Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Vehicle Privilege and Use Taxes

About vehicle taxes

Two Oregon vehicle taxes began January 1, 2018:

  • The Vehicle Privilege Tax is a tax for the privilege of selling vehicles in Oregon.
  • The Vehicle Use Tax applies to vehicles purchased from dealers outside of Oregon that are required to be registered and titled in Oregon.

One-half of 1 percent (.005) is due on the retail price of any taxable vehicle.

A certificate of Vehicle Use Tax Payment is required by DMV on certain out-of-state purchases. To determine if your vehicle is subject see criteria below.

What is a taxable vehicle?

To be taxable, a vehicle must meet ALL of the following criteria:

  • Purchased from a dealer or someone who is or would be required to be registered as a dealer in Oregon; and
  • A January 1, 2018, or later purchase date; and
  • Was driven 7,500 miles or less if equipped with an odometer or sold with a manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO/MSO) if not equipped with an odometer; and
  • A gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or less; and
  • Has never been registered or titled in Oregon (except as a dealer demonstrator).

Instructions and responsibilities differ between consumers, out-of-state dealers, and Oregon dealers. Oregon Vehicle Tax Determination Diagram


Vehicles purchased outside of Oregon must have the Vehicle Use Tax paid within 30 days of purchase. For instructions on how to file and pay electronically, please see the Consumer Vehicle Use Tax Return Instructions for Revenue Online.

Some out-of-state dealers collect and remit the tax. If they do so, it will be itemized on your bill of sale as "Oregon Vehicle Use Tax." If the dealership did not collect the tax, you are required to pay it before the Oregon DMV will title and register the vehicle.

How to file and pay

To file to pay the tax and receive the vehicle use tax payment certificate, complete the online form and submit payment. These returns cannot be filed over the phone. Once the form has been completed, a certificate containing an "L number" will be emailed to the consumer, within a few minutes. A copy of the certificate will need to be presented to the DMV.

Here is an example of a certificate

There is a 5 percent penalty if you don't pay by the due date. A 20 percent penalty is charged for not filing a return within 30 days of the purchase date. Interest is added to any unpaid tax and calculated from the time the tax is due.

If you purchase a taxable vehicle from an Oregon dealer, the dealer is responsible for the tax but may pass on the amount to you. If this is the case, it will be itemized on your purchase documents. Purchases from Oregon dealers do not require a Vehicle Use Tax Payment Certificate prior to being titled and registered.

Out-of-state dealers

You must collect and remit the tax if you have a physical presence in Oregon sufficient to create a substantial nexus for tax purposes. Generally, physical presence is created by employees or independent contractors who regularly work in Oregon, or ownership of real property in Oregon.

If you don't have a physical presence in Oregon, you may still choose to collect and remit the vehicle use tax on behalf of your customers. If you collect and remit the tax, you must do so for all motor vehicles you sell that are subject to the tax.

If you collect the tax from your customers, you must:

  • Separately state the amount of any tax you collect on a sales receipt or proof-of-sale document and provide it to the purchaser.
  • Register for a Vehicle Use Tax account with the Oregon Department of Revenue.
  • Report and remit taxes for all qualifying motor vehicles sales on a quarterly basis.
  • Submit a certificate of use tax paid to the DMV for each taxable vehicle you sell. You may include the certificate with your other title and registration documents that are sent to the DMV.

How to register

To register for a Vehicle Use Tax account, go to Revenue Online. Under Quick Links, click "Register and apply" from the Registrations menu and then select "Register for a business tax."

Vehicle Use Tax exemptions

The only exemption from Vehicle Use Tax allowed is:

Vehicle sales for which the seller takes a resale certificate from a purchaser who is ordinarily engaged in the business of selling vehicles.

Oregon dealers

Vehicle dealers in Oregon are responsible for paying the Vehicle Privilege Tax on the sale price of each taxable vehicle sold. Dealers may collect the amount of the tax from the buyer in the same manner and at the same time as the collection of document processing fees.

How to register

To registe for a Vehicle Privilege Tax account, go to Revenue Online. Under Quick Links, click "Register and apply" from the Registrations menu and then select "Register for a business tax."

Vehicle Privilege Tax exemptions

Vehicle sales to buyers who aren't Oregon residents.

