Whether you're visiting, setting up shop, or moving to our great state, this page should help familiarize you with the basics here in Oregon.
Driving in Oregon
New residents of Oregon are required to obtain a replacement for their out-of-state driver license and register their vehicle(s) within 30 days of establishing residency.
Get a driver license
New residents of Oregon are required to obtain a replacement for their out-of-state driver license 30 days of establishing residency. To obtain an Oregon driver license, visit your local DMV office. And while our friendly DMV staff are happy to see you, we know that no one likes to spend more time than necessary. Check the current DMV Wait Times before you leave home or the office to know what to expect.
Once you have obtained a license, renewing it (and many driver-related services), is available online on DMV2U.
For more information about transferring an out-of-state driver license, see Get a Driver License.
Get an identification card
The Oregon DMV issues identification (ID) cards to residents of any age. While the ID card may look like a driver license, it is for identification purposes only. For more information about ID cards see Get an ID card.
REAL ID is coming to Oregon in July 2020!
The REAL ID Act establishes minimum security standards for license issuance and production and prohibits Federal agencies from accepting for certain purposes driver’ licenses and identification cards from states not meeting the Act’s minimum standards.
If you plan to fly domestically from a commercial airport after October 1, 2020 and do not have a valid passport or passport card, you must have a Real ID card. Oregon plans to begin offering Real ID cards to Oregonians starting July 6, 2020.
For more information, see About Real ID.
Register your vehicle
New residents of Oregon are required to register their vehicle(s) within 30 days of establishing Oregon residency. Several items are necessary to present, so be sure to use the checklist available on Register your Vehicle.
Once you have registered a vehicle with Oregon, renewing it (and many driver-related services), is available online on DMV2U.
Traffic times, weather, and cameras
Oregon's TripCheck website provides roadside camera images and detailed information about Oregon road traffic congestion, incidents, weather conditions, services and commercial vehicle restrictions. Stay safe out there and check before you go!
DMV wait times
While our friendly DMV staff are happy to see you, we know that no one likes to spend more time than necessary. Check the DMV Wait Times before you leave home or the office to know what to expect so you can spend more time exploring and less time waiting.
Voting in Oregon
To register to vote in Oregon, you must be a U.S. citizen, an Oregon resident, and be at least 16 years old.
Register to vote
Registering to vote in Oregon is quick and simple. Once you have established Oregon residency, you can register:
- online using My Vote. Online registration requires a current Oregon driver license or state ID card
- by mail using a voter registration form.
- in person at a local county elections office
The deadline to register to vote is 21 days before Election Day.
Your elected officials
Oregonians elect five statewide officials to manage the executive branch of government.
Want to get involved in public elections? For more information about running for office, forming a party, and more, see Getting Involved.
Local voting information
Connect with your County Elections Office for questions about ballots registration and more at County Elections Officials.
Healthcare & family in Oregon
Oregonians care about the health and safety of all our residents.
Oregon Health Plan
The Oregon Health Plan (OHP) provides health care coverage for Oregonians from all walks of life. This includes working families, children, pregnant women, single adults and seniors. For more information, see Apply for Oregon Health Plan.
Food and cash assistance, child care, refugee programs, and other related services are available. For more information, see Assistance Services.
As of 1998, Oregon voters approved the marijuana for medicinal use. The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program allows Oregonians with certain medical conditions to grow and/or consume marijuana, but there are limits. For more information, see Oregon Medical Marijuana Program.
As of 2015, it's legal for adults 21 and older to purchase, possess, and use recreational marijuana in Oregon, but there are limits. For more information about what is legal in Oregon, see What's Legal Oregon.
Health topics & news
Stay informed of the latest news on health, people, families, prevention, wellness, and other important topics. For more information, see Oregon Public Health.
Housing in Oregon
Oregon's vision is for every Oregonian to have access to housing choices that allow them and their family to thrive.
Buying a home
Thinking of buying a home but don't know where to start? Oregon's Homeownership Centers offer access to homeownership and financial literacy education, homeownership counseling, and foreclosure avoidance counseling amongst other services and programs. For more information, see Buying a Home.
Insuring your home
A home is usually the largest purchase you will make. Protecting this major investment can be important to your family’s financial future. For more information, see Help with Home Insurance.
The Low-Income Weatherization Assistance Program provides weatherization and energy conservation services at no cost to households at or below 200% of Federal Poverty Income Level. For more information, see Low Income Weatherization Assistance.
Fair housing rights
Fair Housing refers to a set of federal, state, and local laws that protect people from housing discrimination. These laws prohibit discrimination based on one's race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, source of income, familial status, marital status, and physical or mental disability. For more information, see Oregon Civil Rights.
Licensed contractors in Oregon
Anyone can pretend to be a contractor. Licensed contractors are bonded and insured and are easier to hold accountable should problems arise. For more information, see Contractor Consumer Help.
Each Oregon state park is an individual place where people play, picnic, camp, rest, hike, renew, and everything in between. They are an everyday reminder of the things that make Oregon great, and their very existence is a testament to what we collectively value. Use the Oregon State Park Finder to locate your next destination!
With few exceptions, all ~780,000 acres of state-owned land is open for recreational use, including hunting, fishing, swimming, hiking, camping, and sightseeing/photography. For more information, see Use of State-Owned Land.
Get a boating education card
All boaters who operate a motorboat over 10 horsepower (hp) and youths 12-15 operating a motorboat of any size are required to take an approved boating safety course and apply/carry a boater education card. For more information, see Boater Education Cards.
Get a fishing, crabbing, or clamming license
Oregon has nine fishing zones that combine to create a mosaic of opportunity. Freshwater or saltwater, trout and salmon or bass and crappie, neighborhood ponds or remote mountain lakes – Oregon has a fishery to appeal to every angler. For more information on fishing, see Fishing Licenses.
Oregon has 360 miles of coastline - that’s 360 miles of crabbing and clamming opportunity! For more information, see Crabbing & Clamming Licenses.
Get a hunting license
Oregon has everything it takes to be on any big game hunter's bucket list: Over 34 million acres of public land open to hunters. Diverse habitats from coastal rain forests to eastern deserts, with a couple of mountain ranges in between. Trophy opportunities for elk, deer, pronghorn and bighorn sheep. For more information, see Big Game Hunting.