|Pre-licensure Training & Testing |
Contractors getting their CCB license for the first time are required to complete at least 16 hours of training on law and business practices, and pass a state test.
The person that takes the training and passes the test is the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI) for the license. The RMI must be an owner or employee of the business and exercise management or supervisory authority over the construction activities of the business. Oregon law requires a license must always have a RMI.
The training and test is valid for 24 months from the date the training was completed. Training and testing that is past the 24 months from the date of the completed training will not be considered for the purposes of fulfilling the requirements set forth in OAR 701.122.
Contractors whose CCB license has lapsed for more than 24 months must complete the training and pass the test.
|Contractors must complete at least 16 hours of training and pass a test before becoming licensed with the Construction Contractors Board (CCB). |
Before offering the CCB pre-licensure training, providers must be approved by the CCB. For the list of approved training providers, click here.
|About the Training Manual|
|The training is based on the 10th edition Oregon Contractors Reference Manual. |
The manual is often part of the fee for purchasing the training. Please check with the training provider.
Changes in laws or corrections to the current manual can affect test questions. The link below will provide you with the changes to the Oregon Contractor's Reference Manual.
Updates and corrections to the Oregon Contractors Reference Manual 10th edition
You are not permitted to take loose paper into the
testing facility. You should make the changes or corrections directly
into the manual.
Beginning February 6, 2013 the newly developed questions from the 10th edition will become part of the test.
|About the Test|
|The test is made up of 80 multiple choice questions on Business Practices and Law. After completing the pre-licensure training, students are eligible to schedule and take the test from the approved test administrator. Passing score is 70% (56 correct answers). |
The test is administered by Prometric and costs $85.
Click here for information on how to register with Prometric for the test, where the test sites are located and what to expect at the test site.
To accommodate the transition to the new 10th edition manual, tests taken between December 1, 2012 and February 5, 2013 will have test questions that can be found in either the 9th or 10th edition manual.
Beginning February 6, 2012 the test will be based on the 10th edition manual.
Students that have taken training using an earlier edition manual
Check to make sure your training is considered valid. (Training is valid for 24 months from the date the training was completed.) If so, you may:
a.) Schedule to test anyway, but understand there is a strong likelihood that you will not be able to pass the test.
b.) Purchase the 10th manual through Builders Book Depot to self-study; then schedule to test.
c.) Re-take training (though you are not required to do so).
d.) Contact your training provider to see if they have a supplemental option.
|Updates: CCB Reference Manual|
|Updates and Corrections to the 9th and 10th Edition Oregon Contractors Reference Manual |
The CCB strives to provide the most current and accurate information to contractors. Presently the manual is revised and reprinted every two years. The links below will provide you with changes and corrections to the Oregon Contractor's Reference Manual.
Oregon Contractor's Reference Manual (9th Edition)
Updates to the Oregon Contractors Reference Manual 10th edition
Please note that you are not permitted to take loose paper into the testing facility. You should make the changes or corrections directly into the manual.
|FAQ's on Pre-licensure Training|
|Contractors preparing to become licensed in Oregon often have questions about the training and test. Click here to review the frequently asked questions about the training and test. |
|Continuing Education (CE)|
|Information on Residential Continuing Education |
Click here for information on residential continuing education (RCE) which includes what education qualifies, exemptions, or if you have both a commercial and residential endorsement.
Information on Commercial Continuing Education
Click here for information on commercial continuing education (CCE) which includes what education qualifies, exemptions, or if you have both a commercial and residential endorsement.
How did continuing education start?
In 2007, Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 2654 (2007) requiring the Construction Contractors Board (CCB) to implement a continuing education system for all contractors.
During the same Legislative session, House Bill 3242 (2007) passed separating commercial and residential contractors. This bill contained a prescriptive mandate on continuing education for commercial contractors.
For more than 18 months, the CCB and the Continuing Education System (CES) committee, worked with industry and other stakeholders to develop administrative rules to clarify the overall continuing education program. The commercial rules were completed in October 2008. The Board passed rules covering residential contractors during the hearing on June 23, 2009.
Background Paper on CCB's Continuing Education
For more information on how the continuing education program was developed, click here.
|Becoming an education provider|
|The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) approves the providers that offer the pre-licensure training and the continuing education used to fulfill the Core requirement for residential contractors. |
Continuing Education (Core)
Those applying to become an education provider that meets the Core residential requirement must complete:
Continuing Education Provider Application,
And one or both of the following course applications:
Providers may choose to complete the course application (s) at the same time they complete the provider application, but they must be approved as a provider prior to having the courses approved.
Those applying to become a pre-licensure training provider must complete the following application:
Those applying to become a Home Inspection education provider must complete the following application: