Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

VIN Inspections

Overview​

This page provides information about vehicle identification number inspections.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
Definition
VIN stands for "vehicle identification number." Most newer cars have a metal plate stamped with its own unique VIN somewhere on the dashboard. This number is recognized nationwide as a way to identify a vehicle.
 
A VIN inspection is a physical examination of your vehicle to determine whether the VIN on your vehicle matches the VIN on the title or primary ownership document. The inspection is performed by a DMV employee or in some cases by an Oregon vehicle dealer when the vehicle is being purchased from the dealer. If necessary, DMV may refer you to an Oregon law enforcement agency to have them perform the inspection. A fee of $7 is charged for the inspection.
 
A VIN Inspection is required for the following:
  • Out-of-state titled vehicles being titled in Oregon.
  • Vehicles being titled for the first time as totaled and/or assembled, reconstructed or replica, except manufactured structures.
  • Any vehicle that had a title surrendered under ORS 819.010, 819.012, 819.014 or 819.030. This includes recovered stolen vehicles that are not totaled due to damage.
  • Oregon salvage-titled vehicles with an application for a regular Oregon title. This applies even if the vehicle is a recovered stolen vehicle that is not totaled due to damage.
  • Any vehicle that DMV has reason to believe was not certified by the manufacturer as conforming to U.S. Federal vehicle standards.
Note: In using the link above, you may need to scroll down to find the correct ORS reference.

Temporarily Out-of-State Vehicles
If the vehicle is out of state (because the owner is in the military or lives in another jurisdiction but is domiciled in Oregon) and needs a VIN inspection, it can be done by the other state's DMV or a law enforcement officer there. Military personnel who are domiciled in Oregon and stationed outside Oregon may have a VIN inspection done by military police, a commanding officer or a provost marshal.
 
There is no charge by Oregon for inspections done out of state. You may submit the inspection on DMV's Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspection (Form 735-11). 

New-to-Oregon
New-to-Oregon vehicles that are subject to DEQ emissions testing may have the VIN inspection performed at any DEQ Testing Station if they are not from out-of-country.  The $7 fee will be collected by DMV.  If a vehicle is located outside the DEQ boundaries or is not required to be tested for emissions (for example, motorcycles, trailers, or diesel-powered vehicles over 8,500 pounds GVWR), or if it is a salvagedreconstructed or out-of-country vehicle, a VIN inspection cannot be conducted by DEQ. 

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: