Oregon's E911 tax information and filing instructions
You must collect and remit this tax if:
- You provide telecommunications or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) service with access to the 9-1-1 Emergency Reporting System, or
- You sell prepaid wireless services or products to consumers.
Read the following for more information:
What is the tax rate?
The following tax rates are assessed per month or per transaction for prepaid wireless telecommunications service.
- Prior to January 1, 2020, $0.75 per month or transaction.
- From January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020, $1 per month or transaction.
- After December 31, 2020, $1.25 per month or transaction.
Filing your return electronically
Revenue Online will calculate the tax you owe, allow for payment, and verify when we receive your filing and payment. Revenue Online also provides convenient tools for managing your E911 tax account.
You can register with Revenue Online after completing your return. If this is NOT your first time filing an Oregon E911 tax return, you'll need the following information to register:
- An email address.
- Your federal employer identification number (or Social Security number if you file your business on a Schedule C).
- Your business ZIP code.
- Your business identification number (BIN).
- A letter ID or recent payment amount.
Returns and payments
Returns and payments are due on or before the last day of the month following the end of each quarter. You must file a return even if you don't collect any taxes during the reporting period.
||Quarter ending date
||Report due date|
|1st — Jan-Feb-Mar
|2nd — Apr-May-Jun
|3rd — Jul-Aug-Sep
|4th — Oct-Nov-Dec
There is a 5 percent penalty if you don't pay the tax by the due date. A 20 percent penalty is charged if you don't file a return within 30 days of the due date. Interest is added to any unpaid tax and calculated from the time the tax becomes due.
Additional Information for Retailers
What is a prepaid wireless communications product or service?
A "prepaid wireless communications product or service" is a plan for wireless communications that allows the buyer to use wireless services and is paid for in advance.
Examples of products or services subject to the E911 tax include:
- A wireless handset activated for use with prepaid service.
- Additional prepaid minutes, regardless of whether the purchase is made at a retailer's physical location, online, or over the phone.
Examples of products or services not subject to the E911 tax include:
- Phone accessories, such as batteries, chargers, phone covers, etc.
- Prepaid minutes from a communications provider sold to a retailer for resale.
- Long-distance phone cards.
Note: For the purposes of these instructions, "products" and "services" have the same meaning.
What is a "retail transaction?"
A "retail transaction" is when you sell prepaid wireless telecommunications products or services for any purpose other than resale. There could be more than one retail transaction in a sale.
Examples (based on $1 per month or transaction):
- If Allen buys three prepaid cellular phone cards with 50 minutes of service each at a local retailer, he will pay $3 (three cards x $1 per card) in E911 taxes. Each purchase is considered a transaction, even if all three cards are purchased on the same receipt.
- If Ilsa buys one prepaid cellular phone card with 150 minutes of service online, she will pay $1 in E-911 tax (one card x $1).
- If Aaron buys 150 minutes of service online for his phone, he will pay $1 in E911 tax (one sale x $1).
Will I be compensated for collecting the tax?
You are allowed to reduce the tax reported to the department by 2 percent to compensate for your efforts.
Informational flyers for providers and prepaid products and services retailers:
For more information regarding the state 9-1-1 program and how Oregon E911 tax revenue is used, see "Emergency Communications Tax" on the Oregon Office of Emergency Management’s website.