Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Knowledge Tests
Overview

Students taking coputer based testsThis page provides information about the various knowledge tests administered by DMV.

Use the links below to go directly to any section:

General Testing Information & Requirements
  • Locations & Hours - Knowledge tests are conducted at most DMV offices. Refer to the individual DMV office information pages for details. Most offices stop conducting knowledge tests for regular (non-commercial) driver licenses 1 hour before closing and stop conducting knowledge tests for commercial driver licenses 1.5 hours (90 minutes) before closing. Note that smaller offices may also close during lunch hours.
  • Proof of full legal name - You may be asked to provide acceptable proof of full legal name.
  • Proof of legal presence in the U.S., identity and date of birth - You may be asked to provide acceptable proof of legal presence, identity and date of birth.
  • Social Security Number (SSN) - You will have to provide your Social Security Number on your Oregon Driver License/ID Card application.
Testing Rules & Guidelines
  • All tests are closed book. With permission, you may use a foreign language translation dictionary, except on CDL knowledge tests.
  • Only testers are allowed into the testing area, except for authorized interpreters.
  • Knowledge tests are given on a touch-screen computer, with or without audio assistance.  If you require a special accommodation to take a knowledge test, please contact your local office.
  • All test scores are valid for a maximum 2-year period from the date the test was taken.
  • During the test there is NO:
    • Talking
    • Cell phone use
    • Operation of any electronic devices
    • Writing or note taking
    • Cheating

If you do not follow the testing rules and guidelines or it is determined that you are cheating, your test will be stopped immediately. You will not be allowed to test again for 90 days.

Failure & Retesting

There is a mandatory waiting period after each failed testing attempt for all knowledge tests. If you fail your first, second, or third knowledge test attempt, you have to wait until at least the next day to try again. If you fail a fourth or subsequent attempt, you must wait at least 28 days before taking the test again.

Class C Knowledge Test

The Class C Knowledge Test (for standard non-commercial drivers) contains questions about road signs, traffic laws and other information you need to know to drive in Oregon. The information needed to pass this test is in the Oregon Driver Manual (available in English, Spanish, and audio versions).

The test is available in the following languages (with or without audio assistance):

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Russian
  • Korean
  • Vietnamese
  • Japanese

You must pay test fees prior to taking any test. Be prepared to make separate payments for your testing and licensing fees.

Practice Tests
The following practice tests are available to help individuals prepare for the Class C Knowledge Test:
Safe Driving Practices Test (Under 18)

Persons under 18 years of age must take the Safe Driving Practices Knowledge Test to get a license. The information needed to pass this test is in the Oregon Driver Manual (available in English, Spanish, and audio versions). You may take the Safe Driving Practices Test if you are within 30 days of your 16th birthday.

The test is available in the following languages (with or without audio assistance):

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Russian
  • Korean
  • Vietnamese
  • Japanese

There is no fee to take the Safe Driving Practices Test.

Motorcycle Knowledge Test

The Motorcycle Knowledge Test checks your understanding of road rules and safe riding practices. The test contains questions about traffic laws, safe riding practices, and other information you need to know to ride in Oregon. The information needed to pass this test is in the Oregon Motorcycle & Moped Manual. The test is available in English and Spanish, with or without audio assistance.

There is no fee to take the Motorcycle Knowledge Test.

Moped Knowledge Test

To obtain a moped-restricted Class C driver license, which authorizes the operation of mopeds only, you must pass the Moped Knowledge Test. This test checks your understanding of road rules and safe driving practices and is based on information, practices, and concepts from the Motorcycle & Moped Manual and Oregon Driver Manual. The test is available in English and Spanish, with or without audio assistance.

You must pay test fees prior to taking any test. Be prepared to make separate payments for your testing and licensing fees.

Commercial Knowledge Test

Commercial drivers are required to take one or more knowledge tests, depending on what class of license and what endorsements are needed. Information needed to pass the tests is in the Oregon Commercial Motor Vehicle Manual. The tests are offered in English only and translators are not permitted.

You must pay test fees prior to taking any test. Be prepared to make separate payments for your testing and licensing fees.

CDL Knowledge Tests:

  • General Knowledge Test -  Required for all applicants.
  • Passenger Endorsement Test - Required to operate vehicles carrying 16 persons or more, including the driver.
  • Air Brakes Test - Required to operate vehicles with air brakes.
  • Combination Vehicles Test - Required to operate vehicles in combination (Class A).
  • Hazardous Materials Endorsement Test - Required to haul hazardous materials or waste in amounts which require placards. To renew a CDL with a hazardous materials endorsement you must successfully re-complete the hazardous materials endorsement test prior to renewal.
  • Tank Endorsement Test - Required to haul liquids or gas in bulk.
  • Doubles/Triples Endorsement Test - Required to pull double or triple trailers.
  • School Bus Endorsement Test - Required to transport pre-primary, primary or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home, or to and from school sponsored events.

Note: Refer to the "What Sections Should You Study" table in the Oregon Commercial Motor Vehicle Manual to determine the specific sections to study in order to obtain the desired endorsement(s). Endorsement exams cover not only material from individual endorsement sections, but also from the section on driving safely. You will need to be familiar with the driving safely section when applying for any CDL classification or endorsement.

If You Have a CDL from Another Jurisdiction:
DMV will waive all CDL knowledge tests EXCEPT the Hazardous Materials Endorsement Test if you surrender a current, valid CDL from another jurisdiction for a comparable Oregon CDL.

Related Information

Additional information that may be relevant includes: