You are here:
We issue exams and licenses for doing propane work. We inspect Liquefied Petroleum Gas tanks and locations.
Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 480.410 through 480.460
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280
The on-the-job training requires the supervision of a licensed fitter or truck equipment operator. The 60 days of training are actual workdays. You must receive on-the-job training and pass the written license examination and obtain the license by the end of the 60 days or stop doing liquefied petroleum gas work.
Company LicenseRequires $130 fee and completion of exam for a one-year license.Each business site must obtain a company license prior to doing business at the site. Each site is required to have a company representative unique to that site. The company representative is required to pass an examination prior to issue of the company license. (Requires OAR, ORS, and NFPA 58)
Master Fitter LicenseRequires $60 for a two-year license
Individuals who perform:Liquefied petroleum gas work and Install liquefied petroleum gas tanks; repair equipment using liquefied petroleum gas; connect or disconnect liquefied petroleum gas to tanks and other appliances; Complete repairs on liquefied petroleum gas equipment or appliances; repair or remodel any piping or venting; or any installation, repair service, connection or disconnection of any liquefied petroleum gas appliance must obtain a master fitter’s license.
HVAC (Heating, Venting and Air Conditioning) Fitter LicenseRequires $60 fee and completion of exam for a two-year license.
The fee for each examination application is $55.To take an examination, complete an Application to Take Liquefied Petroleum Gas On-Line Examination Form and mail with a check or money order for $55, to:Office of State Fire MarshalRegulatory Services Unit - LPG ProgramPO Box 4395 Unit 09Portland, OR 97208-4395Application for Liquefied Petroleum Gas License Examinations
Sample Questions Study materials may be used during the examination. Study materials acceptable for use during the examination include: Oregon Revised Statutes 480.410 through 480.460Oregon Administrative Rules 837-030-0100 through 837-030-0280 National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) National Fuel Gas Code 54, 2006 or 2012 EditionNational Fire Protection Association (NFPA) LP Gas Code 58, 2008 or 2011 EditionNational Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Standard on Recreational Vehicles 1192, 2011 Edition The OSFM does not provide NFPA 54, 58 or 1192. They may be purchased from any one of the following sources or any other source the applicant chooses to use: National Fire Protection Association 1-800-344-3555 or http://www.nfpa.org/ Building Technical Bookstore / Portland 1-800-275-2665 Powell's Technical Bookstore / Portland 503-228-3906 ext 4000 http://www.powells.com/technicalbooks
Once the examination has been passed for the license requested, the applicant must complete the required application shown below and submit to the Office of State Fire Marshal with the appropriate fee. The applications and fees shown below are for new companies, fitters, and truck equipment operator licenses only.
A $50 notice fee shall accompany each tank reported. Exception: If the total quantity of tanks reported at one site does not exceed 200 gallons, only one fee of $50 must to be submitted, but each tank still must be reported on a separate form.
Propane companies are required to notify the Office of State Fire Marshal of all liquefied petroleum gas tank installations. The notification must be submitted no later than the last day of the month following the month of installation. Example: All tanks set in February must be reported no later than March 31. The notification must be postmarked with a U.S. Postmark no later than the last day of the month, or a late fee is assessed. Each tank installed must be submitted on a separate LPG Tank Installation Notice Form.
If the liquefied petroleum gas tank was installed underground, an Underground LPG Tank Installation Worksheet must be submitted with the LPG Tank Installation Notice Form which provides detailed information on the installation of the underground tank.
A Notice of Installation of LPG Tank Summary Sheet must accompany the tank installation notices being submitted for the month. Each tank installed shall be reported on an Office of State Fire Marshal LPG Tank Installation Notice Form.
Notice of Installation of Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Summary Sheet
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Installation Notice Form
Underground Liquefied Petroleum Gas Tank Installation Worksheet (Required for underground only)
Notice of Installation of LPG Containers for Utilization as Motor Fuel
Sample Map Requirements
Tank installations are inspected to ensure tanks have been properly installed to protect homeowners and businesses from unforeseen hazards to life and property and to ensure the requirements of NFPA 58 (Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code), 2017 Edition, NFPA 54 (National Fuel Gas Code), 2009 Edition, and the Oregon Fire Code (OFC), 2019 Edition are met. If a deficiency is identified during the inspection, a Notice and Order of Correction is issued to the company that installed the tank, providing an opportunity for the correction of the deficiency. Once the company notifies the inspector the deficiency has been corrected, the tank may be inspected to ensure compliance. Questions regarding the installation of a tank may be directed to the company who installed the tank or to the Office of State Fire Marshal at 503-934-8278.
Sites that have bulk storage of propane may be inspected annually. Any changes to the bulk site, including but not limited to the installation of one or more additional tanks, removal of one or more tanks, and closure of the site shall be reported to the Office of State Fire Marshal in writing within two weeks of the change. Any change or addition of any size tank to the bulk site shall require the submission of plans to the Technical Services Unit of the Office of State Fire Marshal. You may contact the Technical Services Unit at 503-934-8204 or email@example.com. Application to Install Liquefied Petroleum Gas Containers
Inspection fees are $45 per delivery unit inspected.
LP-Gas Tank (Container) ConcealmentLP-Gas Tank Foundation CriteriaNFPA 58 Standards Opinion
Educational materials developed to assist you regarding liquefied petroleum gas are listed below. Click on a title to access the information. Is Your Propane Cylinder Safe? Check Out OPDsLiquefied Petroleum Gas and Consumer SafetyCommon Residential LPG Inspection ElementsLiquefied Petroleum Gas License Requirements Brochure
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how