Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Marine Events

Marine events come in a wide variety of on-water and near-shore gatherings. They take the shape of:

  • regattas
  • boat races
  • marine parades
  • floats
  • fishing tournaments or exhibitions

All marine-related event organizers must apply for a permit in Oregon if the event introduces extra or unusual water safety hazards on an Oregon waterbody. A Marine Board marine event permit application must be submitted at least 30 days before the event. Send the application via mail, fax, or email.

Any marine event on federally navigable waters (as defined by the U.S. Coast Guard, excluding the Rogue River and the Willamette River above the Oregon City Falls) including all tidally influenced waters, must be permitted through the U.S. Coast Guard. The Marine Board permits events on waters outside U.S. Coast Guard jurisdiction. The U.S. Coast Guard application must be received at least 135 days before the event.   

Questions? Please contact Randy Sigman at (503) 871-4941 or randy.sigman@boat.oregon.gov.

 

Resources

Application for Marine Event Permit

Application for Special Use Device

Application for US Coast Guard Marine Event Permit

Request for US Coast Guard Auxiliary Assistance

Notice to Mariners

Paddling Events Best Management Practices for Success and Safety

AIS / Waterway Access Permit Requirements

NOTE: The Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife and the Oregon State Marine Board require, as a condition of permitting marine events and fishing tournaments, requires participants to inspect boats, trailers, and related equipment before that equipment is placed in the waters of the state. The event organizer is responsible for notifying all participants of the requirement to only launch cleaned boats. Such action will help protect our waters from invasive species infestations. Please take this seriously and do your part to help. The following is a basic summary of how to inspect and clean a boat. 

Clean, Drain, Dry and Pull Your Plug



830.375 Authorization required to hold marine event; rules. (1) At least 30 days before holding a regatta, boat race, marine parade, tournament or exhibition on the waters of this state, the person who will be in charge of the event shall apply to the State Marine Board for authorization to hold the event.
(2) The board shall provide by regulation for the manner of applying for and granting authorization and shall approve all applications for authorization which are consistent with the safety and pleasure of the public.

(3) The board may make rules and regulations restricting the operation of boats necessary to insure safety two hours prior to, during and two hours after the approved event.

(4) No person shall hold a regatta, boat race, marine parade, tournament, trial for speed records or exhibition on the waters of this state, unless the authorization of the board has been secured, except that the board’s authorization is not required if authorization or the equivalent has been secured from an appropriate agency of the United States.

(5) An authorization by the board does not exempt a person holding an event from compliance with applicable federal law.