Oregon law requires you to keep an SR-22 in effect for 3 years from the ending date of a suspension requiring an SR-22 or
for 3 years and 33 days from the date of a driving uninsured conviction.
If you are required to prove "future responsibility" by having an SR-22 on file with DMV, a copy of your insurance card is not acceptable. An insurance card is required by law to be carried in any vehicle operated on Oregon highways; an SR-22 certificate is required by law to be filed with DMV and is posted to your driving record.
DMV monitors compliance of your SR-22 requirement. If you let it lapse for any reason, the insurance company must notify DMV and your driving privileges will then be suspended.
If your driving privileges have been suspended because you did not get an SR-22 certificate and you later get insurance, be sure you do not drive until an SR-22 certificate is on file with DMV and
your driving privileges have been reinstated. Please note that an SR-22 filing is made on the date it is received by DMV if it is received during regular business hours. An SR-22 filed with DMV must be an original, not a copy.
Read more information about suspensions and revocations