Oregon DHS: Aging and People with Disablitie

Adult Foster Home Provider Alert

Policy updates, rule clarifications and announcements

Date: August 2, 2017
Topic: Residency Contract for Medicaid Residents (REVISED 6/2017)
To: APD Adult Foster Home Providers

The Department’s sample APD AFH Residency Contract (Residency Agreement)
for Medicaid Residents has been updated. This template is an optional tool for
adult foster home licensees’ use. It may also be used as a guide to develop the
home’s own contract for both Medicaid and private-pay residents. Find this
updated form at:

APD AFH Provider Informatiori, Forms webpage:
http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/PROVIDERS-PARTNERS/LICENSING/APD-
AFH/Alerts/17-0511%20ASPEN%20Instructions %20for%20the%20Licensee.pdf

Home and Community-Based Services, Oregon-specific webpage for Aging
and People with Disabilities: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/SENIORS-
DISABILITIES/HCBS/Pages/APD.aspx

A complete copy of the updated template is included with this Alert.

APD means Aging and People with Disabilities. APD adult foster
homes are licensed to care for adults who are older and adults
with physical disabilities. Page 1 of 1




APD Adult Foster Home Residency Contract — Medicaid Resident
Residency Contract and Notification of Policies, Rights and Freedoms

Contract. This Residential Contract (the “Contract”} is entered into between
“You” or
Resident’s name

and

Resident’s representative on behalf of Resident
“Licensee/Facility”
located at

Physical address of adult foster home

The term “you” and “your” includes the Resident and the representative acting on the Resident’s behalf
if designated above.

You have chosen to rent a;

[d Single occupancy room L] Shared occupancy room
for your personal use on a month-to-month basis beginning on

Payment. You agree to pay Licensee/Facility your monthly payment for room and board in the amount
determined by the Department and communicated through an official Department Policy Transmittal.
You also agree to pay a service payment {if one is required of you} in the amount determined by the
Department and identified in writing via a Department-issued document. Payment must be made no
later than the of each month. Payment shall be made payable o the Facility/Licensee named
above according to the terms of this Contract. The payment will be pro-rated for partial month
occupancy. The monthly payment will pay for room and board, basic care and services as identified in
this Contract.

Damages. You will be held responsible for any property damages excluding damages caused by normal
wear and tear.

Unlawful Activities. You agree not to engage in or allow illegal activities of any kind anywhere on the care
‘home’s premises. Suspected illegal activities will be reported to law enforcement.

Refunds. Licensee/Facility will issue applicable refunds no later than 30 days following your last day in
the care home. The Licensee/Facility may not retain payment for services beyond your last day in the
home. If your monthly payment includes room and board, your room and board payment is refundable
and may be pro-rated based on length of stay during the applicable month.

Living Accommodations. You are invited to bring your own bed, linens and furniture for your personal
use in your bedroom. For your safety, and to ensure Licensee/Facility remains in compliance with all
regulatory requirements, you agree to request and obtain Licensee approval prior to moving furniture
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into your room. You agree all exit ways must remain clear of obstacles that may interfere in evacuation.
You may choose to use some or all of the accommodations provided by Licensee/Facility which includes:

e Bed (mattress and box springs)

s Bedding (linens, including fitted and flat sheets and a pillow case)
» Mattress pad '

o Piilow

¢ Blankets {as needed for your comfort)

» Private dresser

o C(loset space

Décor. You are invited to decorate your bedroom in accordance with your personal tastes. For your
safety, preservation of the facility, and to ensure the Licensee/Facility remains in compliance with
regulatory requirements, you agree to request and obtain permission prior to hanging pictures or items
on walls, installation of items in the room, painting, or any other surface or structural modification to the
bedroom.

Locks. A lock on your bedroom door is a regulatory requirement and you may choose not to use the
focking feature. You will be provided with one key. You agree to not remove, modify or re-key the lock,
You agree to not give the key to any person other than your representative, if named above. Lost or
stolen keys should be immediately reported to the Licensee or facility staff. Additional or replacement
keys will be provided as needed for the cost of replacement as evidenced by the receipt. Only
appropriate staff will have keys to your room.

Storage. Storage space for your belongings is limited to the room you have chosen to rent. The
Licensee/Facility will work with you to ensure your preferences are honored while maintaining
compliance with all regulatory requirements.

