Ore On Department of Agriculture
635 Capitol St NE Ste 100
Salem, OR 97301-2532

Kate Brown, Governor

January 28, 2020

The Honorable Sonny Perdue

Secretary, United States Department of Agriculture
1400 independence Ave, SW

Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Perdue,

The Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) plans to submit a state plan under the Agriculture
Improvement Act of 2018 (2018 Farm Bill) and to take full advantage of the opportunities to
allow legal cultivation of hemp in Oregon. ODA recognizes the work the United States
Department of Agriculture (USDA) put into establishing rules to regulate a federal hemp
program.

Today, Oregon operates a pilot program under the authorizations of the 2014 Farm Bill. Oregon
is currently one of the nation’s largest hemp producing states.

It is imperative to have a workable federal framework for hemp that encourages opportunities
and flexibility to support a viable industry for farmers in Oregon and across the United States.
The current Interim Final Rules for Establishment of a Domestic Hemp Production Program (IFR)
fail to meet this goal. Sections of the IFR identified below are unworkable and warrant further
consideration:

e Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) approval of labs —
Today, there are no labs in Oregon with DEA approval listed on the USDA webpage. ODA
operates a state regulatory lab. However, this Iab cannot get DEA registered because it
works with cannabis plant material from sources not considered faw enforcement by the
DEA.

For the last two years, ODA and Oregon’s hemp industry have worked in partnership with
private labs for sampling and testing. Oregon’s state hemp program requires that any lab be
accredited by the Oregon Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (ORELAP).
ORELAP is recognized by The NELAC Institute’s National Environmental Laboratory
Accreditation Program. ORELAP accredits qualified laboratories for testing under the Clean
Air Act (CAA), Clean Water Act (CWA), Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) and
the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) and Cannabis testing under ORS 475B.550 to 475B.590.



This system works well for all stakeholders, including the state. The number of growers and
grow sites requiring at least one sample, if not more, for 2018 and 2019 are listed in the
table below. Some growers may split a grow site into two to four (2-4) samples depending
on the location and how many varieties they are growing.

2018 2019
Growers 584 1960
Grow sites 1441 6040

Oregon’s hemp industry will experience a major contraction in production without access to
labs that provide quality and timely test results.

15-day pre-harvest window for sampling and testing —

The harvesting of hemp is primarily done by hand in Oregon and is time intensive. Given the
lack of lab availability discussed above, unpredictable weather conditions, a limited
workforce, and other dynamic factors outside of the growers’ control, a 15-day window is
an unworkable constraint on Oregon hemp farmers.

Criminal negligence for preharvest tests above 0.5% THC —

As the hemp industry develops, it struggles with variable genetics, a research and
knowledge gap of the cultivation practices, and a market incentive to produce plants with
the highest levels of CBD possible. All of these variables in this new industry could cause
growers to have pre-harvest test results above the 0.5% THC level without ever intending
to.

These growers are not acting “intentionally, knowingly, willfully, recklessly, or with criminal
negligence.” The potential of being charged with criminal negligence without intent,
possibly due to circumstances outside of the growers’ control, exposes hard working family
farmers to criminal liability.

Disposal of non-compliant plants —

Hemp crops that fail the required pre-harvest tests generally are not failing at levels that a
reasonable person would consider viable as marijuana. Requiring the destruction of a non-
compliant hemp crop, that would not be considered marijuana, by a person authorized
under the Controlled Substances Act (CSA) is an extreme burden to a farmer who already
has suffered an economic loss. This does not treat hemp as an agricultural crop.

The removal of plant material from agricultural land is a poor practice from an agronomy
perspective. It also negatively contributes to the waste destruction and landfill pressures
facing many local municipalities. Providing a legal framework for a grower to provide
documentation of destruction to a regulatory agency is a reasonable requirement.



October 31, 2020 requirement for movement from 2014 Farm Bill to 2018 Farm Bill and
IFR compliance -

Since 2015, ODA has operated under the 2014 Farm Bill pilot program. Hemp licenses, like
all ODA licenses, are active for a calendar year.

Requiring states with current programs, to move to 2018 Farm Bill and IFR compliance on
October 31, 2020 creates a regulatory burden for producers. This requirement also
contributes confusion to an industry that struggles to understand what regulations apply
and when those regulations apply.

To smooth the transition, ODA would like to see the USDA approve state plans with future
implementation dates of January 1, 2021. This provides a clear cutoff and allows everyone
licensed in 2020 to be treated the same regarding licensing and pre-harvest testing
requirements.

ODA appreciates the opportunity to continue working with the USDA and participating in
discussions regarding potential changes to the IFR which will continue to support Oregon’s
growing hemp industry.

Sincerely,

(164

Alexis M. Taylor

Director, Oregon Department of Agriculture

cc: Greg Ibach, Under Secretary, Market and Regulatory Programs, USDA

Sonia Jimenez, Deputy Administrator, Specialty Crops Program, USDA






