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Farm Direct Marketing, Producer-Processed Products 
 

The Oregon Farm Direct Marketing Law and rules adopted at OAR 603-025-0215 thru 603-
025-0275, exempts farm direct marketers from ODA licensing that produce and sell certain 
processed products produced using ingredients that they grow. All sales must be directly to 
the end user and consignment sales of producer-processed products are not permitted. The 
Farm Direct Marketing Law also exempts direct sale of certain agricultural products from 
licensing. From more information on exempt agricultural products under the Farm Direct 
Marketing Law, see Farm Direct Marketing, Agricultural Products.  
 
Direct retail sales of the following producer-processed products is exempt 
from ODA licensing: 
 

• Fruit based syrups and fruit in syrup 
• Jams, jellies and preserves 
• Acidified fruits and vegetables, including pickles, chutneys and sauces 
• Lacto-fermented fruits and vegetables 

 
Principal Ingredients 
 
Under the Farm Direct Marketing Law, the processor must grow all of the principal 
ingredients used in production of their products. For example, an individual producing 
strawberry jam under the Farm Direct Marketing Law must grow all of the strawberries used 
in production. An individual producing salsa must grow all of the tomatoes, onions, peppers 
and garlic used in salsa production. Farm direct marketers are not required to grow herbs, 
spices, salt, vinegar, pectin, lemon or lime juice, honey or sugar, for use in their producer-
processed products. 
 
Labeling 
 
All producer-processed products must be labeled with the following: 

• Product identity 
• Net weight 
• An ingredients statement (including any major allergens) 
• The address of the agricultural producer 
•  “THIS PRODUCT IS HOMEMADE AND IS NOT PREPARED IN AN 

INSPECTED FOOD ESTABLISHMENT” 
• “NOT FOR RESALE” 

 
$20,000 Sales Limitation 
 
There is a $20,000 annual sales limitation on the total amount producer-processed acidic 
foods such as canned fruit, syrups, preserves, jam, jelly, salsa, pickles and lacto-fermented 
foods. Once a firm exceeds this $20,000 limitation, it is required to obtain an ODA license 
or work with a licensed co-packer. 
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Approved Process for Acidified Foods 
 
Canned foods that have been acidified to decrease pH to below 4.6 must be produced in 
accordance with an established safe process. Publications containing approved processes 
include the United States Department of Agriculture Complete Guide to Home Canning, Pacific 
Northwest Extension publications and So Easy to Preserve by the University of Georgia 
Cooperative Extension. A unique or new process not found in one of the above may only be 
used if a recognized process authority first approves the process. 
 
 
Producer-Processed Food Records for Acidified Foods 
 
Processing and production records for foods that are acidified to decrease the pH to below 
4.6 must be maintained to show that the process and product formulations comply with all 
critical factors. Finished pH values and equilibrium pH values must be recorded for each 
batch. Additionally, if an electronic pH meter is used, it must be calibrated and pH meter 
calibration records must be maintained. If processing records show that the process is not 
within approved process standards, then the product may not be sold. In addition to 
documenting important food processing safety values, the farm direct marketer must also 
maintain sales records that include product(s) sold, price, quantity sold and a current rolling 
total of year-to-date sales. Copies of all records must be maintained and available to the 
ODA for a period of three years. 
 
 
 
 
 
 


