Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

  • State Land Board
    slb_2015.jpgSince statehood in 1859, the Land Board has been composed of the Governor (chair), Secretary of State and State Treasurer. Governor Kate Brown was sworn in as Oregon's 38th Governor on February 18, 2015. Brown was elected Oregon's Secretary of State in 2008, and previously served in the Oregon Legislature for 17 years (1991-2008), where she became Oregon's first woman to serve as the Senate Majority Leader. Gov. Brown appointed Secretary of State Jeanne P. Atkins​ in March 2015. Atkins served for six years as state director for U.S. Sen. Jeff Merkley (2009-2015), and held a variety of top-level positions with the Oregon Legislature and Department of Human Services. State Treasurer Ted Wheeler began his service in 2010. Wheeler served as Multnomah County chair from November 2006-March 2010, and worked previously in the financial industry with Bank of America and the Copper Mountain Trust.

    Oregon's Constitution directs the Land Board to manage lands under its jurisdiction to obtain the greatest benefit for the people of Oregon, consistent with resource conservation and sound land management. The board oversees the Common School Fund and state lands dedicated to providing revenue for the fund.
  • Land Board Presents Annual Awards
    At their June 9 public meeting, the State Land Board recognized two projects for their responsible, sustainable stewardship of Oregon’s natural resources. The Boeckman Road – Tooze Road Compensatory Wetland Mitigation Project in Wilsonville was honored with the 2014 Wetland Project Award for restoring nearly 17 acres of degraded wetlands. The Derry Dell Stream Enhancement Project in Tigard received the 2014 Stream Project Award for rehabilitating and relocating an urban creek during a routine sewer replacement project.
Land Board Meetings Current Information