Skip to main content

Pain Management Continuing Education (CE)

Oregon law requires all licensed nurses and other health professionals to receive seven (7) hours of pain management continuing education.  This is a one-time requirement; once you have your seven hours, you do not need more in subsequent years to comply with the requirement.

How to Fulfill the 7-hour Requirement

  • One (1) hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module
  • The remaining six (6) hours can be your choice of pain management topics, but an established accrediting body must accredit the courses for CNE or CME.  You can find a variety of suitable courses through a simple internet search. 
For more information regarding pain management, please visit the Oregon Pain Management Commission website

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Does this requirement apply to nurses only? 
    No.  The seven-hour education is required for all physicians, physician assistants, acupuncturists, advanced practice nurses, podiatrists, chiropractors, naturopaths, psychologists, and other health professionals. 
  2. How many hours do I need? 
    Seven hours of pain management-related CE.  One hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module.  The remaining six hours can be your choice of pain management topics, but an established accrediting body must accredit the courses for CNE or CME. 
  3. I'm an Oregon nursing student: Will topics I've studied as part of my nursing program fill the requirement? 
    Yes.  Graduates of Oregon RN and LPN nursing programs since 2009 automatically meet the requirement for six of the seven required hours.  You must complete the one-hour pain management module provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission (OPMC).
  4. Do I have to take 7 hours of pain management CE for renewal of my license?
    No, not if you’ve already indicated on a previous Oregon nursing license application that you’ve completed the requirement.  You only have to complete the seven hours of CE once to fulfill the requirement.  Simply check the box on your renewal that you have completed the requirement.

    However, if you haven’t taken the seven hours of required pain management continuing education, then you must do so prior to your renewal.

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×