS Leave Without Pay FAQ.

Read frequently asked questions about Paid Leave Oregon in the PERS Paid Leave Oregon
and PERS Reporting FAQ.

Learn about the Paid Leave Oregon program on the Oregon Employment Department’s
Paid Leave program website.

If you have questions about the program, contact the Oregon Employment Department at
paidleave@oregon.gov or 833-854-0166.

Note: Paid Leave Oregon is a new state program and may be subject to change. For the
latest information on Paid Leave Oregon, go to their website. If PERS must update
guidelines for reporting Paid Leave Oregon to PERS, we will inform you by email and
in Employer News.
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