

Department of Agriculture

635 Capitol St NE Salem, OR 97301-2532



Reciprocal Licensing Guide

Reciprocity allows a person to obtain an Oregon pesticide applicator license based upon their pesticide license from another state.

Which licenses qualify for reciprocity in Oregon?

Currently, only the following Idaho and Washington licenses and categories are considered for reciprocity. However, aerial applicators that are licensed in any US state or territory will be considered on a case-by-case basis. To qualify, you must have examined in the state in which you are licensed, and your license must be current. ODA compares exam equivalency.

Idaho:

- Private Applicator License (RU category only).
- Professional Applicator License (only certain <u>license categories</u> qualify). Note: depending on your license categories and employer, you may need to apply for an Oregon Commercial, Public, or Consultant license.

Washington:

- Private Applicator License (excluding 'Limited' or 'Rancher' versions)
- Soil Fumigation RMM (category only).

How do I apply for an Oregon reciprocal license?

Please submit the following documents to apply for an Oregon reciprocal license:

Idaho and Washington (non-aerial)

- License history <u>form</u> (completed and submitted by the Idaho or Washington Department of Agriculture)
- 2. Photocopy of a valid and current Idaho or Washington license (front & back)
- 3. Signed Reciprocal Licensing agreement
- 4. Oregon license <u>application</u> (submit #2 & #3 above with application)

Aerial applicators (any US state or territory)

- 1. License history <u>form</u> (completed and submitted by the pesticide regulatory agency that issued your current license).
- 2. Upon receipt of the above form, an ODA staff member will contact you.
 - If your license and/or license categories are determined to be equivalent, additional documents will be requested.

 Note: applicants will still be required to take the Oregon laws and safety exam, and may be required to take Oregon's stand-alone Aerial Applicator Exam.

How do I maintain my Oregon reciprocal license?

You will be issued a 5-year certification period that begins on the date that your license is issued. This will allow you to earn Oregon pesticide recertification credits by attending ODA-approved courses. The number of <u>credits required</u> varies by license type.

Online Renewal: Starting mid-November 2018, if you are renewing your license for the 2019 licensing period, you will be able to renew your license online. You will <u>not</u> need to provide a copy of your ID or WA license to renew, or another signed Reciprocal Licensing Agreement. For exceptions, see section in this document titled, "What if I don't or can't attend recertification courses?".

What recertification courses are ODA-approved?

A portion of the courses offered in other states are also accredited by ODA. It is your responsibility to check whether ODA has accredited a class prior to attending the class. ODA-accredited classes may be available online or in person. To receive credit for an inperson course, you must sign the Oregon attendance record (sign-up sheet) provided during the course.

What if I don't or can't attend recertification courses?

If you do not earn the required number of recertification credits, you will need to do one of the following to obtain an Oregon license after your 5-year certification period expires:

- Retake and pass the appropriate Oregon exams and submit an application; or
- Reapply for a new reciprocal license (with all supporting documentation).

Can I add a new category to my Oregon reciprocal license?

If you passed a license category exam in another state, and the category is considered equivalent in Oregon for the same purpose, it is possible to add the category to your Oregon reciprocal license. To add an equivalent category, you will need to submit a License history <u>form</u> with a license <u>application</u> to ODA. There may be an associated fee. As an alternative, you can take the category exam in Oregon.

How do I use my Oregon License to get a reciprocal license in another state?

Please contact the agency that regulates pesticides in the state in which you wish to be licensed. Each state may have their own requirements. If they require a "letter of good standing" or other license history information, ODA is happy to provide this information. Please email pestx@oda.state.or.us or call 503-986-4635 to make a request.