Oregon Department of Agriculture Significant Legislation Implementing the Renewable Fuel Standards

Ethanol

HB 2210, 2007

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2007orLaw0739.html establishes the 10% ethanol mandate

Oregon Department of Agriculture is directed to trigger the mandate when ethanol production capacity reaches 40 million gallons per year.

Actual implementation dates as follows:

Jan 15, 2008 - Region 1: Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill April 15, 2008 - Region 2: Benton, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, and Linn Sept 16, 2008 - Region 3: Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler Counties

SB 1079, 2008

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2008orLaw0044.html introduces an exemption for aviation gasolines.

HB 3497, 2009 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2009orLaw0786.html introduces an exemption for premium gasoline

HB 2329, 2011

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011orLaw0360.html introduces an exemption for all terrain, off road vehicles

SB 19, 2017

<u>https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0141.pdf</u> revises the definition of denatured fuel ethanol and establishes compliance limits for concentrations of ethanol in gasoline (9.2 - 10 percent)

HB 3051, 2021

<u>https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2021orlaw0368.pdf</u> removes the upper limit on ethanol concentrations in gasoline allowing for E15 gasoline to be sold in Oregon.

(continued)

Biodiesel

HB 2210, 2007 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2007orLaw0739.html establishes the biodiesel mandate.

Oregon Department of Agriculture is directed to trigger the 2% biodiesel mandate when biodiesel production capacity reaches 5 million gallons per year in the region (OR, WA, ID, MT) followed by a 5% biodiesel mandate when production capacity reaches 15 million gallons per year (regional production).

HB 3463, 2009

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2009orLaw0752.html Modifies the mandate phase in schedule. The 2% mandate becomes effective: Aug 1, 2009 - Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington, and Yamhill; and Oct 1, 2009 - (all remaining counties)

the 5% mandate is to be effective 2 months following realization of a 15 million gallon per year production capacity in the region.

The bill allows for the substitution of biodiesel with renewable diesel beginning in 2012.

HB 3693, 2010 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2010orLaw0055.html

HB 2827, 2011 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills laws/lawsstatutes/2011orLaw0243.html

Both HB 3693 and 2827 Makes an allowance for the use of No. 1 diesel (aka kerosine) as a cold weather performance enhancer to diesel fuel where the No. 1 diesel component is exempted from the blending mandate.

HB 3448, 2013

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2013orLaw0089.pdf Adds an exemption for emergency backup power generators.

HB 2445, 2015 section 26 <u>https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2015orLaw0203.pdf</u> removes the 2% mandate language from statute

New (2023)

SB 803, 2023

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB803/A-Engrossed Requires DEQ, ODA, DAS, and DOT to study feasibility of a renewable diesel mandate in Oregon including consumer costs, availability, and potential incentives by region in the state.