You must have a license before you can grow
- You are a hemp grower if you grow, harvest, and dry hemp.
- All licenses expire on December 31 of the calendar year. License fees are not pro-rated.
- ODA must receive all grower applications (renewals or new) by May 31 of the year you intend to grow.
- You must have a copy of your license number before growing.
- Send in complete and accurate applications.
- We will not process incomplete applications or those with errors until they are completed and corrected.
- Growing hemp before you are licensed can result in not getting a license and potential fines.
- If you intend to produce agricultural hemp seed, you also need an agricultural hemp seed license.
Reminder on background checks
Oregon law (since 2022) requires a background check for hemp growers. To meet the requirements, all key participants must complete a background check. This includes fingerprinting. Only those with no felony drug convictions in the last 10 years will be eligible to be licensed to grow hemp.
If your application has been submitted to ODA and is complete, you will receive an email with detailed instructions on next steps. Be sure to check your emails. If you don't receive that email, please email the hemp program directly.
For more information on what a key participant and ownership interest are, visit the hemp rules and read the definitions.
SB 1564 - Hemp Grower License Moratorium
The Oregon Legislature passed Senate Bill 1564 (SB1564) during the 2022 Legislative Session. The bill requires ODA to adopt rules about a moratorium on new hemp licenses:
- in counties that declare a state of emergency related to cannabis, and
- that notify ODA of the emergency.
Counties had until January 1, 2023 to notify ODA for the 2023 growing season.
Counties with a hemp grower license moratorium in 2023
Counties with a hemp grower license moratorium in 2022
Cannabis waste and disposal form
Cannabis waste, determined by hemp grower, includes plants that lost market value due to mold, pest, disease or that will not be processed, sold, or transferred. Grower must request ODA approval within 10 days of determining something is waste and at least 7 days before disposal.
For crop failure, determined by a failed preharvest test or presumptive marijuana, hemp growers must request ODA approval at least 7 days before disposal. Cannabis waste and disposal form
Hemp license change of status report form - Fee required
Use this form to change a business name, add or remove a production area on an existing hemp license, or to notify ODA that you will not be growing hemp. Change of status report form
Update contact information form for hemp license
Use this form to change contact information on an existing hemp license. For handlers and growers. Update contact information form
Farm Service Agency (FSA)
Information on how to report hemp crop acreage to the USDA Farm Service Agency as required under the 2018 Farm Bill and Oregon state law. FSA flyer
FSA video overview