Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon Sustainability Board (OSB)
The Oregon Sustainability Board (OSB) encourages activities that best sustain, protect and enhance the environment, economy and community for the present and future benefit of Oregonians.  The Governor appoints Board members who represent a variety of stakeholders within the state of Oregon.  

Kate Brown, Chair, Governor's Representative, Secretary of State

John D. Miller, Co-chair, Wildwood/Mahonia

Robin Morris Collin, Willamette University Professor of Law

David Gremmels, President and Cheese-maker of Rogue Creamery located in Central Point (Jackson County).

Lori Hollingsworth, Owner of Back in Touch Massage in Lincoln City (Lincoln County).

Roje Gootee, Blue Mountain Forest Partners and Co-owne of Rush Creek Ranch in Grant County.

Laura Tu, Owner of Bouyant Branding in Portland.

Sasha Rabin Wallinger - Sorel Haute Verte Couture

Rory Schmick - Pacific Foods

2 Positions Vacant

Oregon Sustainability Board in Hood River, Oregon - November 2013 
In 2001, the legislature adopted the Oregon Sustainability Act (ORS 184.423), which established the state's overall sustainability policy.  Among other things, the legislation created the Oregon Sustainability Board and established legislative goals for state government around sustainability. In order to implement the act, Governor Kulongoski issued Executive Order 03-03 in June 2003 along with a letter of suggested agency actions, which directed the Sustainability Board to oversee the process for carrying out the Act.  The Executive Order specifically requests that the Board oversee development of sustainability plans by twenty state agencies.    A January 2013 memo from the Office of the Governor directed the Oregon Sustainability Board  to oversee agency implementation of sustainability related Executive orders and identify areas of joint interest and action with the Oregon Small Business Advisory Council and Environmental Justice Task Force.
Meeting Information (all PDF)
2014 Meeting Schedule ​ ​ ​ ​ ​
​Meeting Date ​Location ​Agenda ​Minutes
​January 16, 2014 Portland​ Agenda Minutes
March 13, 2014
Medford Agenda Minutes
May 16, 2014
Salem Agenda Pending Approval
November 21, 2014
Portland - World Trade Center / 121 Salmon Street Agenda
Minutes are published and posted once approved by the Board​ ​ ​ ​
Board Publications

Report to the 2005 Legislative Assembly (pdf)  and Letter  
Report to the 2009 Legislative Assembly (pdf)
Report to the 2011 Legislative Assembly (pdf)
Report to the 2011 Legisaltive Assembly on SB 513 (pdf)

Presentations to the Board (.pdf files)
Update on DEQ/OSB Partnership Projects (11/21/214) - David Allway
Columbia Gorge College Presentation (11/07/2013)
Farmer's Conservation Alliance (11/07/2013)
Sustainability: Through the Lens of Public Opinion - Policy Interactive (11/09/2012)
Follow up answers to OSB from Sarah Jo Chaplen (11/09/2012)
Forest Biomass Summary (11/09/2012)
Forest Biomass Strategy (11/09/2012)
Legal Guardianship Framework - Draft (11/09/2012)

Board Projects

Sustainability and Education

Climate Change and Community Activities

Sustainability in Government

Environmental Footprinting of Products and Materials

Board Photo Page
Sustainability Awards and other Board Activities

Governor's Sustainability Awards

 The Governor's Sustainability Awards Program is intended to promote and advance the inclusion of sustainable practices in government and the private sector. Sustainable practices are broadly defined as those that strive to optimize an organization's financial, environmental and social performance.

2014 Sustainability Award Nominations - Nominations for the 2014 Oregon Governor's Sustainability Award Closed on Friday October 3rd.  Winners will be announced on December 10, 2014 at the Northwest Environmental Conference in Portland Oregon.

The winners of the 2013 Sustainability Awards:
The presentations were made on December 10th 2013 at the Northwest Environmental Conference.

2013 Governor's Sustainability Award Winners
with Presenter John Miller, Co-Chair of the Oregon Sustainability Board​