

Commercial Shellfish Harvester and Growers Information

Commercial shellfish harvesters and growers intending to sell shellfish for human consumption must obtain an Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) sanitation certificate (license) and pay the annual license fee. Shellfish are defined as oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops, except scallops where the final product is the adductor muscle only. The following conditions of licensing must be met at all times.

- 1. ODA Shellfish Sanitation Certificates (licenses) are required for commercial harvesting for human consumption. Applications are available from Oregon Department of Agriculture (address above), or call (503)-986-4721. You can find additional information about the <u>ODA Shellfish Program here</u>.
- 2. Commercial shellfish operations intending to harvest wild shellfish must obtain an Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW) Commercial Fishing License, and ODFW Shellfish Harvest Permits are required and available from ODFW offices. Commercial harvesting of inter-tidal and subtidal clams is an ODFW limited participation program. Contact ODFW, Marine Region Office in Newport at (541)-867-4741 for information.
- 3. Commercial shellfish harvesters and growers, harvesting for human consumption, are limited to the ODA classified shellfish harvesting areas of the Clatsop Beaches, Tillamook Bay, Netarts Bay, Yaquina Bay, Umpqua River and Triangle, Coos Bay and South Slough. Contact ODA for a copy of the Classified Commercial Shellfish Growing Map. Harvesters must provide ODA with a list of their current harvest areas. Contact ODA for a copy of the current management plan for areas where you plan to harvest (see list or map above).
- 4. Shellfish Tagging Harvesters and growers must attach to each container of shellfish durable, waterproof tags sized at least 13.8 square inches with this information in the following order:
 - a) Harvester's certification number issued by ODA (i.e. OR 777 HV)
 - b) Harvest date and time
 - c) Harvest area (bay or beach)
 - d) Type and Quantity of shellfish
 - e) This statement: "This tag shall be attached until container is empty or retagged and kept on file for 90 days."





Shipper tags must have the above information and:

- a) Shipper name and address
- b) Original shellstock shippers's certification number
- c) The statement "Keep Refrigerated"
- d) The following statement in bold capitalized type on each tag:

 "THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER IS EMPTY OR IS

 RETAGGED AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE, IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER, FOR 90

 DAYS." "RETAILERS: DATE WHEN LAST SHELLFISH FROM THIS CONTAINER SOLD OR

 SERVED (INSERT DATE)

 ."
- 5. Harvesters must sell to buyers who are both ODA certified Shellfish Shippers (with SS Certification designation) and ODFW licensed wholesale fish buyers. ODA can provide this list upon request. Harvesters cannot distribute shellfish for human consumption to restaurants or retail stores. Any such sales will be prosecuted under ODA food safety laws (ORS 622).
- 6. Harvesters and Shippers may not ship razor clams harvested in Oregon outside of Oregon.
- 7. Shellfish must be protected from contamination and temperature abuse. Deliveries to certified shellfish shippers must be made in clean containers within 24 hours or less of harvest. If outside air temperatures exceed 50 degrees F, deliveries should be made on drained ice.
- 8. All shellfish harvested as bait (i.e. not for human consumption) must be dyed upon landing with ODFW approved dye (red dye #40), regardless of the area's classification.
- Harvesters are not permitted to 'wet store' shellstock on the near-shore, alongside harvesting boats, or in any manner. Only certified shellfish shippers can apply for a permit to wet store shellfish.
 It is strictly prohibited to allow overboard discharge of human waste into shellfish growing areas.
 A marine sanitation device or container for human waste is required to be on harvest boats at all times.