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Rules and Regulations for the Oregon Shell Egg 
Retailer 

	
  
The following is a brief summary that will assist retailers in understanding the 
rules and regulations for shell eggs. 
 
 

I. EGG HANDLER’S LICENSE- costs $25.00 per fiscal year (July 1 - 
June 30). 
 
For eggs at retail, a license is needed by: 
1. Retailer who grades eggs; 
2. Retailer who packages graded eggs in his own cartons. 
 
A retailer does not need a license if: 
1.   The retailer sells to the consumer, eggs that previously have been 
candled and graded by an egg handler in compliance with ORS 
632.705 to 632.815. 

 
II. OREGON EGG FEE AND EGG PERMIT NUMBER 

 
      Administration of the egg law is financed by an egg fee of $.0025 per 

dozen eggs first sold in Oregon.  This fee is payable monthly to the 
Department based on the dozen eggs reported on a filed Oregon 
Monthly Egg Fee Assessment Report. 

 
All retailers responsible for paying an egg fee will be assigned an egg 
permit number by the department. This number must be displayed 
on the side or end of all consumer containers sold in Oregon in bold 
face letter at least 1/8 inch in height.  This number may be printed on 
the container by the egg container manufacturer or may be applied by 
the label with a permit number on it, or by any other means the 
producer might devise. 
 

III. INVOICE 
 

An invoice showing the grade and size, number of eggs, the name 
and address of seller must accompany each sale to retail 
establishments, food service establishments, food processors, and or 
food distributors.  Buyer must keep receipt for 60 days and one year 
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by seller.  No invoice shall be required on eggs when sold to the 
United States Government or the individual consumer. 
 

IV. LABELING 
 

All containers of eggs must be labeled with: 
1. Correct grade and size of eggs in the container * 
2. Name and address of producer, wholesaler, or retail by or for 

whom the eggs were packed 
3. Oregon egg permit number and pull date (JUN 20 or 06 20). 
4. The safe handling statement must appear on the label 

prominently, conspicuously, and in a type size no smaller than 
one-sixteenth of one inch.  The statement must appear in a 
hairline box and the words “safe handling instructions” must 
appear in bold capital letters.  For example: 

 
 
 
 

 
* Grades and size only pertain to chicken hen eggs.  Eggs other than 
chicken hen need to follow all other requirements and need to be 
clean and edible. 
 

V. BULK SALE DISPLAY 
 

Eggs sold from a bulk display must have a clearly visible and legible 
placard prominently displayed immediately adjacent to such display 
containing the size and grade or quality of the eggs.  
Eggs must NOT remain out of refrigeration for any length of time 
(e.g., 45 degrees Fahrenheit or below).  Eggs shall be displayed under 
refrigeration. 
 

VI. ADVERTISING 
 

No eggs other than AA or A shall be sold, offered for sale, or 
advertised for          sale in any manner as “fresh eggs,” “ranch eggs,” 
“farm eggs,” or to represent the same to be fresh. 

 
 
 

SAFE HANDLING INSTRUCTIONS:  To prevent illness 
from bacteria: keep eggs refrigerated, cook eggs until yolks are 
firm, and cook foods containing eggs thoroughly. 
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VII. The chart listed below shows the grades that may be marketed and 
the requirement for each grade.   

   
            Egg size   Average wt/doz.  Minimum wt/doz. 
  Jumbo    30 oz.    29 oz. 
  Extra Large   27 oz.    26 oz.   
  Large    24 oz.    23 oz.   
  Medium   21 oz.    20 oz.  
  Small    18 oz.    17 oz. 
  Pee Wee or Pullet  15 oz. 

 
VIII. INFORMATION AND FORMS 
 

To obtain further information, forms or copies of the Oregon Egg 
Law and regulations, please contact: 
 
Oregon Dept. Of Agriculture   Phone:  (503) 986-4720 
Food Safety Program    Fax: (503) 986-4729 
635 Capitol St NE Salem, OR 97301-2532 
 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 


