Abandoned and derelict vessels (ADV’s)
are vessels that are:
without authorization on public or private land, or State waters;
are sinking, actively polluting, obstructing a waterway, or endangering life or
An enforcement agency has the
authority to seize vessels that meet these definitions.
Vessels are abandoned or become
derelict for many reasons. Neglected, derelict, and abandoned vessels cause
various problems in and outside of marinas, including water quality
degradation, pollution, and damage to public and private property when they
sink or go adrift. In marinas, they take up valuable slip space and can be a
source of pollution. They also decrease the aesthetic value of the area and
create hazards for responsible boaters. Marinas and boat owners can use various
tools to address and prevent neglected, derelict, and abandoned vessels.
Don’t let your boat become abandoned
your registration current.
insuring your vessel.
your vessel in good working condition; ensure it is seaworthy and can move
under its own power.
an end-of-life plan for your vessel:
of hazardous materials properly (batteries, instrumentation, fuels, etc.).
any valuable parts or metals.
vessel to a boat salvage shop for proper dismantle or to the landfill if it is
selling your boat:
sure to inform the Marine Board of the transfer of ownership (or else you could
end up with the bill for removing the vessel if it becomes abandoned or
twice about selling the boat on craigslist for cheap - make sure the boat is
going to good hands.
giving your boat to a Vessel Turn-in Program (ask your marina or the Marine
Board for more information).
you qualify (and funding is available), you can turn your boat over and it will
be properly disposed of by a contractor at no cost to you.
Reporting Abandoned/Derelict Vessels
Call your local County Sheriff’s
Office if a boat appears to have become abandoned or derelict. Call 911 if the
boat is involved in an emergency.
Signs of an abandoned or derelict
to one side;
quantities of growth of algae, moss, grass, or other plant material covering
pump that runs frequently to expel water from the hull;
fluids such as oil, fuel, or waste;
external deterioration of wood, paint, or other materials;
- Occupants who throw waste or other materials into the water;
from moorage or docks;
of being illegally moored;
movement in more than 30 days.
Oregon has an abandoned and derelict
vessel program that is managed by the Oregon State Marine Board. The program
includes legislation and procedures for delegating authority to an enforcement
agency to seize and remove abandoned and derelict vessels from state lands and
waters (ORS 830.908 through 830.944). Oregon’s ADV program does not address the taking of abandoned or
derelict vessels that occur on private property, which must be dealt with
through abandoned property laws or reported to an appropriate enforcement
Oregon law authorizes the Oregon State
Marine Board to establish and maintain an Abandoned and Derelict Vessel Removal
Fund. Funds from this account, which are collected from recreational boater
titling and registration fees, are used to reimburse public enforcement
agencies for expenses related to the removal of abandoned or derelict vessels.
The Oregon State Marine Board must set aside $150,000 each biennium in order to
provide funds to reimburse up to 90% of the costs associated with
investigating, salvaging, towing, removing, storing or disposing of abandoned
or derelict vessels.
Under this program, the owner of the
vessel is liable to the enforcement agency for all costs arising out of the
seizure and removal of the vessel.
Oregon’s ADV Program is administered
by the Oregon State Marine Board, which then delegates authority for the
removal and/or disposal of the vessel in question to the relevant enforcement
agency under OAR 830.908 to OAR 830.948. The Oregon State Marine Board can be
contacted by phone at 503-378-2836 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.