Storage Fee after Departure. A daily storage fee of § , takes effect on the 16™ day following your
departure from the Facility.

Basic Care and Services. Your basic care and services include those care needs and services identified by
your individualized needs assessment conducted by your case manager.

Transportation. The Licensee/Facility will arrange for appropriate transportation upon request, and as
needed. You are responsible for the cost of any fransportation that is not covered by Medicaid.

Meals. The Facility’s meal schedule is: Breakfast ; Lunch ; Dinner AThe
morning meal time must be no more than 14 hours following the evening meal time.) Nutritious snacks
and liquids will be available for you to access at other times. You are encouraged to participate in meal
planning to assist the Licensee/Facility support your preferences. If you miss a scheduled meal time, a
replacement for the last meal missed will be available to you,
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Voluntary Move. The Licensee/Facility will notify your Case Manager and cooperate with screening
activities of potential providers should you wish ta move.

Involuntary Move. You may be required to move to another room, or move out of the Facility for specific
reasons, as stated in Oregon Administrative Rule OAR 411-050-0645(11), which includes:

e Closure of the Facility (including suspension, revocation, non-renewal or
voluntary surrender of license).
¢ Nonpayment of monthly fee.
e Unable to meet evacuation standards.
o Your welfare, or the welfare of other residents:
o Behavior that poses an imminent danger to self of others.
o Behavior or actions that repeatedly and substantially interferes with the rights, health or
safety of others.
o Use of illegal drugs or a criminal act that places you or others at risk of harm.
¢ Violation of the home’s written policies pertaining to recreational or medical marijuana or
violation of the Oregon Medical Marijuana Act, ORS 475.300 to 475.346.
o Medical reasons: Complex, unstable or unpredictable conditions that exceed the level of care and
services the facility provides.
» The Licensee/Facility was not notified that the resident is on probation, parole, or post-prison
supervision after conviction of a sex crime defined in ORS 181.805.
s For Medicaid-eligible residents only:
o When a current, private-pay resident becomes eligible for Medicaid services and
Licensee/Facility is not an enrolled Medicaid provider.
o When the Licensee/Facility's Medicaid Provider Enrollment Agreement is terminated.

Notice of Involuntary Move. You may be required to move out of the Facility for specific reasons, as
stated in Oregon Administrative Rule, OAR 411-050-0645(11) and {(13).

o 30-Day Notice. The Licensee/Facility will issue at least 30 days of written notice prior to an
involuntary move. The notice will be delivered in person to you and will be delivered in person, or
by registered or certified mail to your representative, if applicable. A copy of the notice will be
provided to your assigned case manager and the local licensing authority, and may also be
submitted to the Oregon Long-Term Care Ombudsman on your behalf,

¢ Less than 30-Day Notice. Less than 30 days’ written notice may be issued only in the following
circumstances:
o If undue delay in moving would jeopardize the health, safety or well-being of a tenant,
including:
+ A medical emergency that requires the immediate care of a level or type that
Licensee/Facility is unable to provide; or
+ Behavior that poses immediate danger to the resident or others.

-3-



o |f you are hospitalized or temporarily out of the Facility and the Licensee/Facility
determines they are no longer able to meet your needs; or

o The Licensee/Facility was not notified that the resident is on probation, parole, or post-
prison supervision after conviction of a sex crime definedn ORS 181.805,

Your Rights in an Involuntary Move. You have the right to receive at least 30 calendar days of notice
except for the circumstances described above. If you have questions, or if you do not want to move, you
may contact your case manager or the Local Licensing Authority to request a conference and/or an
administrative hearing. If you have questions about your right to disagree with the involuntary move-out
notice, you may also contact the Oregon Long-Term Care Ombudsman at 1-800-522-2602, or 3855
Wolverine Street NE, Suite 6, Salem, Oregon 97305, or by email to LTCOInfo@state.or.us.

House Policies. The following policies apply to all occupants of the home, staff and visitors:
Pets. Pets are: L] Not allowed [ Allowed

An accommodation may be requested for an assistance animal according to the Americans with
Disabilities Act and the Fair Housing Act. Evidence of current animal vaccinations, as required by law,
must be provided to the Foster Care Provider/Facility. Costs associated with animals, and responsibility
for the care of animals, are the responsibility of the animal owner.