  • Vehicle sales to a business where the primary storage, use, or other consumption of the vehicle will be outside of Oregon.
  • Vehicle sales at an event lasting less than seven consecutive days in which the public is charged admission and where vehicles are sold at auction.
  • Vehicle sales in which the seller takes a resale certificate from a buyer who is ordinarily engaged in the business of selling vehicles.

Returns and payments

Returns and payments are due on or before the last day of the month following the end of each quarter. Revenue Online provides convenient tools for managing your account, including electronic return filing and payment options.

There is a 5 percent penalty if you don't pay by the due date. A 20 percent penalty is charged for not filing a return within 30 days of the due date. Interest is added to any unpaid tax and calculated from the time the tax is due.

If due date is a weekend or holiday, the return is due the next business day.

Additional information

The term vehicle includes but is not limited to:

"Retail Sales Price" means:

The total price paid for the vehicle as it came equipped from the manufacturer.


  • Any separately stated dealer preparation (Example: clear-coating, rustproofing, etc.); and
  • Transportation charges, and/or delivery fees.
  • Charges for accessories, parts, add-ons, or other aftermarket products.


  • Any separately stated discounts or rebates that reduce the price of the vehicle at the time of sale.

Cash down payments and/or trade-ins are not included in the retail sales price calculation.

"Retail Sales Price" does NOT include the retail value of:

Any warranties or optional maintenance contracts

  • Gap insurance
  • Document processing fees
  • Registration and licensing fees
  • ADA modifications (for sales on or after June 2, 2018)
  • Customized industrial modifications made to the chassis of medium-duty trucks with GVWR of 10,000 to 26,000 pounds (for sales on or after June 2, 2018)

Leased vehicles

The privilege and use taxes apply to sales of vehicles to lessors. The tax is calculated based on the retail sales price paid by the lessor to the dealer "agreed upon value of the vehicle" as stated in the lease agreement.

Trailers and recreational vehicles

Trailers sold with a manufacturer's certificate of origin (MCO) and required to be registered with the DMV are subject to the privilege and use taxes. These taxes also apply to sales of recreational vehicles, including travel trailers and fifth wheels that meet the taxability criteria. The full list of vehicles subject to the privilege and use taxes is available above.

Frequently Asked Questions

Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 822.005 requires that a person must be a certified dealer to display vehicles for sale or sell vehicles unless exempted under ORS 822.015.​

No, trade-ins and down payments do not reduce your cash sales price. Do not include down payments or trade-ins under Discounts and/or rebates (Line 2).​

Federal agencies and their instrumentalities and tribal governments are exempt from the Vehicle Use Tax.

​School buses, as defined in statue ORS 801.460.​

You can contact us to request a paper form that you can mail with your payment.

Phone: 503-945-8120 


​You can also visit one of our office locations.


You will need to contact us to correct the error. Corrections cannot be made online.

Phone: 503-945-8120 



The certificate will be sent to the email address that was entered on the form, under the Demographics section.

The subject line of the email will read “Vehicle Use Tax Payment Certificate," and the certificate will be attached as a PDF.

​If you do not receive the certificate within a few minutes check your “Junk" folder and if you still don't see it contact us.

Phone: 503-945-8120 



You will need to contact your dealer. If they collected and remitted tax to the DOR, they will have the Vehicle Use Tax Payment Certificate.​

The DMV does not collect the Vehicle Use Tax or issue the certificate. If you sent your tax payment in error to DMV, you can contact them at:

DMV phone: 503-945-5000

DMV Processing
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314

The Vehicle Use Tax form and payment needs to be sent to the Department of Revenue for the certificate to be issued. ​

You can enter the total of any privilege, excise, sales, or use taxes paid to another jurisdiction that are separately stated on the sales documents on line 7 of the Vehicle Use Tax return form.

Only include taxes calculated on the value of the vehicle, not those calculated on any services or charges that are not taxable to the state of Oregon. Example: warranties, optional maintenance contracts, gap insurance, document processing fees, or registration and licensing fees.​

Contact us

Phone: 503-945-8120

Fax: 503-947-2091


Available between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday-Friday

Mailing address:

Oregon Vehicle Use Tax
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14630

Salem OR 97309-5050