Oregon Agriculture

The Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) has established protected districts for the production of canola, a variety of rapeseed. Protected districts do not allow canola production except under special conditions. 

Protected districts include:

  • Willamette Valley Protected District
  • Central Oregon Protected District
  • Northeast Oregon Protected District
  • Malheur/Idaho Protected District 

Notice of proposed rulemaking

ODA has scheduled a public hearing to discuss proposed rule changes related to the Brassicaceae general production area and the Willamette Valley Protected District.

Public hearing

May 29, 2019 at 4:00 pm
Oregon Department of Agriculture
Basement Hearing Room
635 Capitol St SE, Salem

Last day to offer public comment on the proposed rule changes: June 21, 2019 at 5:00 pm.


Canola protected districts map

Oregon canola protected districts map

OSU Report for HB 2427: Willamette Valley Protected District

Oregon State University report produced with funding from 2013 House Bill 2427 provided to assess the potential for co-existence between canola and other Brassicaceae seed crops in the Willamette Valley. OSU Report for HB 2427

Recommendations to Consider for Coexistence between Canola and Specialty Seed Production in the Willamette Valley

2018 Report to the Oregon Legislature – House Bill 3382 Canola Report to the Oregon Legislature

Rules establishing protected districts

Canola/Rapeseed control areas: Baker, Benton, Jefferson, Clackamas, Columbia, Crook, Deschutes, Jefferson, Josephine, Lane, Linn, Malheur, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Union, Wallowa, Washington, Yamhill OAR 603-052-0860: Canola control areas




Director's Office
635 Capitol St NE
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-986-4550
Fax: 503-986-4747
​​Email: canola@oda.state.or.us​​