Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Getting an Instruction Permit - Over 18

Overview

This page provides information on obtaining an Oregon Instruction Permit if you are 18 years of age or older. There are additional requirements if you under the age of 18.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
General Information
DMV issues a Class C instruction permit to drivers 18 years of age or older. A Class C instruction permit allows operation of the same vehicles as a non-commercial Class C driver license.

Driving Restrictions
An Oregon Class C Instruction Permit allows you to operate a vehicle if you are accompanied by a person who:
  • Has a valid driver license;
  • Is at least 21 years of age; and
  • Is sitting beside you.
To Qualify/Apply
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:
After you meet the requirements, you are issued an interim card to use until you receive your instruction permit in the mail.
 
If you surrender a previous driver license, instruction permit or Oregon ID Card, it is hole-punched and returned to you. The hole-punched card is not valid by itself, but may be used as additional proof of identity with the interim card.

Expiration/Renewal
A Class C instruction permit is valid for twenty-four months from the date it is issued.
 
DMV does not send you a notice when your permit is about to expire.
 
If your instruction permit is expired or about to expire, you may apply for another permit. The new permit is valid for twenty-four months from the date it is issued.

To apply for another instruction permit, you must surrender your instruction permit and follow the instructions in the section: To Qualify/Apply. You are not required to take the knowledge test unless your permit is expired for one year or more.

Driving In Another State
If you want to drive in another state with your permit, you should check to see if your Oregon Instruction Permit allows you to drive in that state, and under what conditions it is allowed. A good source for information about other states' laws is the AAA Digest of Motor Laws. For information on how to get a copy you may contact AAA at (800) 452-1643.

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: