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STATE FIRE MARSHAL

IS YOUR
FACILITY REQUIRED

TO REPORT?

Hazardous Substance
Reporting Requirements:

Oregon State Police
OFFICE OF STATE FIRE MARSHAL

3565 Trelstad Avenue SE
Salem, Oregon 97317-9614

Website:
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/

programs/sfm/Pages/Communi-
ty-Right-To-Know.aspx

Email:
oregon.hazmatsurvey@state.or.us

Additional Resources:
Oregon Hazardous Substance Incident Searchable Database
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/sfm/Pages/Hazardous-Inci-
dent-Database.aspx

CR2K Information Access
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/sfm/Pages/OSFM-Reports.aspx

EPA List of Lists
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2015-03/documents/
list_of_lists.pdf

EPA Tools
http://www.epa.gov/emergencies/tools.htm#lol

EPCRA
http://www.epa.gov/epcra

Oregon LEPC
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/programs/sfm/Pages/Local-Emergen-
cy-Planning-Committee.aspx

Sara Title III
http://www.msdsonline.com/resources/regulatory-information/
sara-reporting.aspx

Oregon Laws
http://www.oregonlaws.org/ors/453.307

Oregon DEQ
http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Hazards-and-Cleanup/hw/Pages/HW-Re-
porting.aspx

Reporting Requirements
•	 For extremely hazardous substances (EHS) 

listed by EPA, the reportable quantity is ei-
ther EPA’s threshold planning quantity or 
the quantity established by OSFM, which-
ever is lower.

* This information is available at:
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=2b4d-
2d375e73ebc5c93d8b2fe632cb6f&mc=true&node=
pt40.28.355&rgn=div5#ap40.30. 355_161.a

4.	 What is the reporting period?
•	 The reporting period is the previous cal-

endar year.

•	 Reports must be completed annually. 

•	 Reports may be submitted beginning 
January 1 and are due by March 1.

•	 Notification of substantive changes 
throughout the year must be made with-
in 30 days of the change. See the CR2K 
website for more information about sub-
stantive changes.

Important Points
to Remember

•	 Oregon Law requires the report to be complet-
ed correctly and submitted by the due date.

•	 A copy of the report is required to be kept 
at the site address listed on the survey for 
three (3) years.

•	 Facilities are required to maintain complete 
and accurate records of each hazardous 
substance they manufacture, generate, use, 
store, or possess.

•	 A separate report must be completed for 
each site address in Oregon, unless you 
have contiguous sites. Call CR2K for more 
information.



When Was Reporting Mandated?

In 1985, Oregon passed the Community 
Right to Know (CR2K) and Protection Act 
(ORS 453.307 to 453.414). One year later 
similar federal mandates took effect known 
as the Emergency Planning and Communi-
ty Right to Know Act (EPCRA) of 1986.

Oregon Community
Right To Know

1.	 Who is required to report?
	 Any company or government agency 

with a reportable quantity of a hazardous 
substance, or identified by the Office of 
State Fire Marshal (OSFM) as having the 
potential of using, storing, manufactur-
ing, or otherwise possessing hazardous 
substances stored onsite for more than 
24 hours, is required to report.

2.	 What is reportable substance?
As it relates to the Oregon Community 
Right to Know and Protection Act, a haz-
ardous substance is:

•	 Any substance that is required to have a 
Safety Data Sheet (SDS).

•	 Any substance that presents a physical or 
health hazard to employees, first respond-
ers or the public.

•	 Any hazardous waste substance as defined by 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).
http://www.oregon.gov/deq/Hazards-and-clean-
up/hw/Pages/HW-Reporting.aspx

3.	 What are reportable quantities (RQs)?
	 * See OAR 837-085-0040 (23) and (34)

Lower Reporting Level Substances
(Highly Toxic & Explosives):

Liquids. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          5 gal. or more
Solids. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          10 lbs. or more
Gases. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                          20 cft. or more

Upper Reporting Level Substances
(Other Substances):

Liquids. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                        500 gal. or more
Solids. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                         500 lbs. or more
Non-Liquefied Gases. . . . . . . . . . . . .            500 cft. or more
Liquefied Gases. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                500 gal. or more
Non-Sealed Radioactive Substance . . . .   Any Amount

Why Do You Have To Report?

How Does Your Company Benefit?

What If You Have Never Completed
A Hazardous Substance Report?

The State CR2K law directs the OSFM to 
survey companies and government agen-
cies about hazardous substances stored 
at their location. Facilities with reportable 
quantities (RQs) must complete an annual 
Hazardous Substance Inventory Report by 
March 1 of each year.

The information collected is provided to 
emergency planners and responders with-
in your local community to assist them with 
preparing for and responding to hazard-
ous substance incidents. The information 
is also available to the public to inform and 
familiarize the surrounding communities 
about what hazardous substances are in 
the area. A fee may be assessed to sup-
port the collection and dissemination of 
information.

Accurate reporting of hazardous substanc-
es ensures a more informed response 
during an emergency situation at your fa-
cility. CR2K staff is available by phone at 
the Hazardous Substance Information Ho-
tline number listed in this brochure. They 
will assist you in completing your annual 
report and answer any questions you may 
have regarding the reporting of hazard-
ous substances and compliance with both 
State and Federal reporting requirements.

If you believe your facility has a reportable 
quantity of a hazardous substance, you 
must register your facility for CHS Manag-
er at https://oregon.hazconnect.com/Ac-
count/Login.aspx and complete a report.

HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCE
INFORMATION HOTLINE

503-378-6835
800-454-6125