Tobacco and Smoking.

['] This is a non-tobacco and non-smoking facility. Chewing tobacco and smoking (including the use of
vape products) are not allowed in or on the premises.

[1 This is a smoking facility. Smoking (including the use of vape products) is permitted-only in the
designated areas as desctibed below:

Legal Medical Marijuana and Recreational Cannabis.

[ This is-a marijuana-free and cannabis-free facility. The possession and/or use of marijuana or
cannabis in or on the grounds of the facility is prohibited. Violation of this policy is grounds for an
involuntary move-out.

[J The Licensee/Facility permits the possession and use of legal medical marijuana and recreational
cannabis. The Licensee/Facility and the resident must adhere to all applicable ORS (Oregon Revised
Statutes), OAR (Oregon Administrative Rules), and federal law related to the use and storage of
marijuana or cannabis in or on the grounds of the facility.

Alcohol, Alcohol is: [ Not allowed O Allowed




Room Monitoring Devices. Staff may use an intercom or other type of audio monitoring device so as to
be alerted to any emergency and potential night needs. You have the right to your privacy, and if you
agree to the use of a monitoring device, you may choose to turn it off, or request it be turned off, at any
time.

] 1do not agree to the use of any room monitoring device in my bedroom or bathroom.

(] lagreeto the use of an audible room monitoring device in my bedroom. | understand that | have the
right to turn the device off, or request it to be turned off, at any time.

Visitors. You may have visitors of your choosing at any time. Visitors may not stay in the care home more
than 24 hours without approval from the Licensee/Facility. Visitors shall not sleep in the common areas
of the home nor sleep in another resident’s bed. The Licensee/Facility is not responsible for providing
food or sleeping accommodations for guests of the Resident, You are responsible to:

L] inform the Licensee/Facility of the presence of your visitor(s}; or

[_] Adhere to the following visitor check-in policy {Licensee to identify the visitor's
check-in policy here):

Specific visitors that present an active health and safety risk to persons present in the household will be
asked to leave the premises.

Disclosures.
Medicaid Enrollment Status. Licensee/Facility is an enrolled Medicaid provider.

Disclaimers.

¢ This Contract is not subject to the Oregon Residential Landlord Tenant Act. (ORS 90.113)

o This Contract is a sample form that is provided by the Department of Human Services as a
courtesy. This form does not constitute legal advice or a suggested legal strategy, and may not be
applicable to every situation. Please consult with your legal representative regarding the terms
contained in this form.

Resident’s Bill of Rights. The licensee, the licensee's family, and employees of the home will not
violate these rights and will help all residents to exercise them. The Resident’s Bill of Rights is
attached, has been explained, and by reference is part of this Contract.

HCBS Rights. You have additional freedoms, protections, and rights guaranteed to you as part of the
Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) rules, Oregon Administrative Rule 411-004. There may be
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times when, to protect your safety or others’ health and safety, we may propose reasonable limits in the
areas described below. A limitation will not begin without you or your legal representative’s consent.

Your HCBS rights include: |

¢ Lockable bedroom door for privacy, ability to furnish and decorate your space, and have visitors of
your choosing as noted in the Locks, Living Accommodations, Décor, Storage, and Visitor sections
above,

¢ The right to access food at any time.

 The right to choose your roommate. If you share a room, you will be offered a choice of
roommate prior to final selection of the roommate. However, you may not refuse roommates
simply to have a private room. Refusing roommates to obtain a private room may result in :
additional charges not to exceed the current Medicaid room and board standard. You will receive
at least a 30-day notice before any additional charges are due. Failure to pay additional charges
may result in a 30-day involuntary move-out notice for nonpayment.

¢ The right to control your schedule and activities. |

You have a right to exercise your Resident HCBS freedoms, protections and rights; however, you may not
infringe on the privacy and rights of others and should be respectful to others living in the home. ‘

Name of Facility

Name of Licensee

Mailing address

Phone number

Licensee’s signature Date
Resident’s signature ' Date
Resident’s representative (if applicable) Date

Resident or Resident’s representative acknowledges receipt of a signed copy of this Contract,
inctuding the Resident’s Bill of Rights.

Initials
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