Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Transfer brand ownership rights

Ownership rights for livestock

Ownership rights in a livestock brand are considered personal property.
 
If the ownership of a livestock brand changes for any reason - marriage, divorce, sale of the brand, new partnership, death of an owner, a Transfer of brand ownership must  be filled out and returned to the Brand office.
 
The transfer fee is $25 per brand per location.
 
For example: If you own the brand XYZ on right rib of cattle, left hip of horses, and right shoulder of cattle, the fee to change the ownership on all three would be $75.00.

Back to Top

When a brand owner dies

When a brand owner dies, Oregon law requires that an official Transfer of Ownership must be completed within six months of the date of death. This applies whether the deceased was the sole owner or was one of two or more registered owners. By law, if the transfer is not completed within six months after death of an owner, the decedent's ownership rights (and consequently, the ownership rights of the heirs) are terminated. To maintain continuous ownership of your brand, notify this office and file the Transfer of Ownership as soon as possible after the death of a brand owner. Contact the Brand Recorder at 503-986-4681 for details of the process for your specific situation.

Back to Top

Questions

Do you have questions about your Oregon-recorded livestock brand or do you need to record a new brand?
 
Contact: Donna Fry
Livestock Brand Recorder
Phone: 503-986-4681
Fax: 503-986-4734
Or send e-mail

Back to Top