Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Licensing and fee information
Nursery license
nursery
A license issued by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) is required by anyone operating as a grower or dealer of nursery stock in Oregon. Licenses are valid for one year and must be renewed by June 30 of each year. Licenses are not prorated for segments of any fiscal year. The department offers three different types of nursery licenses:  

Exceptions for nursery license requirements include businesses whose total sales do not exceed $250 per fiscal year and/or landscaping businesses or brokers that do not grow or store live plant material for more than one year. These parties do not require a license but may apply for one if they choose. Nursery license fees are calculated depending on the type of license. Nursery retail licenses are based upon reported annual purchases while nursery grower licenses are based upon reported gross sales. Also included in nursery fees are research assessment fee and plant pest disease emergency fund assessment fee. Please use nursery license calculator to determine appropriate nursery license fees. For summary of nursery fee schedules see Oregon Administrative Rules, 603-054-0016-0018.
 
To apply for nursery license: please print the nursery license application (pdf, 12kB) and send completed application with appropriate fees to the Oregon Department of Agriculture, Plant Division, Nursery and Christmas Tree Program, 635 Capitol Street NE, Salem, OR 97301.
 

Christmas tree license
Growers of Christmas trees with acreage of one acre or more are also required to license with the ODA. Licenses are valid for one year and must be renewed by June 30 of the next year. Licenses are not prorated for segments of any fiscal year. Christmas tree licenses include a basic charge of $70 plus an acreage-based fee. To figure Christmas tree license fees use the Christmas tree fee calculator.
To apply for Christmas tree license: please print the Christmas tree license application (pdf, 8kB) and send completed application with appropriate fees to the Oregon Department of Agriculture, Plant Division, Nursery and Christmas Tree Program, 635 Capitol Street NE, Salem, OR 97301.

Licensed nursery and Christmas tree growers in Oregon
Licensed nurseries and Christmas tree growers in Oregon

Phytosanitary certificate
For licensed nurseries or Christmas tree growers, the charge is $25.00 for state and $31.00 for federal phytosanitary certificate completed online in the Phytosanitary Certificate Issuance and Tracking System (PCIT).  Fees must be paid online in PCIT. 
For unlicensed persons, the fee is $60.00 per hour for certification inspections conducted at the person’s place of business.  The fee for unlicensed persons that bring their plants to a Department of Agriculture facility for certification is $18.00 for non-commercial shipments (less than $1000 value) and $45.00 for commercial shipments (greater than $1000 value).
 

Other certificate and survey programs
Certificates requiring special inspections such as cereal leaf beetle pesticide treatments and European brown garden snail compliance inspections are $15 per certificate. A charge of $85 per location trapped is required for the European pine shoot moth survey.
 

Laboratory diagnostics
The Plant Health section of the Oregon Department of Agriculture charges a fee for plant disease diagnostics. The basic fee for samples is $70/hour, with a minimum fee of $35. Additional charges will be added for specific tests.
 
Licensees will be billed for costs. Travel and inspection time for non-licensed customers will be charged at a rate of $60/hour. For additional information regarding fees and charges, contact the Nursery division at 503-986-4644.