Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Record Inquiry Accounts

Overview

This page provides information about DMV Record Inquiry Accounts and access methods.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
General Information
Entities who qualify to receive personal information may be eligible for a DMV Record Inquiry Account. If an organization's application is approved an account is established and they are pre-qualified to receive record information. Established account holders may request records via DMV's Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system or by ordering them online. Records ordered via the IVR system or online are returned by fax or mail. Account holders may also participate in DMV's Automated Reporting Service. Account holders are billed for DMV services on a monthly basis. 

To Qualify/Apply
Under Oregon law (ORS 802.175 - 802.191), only certain entities qualify to receive personal information from DMV records. These include entities such as:
  • Attorneys
  • Legitimate businesses
  • Insurance companies
  • Police
  • Other government agencies
Please refer to Oregon law (ORS 802.175-802.191) and Oregon Administrative Rule 735-010-0200 through 0230 for the complete list of the entities that may qualify for personal information and the valid uses of the information.
 
To establish a DMV Record Inquiry Account you must:

Complete a Record Inquiry Account Application (Form 735-6037);

  1. Submit documents listed on the application to prove you qualify to receive personal information;
  2. Submit a $70 non-refundable application fee; and
  3. Mail the application, documentation and non-refundable fee to:
Oregon DMV
Attn: Records Policy
1905 Lana Ave.NE
Salem, OR 97314
For More Information: Contact Record Inquiry Accounts at (503) 945-7950.  

Automated Reporting Service (ARS)
DMV's Automated Reporting Service (ARS) is provided to established Record Inquiry Account holders that are employers with drivers under their employment, such as trucking companies, delivery services, etc. This service produces and sends the employer a court print driving record when a conviction, accident, or suspension is posted to one of their employee's records. There is no fee to add or delete an individual to the service if the requester uses DMV's online ARS option. There is a $2 fee for each individual DMV adds or deletes manually. There is a $3 fee for each printed record produced.
 
To Request More Information email us at ARS@ODOT.state.or.us.

Interactive Voice Response (IVR) System
DMV's Interactive Voice Response System (IVR) is a telephone based automated record inquiry system that is only available to established Record Inquiry Account holders.
 
Advantages for IVR system users include 24-hour access to certain driver and vehicle record information, and overnight turnaround time for prints ordered through the system.  The IVR system provides users with the following six menu choices:
  1. Listen to driver license name and address, description and status.
  2. Listen to vehicle description and ownership.
  3. Order a three-year non-employment driving record.
  4. Order a complete or certified court print driving record.
  5. Order a three-year employment driving record.
  6. Order a vehicle record print.
For more information or help using the IVR system, refer to the IVR User Guide (Form 735-6733) or contact one of the following:
  • Call (503) 945-5310 for name or VIN search help;
  • Call (503) 986-3960 for billing questions;
  • Call (503) 945-7950 for account or password problems; or
  • E-mail: ODOTDMVRecordsPol@ODOT.state.or.us.
Reading An Oregon Driving Record
To assist with the reading of driver records, DMV provides a Driving Record Explanation Summary (Form 735-7104), which contains a brief explanation of some common entries found on Oregon driving records, and a Guide to Oregon Driving Records (Form 735-6665), which contains comprehensive instructions for reading Oregon driving records.

Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: