South Sister mountain at sunset


Oregon's state government is composed of three government branches: Executive, Legislative, and Judicial, as well as a system of commissions wherein citizens are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate

Top Links

Exterior of Oregon state capitol building and lawn at dusk, including its blooming cherry trees

Executive Branch

Oregonians elect five representatives responsible for carrying out Oregon's laws, administering those laws through a number of departments, boards, and commissions that create regulations that comprise the Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR).

Interior/floor of Oregon senate facing forward

Legislative Branch

Oregonians elect 30 Senate and 60 House members to enact new laws and revise existing ones relating to the health, education and general welfare of Oregonians, and to make decisions that keep the state in good economic and environmental condition.

Seven Oregon Supreme Court Justices

Judicial Branch

Oregonians, as well as judicial representatives, elect/appoint members who deliberate on civil, criminal, and constitutional issues. Judges also review the actions of executive and legislative branches for compliance with the state Constitution.

Looking for a State Agency?

Search Agencies

Looking for an Online Service?

Search Services