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FAQs Regarding NP Buprenorphine Prescribing

1. I recently became aware that the federal law on prescribing buprenorphine changed.
When can I start prescribing this medication in Oregon?

All prescribers must complete training as defined by The Substance Abuse and Mental 
Health Services Administration (SAMHSA).  The completion of training allows for 
prescribers to apply for a waiver for prescribing buprenorphine.  SAMHSA and the 
American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) have made the required training 
available through on-line modules.  Information on the training for NPs is found through 
the AANP website: https://aanp.inreachce.com/Details?groupId=714cb0a9-73b2-4daf-
8382-27cbdb70ef5a 

NPs who have completed the required 24 hours of training related to medication assisted 
treatment (MAT) of substance abuse disorder under the Comprehensive Addiction and 
Recovery Act (CARA) legislation may apply for the waiver to prescribe buprenorphine.  

 Application is made electronically through the SAMHSA website:
https://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment/qualify-nps-pas-waivers

 SAMHSA shall review waiver applications within 45 days of receipt.  A confirmation of
an approved waiver will be provided via email and will include the prescribing
identification number.

 After receipt of waiver, qualified Oregon NPs are able to prescribe buprenorphine
per federal guidelines, effective immediately.

o At the April, 2017 meeting of the OSBN, changes were adopted for Division 56
inclusive of NP prescribing of MAT for opioid addiction.

2. Where is further information about the DEA waiver and the required training available?
NPs interested in prescribing buprenorphine will need to complete the required 24 hours of
approved training.   The AANP website gives access to the needed training modules:
https://aanp.inreachce.com/Details?groupId=714cb0a9-73b2-4daf-8382-27cbdb70ef5a

3. Where can I receive updates on NP buprenorphine prescribing?Register to receive notices
through the OSBN Advanced Practice List-Serv:
http://listsmart.osl.state.or.us/mailman/listinfo/aprnboardnews

4. Does completion of this training count for the required continuing education (CE) for
license renewal?
Yes, the training is accredited by appropriate CE providers.  Completion of continuing
education hours is accepted by OSBN in one of the following ways:

(A) Maintaining active, unencumbered national certification for specialty role and attest to
completion of continuing education required for maintaining national certification; or 

(B) 45 structured contact hours of continuing education completed in the two years prior to 
renewal of their license. At least 15 of these completed hours must be in 
pharmacotherapeutic content at the NP level congruent with their specialty role. 
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