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FAQs Regarding NP Buprenorphine Prescribing 
 

1. I recently became aware that the federal law on prescribing Suboxone (Buprenorphine) 
changed. When can I start prescribing this medication in Oregon? 
 
While yes, the federal government made allowances under the CARA Act (July 2016) for NPs to 
begin prescribing buprenorphine for medication assisted treatment (MAT) these updates 
require specific training (24 hours) and a federal waiver that must be approved by the Drug 
Enforcement Agency (DEA).  
 
Currently, it is a VIOLATION OF STATE LAW to prescribe for Buprenorphine outside of pain 
management (FDA approved low dose transdermal patch) in Oregon.   
 
NPs who prescribe for Buprenorphine outside of current Division 56 language are subject to 
investigation and discipline up to and including forfeiture of their license.  
 
The OSBN takes the ongoing Opioid crisis seriously and will be reviewing Division 56 for 
proposed language for medication-assisted treatment of opioid use disorder at our February 16, 
2017 meeting.  
 

2. Where is further information about the DEA waiver and the required training available?  
NPs interested in prescribing buprenorphine will need to complete 24 hours of SAMSHA NP and 
PA Waiver approved training. The current 8 hour course is available and delivered in a variety of 
modalities (combined online and face-to-face or live webinar).  

 
For the additional 16 hour requirement, SAMHSA will also offer the training for free once it has 
been developed.  
 

3. Where can I receive updates on NP Buprenorphine Prescribing? 
NPs may register on the SAMSHA Buprenorphine Management Email List  and on the OSBN 
Advanced Practice List Serve for continued updates.  
 

4. If I complete this training will the Continuing Education (CE) hours count towards my license 
renewal? 
Yes, the 8 hr. training is certified by the American Academia of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP). 
Completion of continuing education hours is accepted by OSBN in one of the following ways: 

(A) Maintaining active, unencumbered national certification for specialty role and attest to 
completion of continuing education required for maintaining national certification; or 

(B) 45 structured contact hours of continuing education completed in the two years prior to 
renewal of their license. At least 15 of these completed hours must be in 
pharmacotherapeutic content at the NP level congruent with their specialty role. 

 


