An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) is outlined in
Oregon Administrative Rule. Please refer to OAR 801-040 to review the
complete set of rules pertaining to CPE for Oregon licensees.
Effective July 1, 2020, all active and inactive Oregon licensees are required to report at least 4 hours of Oregon-specific ethics each biennial renewal period.
Effective January 1, 2020, all licensees reinstating an Oregon license to active or inactive status are required to report 4 hours of Oregon-specific ethics.
CPE ethics programs
CPE programs in ethics required by subsection (2) of this rule are eligible for CPE credit if the program is offered by a sponsor registered with the Board and includes information pertaining to each of the following topics:
List of Registered Ethics Sponsors NOTE: ALL PREVIOUSLY BOARD-APPROVED ETHICS COURSE SPONSORS WITH REGISTRATION EXPIRY ON MARCH 31, 2023 WERE AUTOMATICALLY EXTENDED TO MARCH 31, 2024.
NEW SPONSORSHIP APPLICATIONS NEED TO BE SUBMITTED TO: firstname.lastname@example.org
If you have questions about CPE providers, please contact the Board by email at
or by phone at 503-378-4181.
Qualified continuing education programs in the following subjects are eligible for CPE credit as technical subjects:
Qualified continuing education programs in subjects other than those listed in section (2) of this rule are non-technical subjects and are eligible for CPE credit if the program directly contributes to the licensee's professional competence.Credit for programs in non-technical subjects is limited to 16 CPE hours per renewal period.
The following are examples of non-technical subjects:
If you have questions about CPE, please contact the Board by email at email@example.com or by phone at 503-378-4181.
REQUIREMENTS FOR LIVE CPE COURSES
Per OAR 801-040-0030(2), to provide LIVE CPE courses that qualify for CPE credit for Oregon licensees, you must adhere to the following:
REQUIREMENT FOR SELF-STUDY CPE PROGRAMSApplicable Statutes or Administrative Rules ORS 673.165 OAR 801-040-0030(4) Correspondence
courses and other individual study (self-study) programs do not qualify
for CPE credit unless the CPE sponsor is approved by the NASBA
National Registry. Sponsors approved by NASBA will be assigned a
6-digit National Registry Number, which must be included on all
certificates of completion issued by the sponsor and must be reported on
the licensee's renewal or reinstatement application. Licensees
need to be aware that non-technical CPE programs are not reviewed by
NASBA and are limited for CPE credit in Oregon. Even though a sponsor
may have received a sponsor registry number (indicating approval of the
programs offered by that sponsor), it is the responsibility of the
licensee to determine whether the subject matter is technical or
non-technical based on the subject categories outlined in OAR
801-040-0040(2)-(3). CPE sponsors are not always consistent with
marketing information and proofs of completion provided.
To verify that a CPE sponsor is on the NASBA National Registry, please CLICK HERE.
CPE Requirements for active licensees:
CPE Requirements for inactive licensees:
Retired licensees are not required to report CPE hours for renewal.
admitted to the municipal roster are required to complete 24 hours of
CPE in subjects directly related to the governmental environment and
governmental auditing during each renewal period. A minimum of 16 hours
are required in the following subjects:
more than 8 of the 24 required hours may be in courses relating to
generally accepted auditing standards and procedures. Courses that make
up the 8 hours described may include such topics as current developments
in audit methodology, assessment of internal controls and statistical
sampling. The 24 hours of CPE required under this rule may be included
in the 80 hours of CPE required for renewal of the CPA/PA permit.
If you have questions about CPE, please contact one of the Board's licensing specialists by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 503-378-4181.
Evidence of completion
Licensees are required to document all CPE programs claimed for CPE credit and to provide the appropriate proof of completion for the number of qualifying CPE credits claimed for each program. Licensees must retain proof of completion for each CPE program reported for a period of 5 years after completion of the program.
Proper proof of completion must include the following:
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how