Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon Sustainability Awards
Oregonians have always put great value on the long-term health of the environment in which they live, work and play, and therfore take the long view when making investments in economic development. Sustainability is an integrated concept in the strategic planning of most Oregon organizations and companies, but some are truly moving to the head of the pack. The Governor's Sustainability Awards were created to recognize those outstanding efforts.
The Governor's Sustainability Awards are intended to promote and advance the inclusion of sustainable practices in government and the private sector.
The Awards broadly define sustainable practices as those that strive to optimize an organization's financial, environmental and social performance.

How to Apply
Any private, public or non-profit organization is eligible to apply. Awards are given based on merit, but organizations may be grouped by size and/or type in order to make comparing applicants more efficient and appropriate.
Winners will:
  • Show a commitment to sustainability that goes beyond compliance with regulatory requirements;
  • Be innovators in their fields; and
  • Show that becoming more sustainable is not in conflict with achieving the organization's core mission (whatever that may be).

For a downloadable application, please visit: www.oregon4biz.com/Sustainability 
For additional information, contact mark Brady, Business Oregon, by email or phone at 503-229-5223. 

2012 Awards

 The awards were presented at the Northwest Environmental Conference and Tradeshow on Tuesday December 4, 2012 by Secretary of State Kate Brown.
Rising Star Catagory:
Bridgetown Natural Foods of Porland
Technology Catagory:
EasyStreet Online Services of Portland
Manuracturing Catagory:
Oregon Iron Works of Clackamas
Co-Grand Champion:
Mountain Rose Herbs of Eugene
Co-Grand Champion:
Hopworks Urban Brewery of Portland


2010 Awards
Award Recipients for 2010
Award Recipients for 2010
The Future Energy Conference in Portland hosted the ceremony for the fourth, annual Sustainability awards on April 13, 2011. Solorworld sponsored the event.
Oregon Governor, John Kitzhaber and Secretary of State, Kate Brown, presented the awards to the recipients. 
Small Business Category:
Northwoods Nursery / One Green World, Molalla, OR 
Large Business Category:
Burgerville, Portland, OR
NGO/Government Category:
Port of Portland, Portland, OR 
Corvallis Area Regional Awards: 
Corvallis School District
First Alternative Co-op
The Corvallis Sustainability Coalition 
Photo gallery of 2010 awards 
Oregon Secretary of State Kate Brown's presentation (pdf)  

2009 Awards
Award Recipients for 2009
Award Recipients for 2009
The Future Energy Conference in Portland hosted the ceremony for the third, annual awards on April 22, 2010. Fluid Market Strategies sponsored the event.
Oregon State Treasurer, Ted Wheeler, presented the awards to the recipients.
Small business:
Duro-Last Roofing, Grants Pass, OR
Ginerich Farms, Canby, OR
Large business:
Harry and David, Medford, OR
Truitt Brothers, Salem, OR
NGO/ Government:
Clean Water Services, Hillsboro, OR
Gladstone School District, Gladstone, OR
Special Recognition: TEAM Klamath, Klamath Falls, OR
Rising Star: Paula's Kitchen, Kings Valley, OR
Corvallis School District
ZGF Architects
Photo gallery for 2009 awards 
Oregon State Treasurer Ted Wheeler's presentation (pdf) 

2008 Awards
Award Recipients for 2008
Award Recipients for 2008
The Oregon Business Council's Leadership Summit in Portland hosted the ceremony for the second, annual awards on December 11, 2008. Secretary of State, Bill Bradbury, presented the awards to the recipients.
Small business:
Sokol Blosser Winery, Dundee, OR
Full Sail Brewing, Hood River, OR
Klamath Brewing, Klamath Falls, OR
Large Business:  New Seasons market, Portland, OR
NGO/Government: ShoreBank Enterprise Cascadia, Astoria, OR
Special Project:  Eugene 08 Olympic Trial Committee
Artimis Foods
DeSantis Landscapes
Green Hammer
Oregon Department of Transportation, Solar Highway Project
Oregon Institute of Technology
Steele Associates Architects
Tillamook Forest Center
Photo gallery for 2008 awards 
Secretary of State, Bill Bradbury's presentation (pdf) 

2007 Awards
Governor Kulongoski presented the awards
Governor Kulongoski presented the awards
The 1st Annual Oregon Sustainability Awards were hosted by the Oregon Sustainability Board and the Oregon Economic and Community Development Department on June 1, 2007.
Small business:
Gerding Edlen Development, Portland, OR
Standing Stone Brewing Company, Ashland, OR
Sustainable Harvest Coffee Importers, Portland, OR
Large business:
Doubletree Hotel and Executive Meeting Center, Portland, OR
Siltronic Corporation, Portland, OR
International Sustainable Development Foundation, Portland, OR
City of Portland, Office of Transportation, Portland, OR
Metro, Portland, OR
Arnold Creek Productions
City of Eugene
Coastwide Labs
Columbia Forest Products
Highland Labs
Hot Lips Pizza
Lane Community College
Lean Path, Inc.
New Seasons Market
Port of Portland
Sequential Biofuels
Sokol Blosser Winery
St. Vincent de Paul
Tualatin Valley Water District