Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

How to Become a CDL Third Party Tester
Overview

A "Third Party Tester" is an individual or organization that has been issued a Third Party Tester Certificate by DMV and employs a Third Party Examiner. A Third Party Examiner is "employed" by the Tester and actually conducts the pre-trip vehicle inspection, basic control skills and drive tests for Class A, B, or C commercial driver licenses (CDL), in lieu of DMV conducting the tests. These Examiners can conduct tests only for Oregon residents.

Getting the Certificate
To Qualify
In order to qualify to become a Third Party CDL Tester/Examiner you must meet the following requirements:
  • Hold a valid commercial driver license for a minimum of 3 years before applying;
  • Successfully complete a training program (costing approximately $1,200 - $3,600 dependent on class size, vehicle availability, etc.);
  • Provide a current insurance certificate which maintains a minimum of $1 million of commercial general liability coverage listing the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) as an additional insured. $1 million of auto liability coverage is also required if the tester provides the vehicle used for testing;
  • Enter into a Third Party Tester agreement with ODOT/DMV; and
  • Provide evidence of at least 3 years experience operating commercial motor vehicles or 2 years experience training or testing commercial motor vehicle operators.
  • An e-mail address with Internet access and basic computer skills.
In addition, applicants should have strong administrative and business skills.

To Apply
If you feel you qualify and are interested in becoming a Third Party Tester, please call (503) 945-5282 to receive a Third Party Tester application packet, which includes the following:
  • A copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules outlining the eligibility qualifications and responsibilities for both the Third Party Tester and Third Party Examiner;
  • A sample of the Third Party Tester agreement (to be completed by an individual or employer);
  • A Third Party Tester application (to be completed by an individual or an employer);
  • A Third Party Examiner application (to be completed by an individual employed by a Third Party Tester);
  • Authorization to conduct a criminal background check; and 
  • Authorization to receive tax compliance information from the Oregon Department of Revenue.
Before we can send an application packet, we will need the business name (preferably registered with the Corporate Division of the Oregon Secretary of State), address and phone number of the Third Party Tester applicant along with the name, address, phone number and driver license number of any individuals who will be applying to become a Third Party Examiner.
 
Maintaining the Certificate
To maintain a valid Third Party Examiner Certificate, you must meet the following requirements:
  • Conduct at least twelve (12) CDL drive tests each calendar year;
  • Submit to scheduled or unscheduled inspections by DMV and/or FMCSA; and
  • Complete periodic refresher training at your expense when required by DMV.
Related Information