Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Insurance Requirements

Overview

Image of car keys laying on an insurance policy
This page provides information about insurance requirements for Oregon drivers.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
Minimum Insurance Requirements
Oregon's mandatory insurance law ORS 806.010 requires every driver to insure their vehicle. The minimum liability insurance a driver must have is:

​Type
Amount​
Bodily injury and property damage liability

$25,000 per person;
$50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others; and
$20,000 per crash for damage to others property​

State law also requires every motor vehicle liability policy to provide:
 
Type
Amount
Personal injury protection (for reasonable and
necessary medical, dental and other expenses
incurred up to 1 year after the crash)​
$15,000 per person

Uninsured motorist
$25,000 per person;
$50,000 per crash for bodily injury​
  
You must certify that you have this insurance each time you register a motor vehicle, or when you buy a light vehicle trip permit. You must also certify that you will comply with Oregon's motor vehicle insurance requirements as long as a vehicle is registered in your name, or for the duration of the permit. 
 
Some motor vehicles are exempt from financial responsibility requirements. Those exemptions can be found in ORS 806.020.

Driving Without Insurance
Driving without liability insurance could result in fines, suspension of your driving privileges, and your vehicle could be towed. If your vehicle is towed, you are subject to the towing and storage fees. This is in addition to any fines you may have to pay.
 
If a judge convicts you of driving uninsured, you will need to file proof of future responsibility (SR-22) with DMV for three years, or your driving privileges will be suspended. This is in addition to any fines you must pay the court.
 
If you are driving uninsured and are involved in a crash, your driving privileges will be suspended for one year. After the suspension ends, you can reinstate your driving privilege by filing proof of future responsibility (SR-22) with DMV for three years. Otherwise you will remain suspended.

How DMV Monitors Compliance
Each month, DMV selects vehicles and asks the owner(s) to provide the name of their insurance company and policy number. DMV then verifies the reported coverage with the insurance company listed. If you are asked to give this information and you do not respond, your driving privileges will be suspended.
 
If you do not have the insurance you claim in this mandatory insurance certification, you will be subject to proving your compliance with Oregon's financial responsibility law for three years. Your driving privileges will be suspended if you do not get the minimum coverage required by law and show proof of future responsibility (SR-22) with DMV.
 
Verify Your Insurance Card
It's a good idea to make sure that the information on your insurance card matches the information on your vehicle registration. The image below shows the key elements that need to be verified (the vehicle identification number (VIN), make and year). Contact your insurance company if there is a discrepancy. 
 
Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: