Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Selling, Donating or Gifting a Vehicle

General Information

If you are selling, donating or giving a vehicle (i.e., transferring ownership) to someone else, you must sign the title over to them. If you are selling a vehicle, you must also notify DMV.
 
If there is a lien on the vehicle (if you still owe money on your loan), the security interest holder is the legal owner and you cannot sell, donate or gift the vehicle until you have satisfied their interest (paid off the loan) and they have provided the title to you with a written release of interest, or Lien Release (Form 735-524).​

Instructions

To sell, donate or gift a vehicle, follow the instructions below:
  • Sign the title (buyer/recipient and all owners shown on the front of the title must sign)
    • On the back of the title, there is a section for the buyer(s) and seller(s) to sign.
    • If the title is older, you may see a section for "registered owners" and "new owners" instead. 
  • Record the odometer reading on the title, if applicable.
  • Notify DMV of a sale within 10 days (you are required by law to provide this notice):
  • If you wish, you may use a Bill of Sale (Form 735-501) to aid in your transaction (the bill of sale is not a substitute for signing over the title, which must be done to transfer the vehicle's ownership).
Important: You must notify DMV that you have sold a vehicle within 10 days of the sale. This information will be noted on the vehicle record, but the name(s) on DMV records cannot change until the title is submitted for transfer. Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 803.112 to 803.117, and Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 735-020-0080 provide further information on your responsibilities.
 
Note: When using the ORS link above, you will need to scroll down to find the correct ORS reference.
Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: