Oregon Tobacco Retail
UPDATE: SENATE BILL 754
On Wednesday August 9th, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 754 into law. This law raised the required minimum age for a person to legally buy or obtain tobacco products, inhalant delivery systems, and tobacco product devices, from 18 to 21.
This law applies to conduct occurring on or after January 1, 2018. There is no violation for people ages 18, 19, or 20 to possess tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems.
Oregon is now the 5th state in the nation to raise the age to purchase tobacco to 21 years!
Raising the age to purchase tobacco to 21 years old is an evidence-based strategy that will help reduce youth initiation of tobacco. Most addiction to tobacco starts in adolescence, so protecting kids is critical. Nine out of ten adults who smoke report that they started smoking before they turned 18, and almost 100 percent start before they turn 26.
If you see a tobacco retailer selling tobacco to someone you know is under 21 and would like to let us know, please send an email to: Tobacco.Inspections@state.or.us.
The Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division,
is revising the Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) for the Oregon Indoor Clean
Air Act (ICAA) and sales of tobacco and inhalant delivery systems to person
under 21years of age. The amendments are being proposed to comply with
statutory changes from the passage of SB 754, which increased the legal sale
age to purchase tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems from 18 to 21.
The following public hearings will be held for the
public to comment on the proposed rules:
- November 27,
2017 at 10:00 a.m.: Jackson County Health Department, Room HHS1EDCTR1009 – 140
S Holly Street, Medford, OR 97501
- November 28,
2017 at 1:30 p.m.: Portland State Office Building, Room 1A – 800 NE Oregon
Street, Portland, OR 97232
comments can be submitted before 5:00 p.m. on November 30, 2017,
by sending them to the Public Health Division Rules Coordinator at the
OHA, Public Health
Administrative Rules Coordinator
800 NE Oregon Street,
comments to: email@example.com
may also send comments by fax to (971) 673-1299.
rules will be filed after consideration of all comments.
you have questions or would like a paper copy of these rule changes, please
contact Tara Weston at 971-673-1047 or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Secretary of State
Rulemaking Notice, which includes: Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing; Statement
of Need and Fiscal Impact; Proposed rules text
Rules Advisory Committee Meeting Notes – September 15,
Tobacco products are cheap, readily available and easy to get, and are heavily promoted and marketed in stores.This makes it difficult for current smokers to stop and promotes tobacco use to Oregon’s youth.