Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Oregon Adoption Search and Registry Program

Department of Human Services (DHS), through Oregon’s Adoption Search and Registry Program has a record of all adoptions that have finalized in Oregon since 1920.

Oregon adoption registries have three components:

  1. Consent for mutual contact (or Identifying Information )
  2. Nonidentifying health and social information
  3. Assisted search

Private adoption agencies maintain their own registries. If you are not sure if your adoption was through a private adoption agency, contact the DHS Adoption Search and Registry program.

As of 1/1/2014 there is a new Oregon statute that allows many people involved in an adoption to receive a copy of documents from the Oregon court where the adoption finalized. The Oregon court website gives contact information for each of the Oregon county courts. You will need to contact the court where the adoption finalized to ask how to release the records. If you don’t know the county, you can contact the registry.

Mutual Consent Registry (Identifying Information)

If you want to have contact with an adult adoptee or eligible family members, fill out this Affidavit for Release of Identifying Information form (Word) or Spanish (PDF).

  • The form must be notarized
  • The applicant must also send a copy of their birth certificate with the form
  • The fee is $25 and can be paid with a check or money order payable to DHS Adoption Registry.

Both parties must independently register before information is released. Parties will be contacted immediately by the registry if there is a corresponding registration. The registry will contact each person individually to see how they would like to initiate contact with the other person - by phone, email, letter, etc. The registry will only release information that you are comfortable releasing. At any time, you can request that your name be removed from the registry.

People who may register include:

  • An adult adoptee (aged 18 or older)
  • Each birth parent
  • A putative (alleged) father
  • An adult genetic sibling of an adoptee
  • An adoptive parent of a deceased adoptee
  • A parent or adult sibling of a deceased birth parent

An adult adoptee or adoptive parents may ask the registry to send information to an Indian tribe to establish eligibility for tribal membership using this form. The identifying information remains confidential between the registry and the Tribe.

Non-Identifying Information

Although many parties to Oregon adoptions can request information from the court where the adoption finalized, there may be additional social and health information in the files of the agency than is available through the court.

The following people can ask the registry for non-identifying information about the adoptee and the birth family that was gathered at the time of the adoption.

  • An adult adoptee
  • An adoptive parent
  • Any progeny of the adoptee age eighteen years or older or the adoptee’s spouse, if the adoptee is deceased

Along with the Non-Identifying Information Request Form, English (Word) or Spanish (PDF), please send:

  • A copy of your birth certificate or photo identification
  • $45 in a check or money order made payable to DHS Adoption Registry.

Assisted Search Program

The registry can assist in locating parties involved in a  adoption that was finalized in Oregon. An assisted search may be requested by using the Assisted Search Application (English (Word), Spanish PDF).

The following people, over the age of 18 years old may request an assisted search.

  • An adoptee or the adoptive parent of a minor or deceased adoptee may search for:
    • birth parents
    • an adult sibling of the adoptee
    • a putative father who is named in the records
  • The following people can search for an adult adoptee:
    • birth parent
    • an adult genetic sibling of the adoptee
    • the parent or adult sibling of a deceased birth parent

The Process involved in an Assisted​ Search

The registry contracts with a confidential intermediary, who will attempt to locate the party and let them know that someone is looking for them and would like to have contact. If they want to have contact, the intermediary will notify the Registry, who will send the forms to the located party to register, at no charge.

Information will not be released to either party until both parties have completed the Affidavit for Release of Identifying Information. The registry will work with both parties to assure that initial contact is made in a way that is most comfortable for both parties.

If the person being sought does not wish to make contact, the registry will close the search file. The requesting party will be told that the person has been located and does not wish to have contact, but no other information about them will be released. The requestor’s registration remains open until such time as a written request is received indicating otherwise.

The cost for the assisted search is $400 for the first search and $200 for a second search. For example, if an adoptee would like to search for a birth parent and a sibling who was adopted, the fee would be $600.

Contact Information

Adoption Search and Registry Program
Patty Wilhite
503-945-6643
patty.wilhite@state.or.us

​​​​​